Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 08:24:38 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 [76] 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 ... 376 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 776425 times)
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 01:21:05 PM
 #1501

A failover server setup costs money. Bitminter is, if you want, a free pool that even pays out tx fees. If you want Doc to be able to afford more servers, consider setting or increasing your donation ratio. Im pretty sure for the first 6 or 9 months of running this pool, it has cost Doc as much, if not more than he earned on it, while spending god knows how many hours on it.

Another point Id like to bring up; over the year Ive been mining here, bitminter has been remarkably stable. The hashrate has increased 10 fold over the past few months, so its probably not so bizare there are more frequent issues now, but I can probably still count the major outages on one hand.  Not bad for a single server, free pool.

1481444678
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481444678

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481444678
Reply with quote  #2

1481444678
Report to moderator
1481444678
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481444678

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481444678
Reply with quote  #2

1481444678
Report to moderator
1481444678
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481444678

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481444678
Reply with quote  #2

1481444678
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481444678
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481444678

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481444678
Reply with quote  #2

1481444678
Report to moderator
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2012, 01:23:25 PM
 #1502

Another point Id like to bring up; over the year Ive been mining here, bitminter has been remarkably stable. The hashrate has increased 10 fold over the past few months, so its probably not so bizare there are more frequent issues now, but I can probably still count the major outages on one hand.  Not bad for a single server, free pool.

Check out the bitlc thread for a contrasting experience.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
narousberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 01:25:59 PM
 #1503

last 3 days we have no luck! Angry Cry

lenny_
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 953



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 01:28:57 PM
 #1504

Code:
Error: connect timed out: Disabling URL http://mint.bitminter.com:8332 for 60s

Pool hashrate drop in half. Please fix!
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
August 23, 2012, 01:33:36 PM
 #1505

last 3 days we have no luck! Angry Cry

Did you notice the 10 days before that....
aadje93
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
August 23, 2012, 01:34:26 PM
 #1506

guys, you can complain here, but better complain to yourself that you are not using a backup pool setup.

my miners (including the one from p4man puppetmaster setup) is just mining on the backup pool.... until bitminter comes on again.... So i lost no hashing.
narousberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 01:40:16 PM
 #1507

last 3 days we have no luck! Angry Cry

Did you notice the 10 days before that....

I agree that a week ago, it was very good. The average income for the past 10 days 20BTC/day. I was just hoping that this will continue in the future))))

loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
August 23, 2012, 01:54:20 PM
 #1508

I am not complaining just trying to help. Posting the potential problem.  Besides i think that each one of us shall donate (I am donating) to help the pool stay alive and improve.

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
AmDD
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 828



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 03:25:33 PM
 #1509

This is the first time Ive ever had a pool fail on me, and apparently I have my backup pool in BAMT setup wrong... Sad

BTC tip jar: 18EKpbrcXxbpzAZv3T58ccGcVis7W7JR9w
LTC tip jar: Lgp8ERykAgx6Q8NdMqpi5vnVoUMD2hYn2a
davidspitzer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476



View Profile WWW
August 23, 2012, 03:59:24 PM
 #1510

This is the first time Ive ever had a pool fail on me, and apparently I have my backup pool in BAMT setup wrong... Sad

Can you have a backup pool in the bitminter client?

btclag.org - Bitcoin Legal Advocacy Group
- CAMPBX Exchange
aadje93
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
August 23, 2012, 03:59:43 PM
 #1511

This is the first time Ive ever had a pool fail on me, and apparently I have my backup pool in BAMT setup wrong... Sad

want a good way to test backup pools in bamt?

make the main pool a wrong url, then it cannont contact it. then restart mining and see what happens Smiley.

Works like a charm here Wink
misternoodle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 04:04:46 PM
 #1512

This is the first time Ive ever had a pool fail on me, and apparently I have my backup pool in BAMT setup wrong... Sad

Can you have a backup pool in the bitminter client?

From what I remember, it can't be setup...yet.
AmDD
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 828



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 04:06:56 PM
 #1513

This is the first time Ive ever had a pool fail on me, and apparently I have my backup pool in BAMT setup wrong... Sad

Can you have a backup pool in the bitminter client?

No clue, Ive only ever used gcminer and BAMT.

This is the first time Ive ever had a pool fail on me, and apparently I have my backup pool in BAMT setup wrong... Sad

want a good way to test backup pools in bamt?

make the main pool a wrong url, then it cannont contact it. then restart mining and see what happens Smiley.

Works like a charm here Wink

I'll try that, thanks!

BTC tip jar: 18EKpbrcXxbpzAZv3T58ccGcVis7W7JR9w
LTC tip jar: Lgp8ERykAgx6Q8NdMqpi5vnVoUMD2hYn2a
aadje93
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
August 23, 2012, 04:12:33 PM
 #1514

This is the first time Ive ever had a pool fail on me, and apparently I have my backup pool in BAMT setup wrong... Sad

Can you have a backup pool in the bitminter client?

