Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2018, 06:29:39 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 ... 180 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Vanitygen: Vanity bitcoin address generator/miner [v0.22]  (Read 1108285 times)
pajak666
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 497
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 02, 2014, 10:57:27 PM
 #1621

what is the reason that address generation for 1address has bigger difficulty than 1AdReSs ?
afaik vanity gen randomly generates private keys and check if they match pattern we are willing to find?
both patterns have the same number of signs to look for, so what is the reason that it is easier to find pattern with small and capital letters?

1527445779
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527445779

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527445779
Reply with quote  #2

1527445779
Report to moderator
1527445779
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527445779

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527445779
Reply with quote  #2

1527445779
Report to moderator
1527445779
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527445779

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527445779
Reply with quote  #2

1527445779
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527445779
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527445779

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527445779
Reply with quote  #2

1527445779
Report to moderator
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 11:14:03 PM
 #1622

what is the reason that address generation for 1address has bigger difficulty than 1AdReSs ?
afaik vanity gen randomly generates private keys and check if they match pattern we are willing to find?
both patterns have the same number of signs to look for, so what is the reason that it is easier to find pattern with small and capital letters?
It isn't actually related to uppercase vs lowercase.  There's a pretty technical reason for the difficulty differences which has to do with the hash of the public key and how that gets encoded into Base58Check.  Check out this stack exchange post which explains it for the most part:
http://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/a/22786

Edit - And also this post: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25804.msg2606437#msg2606437

Deep1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 02, 2014, 11:47:17 PM
 #1623

Created mine within 10 mins

 ♔ PrimeDice.com | The Best Way To Roll ! | Free BTC Faucet | Instant Play & Chat (https://PrimeDice.com)
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1013



View Profile
April 03, 2014, 04:06:26 AM
 #1624

what is the reason that address generation for 1address has bigger difficulty than 1AdReSs ?
afaik vanity gen randomly generates private keys and check if they match pattern we are willing to find?
both patterns have the same number of signs to look for, so what is the reason that it is easier to find pattern with small and capital letters?
1address has 8 characters , 1AdReSs has 7 characters, so it takes more difficulty.

Open Altcoin Github
Limxtec Telegram












Bitsend BSD
Founder/ Technical /Markting Support
The first Masternodecoin with Segwit

www.bitcore.cc












Bitcore BTX
Founder/ Technical /Markting Support
The first hybrid fork from BTC

www.bitsend.info












Diamond DMD
Technical Support
The Jewel of Crypto

www.bitsend.info












Bitcloud BTDX
Technical Support
Masternodecoin 12.2

https://bit-cloud.info/













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
nomis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 06:18:53 AM
 #1625

Hi,

the vanitygen windows binary hosted at http://www.bitcointrading.com/files/vanitygen-0.17-win.zip is infected with malware!

https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/326f4695a2983b42e61996b904ef6d217cdf26a6968a86d14a7818fec0ad7ac4/analysis/1396505046/

Beware, as more recent versions of the binary could be infected, too.

I didn't find out the purpose of the trojan but I think it runs a mining tool in the background.

Maybe someone is able to do a more detailed analysis to identify infected systems as the trojan comes with rootkit functionality (http://www.yac.mx/en/guides/trojan-horse-guides/20140225-how-to-remove-Trojan/Achet.N.2-through-yac-virus-removal-tool.html).

Cheers!

1959rGTMe3jxS2SaEovmhmYmzWuEiuVi93
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 08:46:33 AM
 #1626

the vanitygen windows binary hosted at http://www.bitcointrading.com /files/vanitygen-0.17-win.zip is infected with malware!
Thanks for the heads-up.  Probably shouldn't use that, regardless.. it's outdated.

Beware, as more recent versions of the binary could be infected, too.
Yep - best to compile from source.
https://github.com/samr7/vanitygen - original
https://github.com/WyseNynja/vanitygen/ - more up-to-date

For what it's worth:
wiki-linked windows binary, 0.20 - 1/51
https://github.com/downloads/samr7/vanitygen/vanitygen-0.20-win.zip
https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/adf31fddfeb4662c5e53a29edfa38639b6120fee7f185c22c29e25c1fbadaf49/analysis/1396514229/

last version in that repo, 0.22 - 0/51
https://github.com/downloads/samr7/vanitygen/vanitygen-0.22-win.zip
https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/3c65ff20b086a20ccb49927e189f2b82b2c12ab5d8fb4158964165bb54ab7188/analysis/1396514608/

lifeboat.com version, 0.22 - 0/51 - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301068.0
http://lifeboat.com/oclvanitygen
https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/70d4cf1b2fb00cb6be1981ada4ba28e0d7591351f69a5c3edcfb210f9d7b10fc/analysis/1396514552/

e1ghtSpace
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1000


BTC since 2014, CHI since 2017


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2014, 06:21:53 AM
 #1627

what is the reason that address generation for 1address has bigger difficulty than 1AdReSs ?
afaik vanity gen randomly generates private keys and check if they match pattern we are willing to find?
both patterns have the same number of signs to look for, so what is the reason that it is easier to find pattern with small and capital letters?
1address has 8 characters , 1AdReSs has 7 characters, so it takes more difficulty.
Lol, i guess he didn't notice he typed address wrong.

