Bitcoin Forum
September 26, 2016, 10:27:06 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 ... 89 »
  Print  
Author Topic: DiabloMiner GPU Miner  (Read 792343 times)
Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 487



View Profile WWW
January 27, 2011, 11:35:07 AM
 #181

Just a quick test reveals that the performance drop is due to commit dc5b12ee55c0dd3971591cfb7e1420de06bb5e59 (ArtForz's Kernel). Too bad I was really looking forward to this one. Is it just on my side or does the kernel not work with ATI Stream SDK 2.1?

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
1474928826
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474928826

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474928826
Reply with quote  #2

1474928826
Report to moderator
1474928826
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474928826

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474928826
Reply with quote  #2

1474928826
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
FatherMcGruder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile WWW
January 27, 2011, 02:04:45 PM
 #182

I noticed a 15 Mhash/s boost with the latest binary on my Nvidia GTX460. Well done!

Use my Trade Hill referral code: TH-R11519

Check out bitcoinity.org and Ripple.

Shameless display of my bitcoin address:
1Hio4bqPUZnhr2SWi4WgsnVU1ph3EkusvH
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2011, 10:50:45 AM
 #183

Cdecker, it might just be you. I'm using 10.12 + 2.1, and its working fine here, and its also working for a few other 5xxx users in #bitcoin-dev. If your -f is set too low, you might be cutting your card off at the knees.

DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2011, 09:43:06 AM
 #184

Apparently 11.1 is a boned release. At least one person has come into #bitcoin-dev stating OpenCL performance is shittastic. Stick with 10.11 and 10.12.

Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016


View Profile
January 31, 2011, 11:20:57 PM
 #185

Wow, just pulled the latest commit, added my JMX patch and started the worker again and it maxes out at 14 Mhash/s on my 5850, whereas I got 254 Mhash/s before. Somewhere I got a problem ^^ I'll try to track it down next week Smiley
My 5770 was pulling about 15 MH/s until I set "-w 64", then it goes back to the expected 150 MH/s.

Buy & Hold
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 01, 2011, 01:36:56 AM
 #186

Wow, just pulled the latest commit, added my JMX patch and started the worker again and it maxes out at 14 Mhash/s on my 5850, whereas I got 254 Mhash/s before. Somewhere I got a problem ^^ I'll try to track it down next week Smiley
My 5770 was pulling about 15 MH/s until I set "-w 64", then it goes back to the expected 150 MH/s.

Thats the problem though. There should be no reason -w 256 (the default on ATI hardware) should be THAT slower. It is slower for OpenCL kernels like the one I use in the miner, but it should be still >100.

gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
February 01, 2011, 02:11:25 AM
 #187

Hi :

Running Diablo successfully in Fedora 14, HD 5870, 260/290 Mhash/s with -w 64.
Any place I can find complete reference of tunning switches, sorry cannot not find them in wiki nor in docs.

Many Thanks
Gustavo


If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 01, 2011, 02:52:02 PM
 #188

Run the miner with --help. The only tuning switches are -w and -f, -w changes worksize (on ATI it has to be a multiple of 64, 64 seems to be the fastest, 256 is the default; on NVidia it has to be a multiple of 32, and all values seem to work exactly alike), -f changes how long the kernel runs (FPS, the lower the value the longer it runs, -f 1 has the least overhead but also destroys desktop interactivity).

Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 487



View Profile WWW
February 01, 2011, 06:43:44 PM
 #189

Strange, with -f 10 it now gives me similar results to what I got before ArtForzz's kernel was introduced. But I have a standard deviation of ~10%! Still not perfect but I'm going to tweak my settings further Cheesy

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2011, 03:23:48 AM
 #190

Use below -f 5, my miner counts hash performance from start, instead of using a 30 second average. If you're seriously benchmarking it, use -f 1 and let it run for like 15 minutes.

Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 487



View Profile WWW
February 02, 2011, 10:45:15 AM
 #191

Use below -f 5, my miner counts hash performance from start, instead of using a 30 second average. If you're seriously benchmarking it, use -f 1 and let it run for like 15 minutes.
Yeah, that's exactly my problem. It was fluctuating like hell but it stabilized over time right now I have a 5 hash/s standard deviation which is incredible. I had only a 5 minute warmup phase,a 5 minute hot phase and measured the average over the 5 minute hot phase and it didn't look nice. But with a longer warmup phase it looks better. Here's my monitoring graph for the last 24h.


Notice the high fluctuation and then the stabilization to a higher average Cheesy

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 03, 2011, 04:22:46 AM
 #192

Hmm, are you connecting locally or to slush's pool?

Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016


View Profile
February 03, 2011, 05:48:58 AM
 #193

With dual cards, my hash/sec are all over the place. It never settles in to a steady rate. (running locally)

Buy & Hold
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 03, 2011, 07:55:10 AM
 #194

With dual cards, my hash/sec are all over the place. It never settles in to a steady rate. (running locally)

As I said to cdecker, if you're benchmarking use -f 1

Cdecker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 487



View Profile WWW
February 03, 2011, 02:08:27 PM
 #195

Ohoh, somehow this is worrying me:


Any idea what might be causing this? I'm getting it along with a few connection errors to slush's pool

Want to see what developers are chatting about? http://bitcoinstats.com/irc/bitcoin-dev/logs/
Bitcoin-OTC Rating
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 03, 2011, 02:55:18 PM
 #196

Connections to the miner when they lag (such as connection failures) confuses the miner. If thats a long count hash, thats completely inaccurate... it could have flatlined completely to 0.

Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016


View Profile
February 03, 2011, 07:02:56 PM
 #197

Cdecker, how do you get the data for those graphs?

DiabloD3, "-f 1" definitely improves my hash-rate, but it still swings wildly. Typically between 300M and 350M, but also way below 300M from time to time. I'll try turning off crossfire and see if it improves.

Buy & Hold
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016


View Profile
February 03, 2011, 07:29:11 PM
 #198

Ok, it's not crossfire related. Even with a single card my hashes are all over the map, unlike my other system. It must be driver versions.

Buy & Hold
gusti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1102


View Profile
February 03, 2011, 11:33:59 PM
 #199

Using Fedora 14, "-f 1"  switch improved my hashrate more than 25% both on 5870 and 5970,
peaks are 350 and 610 Mhash respectively.  f1 is your friend ...   Wink



If you don't own the private keys, you don't own the coins.
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2011, 06:17:10 AM
 #200

The miner, even with -f 1, tries to adjust to system activity. I use -f 1000 on my 4850 now, and it swings wildly in all sorts of directions when I'm using my computer.... this is by design. Most people want to mine while having a useful desktop. -f 1 curbs this behavior as much as possible, but obviously does not eliminate it.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 ... 89 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!