Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 10:22:10 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][GAP] Gapcoin - Prime Gap Search - New Math Algo - CPU / GPU - Zero Premine  (Read 241097 times)
bsunau7
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 05:48:45 AM
 #801

There are more optimizations which can be leveraged into the miner making the existence of an even better miner more than plausible.

If you don't believe them, so be it, but no need to be nasty about it.

Regards,

--
bsunau7
1513160530
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513160530

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513160530
Reply with quote  #2

1513160530
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513160530
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513160530

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513160530
Reply with quote  #2

1513160530
Report to moderator
1513160530
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513160530

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513160530
Reply with quote  #2

1513160530
Report to moderator
Aleh777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147


View Profile WWW
November 14, 2014, 06:06:50 AM
 #802

There are more optimizations which can be leveraged into the miner making the existence of an even better miner more than plausible.

If you don't believe them, so be it, but no need to be nasty about it.

Regards,

--
bsunau7


With optimization agree. I do not like when the flood on empty. Want to say that smart prove Smiley.

Everyone have a nice day! Wink
anhpt192
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 627



View Profile
November 14, 2014, 08:31:10 AM
 #803

it is worth if a new miner released can support all GPUs run together (diff and GAP price at the moment)



             ▄█
            ██  ██
           ██  ████
          ██  ██  ██
         ██  ██    ██
        ██  ██  ██  ██
       ██  ██    ██  ██
      ██  ██  ██  ██  ██
     ██  ██  ████  ██  ██
    ██  ██  ██  ██  ██  ██
   ██  ██  ██    ██  ██  ██
  ██  ██  ██████████  ██  ██
 ██                    ██  ██
█████████████████████▄  ██  █
                         ██
▀███████████████████████████




█████ █   █ █████      ███          █████████████▄▄    ████            ████     ▄▄██████████      ▄▄██████████
  █   █   █ █         █████         ████████████████    ████          ████     █████████████     █████████████
  █   █████ █████    ███████        ███         ▀███     ████        ████     ███▀              ███▀
  █   █   █ █        ███ ███        ███          ███      ████      ████      ███               ███
  █   █   █ █████   ███   ███       ███          ███       ████    ████       ███               ███
                    ███   ███       ███         ▄███        ████  ████        ███▄              ███▄
                   ███     ███      ██████████████▀          ████████          ██████████▄▄      ██████████▄▄
                   ███     ███      ██████████████▄           ██████            ▀▀██████████      ▀▀██████████
                  ███       ███     ███         ▀███           ████                      ▀███              ▀███
                  █████████████     ███          ███           ████                       ███               ███
                 ███████████████    ███          ███           ████                       ███               ███
                 ███         ███    ███         ▄███           ████                      ▄███              ▄███
                ███           ███   ████████████████           ████           ██████████████    ██████████████
                ███           ███   █████████████▀▀            ████           ███████████▀▀     ███████████▀▀

█  █
█  █
█  █
█  █
█  █
█▄▄
▀▀█
█  █
█  █
█  █
█  █
█  █

█  █
█  █
█  █
█  █
█  █
█▄▄
▀▀█
█  █
█  █
█  █
█  █
█  █
.PRE-SALE▬.... Nov 29 2017
.TOKEN SALE. Dec 12 2017

ANN Thread  ■  Whitepaper
■  Twitter
■  Telegram
■  Facebook
alicea
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


BELUGA PAY. Complete Mobile Point of Sale System


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 10:03:30 AM
 #804


Have you tried changing your threads to 1 instead of 20?  I'm not sure how the miner would react to this.  I don't think your system really has 20 CPU cores...

Sure I have tried! This was one of my first ideas. There was no reaction, it looked like exactly the same way as giving any other thread number: working fine, zero pps.
The only change was switching to solo mining - the GPU started working then... but at so low pps that I've decided to switch off and stay pool mining with CPUs. Anyway - I don't understand it. CPU has a bit better pps when solo mining, but I'm taking the risk of not-finding a block at all, okay it's clear. But the GPU works while solomining, and doesn't work at all when pool mining?

Barts is 67xx / 68xx AMD , I could not get a 6870(Barts) working and had similar results, maybe because they are legacy and missing something?
Things like this are possible, maybe the catalysts cause such things too. During folding with it for Curecoin I've experienced that this GPU didn't want to work under Mint 17 with new catalysts at all, and I had to use Mint 13 with old catalyst, and then it worked at level comparable to my other GPUs. Now tried the same, but the dependecy problem starts growing from package to package when using older system and I've gave up.

Sy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


World's First Reverse Merchant Processor


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 10:16:02 AM
 #805

I guess the new cpu miner is not a good idea cause of botnets. It's a two sides of coin again.

And the difference of everyone mining with 10x speed vs 1x is eactly what?

qqqq
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 10:57:24 AM
 #806

I guess the new cpu miner is not a good idea cause of botnets. It's a two sides of coin again.

And the difference of everyone mining with 10x speed vs 1x is eactly what?

Difference is that CPU-botnets is being profitable again and rise diffs. Or you think botnets is good ? Maybe only for the new Prime record...
blizzen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
November 14, 2014, 10:58:09 AM
 #807

Inflation
agran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 12:20:18 PM
 #808

http://coinia.net/gapcoin/voiting.php

QORA | 2ND GEN | NEW SOURCE CODE | QTz6fSV2VNc2wjwwsw57kwQzgQhmGw5idQ
sandor111
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile WWW
November 14, 2014, 03:04:36 PM
 #809

Where is the buy support? I guess the news of someone mining most blocks with a 30x faster miner is too much for investors.

primera
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 04:50:26 PM
 #810

Where is the buy support? I guess the news of someone mining most blocks with a 30x faster miner is too much for investors.

