Bitcoin Forum
August 19, 2017, 07:05:57 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][GAP] Gapcoin - Prime Gap Search - New Math Algo - CPU / GPU - Zero Premine  (Read 229856 times)
j0nn9
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2014, 02:57:03 AM
 #941

@j0nn9, please prepare pool NOMP/MPOS with stratum + install instruction.

Hi,

I'm currently still working on the GPU-Miner, got some promising results (2x-3x speed increase),
but it's still pretty buggy, and needs more testing.

I'll do pool software next.

Gapcoin - The largest, decentralized prime gap search
1503169557
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503169557

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503169557
Reply with quote  #2

1503169557
Report to moderator
1503169557
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503169557

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503169557
Reply with quote  #2

1503169557
Report to moderator
1503169557
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503169557

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503169557
Reply with quote  #2

1503169557
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Aleh777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2014, 09:09:00 AM
 #942

@j0nn9, please prepare pool NOMP/MPOS with stratum + install instruction.

Hi,

I'm currently still working on the GPU-Miner, got some promising results (2x-3x speed increase),
but it's still pretty buggy, and needs more testing.

I'll do pool software next.

At two and three times higher rate - a good result Smiley
ig0tik3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


*Crowdsale 13/06/2017* www.fundyourselfnow.com


View Profile
December 02, 2014, 09:14:20 AM
 #943

something wrong with pool

.FundYourselfNow.
██▀
██
██
██
██
██
██
██▄
Revolutionizing Crowdfunding
.
.★★ J O I N  I C O  N O W ! ★★.
▀██
██
██
██
██
██
██
▄██
Sy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
December 02, 2014, 03:05:14 PM
 #944

@j0nn9, please prepare pool NOMP/MPOS with stratum + install instruction.

Hi,

I'm currently still working on the GPU-Miner, got some promising results (2x-3x speed increase),
but it's still pretty buggy, and needs more testing.

I'll do pool software next.

At two and three times higher rate - a good result Smiley

Depends...vs which miner?

███
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
!!
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
▄ ▄▄ ▄▄ ▄
▀ ▀▀ ▀▀ ▀
██ ██ ██
███
'
agran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
December 02, 2014, 04:03:17 PM
 #945


botnet? (day/night)

QORA | 2ND GEN | NEW SOURCE CODE | QTz6fSV2VNc2wjwwsw57kwQzgQhmGw5idQ
drumingspz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294

Where am I?


View Profile
December 02, 2014, 05:16:28 PM
 #946


botnet? (day/night)

Dev 'testing' his new GPU miner  Cool
j0nn9
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2014, 12:50:02 AM
 #947

Hi there,

just wanted to give a little status update on the GPU-Miner.

My current idea is to divide the sieve into parts of the required gap size,
then apply dcct's strategy to each of those parts,
by start testing prime candidates from the end of the part and skipping those parts which have a prime in it.

One problem is, that you have to store the first found prime (if there is one) from the previous part in the current part,
to efficiently scan the whole sieve.
This and some other related problems lead into very difficult code.

Currently it's produce invalid results most of the time,
but I still think that it will give a reasonable speed increase to be worth the effort.


Gapcoin - The largest, decentralized prime gap search
j0nn9
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2014, 01:44:26 AM
 #948

Dev 'testing' his new GPU miner  Cool

For testing I use either testnet or my account at nonce-pool (j0nn9) which is donating 100%  Wink

Gapcoin - The largest, decentralized prime gap search
drumingspz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294

Where am I?


View Profile
December 03, 2014, 02:38:42 AM
 #949

Dev 'testing' his new GPU miner  Cool

For testing I use either testnet or my account at nonce-pool (j0nn9) which is donating 100%  Wink

I'm sure that is the case - hence the quote marks.  It was more a mockery of the FUDers  Tongue
agran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
December 03, 2014, 07:19:31 AM
 #950

in http://coinia.net/gapcoin/stat.php new graph:

QORA | 2ND GEN | NEW SOURCE CODE | QTz6fSV2VNc2wjwwsw57kwQzgQhmGw5idQ
Aleh777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


View Profile WWW
December 03, 2014, 09:41:48 AM
 #951

Even in test mode if you use the new Mayr increase the speed of the GPU 2x-3x sure that the complexity will Difficulty to 27-29, but that's where it leads?  Roll Eyes

j0nn9
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2014, 04:31:27 AM
 #952

Improved GPU-Miner (experimental):

Windows: https://github.com/gapcoin/GapMiner/releases/download/gpu-miner-rev3/windows.zip
md5: 6e0fa4a4331c3758bec1fc74334aa753

Linux: https://github.com/gapcoin/GapMiner/releases/download/gpu-miner-rev3/linux.zip
md5: 85bb6f69b22de5e51388155e7b532195

Source Code: https://github.com/gapcoin/GapMiner (branch gpu-miner)


The Miner is still a bit buggy, but it produced good results for the last few hours,
so I decided to release a test version.

