Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 11:24:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Primecoin GPU miner: 9.1 CPD on a 280x / pool / 2% dev.fee  (Read 99941 times)
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 15, 2014, 11:05:50 AM
 #841

Any news on working with a pool?
Have some progress, but still no ETA.
1513423471
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513423471

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513423471
Reply with quote  #2

1513423471
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513423471
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513423471

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513423471
Reply with quote  #2

1513423471
Report to moderator
kev7112001
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 429


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 02:17:46 PM
 #842

any more updates to the solo

MCXNOW MODERATOR
primeGPU
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
April 15, 2014, 02:52:31 PM
 #843

any more updates to the solo
We're planning to release a new version by the weekend.
kev7112001
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 429


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 03:26:41 PM
 #844

any more updates to the solo
We're planning to release a new version by the weekend.

is it optimized for only tahiti or did you include hawaii optimizations as well

MCXNOW MODERATOR
lacrossewacker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 04:58:35 PM
 #845

Is primecoin still worth mining on CPU's?

I have about 50 cores (i5's and i7's)

oops wrong thread....
Pinocchio
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 07:37:17 PM
 #846

Is there any way to increase GPU load? Mine is at 95% and I'd like it to be a bit higher. CPU is at 50%, using CPU usage 9. If I increase it to 10, GPU load goes down to 88% and CPU occupancy increases to 75-90%, resulting in a worse overall 'GPU#0 time' number. CPU usage 10 and GPU load of around 98% would be perfect...

I wonder what is better in the long-run for a one card setup, primeGPU or Claymore? PrimeGPU seems to be about 10% faster, plus Claymore and ypool take 25% of your earnings. But they also offer a steady coin supply which is only gonna get less steady in the future and it seems to me that Claymore can withstand higher GPU and CPU overclocks. Claymore hasn't crashes on me yet, while primeGPU has, (plenty of times) even at settings that were reporting CPD of 1.65 in case one was to look for a culprit in my CPD value Grin, which can be pretty disastrous for solo mining if your machine is unattended for long periods of time. Looks like in a couple of months it will be very hard to mine solo with one card, I would imagine one would have to get the initial investment of 35XPM back by the time difficulty hits 11 and make some additional coin by then also, in order to be ahead of Claymore & ypool overall, unless a no fee pool was also set up for primeGPU rather soon.

My screenshot:
http://s27.postimg.org/yth0ae6w3/prime_GPU1.jpg
dga
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 07:54:26 PM
 #847

Is there any way to increase GPU load? Mine is at 95% and I'd like it to be a bit higher. CPU is at 50%, using CPU usage 9. If I increase it to 10, GPU load goes down to 88% and CPU occupancy increases to 75-90%, resulting in a worse overall 'GPU#0 time' number. CPU usage 10 and GPU load of around 98% would be perfect...

I wonder what is better in the long-run for a one card setup, primeGPU or Claymore? PrimeGPU seems to be about 10% faster, plus Claymore and ypool take 25% of your earnings. But they also offer a steady coin supply which is only gonna get less steady in the future and it seems to me that Claymore can withstand higher GPU and CPU overclocks. Claymore hasn't crashes on me yet, while primeGPU has, (plenty of times) even at settings that were reporting CPD of 1.65 in case one was to look for a culprit in my CPD value Grin, which can be pretty disastrous for solo mining if your machine is unattended for long periods of time. Looks like in a couple of months it will be very hard to mine solo with one card, I would imagine one would have to get the initial investment of 35XPM back by the time difficulty hits 11 and make some additional coin by then also, in order to be ahead of Claymore & ypool overall, unless a no fee pool was also set up for primeGPU rather soon.

Where do you get 25%?  Ypool's fee is 3% and Claymore's is 10%, no?

BTC: 17sb5mcCnnt4xH3eEkVi6kHvhzQRjPRBtS
csa1234
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 08:27:03 PM
 #848

Is there any way to increase GPU load? Mine is at 95% and I'd like it to be a bit higher. CPU is at 50%, using CPU usage 9. If I increase it to 10, GPU load goes down to 88% and CPU occupancy increases to 75-90%, resulting in a worse overall 'GPU#0 time' number. CPU usage 10 and GPU load of around 98% would be perfect...

I wonder what is better in the long-run for a one card setup, primeGPU or Claymore? PrimeGPU seems to be about 10% faster, plus Claymore and ypool take 25% of your earnings. But they also offer a steady coin supply which is only gonna get less steady in the future and it seems to me that Claymore can withstand higher GPU and CPU overclocks. Claymore hasn't crashes on me yet, while primeGPU has, (plenty of times) even at settings that were reporting CPD of 1.65 in case one was to look for a culprit in my CPD value Grin, which can be pretty disastrous for solo mining if your machine is unattended for long periods of time. Looks like in a couple of months it will be very hard to mine solo with one card, I would imagine one would have to get the initial investment of 35XPM back by the time difficulty hits 11 and make some additional coin by then also, in order to be ahead of Claymore & ypool overall, unless a no fee pool was also set up for primeGPU rather soon.

My screenshot:


Which video card is this? R9 290x?
Pinocchio
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 08:41:52 PM
 #849

Quote
Where do you get 25%?  Ypool's fee is 3% and Claymore's is 10%, no?

