Bitcoin Forum
September 16, 2019, 01:13:32 PM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 ... 164 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Setup & Troubleshoot] Bitmain AntMiner S1 180GH/S miner  (Read 449189 times)
giletto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 07, 2014, 04:46:39 PM
 #521

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=348327.msg3730601#msg3730601

"My suggestion is to clock them at 375. 400 is a bit too harsh on the voltage regulator.
All clock speeds including 375MHz work on both revision of boards."

If you want kill your chips try over 400.


                           █████
                       █████████████
                    █████████████
                ██████████████        █████
             █████████████        ████████████
         ██████████████        █████████████
      █████████████        █████████████       ██████
      ██████████        ████████████           ██████
      ███████       █████████████       ███    ██████
      ███████    █████████████       ██████    ██████
      ████████████████████       ██████████    ██████
      █████████████████       █████████████    ██████
      █████████████       █████████████        ██████
      ██████████       █████████████           ██████
      ███████      ██████████████       ███    ██████
      ██████    █████████████       ███████    ██████
      ██████    ██████████       ██████████    ██████
      ██████    ██████        █████████████    ██████
      ██████    ███       █████████████        ██████
      ██████           █████████████       ██████████
      ██████       █████████████        █████████████
                █████████████       █████████████
             ████████████        █████████████
                 ████         ████████████
                          █████████████
                        ███████████
                           █████
Ferrum Network • Interoperability Network for Financial Applications
1568639612
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568639612

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568639612
Reply with quote  #2

1568639612
Report to moderator
1568639612
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568639612

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568639612
Reply with quote  #2

1568639612
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1568639612
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568639612

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568639612
Reply with quote  #2

1568639612
Report to moderator
lelemago
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 05:23:59 PM
 #522

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=348327.msg3730601#msg3730601

"My suggestion is to clock them at 375. 400 is a bit too harsh on the voltage regulator.
All clock speeds including 375MHz work on both revision of boards."

If you want kill your chips try over 400.

Look datasheet of TPS53355, it is protected, auto shutdown if temp >125C.
giletto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 07, 2014, 05:35:43 PM
 #523

Mate, you have 2 choice: Believe what the other ppl say and limit at 400mhz...or keep going and found it out what will happen over 400.


                           █████
                       █████████████
                    █████████████
                ██████████████        █████
             █████████████        ████████████
         ██████████████        █████████████
      █████████████        █████████████       ██████
      ██████████        ████████████           ██████
      ███████       █████████████       ███    ██████
      ███████    █████████████       ██████    ██████
      ████████████████████       ██████████    ██████
      █████████████████       █████████████    ██████
      █████████████       █████████████        ██████
      ██████████       █████████████           ██████
      ███████      ██████████████       ███    ██████
      ██████    █████████████       ███████    ██████
      ██████    ██████████       ██████████    ██████
      ██████    ██████        █████████████    ██████
      ██████    ███       █████████████        ██████
      ██████           █████████████       ██████████
      ██████       █████████████        █████████████
                █████████████       █████████████
             ████████████        █████████████
                 ████         ████████████
                          █████████████
                        ███████████
                           █████
Ferrum Network • Interoperability Network for Financial Applications
lelemago
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 05:45:52 PM
 #524

Mate, you have 2 choice: Believe what the other ppl say and limit at 400mhz...or keep going and found it out what will happen over 400.

Thanks friend  Smiley
I found ppl try over 400, but GH/s slower.
I want to understand if the problem is one or many regoulators get to hot and shutdown some chips or other fault?!
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 05:57:27 PM
 #525

Volt reg is 30A. Over 400mhz its too much and they are overloaded. Further, current is instable and chips have hw errors. If you look on the reg sheet you will find out that max working temp is 85 C.
lelemago
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 10:53:00 AM
 #526

I tryed 425 and 450Mhz, but found(Like you said :-) ) over 400Mhz hashrate go down.
My temp is good (At 450Mhz 45°C), PSU is still under lo ad(12v single-rail,50A capable).
I really don't understand why this happen?!
Ok, probably reg overload, but on status page all 64 chip working ok, HW error ok.
I'm thinking.. If there was some way to overclock over 400 with profit hashrate..
Bye
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1053



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 02:34:36 PM
 #527

Hi, all 4 of my ant miners would show XXXXXXXXX across the board instead of OOOOOOOs after a few days of running, it still says running at 180GH, slush pool shows it running at 150GH instead of 180GH.

Does anyone know why this happens or if it is actually working? i am confused. It will take a few physical power down and up to get it back to all OOOOOs, then after a few days they turn back into XXXXXXXs.

