Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 08:54:13 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Primecoin GPU miner: 9.1 CPD on a 280x / pool / 2% dev.fee  (Read 99941 times)
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
April 07, 2014, 03:30:54 PM
 #601

Hi,

I would like to try this on a rig with 2X 280x so I need 2 licence i suppose?

I have a celeron cpu on this rig, will I be able to reach max performance of my 2 280x?

You need better processor to achieve max performance. i5+

Even a AMD Phenom I or Phenom II or Core2 Quad is better than a Celeron. Or even a 1st gen Core i5.

Has anyone tested out if overclocking/underclocking the core clock and/or memory on gpu's have any impact on performance?

Underclocking memory doesn't impact perf much if at all...core speed needs to be maxed out (as much as thermals and stability permit)
Cpu core clock doesn't do much, I was at 4ghz and have better perf at 3.6ghz (stock).

Stability is more important, and a good ISP and low latency.
1513630453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513630453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513630453
Reply with quote  #2

1513630453
Report to moderator
1513630453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513630453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513630453
Reply with quote  #2

1513630453
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513630453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513630453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513630453
Reply with quote  #2

1513630453
Report to moderator
1513630453
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513630453

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513630453
Reply with quote  #2

1513630453
Report to moderator
SpeedDemon13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
April 07, 2014, 03:42:41 PM
 #602

Hi,

I would like to try this on a rig with 2X 280x so I need 2 licence i suppose?

I have a celeron cpu on this rig, will I be able to reach max performance of my 2 280x?

You need better processor to achieve max performance. i5+

Even a AMD Phenom I or Phenom II or Core2 Quad is better than a Celeron. Or even a 1st gen Core i5.

Has anyone tested out if overclocking/underclocking the core clock and/or memory on gpu's have any impact on performance?

Underclocking memory doesn't impact perf much if at all...core speed needs to be maxed out (as much as thermals and stability permit)
Cpu core clock doesn't do much, I was at 4ghz and have better perf at 3.6ghz (stock).

Stability is more important, and a good ISP and low latency.

I notice that overclocking the gpu core gives the biggest performance gain. I overclocked to 1200mhz core and it's stable.

CRYPTSY exchange: https://www.cryptsy.com/users/register?refid=9017 BURST= BURST-TE3W-CFGH-7343-6VM6R BTC=1CNsqGUR9YJNrhydQZnUPbaDv6h4uaYCHv ETH=0x144bc9fe471d3c71d8e09d58060d78661b1d4f32 SHF=0x13a0a2cb0d55eca975cf2d97015f7d580ce52d85 EXP=0xd71921dca837e415a58ca0d6dd2223cc84e0ea2f SC=6bdf9d12a983fed6723abad91a39be4f95d227f9bdb0490de3b8e5d45357f63d564638b1bd71 CLAMS=xGVTdM9EJpNBCYAjHFVxuZGcqvoL22nP6f SOIL=0x8b5c989bc931c0769a50ecaf9ffe490c67cb5911
pablotextoris
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157



View Profile WWW
April 07, 2014, 04:57:58 PM
 #603

Hi,

I would like to try this on a rig with 2X 280x so I need 2 licence i suppose?

I have a celeron cpu on this rig, will I be able to reach max performance of my 2 280x?

You need better processor to achieve max performance. i5+

Even a AMD Phenom I or Phenom II or Core2 Quad is better than a Celeron. Or even a 1st gen Core i5.

Has anyone tested out if overclocking/underclocking the core clock and/or memory on gpu's have any impact on performance?

Underclocking memory doesn't impact perf much if at all...core speed needs to be maxed out (as much as thermals and stability permit)
Cpu core clock doesn't do much, I was at 4ghz and have better perf at 3.6ghz (stock).

Stability is more important, and a good ISP and low latency.

I notice that overclocking the gpu core gives the biggest performance gain. I overclocked to 1200mhz core and it's stable.