██████████████████            ██████████
████████████████              ██████████
██████████████          ▄█   ███████████
████████████         ▄████   ███████████
██████████        ▄███████  ████████████
████████        ▄█████████  ████████████
██████        ▄███████████  ████████████
████       ▄██████████████ █████████████
██      ▄███████████████████████████████
▀        ███████████████████████████████
▄          █████████████████████████████
██▄         ▀███████████████████████████
████▄        ▀██████████████████████████
██████▄        ▀████████████████████████
████████▄        ████████████████▀ █████
██████████▄       ▀█████████████  ██████
████████████▄       ██████████   ███████
██████████████▄      ▀██████    ████████
████████████████▄▄     ███     █████████
███████████████████▄    ▀     ██████████
█████████████████████▄       ███████████
███████████████████████▄   ▄████████████





▄█████████████████   ███             ███   ███   ███▄                ▄███            █████            ████████████████   ████████████████▄             █████
███▀                 ███             ███   ███   ████▄              ▄████           ███████           ███                ███           ▀███           ███████
███                  ███             ███   ███   █████▄            ▄█████          ███▀ ▀███          ███                ███            ███          ███▀ ▀███
███                  ███             ███   ███   ███ ███▄        ▄███ ███        ▄███▀   ▀███▄        ███                ███           ▄███        ▄███▀   ▀███▄
███                  ███████████████████   ███   ███  ▀██▄      ▄██▀  ███       ▄███▀     ▀███▄       ████████████████   ████████████████▀        ▄███▀     ▀███▄
███                  ███             ███   ███   ███   ▀███    ███▀   ███      ▄███▀       ▀███▄      ███                ███        ███          ▄███▀       ▀███▄
███                  ███             ███   ███   ███    ▀███  ███▀    ███     ▄███▀         ▀███▄     ███                ███         ███        ▄███▀         ▀███▄
███▄                 ███             ███   ███   ███      ██████      ███    ▄███             ███▄    ███                ███          ███      ▄███             ███▄
▀█████████████████   ███             ███   ███   ███       ████       ███   ▄███               ███▄   ████████████████   ███           ███    ▄███               ███▄

|
  TRUE BLOCKCHAIN GAMING PLATFORM 
DECENTRALISED AUTONOMOUS UNIVERSES

  HOME PAGE                                                                  WHITE PAPER 
|
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
April 17, 2014, 10:09:33 AM
 #1628

I'd imagine he only typo'd it in his forum post (replacing their actual desired vanity with a generic 'address' one and screwing up on that) Tongue

mprep
Diamond Member
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1150


In a world of peaches, don't ask for apple sauce


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2014, 01:15:03 PM
 #1629

Vanitygen uses the OpenSSL random number generator.
Is it safe to use Vanitygen after the uncovering of the Heartbleed bug in OpenSSL? Is it affected and/or it has been fixed?

TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
April 17, 2014, 02:44:44 PM
 #1630

Vanitygen uses the OpenSSL random number generator.
Is it safe to use Vanitygen after the uncovering of the Heartbleed bug in OpenSSL? Is it affected and/or it has been fixed?
Yes, it's safe - it's not a service or client that deals with TLS HeartBeat at all, OpenSSL is pretty much only used to generate the key pairs.

Note that I don't think it actually stores these key pairs securely in memory (nevermind if you output it to a file, of course) unless you use the 'prompt for password' option, so if you've already got a trojan on your machine and that thing happens to look for (ocl)vanitygen and tries to pilfer things, it would know the keys to your vanity address - but at that point vanitygen's storage methods are probably the least of your worries Smiley  But at least that's unrelated entirely to OpenSSL and the heartbleed bug.

KingSlamma
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 21, 2014, 08:04:50 PM
 #1631

Having trouble with oclvanitygen.