About the speed: I managed to get around 1,200,000 pps with a single AMD R9 280, that's a 6x speed increase to the previous GPU-Miner.

I could also reduce the memory load.
Only the Sieve still runs on the CPU.

Also the 10 and 15 gaps per hour are replaced with tests per second,
which are the number of primality tests calculated per second.


The algorithm:

The sieve is splitted into parts of the required gap size,
then simultaneously, the prime candidates from each part are tested,
starting from the end of the part and skipping those parts which have a prime in it.

When using the -e switch you'll get an info about the current average number of prime candidates of those parts
(candidates which are not tested yet).
Also the minimum number of prime candidates to test are listed.

In one gpu run, several candidates from each part are tested,
you can control these number with -n


Debugging:

For debugging there are two options added to the Makefile,
one for debugging while mining, these are some tests, which shouldn't have a great impact on the pps
and one for debugging only. Activating the second option will run several time intensive tests while mining,
which has a huge impact on the pps.

Gapcoin - The largest, decentralized prime gap search
shojayxt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
December 05, 2014, 05:21:41 AM
 #953


botnet? (day/night)

It's so obvious what that is.
altpooler
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123

Developer & Pool Operator | AltPooler.com


View Profile
December 05, 2014, 09:18:05 AM
 #954

Improved GPU-Miner (experimental):

Also the 10 and 15 gaps per hour are replaced with tests per second,
which are the number of primality tests calculated per second.


I'm getting some good results, really nice work.

1,350,000 PPS on Radeon 7970.

Strange this is, I'm getting 1,750,000 on a lower end GPU (Radeon 7850).

I have 0/0 tests/s on the 7850 though. Is that a bad thing?

GlobalBoost-Y (BSTY) Pool: http://bsty.altpooler.com
Gapcoin - The largest, decentralized prime gap search https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=822498.0

Beta launch of our new mining pool is currently scheduled for January 5, 2015.

We will feature Unitus merged mining for the yescrypt algorithm upon launch.

If you are a CPU miner and would like to help test our yescrypt merged mining implementation, please send me a PM for stratum connection details.
agran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
December 05, 2014, 12:20:52 PM
 #955

http://coinia.net/gapcoin/faucet.php

Now 0.02 GAP at a time and new simple capcha.

QORA | 2ND GEN | NEW SOURCE CODE | QTz6fSV2VNc2wjwwsw57kwQzgQhmGw5idQ
sirlimpy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
December 05, 2014, 12:22:12 PM
 #956

I get 2.1m pps on my r9 290x on default settings. These seem optimum, as most settings don't seem to change anything. With sieve-size lowering it by about 600kpps if I go up or down.

It runs fine using -t 1 so I figured I could run the cpu miner as well but that caused the GPU to half in speed. Is there any way to run them both or is it a choice of 1 or the other?
j0nn9
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2014, 05:28:20 PM
 #957

I get 2.1m pps on my r9 290x on default settings. These seem optimum, as most settings don't seem to change anything. With sieve-size lowering it by about 600kpps if I go up or down.

It runs fine using -t 1 so I figured I could run the cpu miner as well but that caused the GPU to half in speed. Is there any way to run them both or is it a choice of 1 or the other?

You could try to reduce the thread count on the cpu miner.

Gapcoin - The largest, decentralized prime gap search
sirlimpy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
December 05, 2014, 05:33:47 PM
 #958

Sorry, I meant on the cpu miner I ran -t 1 as well, to test it. It still caused the slow down. So to confirm

So both the gpu miner and cpu miner running -t 1 causes the slowdown.
j0nn9
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2014, 06:16:48 PM
 #959

Sorry, I meant on the cpu miner I ran -t 1 as well, to test it. It still caused the slow down. So to confirm

So both the gpu miner and cpu miner running -t 1 causes the slowdown.

It seams that on your system it's just one or the other,
but I wouldn't generalise it. It probably depends on the actual cpu.


Gapcoin - The largest, decentralized prime gap search
sirlimpy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
December 05, 2014, 07:00:10 PM
 #960

Ok, if yours does not do it, it must be something to do with my PC, I have a few more R9 290x's mining other things that I can try this weekend. Just FYI though, the CPU I am running is an i7 4790K so I don't think it is CPU load here that is affecting it.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!