Is it a new miner that is 30x faster now?

Aleh777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147


View Profile WWW
November 14, 2014, 05:00:37 PM
 #811

Where is the buy support? I guess the news of someone mining most blocks with a 30x faster miner is too much for investors.

Is it a new miner that is 30x faster now?

Come !, I can not believe something. Do you have a miner?  Shocked
Damadegyptian
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 05:37:37 PM
 #812

Where is the buy support? I guess the news of someone mining most blocks with a 30x faster miner is too much for investors.

Is it a new miner that is 30x faster now?

Come !, I can not believe something. Do you have a miner?  Shocked

The new miner is in the thread... most people have swtiched to it. I don't think there is only one miner that is better than the rest..

BTC - 1GUhQTWU2dCFqTMsk4wRhpSfFENSX8BmPS Cheesy
Free BTC - http://moonbit.co.in/?ref=4a1d712eb517
mightyWombat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 07:09:16 PM
 #813

hmmm, everything seems to be fine...  nobody talking about problems.

am i the only one?  Huh
no connection anymore. unable to load "gap.nonce-pool.com" (tried different browser, no connestion). tried different miners (cpu+gpu) to connect to the pool, only cpu-solomining with gap-wallet works.

mining other coins still works fine, internet works fine but all things 'round gap don't work...
any ideas? please help!  Undecided

going to check my system for malware...


 
Aleh777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147


View Profile WWW
November 14, 2014, 07:22:14 PM
 #814

hmmm, everything seems to be fine...  nobody talking about problems.

am i the only one?  Huh
no connection anymore. unable to load "gap.nonce-pool.com" (tried different browser, no connestion). tried different miners (cpu+gpu) to connect to the pool, only cpu-solomining with gap-wallet works.

mining other coins still works fine, internet works fine but all things 'round gap don't work...
any ideas? please help!  Undecided

going to check my system for malware...

You is not working GPU miner?
primera
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 09:00:07 PM
 #815

Wow, an idiot moderator deleted my previous post. I'll post it again, lets see if they ban my account.

GAP is dead, supercomputing abusing it with a private cpu/gpu miner, no volume on poloniex, several large botnets active...
I'll focus my CPU power on Riecoin, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=446703 , we are about to break world record in 5 days.


All have the fastest miner... No botnet mining RieCoin?

Aleh777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147


View Profile WWW
November 14, 2014, 09:48:42 PM
 #816

Wow, an idiot moderator deleted my previous post. I'll post it again, lets see if they ban my account.

GAP is dead, supercomputing abusing it with a private cpu/gpu miner, no volume on poloniex, several large botnets active...
I'll focus my CPU power on Riecoin, https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=446703 , we are about to break world record in 5 days.

There is the evidence? If not, then I say - before you say, keep HTML   Cool

djfou62
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 10:48:18 PM
 #817

Guys, i am still trying to understand all about the algo of this coin.

I do understand how the difficulty works : when the difficulty increase, gap and prime size increase too.

But how are calculated the prime we have to find ?
Are they random ?
bsunau7
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


View Profile
November 14, 2014, 11:29:56 PM
 #818

Guys, i am still trying to understand all about the algo of this coin.

I do understand how the difficulty works : when the difficulty increase, gap and prime size increase too.

But how are calculated the prime we have to find ?
Are they random ?

Starting point is derived from the block you are mining so effectively the starting point is random.  The "absolute end point" is defined by the "shift" which you get to pick.  People only mine part of the "space" which is defined by the sieve size.

Difficulty is logarithmic, it is on the gapcoin website, so a difficulty or 23 is significantly harder than one of 22.

Summary; random range of numbers are scanned looking for a run (currently a few thousand) of composite numbers.

Regards,

--
bsunau7
Supercomputing
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278


View Profile
November 15, 2014, 12:09:51 AM
 #819

Guys, i am still trying to understand all about the algo of this coin.

I do understand how the difficulty works : when the difficulty increase, gap and prime size increase too.

But how are calculated the prime we have to find ?
Are they random ?

Starting point is derived from the block you are mining so effectively the starting point is random.  The "absolute end point" is defined by the "shift" which you get to pick.  People only mine part of the "space" which is defined by the sieve size.

Difficulty is logarithmic, it is on the gapcoin website, so a difficulty or 23 is significantly harder than one of 22.

Summary; random range of numbers are scanned looking for a run (currently a few thousand) of composite numbers.

Regards,

--
bsunau7

In addition, please see the proof-of-work verification code for restrictions - see lines 99 onwards:
https://github.com/gapcoin/Gapcoin-PoWCore/blob/master/src/PoW.cpp

Also, because the merit of the gap is the ratio of the gap size relative to the natural logarithm of the smaller prime, the size of the prime does not have to increase by much as the difficulty increases.

Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
http://www.eecs.mit.edu/
bsunau7
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


View Profile
November 15, 2014, 10:05:22 AM
 #820

Not sure if anyone else thinks this is a good idea, but can we replace those 10 & 15 gap metrics with something else?

I am using primes/s and candidates/s eg:

Code:
[2014-11-15 10:59:11] pps: 14669 / 14287  candidates/s 63998895
[2014-11-15 10:59:41] pps: 13121 / 14136  candidates/s 63321793
[2014-11-15 11:00:11] pps: 13572 / 14100  candidates/s 63159069

This is just the number of "numbers" scanned, in effect how fast numbers are skipped/tested.  I just accumulate sievesize for every call of run_sieve.

It is the only way I can see of measuring performance across different miners and different parameters (tuning parameters is why I added it to mine).

Regards,

--
bsunau7
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!