Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2021, 09:05:39 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 ... 123 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][GAP] Gapcoin - Prime Gap Search - New Math Algo - CPU / GPU - Zero Premine  (Read 285041 times)
lonnie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 21, 2015, 02:39:17 PM
 #1081

This is the address for the first place gap bounty.

last processed block: 76271 (february 21, 2015, 14:33 utc)
address: GNxcqXsAQMN1ShU3M5kmQko13zhzvciMRE
total received: 4500.00000000 gap
total send: 2100.98000001 gap
final balance: 2399.01999999 gap

I want to donate 1000 gap to the address, but there is supposed to be 4500 gap already in there...
What we need is a large Gap bounty for breaking the record.
and maybe some better management of the address.
1638695139
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638695139

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638695139
Reply with quote  #2

1638695139
Report to moderator
1638695139
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638695139

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638695139
Reply with quote  #2

1638695139
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
j0nn9
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 153


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2015, 01:08:21 AM
 #1082

This is the address for the first place gap bounty.

last processed block: 76271 (february 21, 2015, 14:33 utc)
address: GNxcqXsAQMN1ShU3M5kmQko13zhzvciMRE
total received: 4500.00000000 gap
total send: 2100.98000001 gap
final balance: 2399.01999999 gap

I want to donate 1000 gap to the address, but there is supposed to be 4500 gap already in there...
What we need is a large Gap bounty for breaking the record.
and maybe some better management of the address.


Fixed that one, new addresses are:

  • working cuda miner binaries + source code   Gc2iV35VSshiQtbQGbDKrXjiZb6qvNATqW
  • second running pool   GdRFensrnTCzkoFMX89pLZpwxAawCsoUnN
  • first merit within the top 10   GQaFxaTrNHoCbcMSuY8HRVgaYyJC4DmiYr
  • first merit within the top 5   GaQvMjybeLEN2waSMSPskKvtE1vBheB1is
  • first merit, which breaks the world record   GQE3hMaBz1uCCMATzXGfYK13A8PjqxKxz6

I also raised the bounty for the world record about 3500 GAP.
The new bounties are:


  • 1000 GAP for working cuda miner binaries + source code
  • 500 GAP for the second running pool
  • 1000 GAP for the first merit within the top 10
  • 1500 GAP for the first merit within the top 5
  • 8000 GAP for the first merit, which breaks the world record

Gapcoin - The largest, decentralized prime gap search
j0nn9
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 153


View Profile WWW
February 22, 2015, 01:18:03 AM
 #1083

i have problems with gapcoind. If i stop it, then everytime i start it again it looks like it is running but does nothing. I cant connect to rpc server. To fix that i have to delete blocks folder from .gapcoin and then redownload whole blockchain which actually takes too much time. Many hours...

Any ideas? Also j0nn9 maybe you could host the blockchain so that we can download most of it? Finally, are you currently working on anything?

That problem was fixed within the new version:

Windows: https://github.com/gapcoin/gapcoin/releases/download/v0.9.2-rev2/gapcoin-rev2-windows.zip
md5: f476544e2b34133d829d585e6b9d3f7a

Linux: https://github.com/gapcoin/gapcoin/releases/download/v0.9.2-rev2/gapcoin-rev2-linux.zip
md5: 50551e97df7cdfd672a66ebf059cee20

The blockchain currently is only about 50MB, the long time it takes is because it verifies every downloaded block.
In the first wallet version, every block was verified like it was in Bitcoin, but this takes too much time,
so in version 2, Gapcoin uses Primecoin's way and does not verifiy every already verified block on startup.
You can still enable this recheck with the -slowstart switch.

Gapcoin - The largest, decentralized prime gap search
muchoman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 465
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 27, 2015, 08:32:56 PM
 #1084

In my case, this Version https://github.com/gapcoin/GapMiner/releases/download/gapminer-rev4.1/windows.zip doesn't find any blocks/shares, even if I mining in a pool. The previos sersions works without any problems.

So it's another confirmation on my side. I don't no how j0nn9 testing it, testnet, hmm probably need a real testing... And how dave23 was successfully. Maybe some mistakes with the links with fixed or not fixed builds in thread. It's no good when builds named windows.zip without any numbers imho...


