Bitcoin Forum
September 27, 2016, 08:37:09 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 ... 89 »
  Print  
Author Topic: DiabloMiner GPU Miner  (Read 792474 times)
Rai
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
December 28, 2010, 04:14:41 PM
 #141

I did a comparison with m0mchil's miner and this one.  I got both to work, but they produce the same khps rate, averaging right around 21000 khps.  This is on a laptop, with an nVidia GTX 260M Hybrid SLI setup (with a GeForce 9400, but it only recognizes the GTX, latest drivers installed), running Windows 7 Ultimate.  Only difference is that there's a horrible slowdown when using the DiabloMiner, and no processes are running at 100%.  I'm not sure what it is that's bogging down the system, but it only happens when running DiabloMiner, not m0mchil's.  On a positive note, I was able to run minerd alongside DiabloMiner without any khps loss on either process.  I've toyed with with the -g -w and -f switches, but nothing really seems to help.  I suppose this particular miner isn't all that great for folks running nVidia hardware.  Unless there are some better suggestions to improve the performance of this thing... other than the usual "get an ATI/get linux" responses.

Spare some change? - 1LMaCyq4P1ZteaYmStaGcqxNyRJp2cK9EY
Bitcoin Randomizer (http://fxnet.co.cc/?ref=26Cool
1475008629
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475008629

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475008629
Reply with quote  #2

1475008629
Report to moderator
1475008629
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475008629

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475008629
Reply with quote  #2

1475008629
Report to moderator
Every time a block is mined, a certain amount of BTC (called the subsidy) is created out of thin air and given to the miner. The subsidy halves every four years and will reach 0 in about 130 years.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1475008629
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475008629

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475008629
Reply with quote  #2

1475008629
Report to moderator
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
December 28, 2010, 09:14:42 PM
 #142

Update: Reverted global getwork instance work, it was causing more problems than
it was fixing. Increased khash meter accuracy. Removed stuck executor
thread code, this didn't work right and the thread eventually unsticks
itself on applicable platforms anyhow.

DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
December 28, 2010, 09:18:27 PM
 #143

BTW, the java is using 100% CPU in my computer, not 0% as advertised. I want my money back! Wink

I'm using the last version. Do you want me to test anything?

It should only use 100% CPU for like 15-30 seconds, and then cut down to almost none.

I did a comparison with m0mchil's miner and this one.  I got both to work, but they produce the same khps rate, averaging right around 21000 khps.  This is on a laptop, with an nVidia GTX 260M Hybrid SLI setup (with a GeForce 9400, but it only recognizes the GTX, latest drivers installed), running Windows 7 Ultimate.  Only difference is that there's a horrible slowdown when using the DiabloMiner, and no processes are running at 100%.  I'm not sure what it is that's bogging down the system, but it only happens when running DiabloMiner, not m0mchil's.  On a positive note, I was able to run minerd alongside DiabloMiner without any khps loss on either process.  I've toyed with with the -g -w and -f switches, but nothing really seems to help.  I suppose this particular miner isn't all that great for folks running nVidia hardware.  Unless there are some better suggestions to improve the performance of this thing... other than the usual "get an ATI/get linux" responses.

Hybrid is generally broken on NVidia hardware; OSX has it worse than Windows. It seems in Windows it either only recognizes the first GPU or the current one (and won't switch while running either way). I don't suggest mining on hybrid machines until the manufacturers figure it out.

Also, NVidia users tend to have issues with OpenCL apps in general due to poor design in the driver. Try using -f 1000, this seems to fix the overall desktop interactivity problem, but loses performance.

Rai
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
December 28, 2010, 10:13:22 PM
 #144

Try using -f 1000, this seems to fix the overall desktop interactivity problem, but loses performance.

Unfortunately, not in this case.  The performance did not drop, but the bogdown is still just as terrible.  I'll try it on my other computer though, that one is not Hybrid.  I'll let you know how it turns out.

EDIT:

My other computer has two GTS 250's, with an SLI setup.  With m0mchil's miner, I have to run two separate processes, and each clocks in around 33000 khps.  With DiabloMiner, I have to only run one process and I get approximately 72000 khps, but again there's a terrible bogdown.  Playing with -w and using -f 1000 again does not drop performance, but doesn't help either.  Sad  Oh well, looks like I have to stick with m0mchil's miner on both machines.

Spare some change? - 1LMaCyq4P1ZteaYmStaGcqxNyRJp2cK9EY
Bitcoin Randomizer (http://fxnet.co.cc/?ref=26Cool
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2010, 08:55:03 AM
 #145

-w does not control lag in that way. It also needs to be a power of 2, and depending on your card, the maximum -w is either 256 or 512. Tuning it to optimum speed is all you can do with it, it won't stop lag.