Guys - how do you "performance gain" ?
Also what does the GPU #x time: value stands for? I have noticed it is decreasing when I am clocking the GPU core upwards...

kev7112001
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 429


View Profile
April 07, 2014, 05:13:29 PM
 #604

i must be lucky as hell cause i started up another wallet on a rig with 6970's thats mining scrypt and xpm for beeeeer but i had the conf set to server/gen and the phenom ii 965 hit 4 blocks within 6 hrs if thats not crazy plus i hit another on a single 7970 none yet with dual 290x or dual 7970 in that time i remind u that the 965 was mining on beeeeer and solo mining at the same time

MCXNOW MODERATOR
pablotextoris
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157



View Profile WWW
April 07, 2014, 05:16:39 PM
 #605

i must be lucky as hell cause i started up another wallet on a rig with 6970's thats mining scrypt and xpm for beeeeer but i had the conf set to server/gen and the phenom ii 965 hit 4 blocks within 6 hrs if thats not crazy plus i hit another on a single 7970 none yet with dual 290x or dual 7970 in that time i remind u that the 965 was mining on beeeeer and solo mining at the same time

ROFL kev - pack your sht and run to Las Vegas! You might make it till you run out of luck!

kev7112001
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 429


View Profile
April 07, 2014, 07:07:46 PM
 #606

i have seen that the 14.3 beta 1 drivers are way faster than the 13.12 for the 290x even though we have that error that happens right before it starts

MCXNOW MODERATOR
SpeedDemon13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
April 07, 2014, 07:38:39 PM
 #607

i have seen that the 14.3 beta 1 drivers are way faster than the 13.12 for the 290x even though we have that error that happens right before it starts

I have no issues with 14.3, seems to be pretty stable for a beta driver.

CRYPTSY exchange: https://www.cryptsy.com/users/register?refid=9017 BURST= BURST-TE3W-CFGH-7343-6VM6R BTC=1CNsqGUR9YJNrhydQZnUPbaDv6h4uaYCHv ETH=0x144bc9fe471d3c71d8e09d58060d78661b1d4f32 SHF=0x13a0a2cb0d55eca975cf2d97015f7d580ce52d85 EXP=0xd71921dca837e415a58ca0d6dd2223cc84e0ea2f SC=6bdf9d12a983fed6723abad91a39be4f95d227f9bdb0490de3b8e5d45357f63d564638b1bd71 CLAMS=xGVTdM9EJpNBCYAjHFVxuZGcqvoL22nP6f SOIL=0x8b5c989bc931c0769a50ecaf9ffe490c67cb5911
kev7112001
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 429


View Profile
April 07, 2014, 07:45:34 PM
 #608

sucks that there is a pool miner that will make it easy for botnets to switch to it

MCXNOW MODERATOR
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
April 07, 2014, 08:15:07 PM
 #609

sucks that there is a pool miner that will make it easy for botnets to switch to it

Yup, courtesy of the mother of all botnet pools: ypool argh
gilad215
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
April 07, 2014, 08:59:50 PM
 #610

Just so i understand, the topic says a single 280x makes 6.6XPM per day.
i own 15 of those cards. that means ill be making 100XPM per day which is 0.18BTC

is this possible? please answer thank you.

and another question.

in my rigs i have 5x280 with a pentium haswell on H81 PRO BTC. right now it seems the cpu won't be enough?
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 07, 2014, 09:07:53 PM
 #611

Just so i understand, the topic says a single 280x makes 6.6XPM per day.
i own 15 of those cards. that means ill be making 100XPM per day which is 0.18BTC

is this possible? please answer thank you.
1.4 chains/day is an estimation for a decent CPU and a 1-/2-card setup.
For a rig of 4 cards you should expect 1.1-1.25 depending on your CPUs.

The difficulty rises pretty fast now, so 1.4 chains/day is now ~ 6.2XPM per day (just changed the value in OP).

We're going to have some speed improvements though.

in my rigs i have 5x280 with a pentium haswell on H81 PRO BTC. right now it seems the cpu won't be enough?
I would expect ~1.1 cpd / per card on this setup.
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 07, 2014, 09:14:02 PM
 #612

Also what does the GPU #x time: value stands for? I have noticed it is decreasing when I am clocking the GPU core upwards...
It's the time it takes to process a chunk of data.
gilad215
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
April 07, 2014, 10:15:51 PM
 #613

Just so i understand, the topic says a single 280x makes 6.6XPM per day.
i own 15 of those cards. that means ill be making 100XPM per day which is 0.18BTC

is this possible? please answer thank you.
1.4 chains/day is an estimation for a decent CPU and a 1-/2-card setup.
For a rig of 4 cards you should expect 1.1-1.25 depending on your CPUs.