Kinda frustrating.

Thanks
Don't worry about that, everything run well, its just a indication-error. After a few hour it change back to oooooo. So long it works well, let it  work. Smiley

Yeah I noticed that it works fine even though some of my blades show "xxxxxoxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx"  but to be honest I never caught it going back up to full "o"'s  but now that I know it's a firmware bug I'll keep an eye and see if it goes back to normal after some time.

The latest firmware is also problematic as it puts too much strain on the control board - load is too high - and that causes the web interface to be really really sluggish.

I hope they fix this in the future.


klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 02:53:48 PM
Last edit: January 08, 2014, 04:28:01 PM by klondike_bar
 #528

I tryed 425 and 450Mhz, but found(Like you said :-) ) over 400Mhz hashrate go down.
My temp is good (At 450Mhz 45°C), PSU is still under lo ad(12v single-rail,50A capable).
I really don't understand why this happen?!
Ok, probably reg overload, but on status page all 64 chip working ok, HW error ok.
I'm thinking.. If there was some way to overclock over 400 with profit hashrate..
Bye


I experienced the same with a PSU having 50A - hashrate at 425MHz was around 185-195GHash due to high temps and HW errors.
As mentioned, the regulator is limited to 30A, but the bitfury systems have domonstrated they can push through a lot more than that (up to around 55-60W @ 0.9V).

In your above situation, 600W on the 12V line may be the limiting factor. if 350MHz needs about 360W and 400MHz needs about 500W, its likely 425MHZ would need around 550-600W and 450MHz likely needs over 600W. I plan to reconfigure some of my rig today with a 835W server supply i have working so I will attempt to push for 425MHz again no that there is plenty of 12V power available.

I just have a quesion that would benefit anyone overclocking further:

How could the voltage be increased? Would increasing the 12V to 12.5V increase the chip-side voltage, or would a pencil mod similar to the bitfury H-boards do the trick? This would produce more speed without needing to increase the frequency presumably, and also require less amperage from the regulator
 
IMO, 200GH is a good performance/risk (heat and noise) ratio, but with the difficulty rise 190GH will soon be a better option

EDIT: tried 425MHz on a newer antminer that has over 650W available on 12V and temps around 48C at 400MHz - same issue where hashrate starts at about 210-213Gh then quickly settles and sits around 191GHash from there. I assume this is because the chips simply cannot run at that speed without the voltage being raised.

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Pistachio
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:15:41 PM
 #529

Can someone please explain how to SSH into your miner to overclock from Win7/8? The instructions just say do it but how? Thanks,
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:58:14 PM
 #530

Download putty aplication and you will able to ssh.
Pistachio
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:02:58 PM
 #531

Download putty aplication and you will able to ssh.

Sweet. Thanks -

Here is a link for anyone else who needs to download SSH app for windows. http://www.putty.org/
giletto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:59:35 PM
 #532

Just follow the link in the first post?  Huh

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=348327.msg3730601#msg3730601


                           █████
                       █████████████
                    █████████████
                ██████████████        █████
             █████████████        ████████████
         ██████████████        █████████████
      █████████████        █████████████       ██████
      ██████████        ████████████           ██████
      ███████       █████████████       ███    ██████
      ███████    █████████████       ██████    ██████
      ████████████████████       ██████████    ██████
      █████████████████       █████████████    ██████
      █████████████       █████████████        ██████
      ██████████       █████████████           ██████
      ███████      ██████████████       ███    ██████
      ██████    █████████████       ███████    ██████
      ██████    ██████████       ██████████    ██████
      ██████    ██████        █████████████    ██████
      ██████    ███       █████████████        ██████
      ██████           █████████████       ██████████
      ██████       █████████████        █████████████
                █████████████       █████████████
             ████████████        █████████████
                 ████         ████████████
                          █████████████
                        ███████████
                           █████
Ferrum Network • Interoperability Network for Financial Applications
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 05:22:48 PM
 #533

Why Huh mark?
Pistachio ask how to ssh e.g. with what software!
For users who does not know command how to go trough directory and edit commands that link is not enough.
giletto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 05:58:11 PM
 #534

Why Huh mark?
Pistachio ask how to ssh e.g. with what software!
For users who does not know command how to go trough directory and edit commands that link is not enough.
I guess you never read the link, right? In this thread you found ALL info about OC. What to do, where to do, which program to use...

If everybody ask here now for step by step tutorial, the OC thread is senseless.


