Bitcoin Forum
July 10, 2020, 10:22:05 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 [90] 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 ... 374 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 835736 times)
psilan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 27, 2012, 12:11:10 PM
 #1781

The server is running very smoothly now. We had 1.8 TH/s earlier today and the server load was pretty low. Sorry for the daily restarts and sometimes high response times the last couple days. Hopefully it will be smooth sailing now. It is certainly looking pretty solid.

Suggestion: Add a clock to the website. Local server time.

Not a bad idea. Is it annoying to have one ticking away at the top of the page?

I suppose better might be to display the timestamps in a timezone chosen by the user, but that would take a bit more work.


Just a digital one with minutes, no seconds. Same colour as your twitter/facebook/etc text.  Smiley

No timezone, people are on a computer, they know what time it is.

dip
AWARD-WINNING
CRYPTO CASINO
ASKGAMBLERS
PLAYERS CHOICE 2019
PROUD
PARTNER OF
1500+
GAMES
2 MIN
CASH-OUTS
24/7
SUPPORT
100s OF
FREE SPINS
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1594419725
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594419725

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594419725
Reply with quote  #2

1594419725
Report to moderator
1594419725
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594419725

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594419725
Reply with quote  #2

1594419725
Report to moderator
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 10:12:41 PM
 #1782

I suppose better might be to display the timestamps in a timezone chosen by the user, but that would take a bit more work.
+1 to user customizable timezone so timestamps on shifts and blocks show up as each user's local time.  Just a nice feature for someday, not critical.
miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 28, 2012, 12:48:11 AM
 #1783

I suppose better might be to display the timestamps in a timezone chosen by the user, but that would take a bit more work.
+1 to user customizable timezone so timestamps on shifts and blocks show up as each user's local time.  Just a nice feature for someday, not critical.

+1 on user customizable timezone   Wink

BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
SchmalzTech
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 28, 2012, 03:46:48 AM
 #1784

I got a suggestion from PsychoticBoy to change the N in PPLNS from 2x difficulty to 4x difficulty. That would be to double the size of the shifts. Please speak up if you have an opinion on it.

Currently 10 shifts take about 5 hours. Doubling shift size would mean 10 shifts take 10 hours at the current pool hashrate. This would mean it takes longer before a proof of work is fully paid, but also that the variance for a proof of work goes down. 24/7 miners shouldn't notice much, but those who don't mine 24/7 should experience reduced variance.

In other news the testing on port 9000 helped uncover a bottleneck that has now been fixed. A big thanks to all who are mining there to help with testing. The test is still running. I'll try and finish up what will hopefully be the next production version of the mining backend, let it run on the test port for a bit, then bring it over on the regular port.


Being a miner who doesn't mine 24x7 always, I like watching the BTC roll in shortly after I fire up my GPUs - and as I don't pay attention after they're shut down, I would rather see my rewards as I am mining. I would like the "N" to remain the same.
drekk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


Who shot who in the what now?


View Profile WWW
September 28, 2012, 09:01:02 AM
 #1785

I suppose better might be to display the timestamps in a timezone chosen by the user, but that would take a bit more work.
+1 to user customizable timezone so timestamps on shifts and blocks show up as each user's local time.  Just a nice feature for someday, not critical.

+1 on user customizable timezone   Wink
+1 Grin

Also, the Thps counter in the website header still says "Ghps". Wink

And I've always wondered why there's no "cash out now" button, so I have to adjust auto-pay options. Sometimes I'd like to get small amounts earlier.

☛ GPG Key / Fingerprint: CDFF 083A 3056 7DD8 B5B9  6687 726C AB05 D6AE 6148
☛ Overly attached BitMinter miner // 4pmlIE9idmlvdXMgdHJvbGwgaXMgb2J2aW91cy4g4pm
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1030


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
September 28, 2012, 11:18:06 AM
 #1786

Also, the Thps counter in the website header still says "Ghps". Wink

Even after clearing the cache in the browser?

And I've always wondered why there's no "cash out now" button, so I have to adjust auto-pay options. Sometimes I'd like to get small amounts earlier.

That's on my TODO list. Smiley

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
drekk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


Who shot who in the what now?


View Profile WWW
September 28, 2012, 11:33:13 AM
 #1787

Also, the Thps counter in the website header still says "Ghps". Wink
Even after clearing the cache in the browser?
That's probably it. Can't verify ATM, cause server is giving error:

Code:
Proxy Error

The proxy server received an invalid response from an upstream server.
The proxy server could not handle the request GET /members/.

Reason: Error reading from remote server

And I've always wondered why there's no "cash out now" button, so I have to adjust auto-pay options. Sometimes I'd like to get small amounts earlier.
That's on my TODO list. Smiley
Yay! You're cool. Smiley

~drekk~

☛ GPG Key / Fingerprint: CDFF 083A 3056 7DD8 B5B9  6687 726C AB05 D6AE 6148
☛ Overly attached BitMinter miner // 4pmlIE9idmlvdXMgdHJvbGwgaXMgb2J2aW91cy4g4pm
miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 28, 2012, 11:58:12 AM
Last edit: September 28, 2012, 12:11:57 PM by miter_myles
 #1788

site down?  

nm, back up now

BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 12:14:32 AM
 #1789

The site's down, but my miners are still running fine.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1030


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
September 29, 2012, 12:45:11 AM
 #1790

The site's down, but my miners are still running fine.

Back up again. There's a problem with the web server. It locks up randomly with no error message and becomes completely unresponsive. So it's a bit difficult to figure out what the problem is. I'll keep a watch on it and see if I can find out what's going on. Sorry for the instability. Sad

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 07:01:41 AM
 #1791

The site's down, but my miners are still running fine.