You're right, ypool's fee is not 15%, obviously. I made a mistake. The overall difference between the two miners, all fees and performance differences included, amount to about 25% higher coin yield on primeGPU, according to what I've experienced so far... I hope it's going to be worth 35XPM in the end. Grin


pablotextoris
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157



View Profile WWW
April 15, 2014, 09:05:45 PM
 #850


Hey Pinocchio, how in the hell you managed to get the your estimated avg CPD up to 2.36 with a single card?
- what card/type/model/brand is it?
- what were the clocks on core/memory you have used to get this high CPD?
- have you already found any blocks/chains using these settings?

urubu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 09:17:22 PM
 #851

It looks like he just started it.  Mine always shows high numbers right at the start, then they gradually stabilize down.
Pinocchio
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
April 15, 2014, 09:54:38 PM
 #852

I have a R9 280x. Yes, it's a Sapphire Toxic with Hynix H5GQ2H24AFR (bios 015.041).Grin I'm using Catalyst 13.9.

And yes, I was just starting the miner, the numbers did drop later, but 2 CPD on this card is no problem. If I overclock the card and CPU too much, the system does crash after an hour or so, so I've since lowered the clock on both for a better performance/efficiency ratio and healthier temperatures. For some reason, lowering the CPU overclock increased primeGPU stats.

My current settings are:
CPU: 3570k @ 4.2 (stock voltage)
GPU: 1270 core/1670 mem (stock voltage)

temps:
CPU: 53 (occupancy 50%)
GPU: 67 (occupancy 93%)

GPU #0 time: 158
CPD: 1.85-2 (yo-yos between these numbers)
drozenski
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
April 16, 2014, 01:42:31 AM
 #853

It looks like he just started it.  Mine always shows high numbers right at the start, then they gradually stabilize down.

Correct Mine always do the same thing. Start in the low 3's high 2's then stabilize within the first 30 mins.
SpeedDemon13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
April 16, 2014, 02:30:56 AM
 #854

Only issue I get is that AMD Catalyst sometimes crashes, but the miner keep mining fine. I don't get that with the other XPM miner.

CRYPTSY exchange: https://www.cryptsy.com/users/register?refid=9017 BURST= BURST-TE3W-CFGH-7343-6VM6R BTC=1CNsqGUR9YJNrhydQZnUPbaDv6h4uaYCHv ETH=0x144bc9fe471d3c71d8e09d58060d78661b1d4f32 SHF=0x13a0a2cb0d55eca975cf2d97015f7d580ce52d85 EXP=0xd71921dca837e415a58ca0d6dd2223cc84e0ea2f SC=6bdf9d12a983fed6723abad91a39be4f95d227f9bdb0490de3b8e5d45357f63d564638b1bd71 CLAMS=xGVTdM9EJpNBCYAjHFVxuZGcqvoL22nP6f SOIL=0x8b5c989bc931c0769a50ecaf9ffe490c67cb5911
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
April 16, 2014, 04:02:08 AM
 #855

Only issue I get is that AMD Catalyst sometimes crashes, but the miner keep mining fine. I don't get that with the other XPM miner.

Unstable clock settings or failed bios flash.

The other miner isn't pushing your system as hard.
kev7112001
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 429


View Profile
April 16, 2014, 04:47:19 AM
 #856

i have never had any version crash

MCXNOW MODERATOR
SpeedDemon13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
April 16, 2014, 05:46:50 AM
 #857

Only issue I get is that AMD Catalyst sometimes crashes, but the miner keep mining fine. I don't get that with the other XPM miner.

Unstable clock settings or failed bios flash.

The other miner isn't pushing your system as hard.

It's not crashing the OS and the AMD driver isn't crashing. Probably just a glitch with Catalyst. Bios is fine.

CRYPTSY exchange: https://www.cryptsy.com/users/register?refid=9017 BURST= BURST-TE3W-CFGH-7343-6VM6R BTC=1CNsqGUR9YJNrhydQZnUPbaDv6h4uaYCHv ETH=0x144bc9fe471d3c71d8e09d58060d78661b1d4f32 SHF=0x13a0a2cb0d55eca975cf2d97015f7d580ce52d85 EXP=0xd71921dca837e415a58ca0d6dd2223cc84e0ea2f SC=6bdf9d12a983fed6723abad91a39be4f95d227f9bdb0490de3b8e5d45357f63d564638b1bd71 CLAMS=xGVTdM9EJpNBCYAjHFVxuZGcqvoL22nP6f SOIL=0x8b5c989bc931c0769a50ecaf9ffe490c67cb5911
Pinocchio
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
April 16, 2014, 12:53:32 PM
 #858

Do you have to restart the system when the driver crashes or can you just close and re-run the miner with zero performance drop?
I know Claymore's miner requires a system restart as it is otherwise slow and not working properly.
juve4v
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 506


View Profile
April 16, 2014, 04:32:55 PM
 #859



Am I the most unlucky miner,  diff too high or there is something wrong with my rig  ?
W8x64 14.3 beta synced with time.nist.gov
m3ct0n
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
April 16, 2014, 04:55:14 PM
 #860

http://i61.tinypic.com/166zkp.jpg

Am I the most unlucky miner,  diff too high or there is something wrong with my rig  ?
W8x64 14.3 beta synced with time.nist.gov

Same for me...

http://oi58.tinypic.com/zur0iu.jpg

Difficulty really high ... 10.71 :/
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!