Command I enter: C:\Users\x\xx\Vanity\oclvanitygen.exe -v -i -p 0 -d 0 1slamma

What I receive back:

Prefix difficulty:          27763956579 1slamma
Difficulty: 27763956579
Device:       Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3632QM CPU @ 2.20GHz
Vendor: Intel(R) Corporation (8086)
Driver: 3.0.1.10123
Profile: FULL_PROFILE
Version: OpenCL 1.2 (Build 75658)
Max compute units: 8
Max workgroup size: 1024
Global memory: 2147352576
Max allocation: 536838144
OpenCL compiler flags: -DDEEP_PREPROC_UNROLL
Error loading kernel file 'calc_addrs.cl': No such file or directory
Available OpenCL platforms:
0: [Intel(R) Corporation] Intel(R) OpenCL
  0: [Intel(R) Corporation]       Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3632QM CPU @ 2.20GHz
  1: [Intel(R) Corporation] Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000

The calc_addrs.cl is in the same folder as the oclvanitygen.

What am I missing or doing wrong?
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
April 21, 2014, 08:36:01 PM
 #1632

Error loading kernel file 'calc_addrs.cl': No such file or directory

What am I missing or doing wrong?
Not sure..
Did you build it yourself, or downloaded?
If you downloaded - which one? (if all else fails try all 3 listed earlier)
In a command prompt, if you type 'dir', does 'calc_addrs.cl' show up (I know you say it is, just trying to eliminate some Windows bits)?  If 'yes', try executing from the command prompt (if you haven't been).  Also try executing it as Administrator, just in case you've got some whack permissions going on in your user folder.

Note that this error is very specifically about not being able to open the file for reading, so is unrelated to any hardware issues.

KingSlamma
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 21, 2014, 09:23:07 PM
 #1633

I downloaded from the original post. I didn't know there were updates to the code.
Tried as administrator and received the same error.

 Directory of C:\Users\x\xx\Vanity

04/21/2014  10:09 AM    <DIR>          .
04/21/2014  10:09 AM    <DIR>          ..
07/01/2012  12:58 AM           214,312 cacert.pem
06/29/2012  11:53 PM            36,553 calc_addrs.cl
10/11/2012  08:28 PM         1,188,864 oclvanitygen.exe
10/11/2012  08:29 PM         1,855,488 oclvanityminer.exe
10/11/2012  08:29 PM         2,514,944 oclvanityminer64.exe
10/11/2012  08:28 PM         1,160,192 vanitygen.exe
10/11/2012  08:29 PM         1,621,504 vanitygen64.exe
               7 File(s)      8,591,857 bytes
               2 Dir(s)  321,862,152,192 bytes free

Do I need to point to the calc_addrs.cl file somehow?

TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
April 21, 2014, 09:56:37 PM
 #1634

I downloaded from the original post. I didn't know there were updates to the code.
See:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25804.msg6048543#msg6048543

Do I need to point to the calc_addrs.cl file somehow?
No - should work 'as is', and 0.22 should definitely be working.

The only time I can get that error to show up, even though the file is in that folder, is if I launch it from a different folder.

e.g. say I'm in c:\Users\ and then enter the command "c:\Users\Me\SomeFolder\oclvanitygen.exe ..."
If I cd over to c:\Users\Me\SomeFolder\ and then enter the command "oclvanitygen.exe ...", all is fine.
So are you sure you're starting it from that folder, or are you starting it from a different folder?

KingSlamma
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 21, 2014, 10:02:28 PM
 #1635

I'm really bad at command line prompts, so I right clicked cmd and run as admin. I then go to the folder with oclvanitygen and drag and drop the exe into the cmd which loads the path for me, then I add the commands after the path and hit enter.
coinnewbit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 21, 2014, 10:22:27 PM
 #1636

Wow, could anyone tell me how to get my gpu up and working? I've tried uninstalling my drivers, reinstalling 12.10 catalyst drivers, 2.7 amd app ask runtime, and yet when I use oclvanitygen, it still only uses my CPU to mine. Why is that so? The Opencl devices are both 0:... And 0:...
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
April 21, 2014, 10:33:38 PM
 #1637

Okay, that's probably (hopefully(!)) the issue then.  In a command prompt, 'cd' over to the appropriate folder, then run from there.

KingSlamma
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 22, 2014, 01:34:47 AM
 #1638

Looks like that was the problem. Get some others errors now, but I'll try to figure them out first.

:173:19: error: constant address space qualified variables are required to be initialized"

Thank you for your help.
Evil-Knievel
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1142



View Profile
April 22, 2014, 06:27:29 AM
 #1639

This message was too old and has been purged
coinnewbit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 22, 2014, 07:42:29 AM
 #1640

It crashes when I enter the command and I am getting a stackhash bex error
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 ... 180 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!