Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 03:19:09 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 ... 67 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Primecoin GPU miner: 9.1 CPD on a 280x / pool / 2% dev.fee  (Read 99941 times)
merc84
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 799


View Profile
April 01, 2014, 05:35:36 PM
 #141

If you are testing this you might consider providing some useful stats like; total run time, amount of gpus, type of cpu and gpu, 10chains and blocks found. This way we can actually have some idea of chain per day, and performance vs traditional cpu mining. I think we can all agree it works question is how much better is it really than cpu mining and just saying u found some blocks tells us nothing that isn't already established at this point.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513351149
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513351149

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513351149
Reply with quote  #2

1513351149
Report to moderator
1513351149
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513351149

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513351149
Reply with quote  #2

1513351149
Report to moderator
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 01, 2014, 05:46:59 PM
 #142

So here are our reasonings regarding licenses:

We do want to get some money from selling the miner. At the same time we don't want to ruin the coin by making it non-profitable via raising the difficulty into 11-chains in a week. We are now looking for a solution that will suit both us and the our customers.

Unless you talk us out of this idea, we are going to sell a limited number of licenses for the first 1-3 months.
The number should be 1440 GPUs - we are able to produce licenses for any number of GPUs (1-6).
This way the number of chains per minute on the network would rise by 1.2 and the difficulty would rise by 35-40%.
2nd month - for 2880 GPUs, maybe 2x this amount. We go open source in 6 months.

Of course, we can't totally control the difficulty:
For example, if a more profitable GPU miner appears and we are unable to optimize ours anymore - we will go open source. This would probably pump the difficulty.

One more thing:
We've already recieved 4 suggestions to sell licenses for farms with 40-60 rigs. Selling these licences would mean that all of 1440 go to 3-4 people/organizations.
It would be very bad for the coin. So our idea is to limit 2 licences (8 GPUs max) per each buyer - at least for first 2 months. We would only sell the miner to bitcointalk'ers with a registration date prior to 25.03.2014.
If we are unable to sell this limited number of licenses within 2 weeks, we would sell the rest to farmers (alternatively - slash the price).

You comments / ideas are very welcome.
Also regarding the price - we would like to hear the voice of the community .
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 01, 2014, 05:59:44 PM
 #143

If you are testing this you might consider providing some useful stats like; total run time, amount of gpus, type of cpu and gpu, 10chains and blocks found. This way we can actually have some idea of chain per day, and performance vs traditional cpu mining. I think we can all agree it works question is how much better is it really than cpu mining and just saying u found some blocks tells us nothing that isn't already established at this point.
+1.
ozzy1926
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
April 01, 2014, 06:00:38 PM
 #144

So here are our reasonings regarding licenses:

We do want to get some money from selling the miner. At the same time we don't want to ruin the coin by making it non-profitable via raising the difficulty into 11-chains in a week. We are now looking for a solution that will suit both us and the our customers.

Unless you talk us out of this idea, we are going to sell a limited number of licenses for the first 1-3 months.
The number should be 1440 GPUs - we are able to produce licenses for any number of GPUs (1-6).
This way the number of chains per minute on the network would rise by 1.2 and the difficulty would rise by 35-40%.
2nd month - for 2880 GPUs, maybe 2x this amount. We go open source in 6 months.

Of course, we can't totally control the difficulty:
For example, if a more profitable GPU miner appears and we are unable to optimize ours anymore - we will go open source. This would probably dump the difficulty.

One more thing:
We've already recieved 4 suggestions to sell licenses for farms with 40-60 rigs. Selling these licences would mean that all of 1440 go to 3-4 people/organizations.
It would be very bad for the coin. So our idea is to limit 2 licences (8 GPUs max) per each buyer - at least for first 2 months. We would only sell the miner to bitcointalk'ers with a registration date prior to 25.03.2014.
If we are unable to sell this limited number of licenses within 2 weeks, we would sell the rest to farmers (alternatively - slash the price).

You comments / ideas are very welcome.
Also regarding the price - we would like to hear the voice of the community .


what will be license price?
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
April 01, 2014, 06:00:53 PM
 #145

If you are testing this you might consider providing some useful stats like; total run time, amount of gpus, type of cpu and gpu, 10chains and blocks found. This way we can actually have some idea of chain per day, and performance vs traditional cpu mining. I think we can all agree it works question is how much better is it really than cpu mining and just saying u found some blocks tells us nothing that isn't already established at this point.

