Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:24:59 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Ufasoft Miner - Windows/Linux, x86/x64, SSE2/OpenCL, Open Source  (Read 600517 times)
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 01:32:23 AM
 #481

Well that clears up hte trojan false positive.I now need help in getting this app to work.How should it be run?via GUIMiner?or by directly launching it (by clicking on it's exe with admin rights cus that's wot I did n still no luck)
First you need to add it to your safe files or exclusions.
Second you need to report it to Comodo as a false positive (although they probably won't fix it, I have reported eesyslog several times to no avail).
Third, you need to pop up a command window and run bitcoin-miner -? to get the list of parameters.
Fourth you need to run bitcoin-miner with the appropriate parameters to mine at your pool.
1481178299
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481178299

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481178299
Reply with quote  #2

1481178299
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481178299
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481178299

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481178299
Reply with quote  #2

1481178299
Report to moderator
1481178299
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481178299

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481178299
Reply with quote  #2

1481178299
Report to moderator
1481178299
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481178299

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481178299
Reply with quote  #2

1481178299
Report to moderator
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
August 08, 2011, 07:03:15 AM
 #482

I am getting similar issues with Symantec Antivirus. It flags bitcoin-miner.exe as a Trojan.Gen. Someone in my thread theorized that this is due to a botnet/trojan downloading this binary and using it to mine, which on the face of it seems like a reasonable explanation.

d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile WWW
August 08, 2011, 08:45:44 AM
 #483

Ah yes, it used to be recognized by Malware-bytes as well, but I made it very well known that bitcoin miners were legitimate programs and that the true malware lies not in the legitimate program that it downloads, but in the code executed to put it on the computer in the first place.  I imagine that if we spam Comodo with false positive messages, they will be more apt to remove it from their malware list and go after the real threat/trojan.

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Professional filmmaker/Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2011, 10:27:11 AM
 #484

I neeed hlep with setup in cmd as I'm not very good with commandlines.Is it possible that your program can be made to be run with GUIMiner as the GUI front end.If not hepl with how to set up Ufasoft via cmd.

What commands do I need to use and in which order and which way should I type them in thanx.

I now managed to start it but am stuck on wht to do next.

Thank you.

If sum1 can post a screen grab of how I should do it for CPU and GPU miners if need be,that'd help me a lot

Thanx :-)

[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile WWW
August 08, 2011, 01:54:30 PM
 #485

I neeed hlep with setup in cmd as I'm not very good with commandlines.Is it possible that your program can be made to be run with GUIMiner as the GUI front end.If not hepl with how to set up Ufasoft via cmd.

What commands do I need to use and in which order and which way should I type them in thanx.

I now managed to start it but am stuck on wht to do next.

Thank you.

If sum1 can post a screen grab of how I should do it for CPU and GPU miners if need be,that'd help me a lot

Thanx :-)
Press the Windows key + R.  Type cmd and press enter.  Navigate to the folder you placed the files in via the dir command.  (For example: dir "C:/users/me/Desktop")  type bitcoin-miner and press enter.  This will show you the list of commands and how to use them.

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
Paul4games
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
August 08, 2011, 03:39:38 PM
 #486

Ah yes, it used to be recognized by Malware-bytes as well, but I made it very well known that bitcoin miners were legitimate programs and that the true malware lies not in the legitimate program that it downloads, but in the code executed to put it on the computer in the first place.  I imagine that if we spam Comodo with false positive messages, they will be more apt to remove it from their malware list and go after the real threat/trojan.
We should definetly do that with all the av's that detects this miner as it starts to become annoying.
d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile WWW
August 09, 2011, 09:07:29 AM
 #487

Ah yes, it used to be recognized by Malware-bytes as well, but I made it very well known that bitcoin miners were legitimate programs and that the true malware lies not in the legitimate program that it downloads, but in the code executed to put it on the computer in the first place.  I imagine that if we spam Comodo with false positive messages, they will be more apt to remove it from their malware list and go after the real threat/trojan.
We should definetly do that with all the av's that detects this miner as it starts to become annoying.
Most of these anti-viruses are part of a collaborative network that shares virus signatures between one-another.  When one detects what it believes to be a virus and creates a signature for it, it passes it on to the others and they update theirs to catch it too.  I fear that Ufasoft may have gotten caught in such a collaboration so what you propose may be the only way to handle it.

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 10:52:06 AM
 #488

Considering ufasoft hasn't released the new source and the recent virus warnings, i would start thinking that he is the one spreading the botnet.

He was asked many times in this thread and he just ignored the requests(didn't even bother answering). I don't really need the source, but if he is spreading the botnet, it's very likely the current exe to be "infected" as well.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
pennytrader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 02:13:03 PM
 #489

Considering ufasoft hasn't released the new source and the recent virus warnings, i would start thinking that he is the one spreading the botnet.

