Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2019, 03:13:19 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 [68] 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 ... 220 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 436397 times)
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2013, 06:15:14 AM
 #1341

Auto tries to keep HW errors below 1.5%. Are you sure you're not mining at a higher diff?

So the shown HW errors are a multiple of the the diff mining at?
having a higher percentage

cgminer restarted in the night, MHz is again at 341

I'm getting a high rate of rejects from the pool so cgminer is showing me nearly 79GHash/s but on the pool bitparking its only around 71GHasch/s like it was at 300 MHz?
watching this
The hardware errors need to be divided by the diff... I'm absolutely sure you're not at 10-20% errors.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1556032399
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556032399

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556032399
Reply with quote  #2

1556032399
Report to moderator
1556032399
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556032399

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556032399
Reply with quote  #2

1556032399
Report to moderator
1556032399
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556032399

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556032399
Reply with quote  #2

1556032399
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1556032399
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556032399

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556032399
Reply with quote  #2

1556032399
Report to moderator
1556032399
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556032399

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556032399
Reply with quote  #2

1556032399
Report to moderator
fhh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1206
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 26, 2013, 07:08:06 AM
 #1342

so everything is fine with HW 1,2%

but I got a lot of rejected shares from bitparking about 10% the the gain on hashrate with 341 MHz was nearly eaten up

now running at fixed 325 MHz and no rejected shares

Deutsche Bitcoinbörse: https://www.bitcoin.de/r/yyfrkv
das passende Konto gibts bei der fidor Bank https://banking.fidor.de/registrierung?ibid=43076568
BenTuras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 26, 2013, 09:42:19 AM
 #1343

Can anyone think of a reason not to get this PSU for a 3 module silver and a 3 module black Avalon with overclocking intentions ?
http://www.nexustek.nl/Nexus_RX-1K_Modular_Quiet_Power_Supply_1000W.htm
single rail 12V 80A
ATX 20+4 pins
ATX12V/EPS12V 4+4 pins
4x PCI-E 6+2 pins (only 2 will be used)
Case dimensions - W x H x D (mm) 150 x 86 x 165

TIA for your thoughts!

I am selling in stock OneStringMiner boards, based on the Bitfury chips. Have a look here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=495536.0
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1078


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2013, 10:50:58 AM
 #1344

Can anyone think of a reason not to get this PSU for a 3 module silver and a 3 module black Avalon with overclocking intentions ?
http://www.nexustek.nl/Nexus_RX-1K_Modular_Quiet_Power_Supply_1000W.htm
single rail 12V 80A
ATX 20+4 pins
ATX12V/EPS12V 4+4 pins
4x PCI-E 6+2 pins (only 2 will be used)
Case dimensions - W x H x D (mm) 150 x 86 x 165

TIA for your thoughts!
1) Its not major branded
2) It can only provide 900W on the 12V. You'll see some PSUs rated at 1KW providing 1100W. So consider this an 850W, I wouldn't push it much more.
3) Don't expect it to last 10 years

bitdaniel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 26, 2013, 10:55:41 AM
 #1345

Something is wrong.
Cgminer says 80 GH/s advantage but Slushs pool only 70 GH/s...
fhh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1206
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 26, 2013, 11:50:11 AM
 #1346

Something is wrong.
Cgminer says 80 GH/s advantage but Slushs pool only 70 GH/s...

take a look in the rejects in cgminer Status


3.1.1 crashed after about 5 hours running very constantly @325MHz
will now give 350 @ try

Deutsche Bitcoinbörse: https://www.bitcoin.de/r/yyfrkv
das passende Konto gibts bei der fidor Bank https://banking.fidor.de/registrierung?ibid=43076568
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1078


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2013, 11:52:58 AM
 #1347

Something is wrong.
Cgminer says 80 GH/s advantage but Slushs pool only 70 GH/s...
Pools are just estimates. As long as the shares match on cgminer and pool everything is okay

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2013, 12:46:41 PM
Last edit: June 26, 2013, 01:02:09 PM by ckolivas
 #1348

I've uploaded new firmware

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130626-1/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