-Runtime: 22hs
-Found two 10 chains and 1 block apparently (yet it doesn't show up in my primecoin wallet).
-Gear: Two r9 280x cards at 1100mhz core and 1500mhz mem and an i7 3820 at stock with 1600mhz ddr3 cl11-11-11-28-2t ram. (2x4gb)
-Os: Win 8 Enterprise 64bit

What am I doing wrong?
Supercomputing
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278


View Profile
April 01, 2014, 06:05:00 PM
 #146

So here are our reasonings regarding licenses:

We do want to get some money from selling the miner. At the same time we don't want to ruin the coin by making it non-profitable via raising the difficulty into 11-chains in a week. We are now looking for a solution that will suit both us and the our customers.

Unless you talk us out of this idea, we are going to sell a limited number of licenses for the first 1-3 months.
The number should be 1440 GPUs - we are able to produce licenses for any number of GPUs (1-6).
This way the number of chains per minute on the network would rise by 1.2 and the difficulty would rise by 35-40%.
2nd month - for 2880 GPUs, maybe 2x this amount. We go open source in 6 months.

Of course, we can't totally control the difficulty:
For example, if a more profitable GPU miner appears and we are unable to optimize ours anymore - we will go open source. This would probably dump the difficulty.

One more thing:
We've already recieved 4 suggestions to sell licenses for farms with 40-60 rigs. Selling these licences would mean that all of 1440 go to 3-4 people/organizations.
It would be very bad for the coin. So our idea is to limit 2 licences (8 GPUs max) per each buyer - at least for first 2 months. We would only sell the miner to bitcointalk'ers with a registration date prior to 25.03.2014.
If we are unable to sell this limited number of licenses within 2 weeks, we would sell the rest to farmers (alternatively - slash the price).

You comments / ideas are very welcome.
Also regarding the price - we would like to hear the voice of the community .


Sounds good and I completely agree.

Payment address and pricing please.

Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
http://www.eecs.mit.edu/
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 01, 2014, 06:06:38 PM
 #147

If you are testing this you might consider providing some useful stats like; total run time, amount of gpus, type of cpu and gpu, 10chains and blocks found. This way we can actually have some idea of chain per day, and performance vs traditional cpu mining. I think we can all agree it works question is how much better is it really than cpu mining and just saying u found some blocks tells us nothing that isn't already established at this point.

-Runtime: 22hs
-Found two 10 chains and 1 block apparently (yet it doesn't show up in my primecoin wallet).
-Gear: Two r9 280x cards at 1100mhz core and 1500mhz mem and an i7 3820 at stock with 1600mhz ddr3 cl11-11-11-28-2t ram. (2x4gb)
-Os: Win 8 Enterprise 64bit

What am I doing wrong?

Please PM me the part of %AppData%\Roaming\Primecoin\debug.log file near "CheckPrimeProofOfWork" line.
usahero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 423


View Profile
April 01, 2014, 06:26:18 PM
 #148

Would licence work if I changed OS from win7 to win8?

Ivanlabrie, you probably just weren't as lucky as  I was.
trogdorjw73
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile WWW
April 01, 2014, 06:33:58 PM
 #149

So I have a couple questions/problems.

1) Running the client on the system with my PrimeCoin wallet, I can't run the client and wallet at the same time -- the wallet is locked out by the client, or vice versa. How do I see my wallet balance? (I guess I just need to run it on another PC maybe?)
2) How can you see the chains/day rate of the GPU miner? All I see are GPU times for my three GPUs, with numbers that don't seem to mean much.

Are there any command line options for the server? I just ran the client with the target PC's IP address and then on the mining rig I just ran prime-gpu.exe with no other options. It seems to be working, but I have a Celeron G1610 running three HD 7950 GPUs, with a CPU load around 60-80%. Ah well, it will be interesting to watch and see how it goes.

primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 01, 2014, 07:05:37 PM
 #150

So I have a couple questions/problems.

1) Running the client on the system with my PrimeCoin wallet, I can't run the client and wallet at the same time -- the wallet is locked out by the client, or vice versa. How do I see my wallet balance? (I guess I just need to run it on another PC maybe?)
It's a known issue. Not sure that we can fix it fast, but we can make a workaround: show the balance in the client.