                           █████
                       █████████████
                    █████████████
                ██████████████        █████
             █████████████        ████████████
         ██████████████        █████████████
      █████████████        █████████████       ██████
      ██████████        ████████████           ██████
      ███████       █████████████       ███    ██████
      ███████    █████████████       ██████    ██████
      ████████████████████       ██████████    ██████
      █████████████████       █████████████    ██████
      █████████████       █████████████        ██████
      ██████████       █████████████           ██████
      ███████      ██████████████       ███    ██████
      ██████    █████████████       ███████    ██████
      ██████    ██████████       ██████████    ██████
      ██████    ██████        █████████████    ██████
      ██████    ███       █████████████        ██████
      ██████           █████████████       ██████████
      ██████       █████████████        █████████████
                █████████████       █████████████
             ████████████        █████████████
                 ████         ████████████
                          █████████████
                        ███████████
                           █████
Ferrum Network • Interoperability Network for Financial Applications
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 06:10:53 PM
 #535

Why Huh mark?
Pistachio ask how to ssh e.g. with what software!
For users who does not know command how to go trough directory and edit commands that link is not enough.
I guess you never read the link, right? In this thread you found ALL info about OC. What to do, where to do, which program to use...

If everybody ask here now for step by step tutorial, the OC thread is senseless.
Please show me where in the first post of the thread link you have posted show you how to ssh into miner and what unix/editor command to use eg ( cd, vim, .wq, etc)?
Mabe later in that thread it is stated what commands to use, but not in the op. However, i did not find mention of putty aplication and ssh under windows.
Again, pistachio qustion was valid and i have answered exactelly what he needed, then you started with this kind of attitude.
giletto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 06:19:55 PM
 #536

Please show me where in the first post of the thread link you have posted show you how to ssh into miner and what unix command to use eg ( cd, vim, etc)?
Mabe later in that thread it is stated what commands to use, but not in the op. However, i did not find mention of putty aplication and ssh under windows.
Mate, honestly, is this to much for read a full thread where user explain how to OC, instead of ask here? I never told it is written in the first post, so what you mean? I don't know either how to OC before my fist ant arrive. But before i ask, i try to collect the data which are available already and read as much i can found.


                           █████
                       █████████████
                    █████████████
                ██████████████        █████
             █████████████        ████████████
         ██████████████        █████████████
      █████████████        █████████████       ██████
      ██████████        ████████████           ██████
      ███████       █████████████       ███    ██████
      ███████    █████████████       ██████    ██████
      ████████████████████       ██████████    ██████
      █████████████████       █████████████    ██████
      █████████████       █████████████        ██████
      ██████████       █████████████           ██████
      ███████      ██████████████       ███    ██████
      ██████    █████████████       ███████    ██████
      ██████    ██████████       ██████████    ██████
      ██████    ██████        █████████████    ██████
      ██████    ███       █████████████        ██████
      ██████           █████████████       ██████████
      ██████       █████████████        █████████████
                █████████████       █████████████
             ████████████        █████████████
                 ████         ████████████
                          █████████████
                        ███████████
                           █████
Ferrum Network • Interoperability Network for Financial Applications
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 06:21:36 PM
 #537

Please show me where in the first post of the thread link you have posted show you how to ssh into miner and what unix command to use eg ( cd, vim, etc)?
Mabe later in that thread it is stated what commands to use, but not in the op. However, i did not find mention of putty aplication and ssh under windows.
Mate, honestly, is this to much for read a full thread where user explain how to OC, instead of ask here? I don't know either how to OC before my fist ant arrive. But before i ask, i try to collect the data which are available already and read as much i can found.
Again, in that thread there is not mention on what software to use to ssh under windows or is hidden in 9 pages. You would have a point if putty and commands are in the op( first post), but they are not! Beside, user simple ask what software to use and not how to oc.

Okay find it on 3 rd page!
1.  First thing to do is get putty.  google it download putty.exe
2.  Second step is open putty.exe
3.  Inside the putty program put the IP of your machine in the hostname field.
4.  Click Open
5. accept the prompt to accept a key or connect to the host
6.  If the client connects you will get a prompt that says "login as:" .  Put your username in that field.  default username is "root".
7.  pw is "root".  hit enter
8.  once you logged in successfully type  "cd /etc/config" hit enter
9.  type "vim asic-freq" hit enter.  A terminal text editor should show you the config file.
10.   Now pay attention there are at least two different asic-freq configuration files out.
If your config has mainly numbers for the "option 'freq_value" such as "option 'freq_value'     '0780'  #350M"  settings then you have the top config goxed posted.  if it is "#option 'freq_value'     '4d81'  #350M" you have the other config.
Also note that the default setting does not have # in front of the "#option" setting.  The 400 setting on my config is commented out with #.  Un-comment that shit. :0
11.  top config should have these settings:  config 'asic-freq' 'default'
        #option 'freq_value'      '0780'        #400M
        #option 'freq_value'    '4d81'  #350M
        #option 'chip_freq'     '350'
        option 'timeout'        '36'