I suspect nvidia drivers are terminally braindead. Make sure you're using the newest version. Also, 72 mhash > 66. Cheesy

Rai
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
December 29, 2010, 01:28:22 PM
 #146

-w does not control lag in that way. It also needs to be a power of 2, and depending on your card, the maximum -w is either 256 or 512. Tuning it to optimum speed is all you can do with it, it won't stop lag.

Good to know that.

I suspect nvidia drivers are terminally braindead. Make sure you're using the newest version. Also, 72 mhash > 66. Cheesy

Yes, but being able to use my computer while mining trumps not being able to, so 6 mhash is the price I pay for that.

Spare some change? - 1LMaCyq4P1ZteaYmStaGcqxNyRJp2cK9EY
Bitcoin Randomizer (http://fxnet.co.cc/?ref=26Cool
Azetab
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
December 31, 2010, 09:08:43 PM
 #147

Try using -f 1000, this seems to fix the overall desktop interactivity problem, but loses performance.

Unfortunately, not in this case.  The performance did not drop, but the bogdown is still just as terrible.  I'll try it on my other computer though, that one is not Hybrid.  I'll let you know how it turns out.

EDIT:

My other computer has two GTS 250's, with an SLI setup.  With m0mchil's miner, I have to run two separate processes, and each clocks in around 33000 khps.  With DiabloMiner, I have to only run one process and I get approximately 72000 khps, but again there's a terrible bogdown.  Playing with -w and using -f 1000 again does not drop performance, but doesn't help either.  Sad  Oh well, looks like I have to stick with m0mchil's miner on both machines.

Actually I have a ATI Radeon 4850 on Windows 7 and using Diablo's miner makes my computer unusable even with -f 1000 so I stick with m0mchil's.
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
January 01, 2011, 12:24:57 AM
 #148

Does it still blow up when Aero is off? It could very well just be Windows sucking, which can't be fixed. Microsoft, AMD, Nvidia, Intel, and Jesus Himself could all come together to fix it and they will surrender in disgust.

Rai
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
January 01, 2011, 01:42:17 AM
 #149

It does this on both Win7 (with Aero off) and WinXP.  So it's probably a combination of nVidia and Microsoft problems.

Spare some change? - 1LMaCyq4P1ZteaYmStaGcqxNyRJp2cK9EY
Bitcoin Randomizer (http://fxnet.co.cc/?ref=26Cool
humble
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91



View Profile
January 06, 2011, 09:07:30 PM
 #150

I'm trying to run this under Ubuntu Meerkat (i386) with an ATI 6870.

I installed the Ubuntu OpenCl packages from http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=390&threadid=125792&STARTPAGE=1&FTVAR_FORUMVIEWTMP=Linear

And am running Sun Java 6.

But when I try to start it I get:

[06/01/11 12:56:53 PM] Started
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: /home/humble/warez/DiabloMiner/target/libs/natives/linux/liblwjgl.so: /usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun-1.6.0.22/jre/lib/i386/libjawt.so: symbol awt_FreeDrawingSurface, version SUNWprivate_1.1 not defined in file libmawt.so with link time reference
   at java.lang.ClassLoader$NativeLibrary.load(Native Method)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary0(ClassLoader.java:1803)
   at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1728)
   at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:823)
   at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:1028)
   at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:73)
   at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
   at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
   at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:82)
   at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:99)
   at org.lwjgl.opencl.CL.<clinit>(CL.java:51)
   at com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner.execute(DiabloMiner.java:176)
   at com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner.main(DiabloMiner.java:90)


Meanwhile bitcoind has spun off 6 threads.

Thoughts?

((I'm pretty new to all this))
humble
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91



View Profile
January 07, 2011, 04:57:37 AM
 #151

You can ignore this  Roll Eyes

I figured out that it was because I didn't have an active X server. I went back and installed the proprietary ATI driver and rebooted into X and it works now!

Without specifying a work size it's now churning out about 220,000 khash/sec. I'll let it run like this for a few days and see what goes down.
FatherMcGruder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile WWW
January 08, 2011, 02:04:44 AM
 #152

I have an Nvidia GeForce GTX 460 and am running Ubuntu 10.10. When I run this:
Code:
kurt@El-Jefe:~/Programs/Diablo-D3-DiabloMiner-e3c3bfb$ ./DiabloMiner-Linux.sh -u [redacted] -p [redacted]
I get this:
Code:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: com/diablominer/DiabloMiner/DiabloMiner
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:217)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:205)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:321)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:294)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:266)
Could not find the main class: com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner. Program will exit.
Apparently, I'm using Nvidia's 260.19.06 driver. Not sure what the problem is. Can anyone help me out? Thanks.