The difficulty rises pretty fast now, so 1.4 chains/day is now ~ 6.2XPM per day (just changed the value in OP).

We're going to have some speed improvements though.

in my rigs i have 5x280 with a pentium haswell on H81 PRO BTC. right now it seems the cpu won't be enough?
I would expect ~1.1 cpd / per card on this setup.

can you explain what a chain means? is there a chance i won't find a chain (i think its like a block) each day?
improvements for cpu usage coming?
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 07, 2014, 10:49:08 PM
 #614

can you explain what a chain means? is there a chance i won't find a chain (i think its like a block) each day?
With the current difficulty (it's rising fast) each 10-chain has 0.49 chance of being a block-solver.
It's solo mining, so there's no guarantee, but with 15 GPUs your real value will be close enough to the expected one.

improvements for cpu usage coming?
Yes, but no ETA.
pablotextoris
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157



View Profile WWW
April 07, 2014, 10:58:35 PM
 #615

Also what does the GPU #x time: value stands for? I have noticed it is decreasing when I am clocking the GPU core upwards...
It's the time it takes to process a chunk of data.

thanks a lot for response!
so if I understand it right  - the lower it is the better, correct?

kev7112001
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 429


View Profile
April 07, 2014, 11:02:20 PM
 #616

everyone just remember the diff on this coin isnt the same as other so 10.5 is harder than 11

http://anty.info/primecoin-calculator/

MCXNOW MODERATOR
pablotextoris
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157



View Profile WWW
April 07, 2014, 11:06:06 PM
 #617

Just so i understand, the topic says a single 280x makes 6.6XPM per day.
i own 15 of those cards. that means ill be making 100XPM per day which is 0.18BTC

is this possible? please answer thank you.
1.4 chains/day is an estimation for a decent CPU and a 1-/2-card setup.
For a rig of 4 cards you should expect 1.1-1.25 depending on your CPUs.

The difficulty rises pretty fast now, so 1.4 chains/day is now ~ 6.2XPM per day (just changed the value in OP).

We're going to have some speed improvements though.

in my rigs i have 5x280 with a pentium haswell on H81 PRO BTC. right now it seems the cpu won't be enough?
I would expect ~1.1 cpd / per card on this setup.

can you explain what a chain means? is there a chance i won't find a chain (i think its like a block) each day?
improvements for cpu usage coming?

- by "chain" we are referring mostly to the 10.xx difficulty chain, which means the chain that is found is a chain with difficulty of 10>.
- Note that current PrimeCoin difficulty at the moment of writing this response is "10.51041383" therefore any chain with a difficulty higher than that being found effectively means you have found a block - as I understand it Smiley

urubu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
April 07, 2014, 11:10:18 PM
 #618

14.3 does bump perf on 290x, thanks.

I got a strange block today, wasn't a 10 chain and had 10.3 xpm value. do they usually reject right away if they are bad?  This one has 1000 or so confirmations, could it still reject?
pablotextoris
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157



View Profile WWW
April 07, 2014, 11:26:13 PM
 #619

14.3 does bump perf on 290x, thanks.

I got a strange block today, wasn't a 10 chain and had 10.3 xpm value. do they usually reject right away if they are bad?  This one has 1000 or so confirmations, could it still reject?

well all from 8 blocks I have found with this miner has been showing the vaue around 9.12 - 9.13 - i Think - not sure cause i am mining right now and therefor my Qt is locked.

primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 07, 2014, 11:30:04 PM
 #620

14.3 does bump perf on 290x, thanks.
What CPD do you have and what's you setup? TIA.

I got a strange block today, wasn't a 10 chain and had 10.3 xpm value. do they usually reject right away if they are bad? 
Khm, interesting... Could you PM me the corresponding part of %AppData%\Roaming\Primecoin\debug.log

This one has 1000 or so confirmations, could it still reject?
6 confirmations is usually enough to be sure it's ok, 1000+ is an overkill.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!