This version does not find any shares on pool and no blocks for solo, you should fix it.
qqqq
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1011


View Profile
March 03, 2015, 07:35:40 PM
 #1085

In my case, this Version https://github.com/gapcoin/GapMiner/releases/download/gapminer-rev4.1/windows.zip doesn't find any blocks/shares, even if I mining in a pool. The previos sersions works without any problems.

So it's another confirmation on my side. I don't no how j0nn9 testing it, testnet, hmm probably need a real testing... And how dave23 was successfully. Maybe some mistakes with the links with fixed or not fixed builds in thread. It's no good when builds named windows.zip without any numbers imho...


This version does not find any shares on pool and no blocks for solo, you should fix it.

He said he fix it but as we can see it's not. I guess it's most of that he used testnet and not the real mining for solving that issue. But the dave23 said (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=822498.msg10436950#msg10436950) it's ok with last version for solo. So i don't know what to think. I'm not the noob or something. Mining about 3 years. And when i just change the version and it doesn't find any blocks for 24 hours (tested twice) with about 1500000 h\s something wrong...
j0nn9
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 153


View Profile WWW
March 04, 2015, 01:27:26 AM
 #1086

In my case, this Version https://github.com/gapcoin/GapMiner/releases/download/gapminer-rev4.1/windows.zip doesn't find any blocks/shares, even if I mining in a pool. The previos sersions works without any problems.

So it's another confirmation on my side. I don't no how j0nn9 testing it, testnet, hmm probably need a real testing... And how dave23 was successfully. Maybe some mistakes with the links with fixed or not fixed builds in thread. It's no good when builds named windows.zip without any numbers imho...


This version does not find any shares on pool and no blocks for solo, you should fix it.

He said he fix it but as we can see it's not. I guess it's most of that he used testnet and not the real mining for solving that issue. But the dave23 said (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=822498.msg10436950#msg10436950) it's ok with last version for solo. So i don't know what to think. I'm not the noob or something. Mining about 3 years. And when i just change the version and it doesn't find any blocks for 24 hours (tested twice) with about 1500000 h\s something wrong...

I don't doubt that the current version isn't working on your computer.
It seems that the bug I fixed, wasn't the only one.
Nevertheless pool and testnet working on my Windows 7 64 bit compile environment.
Mining on testnet is almost the same as on mainnet, exactly the same code is running on the miner.

Without more information, I probably won't be able to fix the issue, since it's working fine on my side.
Anyway, I'll do my best to fix it within the next version. I'll also implement some sort of debug logging.

Till the next version is out, you and others which have the same issue with the new version, can just use the old one, the mining speed is equal.


Gapcoin - The largest, decentralized prime gap search
dave23
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 04, 2015, 12:51:49 PM
 #1087

In my case, this Version https://github.com/gapcoin/GapMiner/releases/download/gapminer-rev4.1/windows.zip doesn't find any blocks/shares, even if I mining in a pool. The previos sersions works without any problems.

So it's another confirmation on my side. I don't no how j0nn9 testing it, testnet, hmm probably need a real testing... And how dave23 was successfully. Maybe some mistakes with the links with fixed or not fixed builds in thread. It's no good when builds named windows.zip without any numbers imho...


This version does not find any shares on pool and no blocks for solo, you should fix it.

He said he fix it but as we can see it's not. I guess it's most of that he used testnet and not the real mining for solving that issue. But the dave23 said (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=822498.msg10436950#msg10436950) it's ok with last version for solo. So i don't know what to think. I'm not the noob or something. Mining about 3 years. And when i just change the version and it doesn't find any blocks for 24 hours (tested twice) with about 1500000 h\s something wrong...


i am using the following command line:

gapminer-cpu.exe -o 127.0.0.1 -p 31397 -u xxx -x xxx -t 8 --sieve-primes 900000 --sieve-size 33554432 --shift 25
qqqq
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1011


View Profile
March 04, 2015, 02:19:45 PM
 #1088

In my case, this Version https://github.com/gapcoin/GapMiner/releases/download/gapminer-rev4.1/windows.zip doesn't find any blocks/shares, even if I mining in a pool. The previos sersions works without any problems.