I'm gonna try updating to the latest Nvidia driver per this guide. Hopefully that fixes the problem.

Use my Trade Hill referral code: TH-R11519

Check out bitcoinity.org and Ripple.

Shameless display of my bitcoin address:
1Hio4bqPUZnhr2SWi4WgsnVU1ph3EkusvH
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2011, 12:00:48 PM
 #153

I figured out that it was because I didn't have an active X server. I went back and installed the proprietary ATI driver and rebooted into X and it works now!

Yup, thats the infamous LWJGL Needs X, No Matter What bug.

I have an Nvidia GeForce GTX 460 and am running Ubuntu 10.10. When I run this:
Code:
kurt@El-Jefe:~/Programs/Diablo-D3-DiabloMiner-e3c3bfb$ ./DiabloMiner-Linux.sh -u [redacted] -p [redacted]
I get this:
Code:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: com/diablominer/DiabloMiner/DiabloMiner
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.diablominer.DiabloMiner.DiabloMiner
[/quote]

You downloaded from git didn't you? Use [tt]mvn package [/tt]to build the jars, or just use the binary instead.

DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2011, 12:02:42 PM
 #154

Heads up everyone: Catalyst 10.12 may be retarded.

FatherMcGruder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile WWW
January 09, 2011, 08:15:30 PM
 #155

...just use the binary instead.
Ok, just went with the binary and now I get this:
Code:
kurt@El-Jefe:~/DiabloMiner$ ./DiabloMiner-Linux.sh -u [redacted] -p [redacted]
[1/9/11 3:09:41 PM] Started
[1/9/11 3:09:42 PM] Added GeForce GTX 460 (#1) (7 CU, local work size of 512)
[1/9/11 3:09:42 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:42 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:42 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:48 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:48 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:48 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:53 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:54 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:53 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:59 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:59 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
[1/9/11 3:09:59 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Connection refused
Waiting...
That keeps repeating and eventually I get a hash rate in the bottom left corner of the terminal. My system also slows down. Seems like I'm getting somewhere and won't have to muck with my graphics driver. Not sure what I'm doing wrong though.

EDIT: Looks like I just had to run bitcoind first. Getting about 49000 khash/s now. Any way to pause it whenever I want a usable GUI?

Use my Trade Hill referral code: TH-R11519

Check out bitcoinity.org and Ripple.

Shameless display of my bitcoin address:
1Hio4bqPUZnhr2SWi4WgsnVU1ph3EkusvH
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
January 10, 2011, 01:41:32 AM
 #156

EDIT: Looks like I just had to run bitcoind first. Getting about 49000 khash/s now. Any way to pause it whenever I want a usable GUI?

Yes, you must run bitcoind, or bitcoin -server, or connect to a pool. This goes for any miner,

Try using the miner with -f 180 (for ATI) or -f 1000 (for Nvidia), this usually vastly improves UI response. However, Nvidia drivers tend to be broken and even -f 1000 doesn't fix it for some people. You may also have to stop the miner altogether to play 3D games.

DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2011, 11:25:19 AM
 #157

Update: Updated network code, blame slush

tryptamine
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24



View Profile
January 14, 2011, 12:15:40 PM
 #158

BTW, the java is using 100% CPU in my computer, not 0% as advertised. I want my money back! Wink

I'm using the last version. Do you want me to test anything?

It should only use 100% CPU for like 15-30 seconds, and then cut down to almost none.


Looks like it stays that way, it's been running for a few weeks that way (I can spare a core, heh).

It's Arch 64, OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.9.3) (ArchLinux-6.b20_1.9.3-1-x86_64), Core 2 Q6600, 8GB RAM, Radeon 5750.

Funds sent to this account will be spent in the assassination of Donald Rumsfeld: 1hNZkUurkAzg3BxtMYSVGEw4wfvwQnPzH
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2011, 03:04:24 PM
 #159

Looks like it stays that way, it's been running for a few weeks that way (I can spare a core, heh).

It's Arch 64, OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea6 1.9.3) (ArchLinux-6.b20_1.9.3-1-x86_64), Core 2 Q6600, 8GB RAM, Radeon 5750.

Either your CPU is very slow, you're not using SDK 2.1, or your kernel is insane and you need to turn cpufreq off (sudo cpufreq-set -g performance -c 0, repeat and increment -c for each cpu core).

humble
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91



View Profile
January 15, 2011, 09:00:21 AM
 #160

Just wanted to say that your miner is working really well for me. Thanks so much. If anyone wants some help setting up Diablo miner, using ATI cards, under Ubuntu Meerkat, I'm happy to help.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 ... 89 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!