Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 04:46:42 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Ufasoft Miner - Windows/Linux, x86/x64, SSE2/OpenCL, Open Source  (Read 600287 times)
urizane
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
March 12, 2011, 03:11:56 AM
 #101

Using 0.4 on i7-950 @ 3.83 GHz

8 threads: 18.9 MHash/s
CUDA GPU mining drops dramatically (118 MHash/s down to ~30 MHash/s)

6 threads: 18.1 MHash/s
CUDA GPU mining does not drop

Hyperthreading is cool enough, but loading up all 8 threads doesn't seem to work well for me.

EDIT: Added my 8 thread results to https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
     While the wattage may seem a little low, I must have gotten pretty lucky with my CPU because I can hit 3.83 GHz with a core voltage of only 1.24V.  I've seen higher voltages on slower Nehalem CPUs.
1480913202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480913202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480913202
Reply with quote  #2

1480913202
Report to moderator
1480913202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480913202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480913202
Reply with quote  #2

1480913202
Report to moderator
1480913202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480913202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480913202
Reply with quote  #2

1480913202
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480913202
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480913202

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480913202
Reply with quote  #2

1480913202
Report to moderator
curator
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


Wishing I could mine at work.


View Profile
March 14, 2011, 10:25:14 PM
 #102

how to make 0.4 Ufasoft only use the CPU?

type "-g no"

On my 5870 I am only getting 90 MH/s as opposed to 312 with poclbm.

EDIT: It seem that if you are CPU mining and you don't disable GPU mining it works much slower.

So I'm confused...I thought ufasoft didn't use the GPU in the first place...did I miss something? Huh

Thanks.

Hobby mining since 03.01.11...The faucet only drips once.
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
March 14, 2011, 10:28:13 PM
 #103

how to make 0.4 Ufasoft only use the CPU?

type "-g no"

On my 5870 I am only getting 90 MH/s as opposed to 312 with poclbm.

EDIT: It seem that if you are CPU mining and you don't disable GPU mining it works much slower.

So I'm confused...I thought ufasoft didn't use the GPU in the first place...did I miss something? Huh

Thanks.

OpenCL GPU support was added in the latest revision.

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
curator
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


Wishing I could mine at work.


View Profile
March 15, 2011, 03:21:03 PM
 #104

So if I '-g no' I may actually get faster hash, as it won't call out to the nonexistent GPU (or a GPU with no openCL support)?

Hobby mining since 03.01.11...The faucet only drips once.
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
March 15, 2011, 03:59:48 PM
 #105

So if I '-g no' I may actually get faster hash, as it won't call out to the nonexistent GPU (or a GPU with no openCL support)?

I think that it makes that determination before it even starts hashing and then doesn't ever try again (for that instantiation of the exe). So, it shouldn't make any difference at all. But, just in case, I put the "-g no" onto my command line anyways. I don't have an OpenCL GPU on the machine that is running this particular miner.

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
gbl4ck
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
March 16, 2011, 01:02:27 AM
 #106

I'm having a bit of trouble getting this to work on my box.

Windows 7 x64
i7 980x (Hexcore)

bitcoin-miner.exe -a 4 -g no -t 6 -v -o http://mining.bitcoin.cz:8332 -u XXX -p XXX

It doesn't seem to start hashing at all?
When I hit ctrl-c to stop one time it gave me an "Error 80070006: The handle is invalid." instead of the regular operation has been canceled so maybe that has something to do with it?
compro01
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 485


View Profile
March 16, 2011, 02:49:59 AM
 #107

I'm having a bit of trouble getting this to work on my box.

Windows 7 x64
i7 980x (Hexcore)

bitcoin-miner.exe -a 4 -g no -t 6 -v -o http://mining.bitcoin.cz:8332 -u XXX -p XXX

It doesn't seem to start hashing at all?
When I hit ctrl-c to stop one time it gave me an "Error 80070006: The handle is invalid." instead of the regular operation has been canceled so maybe that has something to do with it?

did you check you're using the worker login and password rather than the site login/password?
Ricochet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373



View Profile
March 16, 2011, 03:21:16 AM
 #108

Try putting a forward slash at the end of the URL (after :8332), and make sure your username is in the format LoginName.WorkerName, noting that everything for the username and password is case-specific.
curator
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


Wishing I could mine at work.


View Profile
March 16, 2011, 04:19:42 AM
 #109

So if I '-g no' I may actually get faster hash, as it won't call out to the nonexistent GPU (or a GPU with no openCL support)?

I think that it makes that determination before it even starts hashing and then doesn't ever try again (for that instantiation of the exe). So, it shouldn't make any difference at all. But, just in case, I put the "-g no" onto my command line anyways. I don't have an OpenCL GPU on the machine that is running this particular miner.

FYI: -g no actually slowed down the hashing...so it's best to leave it out of the command line altogether.

Hobby mining since 03.01.11...The faucet only drips once.
gbl4ck
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
March 16, 2011, 04:59:53 AM
 #110

I'm having a bit of trouble getting this to work on my box.