So it's another confirmation on my side. I don't no how j0nn9 testing it, testnet, hmm probably need a real testing... And how dave23 was successfully. Maybe some mistakes with the links with fixed or not fixed builds in thread. It's no good when builds named windows.zip without any numbers imho...


This version does not find any shares on pool and no blocks for solo, you should fix it.

He said he fix it but as we can see it's not. I guess it's most of that he used testnet and not the real mining for solving that issue. But the dave23 said (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=822498.msg10436950#msg10436950) it's ok with last version for solo. So i don't know what to think. I'm not the noob or something. Mining about 3 years. And when i just change the version and it doesn't find any blocks for 24 hours (tested twice) with about 1500000 h\s something wrong...

I don't doubt that the current version isn't working on your computer.
It seems that the bug I fixed, wasn't the only one.
Nevertheless pool and testnet working on my Windows 7 64 bit compile environment.
Mining on testnet is almost the same as on mainnet, exactly the same code is running on the miner.

Without more information, I probably won't be able to fix the issue, since it's working fine on my side.
Anyway, I'll do my best to fix it within the next version. I'll also implement some sort of debug logging.

Till the next version is out, you and others which have the same issue with the new version, can just use the old one, the mining speed is equal.



Ok thank you. Yeah we using last stable ver for us allready Smiley

To dave23, i never used this parameters --sieve-primes 900000 --sieve-size 33554432 --shift 25, will try with them.
qqqq
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1011


View Profile
March 05, 2015, 03:28:17 AM
 #1089

Found 2 blocks with that parameters. It's very strange but it works. So actually it must works without that extra flags but it's not for me previously. Thanks to dave23!

dave23
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 132
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 05, 2015, 03:20:24 PM
 #1090

Found 2 blocks with that parameters. It's very strange but it works. So actually it must works without that extra flags but it's not for me previously. Thanks to dave23!



now if only I could remember what made me settle on those parameters...
qqqq
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1011


View Profile
March 06, 2015, 11:08:01 AM
 #1091

now if only I could remember what made me settle on those parameters...

I remember that extra flags uses in Primecoin for increase Performance or probability finding of blocks a little bit faster. But actually i never tried to understand the essence of this parameters so could be wrong. I confirm that last ver is ok, but it seems rarely finds of blocks for me. Back to previously ver.
pdazzl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 07, 2015, 05:19:11 AM
Last edit: March 07, 2015, 03:07:02 PM by pdazzl
 #1092

now if only I could remember what made me settle on those parameters...

I remember that extra flags uses in Primecoin for increase Performance or probability finding of blocks a little bit faster. But actually i never tried to understand the essence of this parameters so could be wrong. I confirm that last ver is ok, but it seems rarely finds of blocks for me. Back to previously ver.

I'll venture a hypothesis from various things I've read on this whole thread.  The miner sets up the sieve, in your case 2^25 (the shift being 25) and the resultant value as the required seive size - 33554432.  Now the question is how many primes to use.

All the primes chosen are (from my understanding) each multiplied by 3, then the miner starts with the highest value prime*3 and works backwards scanning for the desired gap length and not bothering with sections that obviously won't net a coin. So the largest prime value(times 3) would ideally stop just short of the end of the sieve.

So here is where a bit of math leg work comes in if you want to be precise.  Absolute value of 33554432/3 is 11184810.  The first prime less than that is 11184799.  11184799*3 is 33554397 which fits nicely near the top of the seive.  A check of bigprimes.net shows it as the 737948th prime and thus the number of primes for shift 25.

Can someone verify if this logic is correct?  I think the default primes is 500000,  Maybe it could be more efficient?  Also we could build a table of primes for different shift values, perhaps blocks would be found faster if everyone wasn't trying to scan 2^25 at the same time on each round.


****
I calculated some surrounding shifts and will diversify my workers over them to test them out:

--sieve-size 2097152 --shift 21 --sieve-primes 56474
--sieve-size 4194304 --shift 22 --sieve-primes 106974
--sieve-size 8388608 --shift 23 --sieve-primes 203094
--sieve-size 16777216 --shift 24 --sieve-primes 386702
--sieve-size 67108864 --shift 26 --sieve-primes 1410973
--sieve-size 134217728 --shift 27 --sieve-primes 2703387

Milquetoast
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1552
Merit: 1016



View Profile
March 08, 2015, 04:50:09 PM
 #1093

Only 3.78 µBTC per GAP on Polonix? We need to do something.
GreekBitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1001


getmonero.org


View Profile WWW
March 08, 2015, 05:00:08 PM
 #1094

I have a daemon on a server and several other servers mining on that one server with the daemon. According with what the miners say i should get double the coins i get now. Any clues of what i may do wrong?
pdazzl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 08, 2015, 07:35:32 PM
 #1095

Only 3.78 µBTC per GAP on Polonix? We need to do something.

