Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 07:12:50 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Primecoin GPU miner: 9.1 CPD on a 280x / pool / 2% dev.fee  (Read 99941 times)
andy_gpu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 11:05:14 AM
 #301

that means using this miner with 290 not worth its 65xpm price?
There is no support in our licensing model for different types of GPU. So currently it is the same price.
But we will think about it.

However it does not look too bad with 290 just because the mining promises to be profitable anyway. Of course if you want to buy new cards for mining then you should avoid 290. Smiley

Mining on 270x is more problematic of course. So we need to think about another license.
1513494770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513494770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513494770
Reply with quote  #2

1513494770
Report to moderator
1513494770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513494770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513494770
Reply with quote  #2

1513494770
Report to moderator
1513494770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513494770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513494770
Reply with quote  #2

1513494770
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513494770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513494770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513494770
Reply with quote  #2

1513494770
Report to moderator
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
April 03, 2014, 11:22:38 AM
 #302

I don't think buying new amd cards is a wise investment right now...unless x11 based coins, myriad and vertcoin and similar scrypt-n coins REALLY take off, or this miner turns out to be super awesome and primecoin price goes up 2-5x.

I think going for GTX 750 ti 2gb cards  (or r9 270 4gb if you insist on amd) is the wisest choice for future proofing.

Soon scrypt will be dead, most gpu farms with 7950, 7970, 280x, r9 270 2gb, r9 290 will migrate to vertcoin and similar coins (less ram requirementes no need for 64bit os), a few of them will migrate to scrypt-chacha coins like ultracoin, microcoin, cachecoin and qqcoin (at least till they go past n factor 12, which already hits them hard hash wise...a gtx 750 ti is better at it than a 280X, and it gets worse with each higher n factor change, lower shader count cards win there -related to vram buffer size)

Their other safe haven will be X11, heavycoin/hefty1 and the algos used by myriad coin, which for now, are asic proof and don't require high vram to shader ratios nor system memory to run well, but there are few x11 coins that are good (hiro and dark) and myriad isn't proven to be a huge success yet (I think it might stand a chance though).

It's NOT the time to invest in new r9 280x or r9 290 cards, or cards with a low shader to vram ratio...better be prepared than sorry.
BUT, if you already have said cards, this miner might make it worth it.
ozzy1926
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 12:08:55 PM
 #303

that means using this miner with 290 not worth its 65xpm price?
There is no support in our licensing model for different types of GPU. So currently it is the same price.
But we will think about it.

However it does not look too bad with 290 just because the mining promises to be profitable anyway. Of course if you want to buy new cards for mining then you should avoid 290. Smiley

Mining on 270x is more problematic of course. So we need to think about another license.
If you can make different gpu that support it will really great and yes it still be profitable with 290 but if you look at its electricity usage and miner performance  it deserves a lower license price than 280x.Same for 270x  or other gpu .
pablotextoris
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157



View Profile WWW
April 03, 2014, 01:18:32 PM
 #304

So far I got 4 10 chains and 2 blocks found with my 2 280x Toxic's in 36 hours.

usahero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 423


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 02:43:15 PM
 #305

How will you guys handle licences and hardware changes?  For example I would like to buy licences for a rig and later upgrade its cpu. Currently that doesn't work with testing version. Will it work with official version?
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 03, 2014, 02:51:25 PM
 #306

How will you guys handle licences and hardware changes?  For example I would like to buy licences for a rig and later upgrade its cpu. Currently that doesn't work with testing version. Will it work with official version?
It turns out it does work with the testing version too. If you installed a new CPU, please just send us the new hardware ID.
Starlightbreaker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile
April 03, 2014, 02:52:44 PM
 #307



Found two 10 ch and 1 block after reducing temps by 13c and decreasing core clock by 25mhz.
Running time was barely 8 hours this time, after mining with different settings and higher temps for 12hs without a single 10 ch.

2 msi gaming r9 280x cards at 1075mhz core, 1050mv, 1500mhz ram, i7 3820 at 4.3ghz and samsumg ram at 1600mhz cl11-11-11-28-1t.
Win 7 Pro 64
8gb of ram



lowered the clock to 1000/1200, got 4 10-chains and 3 blocks in ~12 hours.

fucking awesome.


...or i just got lucky.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       






▄▄▄▄              ▄▄                                                              ▄▄▄▄
████             ████                                                             ████
████              ▀▀      ████                         ████                       ████
████  ▄▄▄▄▄      ▄▄▄▄   ▄▄████▄▄▄▄▄      ▄▄▄▄▄       ▄▄████▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄      ████
█████████████    ████   ███████████   ▄████▀████▄    ███████████  ▐██████████▄    ████
████     ▀████   ████     ████      ▄████▀   █████▄    ████        ▀▀    ▀████    ████
████      ████   ████     ████      ███▀    ▀██████    ████         ▄▄▄▄▄▄████    ████
████      ████   ████     ████      ████▄██▄  ▀████    ████       ████████████    ████
████     ▄████   ████     ████▄     ▀████████▄  ██▀    ████▄     ▐███▌    ▐███    ████       ▄▄
████████████▀    ████     ▀███████▌   ▀█████████▀      ▀███████▌  ████████████    ▀█████▌   ████
   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀           ▀▀▀▀▀▀     ▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀▀      ▀▀▀▀     ▀▀   

andy_gpu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 05:23:59 PM
 #308

We have updated the miner (Prime GPU server part). New version is 1.02 and it is available on our web site.

Changed things:
1) "Estimated number of chains per day" is added.
2) "Time" indicator is a moving average now so it does not jump up and down.
3) "Mining time" indicator is added. It shows total mining time of the server instance.
4) Some minor big fixes.