No clue, Ive only ever used gcminer and BAMT.

This is the first time Ive ever had a pool fail on me, and apparently I have my backup pool in BAMT setup wrong... Sad

want a good way to test backup pools in bamt?

make the main pool a wrong url, then it cannont contact it. then restart mining and see what happens Smiley.

Works like a charm here Wink

btw look at the comments on the pools file, there are multiple setup. Mine is mining 180secs (3 mins) on the backup pool and then trys the main pool again, not working backup again. Its bit network intensive maybe, but that way its mostly mining on the main pool Smiley

I'll try that, thanks!
narousberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 04:18:13 PM
 #1515

Pool work again  Grin Grin Grin Grin

aadje93
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
August 23, 2012, 04:19:27 PM
 #1516

Pool work again  Grin Grin Grin Grin

you are wright Smiley my miners are on pool 1 again Tongue
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2012, 04:46:38 PM
 #1517

Pool is up and running again.

I want to apologize that it was down for so long. I was on a guided tour of Batterie Dietl, german bunkers and coastal guns from WWII. I had only a cellphone and was far from my laptop. Perhaps stupid, but the pool was running smoothly and I thought it would be ok for a couple hours. Took a while before I was back to the laptop and could fix things.

Backup pools is still not implemented in BitMinter client, which of course makes downtime much worse. It is one of the top development priorities now, below supporting ASIC mining speeds better.

Not sure what caused the problem yet. But it may be the bug in cgminer 2.5 and below that we had problems with earlier. If you use cgminer please use the latest (2.6+) version. I am changing the server software to better handle a client bombarding it, but I haven't finished this work yet.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Edit: Yes, rollntime is implemented, but turned off for all miners except bitminter client and diablominer. I'll turn it on for all miners as soon as I have implemented some defenses against old cgminer versions that can suddenly bombard the server with thousands of getwork requests.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
AmDD
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 828



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 05:00:12 PM
 #1518

Pool is up and running again.

I want to apologize that it was down for so long. I was on a guided tour of Batterie Dietl, german bunkers and coastal guns from WWII. I had only a cellphone and was far from my laptop. Perhaps stupid, but the pool was running smoothly and I thought it would be ok for a couple hours. Took a while before I was back to the laptop and could fix things.

Backup pools is still not implemented in BitMinter client, which of course makes downtime much worse. It is one of the top development priorities now, below supporting ASIC mining speeds better.

Not sure what caused the problem yet. But it may be the bug in cgminer 2.5 and below that we had problems with earlier. If you use cgminer please use the latest (2.6+) version. I am changing the server software to better handle a client bombarding it, but I haven't finished this work yet.

Sorry for the inconvenience.


Thanks for all your hard work!

BTC tip jar: 18EKpbrcXxbpzAZv3T58ccGcVis7W7JR9w
LTC tip jar: Lgp8ERykAgx6Q8NdMqpi5vnVoUMD2hYn2a
SgtMoth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 893


buy silver!


View Profile
August 23, 2012, 08:25:27 PM
 #1519

i switched the rest of my miners to bitminter app, no more cgminer....
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
August 23, 2012, 08:42:21 PM
 #1520

Pool is up and running again.

I want to apologize that it was down for so long. I was on a guided tour of Batterie Dietl, german bunkers and coastal guns from WWII. I had only a cellphone and was far from my laptop. Perhaps stupid, but the pool was running smoothly and I thought it would be ok for a couple hours. Took a while before I was back to the laptop and could fix things.

Backup pools is still not implemented in BitMinter client, which of course makes downtime much worse. It is one of the top development priorities now, below supporting ASIC mining speeds better.

Not sure what caused the problem yet. But it may be the bug in cgminer 2.5 and below that we had problems with earlier. If you use cgminer please use the latest (2.6+) version. I am changing the server software to better handle a client bombarding it, but I haven't finished this work yet.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Edit: Yes, rollntime is implemented, but turned off for all miners except bitminter client and diablominer. I'll turn it on for all miners as soon as I have implemented some defenses against old cgminer versions that can suddenly bombard the server with thousands of getwork requests.

Doc, how hard is it to restart the backend? If its just a matter of ssh-ing in to the server and restarting the db or something, maybe you should consider making a "killswitch" and giving one or two trusted users access to it. They may not even need full ssh access, just a trigger. It will not resolve all possible problems of course, but someone else being able to restart the backend could be enough to help you  sleep a bit more easily and not get stressed out just because you leave your laptop for a few hours.

Pages: « 1 ... 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 [76] 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 ... 376 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!