2) How can you see the chains/day rate of the GPU miner? All I see are GPU times for my three GPUs, with numbers that don't seem to mean much.
CPD is being added at this very moment Smiley
GPU time is the time it takes for the GPU to process a chunk of data. Good value for a 280x is 220-240, depending on core clock.

Are there any command line options for the server? I just ran the client with the target PC's IP address and then on the mining rig I just ran prime-gpu.exe with no other options. It seems to be working, but I have a Celeron G1610 running three HD 7950 GPUs, with a CPU load around 60-80%. Ah well, it will be interesting to watch and see how it goes.
The only command-line option on the server is -cpuusage=[1..5]. For Celeron G1610 -cpuusage=1 or -cpuusage=2 should give the best results.
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 01, 2014, 07:10:12 PM
 #151

Would licence work if I changed OS from win7 to win8?
I'm not sure. Probably no.
MZD
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 189


View Profile
April 01, 2014, 07:17:56 PM
 #152

Can I has miner? Lots of 7870s.
kov
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile WWW
April 01, 2014, 07:20:47 PM
 #153

PM sent.

██████████████████████████████████████
█▌▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▐█
█▌█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░███████████▐█
█▌██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█░░░░░░██████████▐█
█▌███░░▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░██░░█████████▐█
█▌████░░░░██████░░░░░░░░████████▐█
█▌█████░░░░████░░░░░░░░░░███████▐█
█▌██████░░░░██░░░░░░██░░░░██████▐█
█▌███████░░░░░░░░░░████░░░░█████▐█
█▌████████░░░░░░░░██████░░░░████▐█
█▌█████████░░██░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀░░███▐█
█▌██████████░░░░░░█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██▐█
█▌███████████░░█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█▐█
█▌▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▐█
██████████████████████████████████████


█████████████
██░░░▄▄▄░░░██
███████████
███████████
███████████
███████████
███████████
███████████
███████████
██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██
██░░░░░░░░██
█████████████



███████████████
███████▀███████
█████▀░░░▀█████
███▀░░░░░░░▀███
████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████
████▀█▀█▀█▀████
████████
████████
███▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
███████████████
qwep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
April 01, 2014, 07:27:35 PM
 #154

PM sent.
DeViL303
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
April 01, 2014, 07:28:07 PM
 #155

very interested, ive got 14 x sapphire 7970's ready to go.

http://imgur.com/AUMSKoM
Axco
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
April 01, 2014, 07:46:47 PM
 #156

I am interested in this.

I have
6 x 280x gigabyte windforce run by intel g3420,
2 x 280x sapphire dual x OC run from an intel I7 OC to 4.6ghz hydro cooled.

PM me if any use.

Thanks Axco.

Edit
6 gpu rig G3420 (3.2ghz)haswell,  8gb ddr3 ram, windows 8.1 64bit
2 gpu rig I7 ivy bridge (4.6ghz)  16gb ddr3 ram, windows 8.1 64bit
 
azerbaidjan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
April 01, 2014, 07:49:01 PM
 #157

It took several months of development and it's finally here!
Current mining speed is 1.2 10-chain/day on a single 280x (7970) card - that's about 6.7 XPMs/day.

At this point you surely think it's another scam. We would.
Well, we would like to ask 4 reputable posters to volunteer to test our software.
We would gladly compensate you with 0.1 BTC if you agree to run our miner on your rigs for a couple of days and report the results.
You also keep the mined XPMs and a free licence Smiley
Anyway, the miner itself doesn't need neigther internet connection nor access to your wallet. It's just like an ASIC paired with an open-source client via TCP.

FAQ: http://primegpu.com/faq.html

interested in testing, is it still possible?
tx!
souljah1h
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Hyperspace snail


View Profile WWW
April 01, 2014, 08:10:03 PM
 #158

I have 10 r9 280x to test with, would like to try this. Can you send details?

_@/'
jack80
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
April 01, 2014, 08:46:54 PM
 #159

I have 4 Nvidia 750ti ready to go . Send me PM .






██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▄▄▄███████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀▀▀████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████





INTRODUCING WAVES
ULTIMATE ASSET/CUSTOM TOKEN BLOCKCHAIN PLATFORM







montecristo83
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
April 01, 2014, 08:47:43 PM
 #160

I'm very interested in this. I have the following GPUs available for testing:

Rig #1:

(4) 280X


Rig #2:

(2) 6950
(1) 6970
(1) 5870
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 ... 67 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!