Back up again. There's a problem with the web server. It locks up randomly with no error message and becomes completely unresponsive. So it's a bit difficult to figure out what the problem is. I'll keep a watch on it and see if I can find out what's going on. Sorry for the instability. Sad

You're the man Doc.  Your efforts are appreciated by us all.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 07:21:45 AM
 #1792

The site's down, but my miners are still running fine.

Back up again. There's a problem with the web server. It locks up randomly with no error message and becomes completely unresponsive. So it's a bit difficult to figure out what the problem is. I'll keep a watch on it and see if I can find out what's going on. Sorry for the instability. Sad

You're the man Doc.  Your efforts are appreciated by us all.
+1

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1030


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
September 29, 2012, 10:02:21 AM
 #1793

Thanks, guys Smiley

Sorry, had to restart the mining backend just now. A memory leak is causing slow response after it's been running a couple of days.

I'll be working on that memory leak today, and also the issue with the website locking up.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
squid
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 06:19:36 PM
 #1794

Can't wait for ASICS so I can park them on this server Cheesy
willphase
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 30, 2012, 09:10:55 PM
 #1795

Thanks, guys Smiley

Sorry, had to restart the mining backend just now. A memory leak is causing slow response after it's been running a couple of days.

I'll be working on that memory leak today, and also the issue with the website locking up.


perhaps worth just setting the frontend to reboot every so often until you resolve the issue - it seems to go down quite a lot.

Will

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1030


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
September 30, 2012, 09:57:49 PM
 #1796

Can't wait for ASICS so I can park them on this server Cheesy

Something tells me I better get the server ready for some big miners.  Grin

perhaps worth just setting the frontend to reboot every so often until you resolve the issue - it seems to go down quite a lot.

I fixed the memory leak in the mining backend. Hopefully it can sit there for a while now without requiring any more restarts or work.

Made some changes just now to the web application as well. Hopefully it will fix the issue with it locking up.

If there is still a problem I'll have a look at writing a script to detect when the website is unresponsive and automatically restart it.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
hahahafr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 501



View Profile
October 02, 2012, 04:59:29 AM
 #1797

Can't wait for ASICS so I can park them on this server Cheesy

Something tells me I better get the server ready for some big miners.  Grin

perhaps worth just setting the frontend to reboot every so often until you resolve the issue - it seems to go down quite a lot.

I fixed the memory leak in the mining backend. Hopefully it can sit there for a while now without requiring any more restarts or work.

Made some changes just now to the web application as well. Hopefully it will fix the issue with it locking up.

If there is still a problem I'll have a look at writing a script to detect when the website is unresponsive and automatically restart it.

Was the memory leak coming from the 0.7 bitcoind daemon?




                                           ◢◣                      ◢◣
                                     ◢████◣           ◢████◣
                               ◢████████◣◢████████◣
                               █████████████████
                               █████████████████
                               █████████████████
                               █████████████◤██████
                               ███████████◤████████
                               █████████◤██████████
                               ███████◤████████████
                               █████◤██████████████
                               █████◣                       ◢█████
                               ███████◣            ◢███████
                               █████████◣◢█████████
                               ◥████████◤◥████████◤
                                    ◥████◤            ◥████◤
                                          ◥◤                      



HYDAX
       Secure  
   Efficient
   Simple  
   Medium 
    Twitter  
    Telegram 
[/center
Fortega
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155
Merit: 100

bitcoinAdd.net


View Profile WWW
October 02, 2012, 09:44:40 AM
 #1798

I'm currently having a problem with the client:

Everything looks fine, I'm mining at a normal rate, and suddenly a popup comes up, saying 'wrong username or password'. I press ok, and everything goes back to normal.
A few minutes later, this repeats...

Anybody else with this problem? What can I do? Strange thing is the password is not wrong, as I just press ok and the mining continues (for about 5 mins)


Logs:
2012.10.02 [11:46]  Warning - slow network or server. Request took 52 sec.
2012.10.02 [11:46]  Work rejected. Server says: Duplicate proof of work
2012.10.02 [11:46]  Warning - slow network or server. Request took 43 sec.
2012.10.02 [11:46]  Warning - slow network or server. Request took 66 sec.
2012.10.02 [11:46]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work
2012.10.02 [11:46]  Warning - slow network or server. Request took 68 sec.
2012.10.02 [11:46]  Work rejected. Server says: Stale proof of work
2012.10.02 [11:48]  Warning - slow network or server. Request took 22 sec.
2012.10.02 [11:50]  Request failed: bad credentials

DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1030


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
October 02, 2012, 09:53:18 AM
 #1799

Was the memory leak coming from the 0.7 bitcoind daemon?

No, it was my own code. I reworked the data structures to increase parallelism. Accidentally ended up with proofs of work being kept in memory indefinitely. After a couple days the mining backend was lugging around 3.7 GB of proofs of work. Shocked

Everything looks fine, I'm mining at a normal rate, and suddenly a popup comes up, saying 'wrong username or password'. I press ok, and everything goes back to normal.
A few minutes later, this repeats...

Hmm, I only see one failed login from you in the server logs, at 2012-10-01 11:51:05 UTC, which is 22 hours ago as I write this.

Did you change password on a worker recently?

Does it help if you shut down the client and start it fresh again?

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
abeaulieu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 02, 2012, 12:39:04 PM
 #1800

... the mining backend was lugging around 3.7 GB of proofs of work. Shocked

That's a lot of proof...  Smiley
Pages: « 1 ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 [90] 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 ... 374 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!