Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 05:41:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Primecoin GPU miner: 9.1 CPD on a 280x / pool / 2% dev.fee  (Read 99941 times)
urubu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 10:24:53 PM
 #341

How are 290x improvements coming along? Eta?

 I want to buy this  for a couple of my cards, but if 290x improvements are coming soon, I would prefer to run it on those instead.
1513618902
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513618902

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513618902
Reply with quote  #2

1513618902
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513618902
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513618902

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513618902
Reply with quote  #2

1513618902
Report to moderator
1513618902
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513618902

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513618902
Reply with quote  #2

1513618902
Report to moderator
1513618902
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513618902

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513618902
Reply with quote  #2

1513618902
Report to moderator
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 03, 2014, 10:49:48 PM
 #342

How are 290x improvements coming along? Eta?
I want to buy this  for a couple of my cards, but if 290x improvements are coming soon, I would prefer to run it on those instead.
We're planning to make a 290x-optimized version in 1 month, but it can take a bit more time.
trogdorjw73
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile WWW
April 03, 2014, 10:56:59 PM
 #343

So testing on my 3x7950 rig, I finally (FINALLY!) found a block:



Great! Except, where are the coins stored? I have the client running on another system, and here's what I see:

Quote
Code:
new height:473347
new height:473348
new height:473349
==== BLOCK FOUND ==== (see debug.log for details).
new height:473350
new height:473351
new height:473352
...SNIP!...
new height:473486
new height:473487
new height:473488
==== CHAIN FOUND ==== (see debug.log for details).
new height:473489
new height:473490
new height:473491

Checking out debug.log:

Quote
ERROR: PrimecoinMiner : generated block is stale

Son of a.... So I've now "found" 1 block and four chains, but no coins to date. Been running about two days now. Blarg. Some people get lucky... some people write blogs.  Tongue

trogdorjw73
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile WWW
April 03, 2014, 10:59:21 PM
 #344

How are 290x improvements coming along? Eta?
I want to buy this  for a couple of my cards, but if 290x improvements are coming soon, I would prefer to run it on those instead.
We're planning to make a 290x-optimized version in 1 month, but it can take a bit more time.
Moooo! Milk it for all it's worth!

primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 03, 2014, 11:07:17 PM
 #345

Son of a.... So I've now "found" 1 block and four chains, but no coins to date. Been running about two days now. Blarg. Some people get lucky... some people write blogs.  Tongue
Ouch... On the bright side, your 'time' value is pretty good for 7950.
merc84
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 799


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 11:52:04 PM
 #346

Does the wallet need be open for this to work correctly seems the miner is running but it gave error when the wallet was open?
Primorial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 11:57:12 PM
 #347

It seems to me that member mtrlt was on the right track but needed some help with an efficient multiple-precision arithmetic implementation.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=258540.0

Although I have almost no experience with OpenCL, it will not take too much time to supercharge mtrlt's code with an efficient implementation of some functions. I will have some playtime in May to mess around with the code.

You are right, his code makes perfect sense but contains several bugs, some of them are obvious, some are hard to even detect. Making a functional prototype out of it seems to be moderately hard (don't ask me how do I know), getting competitive performance even on GCN is much harder, as usual, though. Modern AMD's OpenCL compiler is unstable, unpredictable and buggy, it is no fun to play with.

Do you have any suggestions for the best OpenCL compiler version to use? ISA Assembler?

Thanks in advance

All the versions supporting R9 290 (since Catalyst 13.11 Beta 6) are essentially sub-par,  and it appears benefitial to try different releases for each moderately complicated kernel individually. Miscompiles are frequent for fragments with intensive integer computations, some versions are unable to compile heavily unrolled kernels at all.

There is no official  AMD GCN ISA assembler available to the public.  This http://openwall.info/wiki/john/development/GCN-ISA unofficial implementation appears to be most promising, but needs work.
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 04, 2014, 12:02:04 AM
 #348

All the  versions supporting R9 290 (since Catalyst 13.11 Beta 6) are sub-par,  hence each moderately complicated kernel benefits from choosing its own particular version. Miscompiles are frequent for fragments with intensive integer computations, some versions are unable to compile heavily unrolled kernels at all.

There is no official  AMD GCN ISA assembler available to the public.  This http://openwall.info/wiki/john/development/GCN-ISA unofficial implementation appears to be most promising, but needs work.
Could you please stop derailing the thread, thank you.
Primorial
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
April 04, 2014, 12:05:30 AM
 #349

Could you please stop derailing the thread, thank you.

Ok  Grin
merc84
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 799


View Profile
April 04, 2014, 12:08:13 AM
 #350

cpuusage set to 7 but only using 7-8% of the E3 1230v3; note i used affinity mask for cores 1-7 but only 3 of those cores as showing any use.
Starlightbreaker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile
April 04, 2014, 12:13:39 AM
 #351

Son of a.... So I've now "found" 1 block and four chains, but no coins to date. Been running about two days now. Blarg. Some people get lucky... some people write blogs.  Tongue
Ouch... On the bright side, your 'time' value is pretty good for 7950.