Other config should have these settings:

config 'asic-freq' 'default'
        option 'freq_value'      '4f81'        #400M
        option 'chip_freq'     '400'
        option 'timeout'       '35'

To modify an area use the arrow keys.  Once you are in the text field area hit delete  to delete or insert to type text.
Once you are done modifying the config tap the escape key.
then type  ":x" to save and quit
if you screwed up the config just type
":q!" to quit without saving.
reboot miner after settings are in place.
giletto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 06:22:18 PM
 #538

Please show me where in the first post of the thread link you have posted show you how to ssh into miner and what unix command to use eg ( cd, vim, etc)?
Mabe later in that thread it is stated what commands to use, but not in the op. However, i did not find mention of putty aplication and ssh under windows.
Mate, honestly, is this to much for read a full thread where user explain how to OC, instead of ask here? I don't know either how to OC before my fist ant arrive. But before i ask, i try to collect the data which are available already and read as much i can found.
Again, in that thread there is not mention on what software to use to ssh under windows!!!
Bet 10BTC?


                           █████
                       █████████████
                    █████████████
                ██████████████        █████
             █████████████        ████████████
         ██████████████        █████████████
      █████████████        █████████████       ██████
      ██████████        ████████████           ██████
      ███████       █████████████       ███    ██████
      ███████    █████████████       ██████    ██████
      ████████████████████       ██████████    ██████
      █████████████████       █████████████    ██████
      █████████████       █████████████        ██████
      ██████████       █████████████           ██████
      ███████      ██████████████       ███    ██████
      ██████    █████████████       ███████    ██████
      ██████    ██████████       ██████████    ██████
      ██████    ██████        █████████████    ██████
      ██████    ███       █████████████        ██████
      ██████           █████████████       ██████████
      ██████       █████████████        █████████████
                █████████████       █████████████
             ████████████        █████████████
                 ████         ████████████
                          █████████████
                        ███████████
                           █████
Ferrum Network • Interoperability Network for Financial Applications
alfabitcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 06:33:02 PM
 #539

Please show me where in the first post of the thread link you have posted show you how to ssh into miner and what unix command to use eg ( cd, vim, etc)?
Mabe later in that thread it is stated what commands to use, but not in the op. However, i did not find mention of putty aplication and ssh under windows.
Mate, honestly, is this to much for read a full thread where user explain how to OC, instead of ask here? I don't know either how to OC before my fist ant arrive. But before i ask, i try to collect the data which are available already and read as much i can found.
Again, in that thread there is not mention on what software to use to ssh under windows!!!
Bet 10BTC?
Reread my post. You have intructed pistachio that he can find all deatils how to ssh in the first post what is untrue. Also he never ask for step by step oc guide, just how to ssh.
I guess you never read pistachio qestion. Now can we drop this useless argue?
giletto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 06:37:36 PM
 #540

Reread my post. You have intructed pistachio that he can find all deatils how to ssh in the first post what is untrue, so can we drop this argue?
I don't talk about the first post of the OC thread, i talk about the first post here. And here is my post, which you read wrong Smiley

Just follow the LINK (to the Thread about Overclocking) in the First POST (HERE). The Link will bring everybody who want overclock to this THREAD:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=348327.msg3730601#msg3730601

I guess you missunderstand my post, never mind. Smiley



                           █████
                       █████████████
                    █████████████
                ██████████████        █████
             █████████████        ████████████
         ██████████████        █████████████
      █████████████        █████████████       ██████
      ██████████        ████████████           ██████
      ███████       █████████████       ███    ██████
      ███████    █████████████       ██████    ██████
      ████████████████████       ██████████    ██████
      █████████████████       █████████████    ██████
      █████████████       █████████████        ██████
      ██████████       █████████████           ██████
      ███████      ██████████████       ███    ██████
      ██████    █████████████       ███████    ██████
      ██████    ██████████       ██████████    ██████
      ██████    ██████        █████████████    ██████
      ██████    ███       █████████████        ██████
      ██████           █████████████       ██████████
      ██████       █████████████        █████████████
                █████████████       █████████████
             ████████████        █████████████
                 ████         ████████████
                          █████████████
                        ███████████
                           █████
Ferrum Network • Interoperability Network for Financial Applications
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 ... 164 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!