He was asked many times in this thread and he just ignored the requests(didn't even bother answering). I don't really need the source, but if he is spreading the botnet, it's very likely the current exe to be "infected" as well.
+1

please donate to 1P3m2resGCP2o2sFX324DP1mfqHgGPA8BL
Paul4games
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 03:48:21 PM
 #490

Considering ufasoft hasn't released the new source and the recent virus warnings, i would start thinking that he is the one spreading the botnet.

He was asked many times in this thread and he just ignored the requests(didn't even bother answering). I don't really need the source, but if he is spreading the botnet, it's very likely the current exe to be "infected" as well.
Well it's not very nice to make stataments like that based on nothing, i'll analyze it tonight to see if there it's any backdoor in it even if i don't really beleive that.
pennytrader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 04:28:01 PM
 #491

Considering ufasoft hasn't released the new source and the recent virus warnings, i would start thinking that he is the one spreading the botnet.

He was asked many times in this thread and he just ignored the requests(didn't even bother answering). I don't really need the source, but if he is spreading the botnet, it's very likely the current exe to be "infected" as well.
Well it's not very nice to make stataments like that based on nothing, i'll analyze it tonight to see if there it's any backdoor in it even if i don't really beleive that.
Thank you. In today's world, it's better to trust nobody (rather error in the cautious side). I might be too paranoid that I end up reinstall my os lol

please donate to 1P3m2resGCP2o2sFX324DP1mfqHgGPA8BL
ufasoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2011, 06:18:52 PM
 #492

Considering ufasoft hasn't released the new source and the recent virus warnings, i would start thinking that he is the one spreading the botnet.

He was asked many times in this thread and he just ignored the requests(didn't even bother answering). I don't really need the source, but if he is spreading the botnet, it's very likely the current exe to be "infected" as well.
1. As you can see ufasoft.com has other business. It is a software development. And the domain ufasoft.com registered more than 10  years.

2. Risk of reputation loss don't allow any long-time shareware developer to embed any backdoor to his software.
Botnet creators always are anonymous.

3. Source code of latest version for Linux will be provided after testing of build process.
4. Binary for Windows with CUDA support will be provided during a week.
5. I have a few time to answer repeating questions about antiviruses, so mostly I ignore them.




Bitcoin donations: 18X598V8rVdjy3Yg1cjZmnnv4SpPthuBeT
Paul4games
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
August 09, 2011, 11:18:18 PM
 #493

I didn't really had time to analyze it manually but here it's the anubis report and i don't see any malicious activity:
http://anubis.iseclab.org/?action=result&task_id=1261a0437ea86961459c96c181af07dd5&format=html
d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile WWW
August 11, 2011, 11:29:38 AM
 #494

https://support.comodo.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=1025
If you would please report the false positive here, we might be able to get something accomplished.

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
ufasoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2011, 02:43:44 PM
 #495

0.20 with CUDA support uploaded

Bitcoin donations: 18X598V8rVdjy3Yg1cjZmnnv4SpPthuBeT
village.idiot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 07:40:32 PM
 #496

I apologize if I'm asking something that has been answered before.
I looked through the thread and didn't see anything about 5xxx or 6xxx series AMD GPUs.

I've been mining with a Linux rig because Windows is such a resource hog and I didn't want it to have a negative affect on my mining.
I'm using poclbm running two Radeon 5770 cards.  The miner can also use the CPU but I only get less than 4 GH/s from my AMD Phenom II X4.
I have another machine with nearly the same processor running Win7 so I tried this ufasoft_bitcoin-miner on it and I get more than three times as much work!  WOW, impressive!
So my question would be:
How well does this work with AMD 5xxx series GPUs in Windoze?
ufasoft
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2011, 08:32:49 PM
 #497

How well does this work with AMD 5xxx series GPUs in Windoze?

HD5870 (GPU freq 900 MHz): 380 MHash/s

Bitcoin donations: 18X598V8rVdjy3Yg1cjZmnnv4SpPthuBeT
village.idiot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
August 11, 2011, 08:59:23 PM
 #498

I don't know 5870s but it sounds like I should try running my rig with this miner on Windows and that will at least give me a CPU shares increase.

Thanks
Paul4games
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
August 12, 2011, 03:12:18 PM
 #499

I submited false-postive reports on comodo/symatec i hope they will remove the detection from their databases and does any other av's detect thsi as an virus?
d3m0n1q_733rz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile WWW
August 12, 2011, 05:17:10 PM
 #500

Cool.  I did that yesterday too.  I actually went into chat with a rep and asked them to remove it.  They said okay, but I don't know if they'll do it or if they're just taking the lazy way out to try to make people feel better without actually doing anything.

BTW Ufasoft, you made a minor typo in your edit of your first post to reflect the version number.  You jumped from version 19 to 29.  ;-)

Funroll_Loops, the theoretically quicker breakfast cereal!
Check out http://www.facebook.com/JupiterICT for all of your computing needs.  If you need it, we can get it.  We have solutions for your computing conundrums.  BTC accepted!  12HWUSguWXRCQKfkPeJygVR1ex5wbg3hAq
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!