It would probably help if we set the new merit world record.

@j0nn9 - Any new performance improvements coming or nvidia miner?
ph4nt0m
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 583
Merit: 501


Scavenger of Crypto Sorrow


View Profile
March 09, 2015, 02:50:23 AM
 #1096

What's the plan for this coin? The current price doesn't look very well.
GreekBitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1001


getmonero.org


View Profile WWW
March 09, 2015, 10:14:39 AM
 #1097

For the proposal of changing halving time from 2 years to something smaller like 3 months or 6 months miners replied before that this way they are going to lose profit.

Seeing now that miners have vastly exited (like 75% less hashare than peak) i would like to reopen the question. Just the question in order to have some discussions. 6 months halving is still possible and it could bring some speculation to the coin which means probably better prices and hopefully bigger hashrate.

If miners still think that it is not a good idea then no problem at my end. Though i would still like to hear from them some ideas of how to stimulate price/hashrate.
pdazzl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 09, 2015, 11:24:14 PM
 #1098

For the proposal of changing halving time from 2 years to something smaller like 3 months or 6 months miners replied before that this way they are going to lose profit.

Seeing now that miners have vastly exited (like 75% less hashare than peak) i would like to reopen the question. Just the question in order to have some discussions. 6 months halving is still possible and it could bring some speculation to the coin which means probably better prices and hopefully bigger hashrate.

If miners still think that it is not a good idea then no problem at my end. Though i would still like to hear from them some ideas of how to stimulate price/hashrate.

Possibly need to do an earlier halving though not sure that's the ultimate solution.  The value could keep dropping and it's already significantly uneconomical to mine hence why people have left.  I think improving the algo, porting sieve to the gpu miner or even getting an asic miner is the way to go.  The value of this coin will be apparent when it's cranking out new merit world records regularly, more researcher hashrates will be attracted to join when that's happening.
ph4nt0m
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 583
Merit: 501


Scavenger of Crypto Sorrow


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 08:53:00 AM
 #1099

For the proposal of changing halving time from 2 years to something smaller like 3 months or 6 months miners replied before that this way they are going to lose profit.

Seeing now that miners have vastly exited (like 75% less hashare than peak) i would like to reopen the question. Just the question in order to have some discussions. 6 months halving is still possible and it could bring some speculation to the coin which means probably better prices and hopefully bigger hashrate.

If miners still think that it is not a good idea then no problem at my end. Though i would still like to hear from them some ideas of how to stimulate price/hashrate.

If you care much about miners, you gonna screw this coin. Miners don't give a shit about anything but their profits. You should care about investors first.
pdazzl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 11, 2015, 12:40:42 PM
 #1100

For the proposal of changing halving time from 2 years to something smaller like 3 months or 6 months miners replied before that this way they are going to lose profit.

Seeing now that miners have vastly exited (like 75% less hashare than peak) i would like to reopen the question. Just the question in order to have some discussions. 6 months halving is still possible and it could bring some speculation to the coin which means probably better prices and hopefully bigger hashrate.

If miners still think that it is not a good idea then no problem at my end. Though i would still like to hear from them some ideas of how to stimulate price/hashrate.

If you care much about miners, you gonna screw this coin. Miners don't give a shit about anything but their profits. You should care about investors first.


The thing with this coin is a number of people mining are more interested in the math research than profit.  That being said if it's going to be a thriving coin with the potential for profit it will need more dev and community involvement....profit comes as a result of having a product that has inherent value, price manipulation will just encourage people to wait a bit and then dump the coin.

@j0nn9 - Are you around?  I think people still here are looking for some direction on where the coin is going.  Either way it's fairly evident overall hashrate and coin price is going down, either need to speed up algo or somehow attract more miners.
Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 ... 123 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!