Windows 7 x64
i7 980x (Hexcore)

bitcoin-miner.exe -a 4 -g no -t 6 -v -o http://mining.bitcoin.cz:8332 -u XXX -p XXX

It doesn't seem to start hashing at all?
When I hit ctrl-c to stop one time it gave me an "Error 80070006: The handle is invalid." instead of the regular operation has been canceled so maybe that has something to do with it?

did you check you're using the worker login and password rather than the site login/password?

It may have been a syntax error but since it didn't give me a response I figured it was just hanging.  I was able to get cpuminer going so i'm using that now which I have running 12 threads @ 1400 khash/sec
urizane
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
March 16, 2011, 05:48:13 AM
 #111

Well, since you're getting 16.8 Mhash/s for the whole package, I'd suggest giving this miner another go.  As far as the forward slash at the end of the URL, I haven't needed it.  Also, the rest of the command line looks OK.  Perhaps you somehow got a bugged download.  Try getting it again.  I'm getting 18.9 Mhash/s using 8 threads on an i7-950 @ 3.83 GHz using v0.4.  A 980X should easily beat that.  Take care, however.  If you mine with a GPU at the same time as your CPU, you may or may not have to go from 12 threads down by the number of GPUs you have mining.  At least, that's how I had to set it up.  Actually, just try 12 first, then see if 6 is any appreciable amount less, and if not, just go with 6.  That way, everything in the OS should remain really snappy.
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 16, 2011, 05:53:22 AM
 #112

An OCed i7 980X gets 25~30. Stock should get 22~23 ish

oh and my previous problems with this and poclbm just disappeared for some reason

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
gbl4ck
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
March 16, 2011, 05:58:58 AM
 #113

Well, since you're getting 16.8 Mhash/s for the whole package, I'd suggest giving this miner another go.  As far as the forward slash at the end of the URL, I haven't needed it.  Also, the rest of the command line looks OK.  Perhaps you somehow got a bugged download.  Try getting it again.  I'm getting 18.9 Mhash/s using 8 threads on an i7-950 @ 3.83 GHz using v0.4.  A 980X should easily beat that.  Take care, however.  If you mine with a GPU at the same time as your CPU, you may or may not have to go from 12 threads down by the number of GPUs you have mining.  At least, that's how I had to set it up.  Actually, just try 12 first, then see if 6 is any appreciable amount less, and if not, just go with 6.  That way, everything in the OS should remain really snappy.

Ahh thanks for encouraging me to try again.  I'm getting 25.6 MHash/s now from my CPU and my GPU stayed at 85 Mhash/s. 
xenon481
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
March 16, 2011, 12:51:29 PM
 #114

So if I '-g no' I may actually get faster hash, as it won't call out to the nonexistent GPU (or a GPU with no openCL support)?

I think that it makes that determination before it even starts hashing and then doesn't ever try again (for that instantiation of the exe). So, it shouldn't make any difference at all. But, just in case, I put the "-g no" onto my command line anyways. I don't have an OpenCL GPU on the machine that is running this particular miner.

FYI: -g no actually slowed down the hashing...so it's best to leave it out of the command line altogether.

I've been getting the same hashing speed either way.

Tips Appreciated: 171TQ2wJg7bxj2q68VNibU75YZB22b7ZDr
radracer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
March 17, 2011, 12:41:48 PM
 #115

anyone using this with the bitpenny pool http://www.bitpenny.com/ ?  i cant seem to figure out the syntax.
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
March 17, 2011, 12:47:51 PM
 #116

Bitpenny probably have the easiest interface to configure for, so it's hard to understand what you might be doing wrong. What parameters are you trying to use now?
radracer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
March 17, 2011, 12:57:52 PM
 #117

bitcoin-miner.exe -o http://bitpenny.dyndns.biz:8332/ -u 1B8M8C48PBGdKtsGSVnCAPMgnxFTVxGXUB -p xyzzy

i have played around with it a bit but invariably it just hangs, displaying 0 MHash/s.  i can use deepbit without an issue though.
ufasoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2011, 02:50:38 PM
 #118

bitcoin-miner.exe -o http://bitpenny.dyndns.biz:8332/ -u 1B8M8C48PBGdKtsGSVnCAPMgnxFTVxGXUB -p xyzzy

i have played around with it a bit but invariably it just hangs, displaying 0 MHash/s.  i can use deepbit without an issue though.

WinInet firstly makes request without Login/Password. But this pool incorrectly returns "OK" HTTP code in Response Headers.



Bitcoin donations: 18X598V8rVdjy3Yg1cjZmnnv4SpPthuBeT
frankiebits
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


Cheif Executive Director of Thermal Dissipation


View Profile
March 17, 2011, 11:36:16 PM
 #119

I can not get this miner to run for me. It just opens and closes.

For user it's -u and password -p correct?

What else do I need?

theboos
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
March 18, 2011, 12:18:14 AM
 #120

http://ufasoft.com/open/bitcoin/
Performance: 2.3 MHash/s per core on 2.3 GHz CPU [1000 CPU cycles per hash]

Has anyone actually achieved 2.3 MHash/s per core? It seems like the OS would steal cycles. I'm running a 2.5 GHz dual-core CPU and I'm getting a maximum of 950 KHash/s, even when I raise the process priority.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!