We will handle the requests of license keys ASAP.
jack80
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 05:44:47 PM
 #309

Hi, PrimeGPU, thanks for your answer about Nvidia, but I mentioned specifically CUDA - everybody knows, that Nvidia promotes their stuff and punishes others (OpenCL).
I take it as a given (although sad) you are not interested in technology every supercomputing centre (worth mentioning) uses.

To add some recent info : ... scrypt ... But the Maxwell architecture's improvements allow the 60 W GeForce GTX 750 Ti to outperform the 140 W GeForce GTX 660 and approach AMD's 150 W Radeon R7 265, which just launched, still isn't available yet, but is expected to sell for the same $150. On a scale of performance (in kH/s) per watt, that puts Nvidia way out ahead of AMD. Today, four GM107-based cards in a mining rig should be able to outperform a Radeon R9 290X for less money, using less power.

source :
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-gtx-750-ti-review,3750-17.html

The good thing is that I can take it as a challenge to make a better miner - using CUDA + 750ti Wink
Anybody interested in testing ?


Im interested and i have 4 Nvidia 750 ti .






██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▄▄▄███████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀▀▀████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████





INTRODUCING WAVES
ULTIMATE ASSET/CUSTOM TOKEN BLOCKCHAIN PLATFORM







shacky
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 05:56:33 PM
 #310

We have updated the miner (Prime GPU server part). New version is 1.02 and it is available on our web site.

Changed things:
1) "Estimated number of chains per day" is added.
2) "Time" indicator is a moving average now so it does not jump up and down.
3) "Mining time" indicator is added. It shows total mining time of the server instance.
4) Some minor big fixes.

We will handle the requests of license keys ASAP.

If I update it, I will need a new license?

Thanks
usahero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 423


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 06:05:25 PM
 #311

glinko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 06:05:50 PM
 #312

We have updated the miner (Prime GPU server part). New version is 1.02 and it is available on our web site.

Changed things:
1) "Estimated number of chains per day" is added.
2) "Time" indicator is a moving average now so it does not jump up and down.
3) "Mining time" indicator is added. It shows total mining time of the server instance.
4) Some minor big fixes.

We will handle the requests of license keys ASAP.
fix the link to client http://primegpu.com/files/prime-gpu.zip  or fix the name of the file...
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 03, 2014, 06:16:17 PM
 #313

If I update it, I will need a new license?
Your license is ok for this and any future updates.
trogdorjw73
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile WWW
April 03, 2014, 06:27:55 PM
 #314

Silly question perhaps, but what's the difference between a block and a 10-ch with PrimeGPU?

If I understand correctly, a 10-ch is a 10-chain potential solution, but it needs to have a value above the current difficulty (~10.44) in order to be worth anything. Is that correct? I ask because my system showed two 10-ch solutions and 0 blocks, but I don't seem to have received any XPM in my wallet.

Second question: how do you stop the server? Ctrl+C doesn't seem to work (or at least, it doesn't *always* work), and the same goes for pressing "Q".

primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 03, 2014, 06:34:35 PM
 #315

Silly question perhaps, but what's the difference between a block and a 10-ch with PrimeGPU?

If I understand correctly, a 10-ch is a 10-chain potential solution, but it needs to have a value above the current difficulty (~10.44) in order to be worth anything. Is that correct? I ask because my system showed two 10-ch solutions and 0 blocks, but I don't seem to have received any XPM in my wallet.
That's pretty much correct. There's no bounty for a 10-chain that is not a block.

Second question: how do you stop the server? Ctrl+C doesn't seem to work (or at least, it doesn't *always* work), and the same goes for pressing "Q".
Well, we'll definitely add something of the above in a future version. We use standard Windows GUI features - double-click of top-left corner or click on the top-right corner of the window.
trogdorjw73
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile WWW
April 03, 2014, 06:48:57 PM
 #316

Second question: how do you stop the server? Ctrl+C doesn't seem to work (or at least, it doesn't *always* work), and the same goes for pressing "Q".
Well, we'll definitely add something of the above in a future version. We use standard Windows GUI features - double-click of top-left corner or click on the top-right corner of the window.
But it's running in a command prompt, so really you're shutting down the command prompt instead of just closing PrimeGPU. It might seem like a small thing, but sometimes people like to have their CMD history remain. Also, it would be good to get some additional command-line parameters. For example, I'd like the option to have the server not clear the screen and instead output a line of text every pass. Getting all the information (time on each GPU, pass number, est. chains per day, etc.) shouldn't be too difficult. Something like this:

Code:
Primecoin GPU miner ver. 1.02
-----------------------------
Pass: 237 0.24 hours  GPU #0: 369  GPU #1: 370  GPU #2: 370  10-ch : 0 (exp: 0.024)  Blocks: 0 (exp: 0.013)  CPD: 2.34

Then you could have "BLOCK FOUND!" and "10-CH FOUND!" messages, and for someone like me if I want to look back on the past day or two of mining I can get a reasonable idea of what has happened. I assume you'll also be adding some parameters that allow for tuning based on the GPU being used, so that 7950/R9 280 and R9 290/290X performance will scale appropriately? Thread-concurrency, GPU threads, and intensity in CGminer basically cover this, but with the current version of PrimeGPU it's basically "one size fits 280X -- SOL if you're running something else".

primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 03, 2014, 06:54:46 PM
 #317

Something like this:
Thanks for the suggestion. Added to todo list.
zero3112
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
April 03, 2014, 07:05:32 PM
 #318

I bet that botnet owner is not happy now that XPM is gpu mined.
rabruslik
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 07:15:40 PM
 #319

Is this miner supports radeon 6950?
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 03, 2014, 07:22:10 PM
 #320

Is this miner supports radeon 6950?
Not in the current version.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!