....wait.

so that means my 290 time for 7950 isn't bad at all?

now i know.


i guess it's better for a 7950 to be mixed with 7970s/280x then?                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         






▄▄▄▄              ▄▄                                                              ▄▄▄▄
████             ████                                                             ████
████              ▀▀      ████                         ████                       ████
████  ▄▄▄▄▄      ▄▄▄▄   ▄▄████▄▄▄▄▄      ▄▄▄▄▄       ▄▄████▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄      ████
█████████████    ████   ███████████   ▄████▀████▄    ███████████  ▐██████████▄    ████
████     ▀████   ████     ████      ▄████▀   █████▄    ████        ▀▀    ▀████    ████
████      ████   ████     ████      ███▀    ▀██████    ████         ▄▄▄▄▄▄████    ████
████      ████   ████     ████      ████▄██▄  ▀████    ████       ████████████    ████
████     ▄████   ████     ████▄     ▀████████▄  ██▀    ████▄     ▐███▌    ▐███    ████       ▄▄
████████████▀    ████     ▀███████▌   ▀█████████▀      ▀███████▌  ████████████    ▀█████▌   ████
   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀           ▀▀▀▀▀▀     ▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀▀      ▀▀▀▀     ▀▀   

primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 04, 2014, 12:21:28 AM
 #352

....wait.
so that means my 290 time for 7950 isn't bad at all?
now i know.
290 is kinda unexpected for me. We should have an edition for 7950/270x really soon.

i guess it's better for a 7950 to be mixed with 7970s/280x then?
There shouldn't be any correlation.
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 04, 2014, 12:25:37 AM
 #353

cpuusage set to 7 but only using 7-8% of the E3 1230v3; note i used affinity mask for cores 1-7 but only 3 of those cores as showing any use.
That's for 1 card, right?
We'll probably expand -cpuusage setting in a future version.
merc84
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 799


View Profile
April 04, 2014, 12:33:29 AM
 #354

yes just one card Smiley Time is around 210 and estimated ch/d is 1.36 Smiley
mustyoshi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 288



View Profile
April 04, 2014, 12:35:15 AM
 #355

How do we know this isn't just a clever way to sell a server farm? I'd like to see blockchain embedded proof that these users' GPUs are actually the ones mining these blocks.
merc84
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 799


View Profile
April 04, 2014, 12:39:23 AM
 #356

with such low cpu usage would it be safe to set affinity to just 1 core so i can use the remaining cores for cpu mining?
Starlightbreaker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile
April 04, 2014, 12:44:21 AM
 #357

....wait.
so that means my 290 time for 7950 isn't bad at all?
now i know.
290 is kinda unexpected for me. We should have an edition for 7950/270x really soon.

i guess it's better for a 7950 to be mixed with 7970s/280x then?
There shouldn't be any correlation.
not 290 as in r9 290, but 290 as in the time in the miner server for my 7950.

280x now floating around 230-250.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   






▄▄▄▄              ▄▄                                                              ▄▄▄▄
████             ████                                                             ████
████              ▀▀      ████                         ████                       ████
████  ▄▄▄▄▄      ▄▄▄▄   ▄▄████▄▄▄▄▄      ▄▄▄▄▄       ▄▄████▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄      ████
█████████████    ████   ███████████   ▄████▀████▄    ███████████  ▐██████████▄    ████
████     ▀████   ████     ████      ▄████▀   █████▄    ████        ▀▀    ▀████    ████
████      ████   ████     ████      ███▀    ▀██████    ████         ▄▄▄▄▄▄████    ████
████      ████   ████     ████      ████▄██▄  ▀████    ████       ████████████    ████
████     ▄████   ████     ████▄     ▀████████▄  ██▀    ████▄     ▐███▌    ▐███    ████       ▄▄
████████████▀    ████     ▀███████▌   ▀█████████▀      ▀███████▌  ████████████    ▀█████▌   ████
   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀           ▀▀▀▀▀▀     ▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀▀      ▀▀▀▀     ▀▀   

Starlightbreaker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile
April 04, 2014, 12:46:16 AM
 #358

and speaking of luck..



 Grin

4 blocks in less than an hour.                                                                                                                                                                                                                       






▄▄▄▄              ▄▄                                                              ▄▄▄▄
████             ████                                                             ████
████              ▀▀      ████                         ████                       ████
████  ▄▄▄▄▄      ▄▄▄▄   ▄▄████▄▄▄▄▄      ▄▄▄▄▄       ▄▄████▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄      ████
█████████████    ████   ███████████   ▄████▀████▄    ███████████  ▐██████████▄    ████
████     ▀████   ████     ████      ▄████▀   █████▄    ████        ▀▀    ▀████    ████
████      ████   ████     ████      ███▀    ▀██████    ████         ▄▄▄▄▄▄████    ████
████      ████   ████     ████      ████▄██▄  ▀████    ████       ████████████    ████
████     ▄████   ████     ████▄     ▀████████▄  ██▀    ████▄     ▐███▌    ▐███    ████       ▄▄
████████████▀    ████     ▀███████▌   ▀█████████▀      ▀███████▌  ████████████    ▀█████▌   ████
   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀           ▀▀▀▀▀▀     ▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀▀      ▀▀▀▀     ▀▀   

primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 04, 2014, 12:49:28 AM
 #359

with such low cpu usage would it be safe to set affinity to just 1 core so i can use the remaining cores for cpu mining?
Probably yes.
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 04, 2014, 12:51:47 AM
 #360

and speaking of luck..

4 blocks in less than an hour.
Khm... Looks like a bug. There is no way it can have a block w/o a 10-chain.
Gonna check it right now.

Have you by a chance restarted the server w/o restarting the client?
(Not saying you shouldn't do this, it'd just helped me in locating the problem)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!