This one includes a minor calculation bug fix internally, and I changed the web UI to allow you to discretely set any frequency you like instead of the drop-down box, changing the default from 282 to 300 since I don't think anyone runs these at 282 any more. This will allow you to manually fine tune it yourself, should you find a sweet spot for your hardware. I now have the highest hashrate I've ever had on a stock batch 2 at 83.7GH so far (but it's been only 20 mins so that might be just luck). EDIT: it was just luck, but it's still never been higher.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jspielberg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 26, 2013, 12:55:34 PM
 #1349

ckolivas -

Do you think generated heat or the power capacity of all the other chips is causing instability on these overclocked machines?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2013, 12:58:15 PM
 #1350

ckolivas -

Do you think generated heat or the power capacity of all the other chips is causing instability on these overclocked machines?

My guess is not enough voltage since no amount of cooling can get them much higher than 350 reliably.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
mtbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 877
Merit: 1000


Etherscan.io


View Profile
June 26, 2013, 01:07:36 PM
 #1351


... and I changed the web UI to allow you to discretely set any frequency you like instead of the drop-down box, changing the default from 282 to 300 since I don't think anyone runs these at 282 any more. This will allow you to manually fine tune it yourself, should you find a sweet spot for your hardware.



thanks! You're the man  Smiley

EtherScan::Ethereum Block Explorer | BlockScan::Coming Soon
server
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 887
Merit: 1002


~\/~


View Profile
June 26, 2013, 02:03:24 PM
 #1352

350 and pretty cool without airco Cool



(1 fan on max rpm)

If you don't know what the fork is happening, make a safe bet and choose Litecoin.   --> Magical Crypto Friends - Episode 18 <-- & Free Ross Ulbright
psjw4450
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 342
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 26, 2013, 02:06:06 PM
 #1353

Just noticed one of the three fans stopped working on my avalon.  Opened up the case and found that the wire wiggled itself loose.  Keep an eye on your fans. 
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 26, 2013, 02:13:36 PM
 #1354

350 and pretty cool without airco Cool



(1 fan on max rpm)
With pretty cool ambient temps also Wink I guess your room temperature is about 15 Celsius?


Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
server
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 887
Merit: 1002


~\/~


View Profile
June 26, 2013, 02:18:28 PM
Last edit: June 26, 2013, 02:57:26 PM by server
 #1355

With pretty cool ambient temps also Wink I guess your room temperature is about 15 Celsius?

I wish, no it's the basement but it's 20+ (near Temp2) (sorry, near Temp1...duh..)

If you don't know what the fork is happening, make a safe bet and choose Litecoin.   --> Magical Crypto Friends - Episode 18 <-- & Free Ross Ulbright
Elokane
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 871
Merit: 1000


Truth is a consensus among neurons www.synereo.com


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2013, 04:08:22 PM
Last edit: June 26, 2013, 06:55:04 PM by Elokane
 #1356

I've uploaded new firmware

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130626-1/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

This one includes a minor calculation bug fix internally, and I changed the web UI to allow you to discretely set any frequency you like instead of the drop-down box, changing the default from 282 to 300 since I don't think anyone runs these at 282 any more. This will allow you to manually fine tune it yourself, should you find a sweet spot for your hardware. I now have the highest hashrate I've ever had on a stock batch 2 at 83.7GH so far (but it's been only 20 mins so that might be just luck). EDIT: it was just luck, but it's still never been higher.

Doesn't seem to start mining if I input a non-standard number. I removed the --auto option and changed to 358 and 345 on two different miners and they never began hashing.
Switching back to 350 (with or without auto) makes them start immediately again.

Synereo: liberating the Internet from abusive business models.

Beware of he who would deny you access to information, for in his heart, he dreams himself your master.
<br>
candoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500


Vertrau in Gott


View Profile
June 26, 2013, 05:19:54 PM
 #1357

      case 300:
         buf[6] = 0x63;
         buf[7] = 0x09;
         break;
      case 325:
         buf[6] = 0x28;
         buf[7] = 0x0a;
         break;
      case 350:
         buf[6] = 0xf0;
         buf[7] = 0x0a;
         break;
      case 375:
         buf[6] = 0xb8;
         buf[7] = 0x0b;
         break;


Does anybody knows ALL buff 6 & 7 numbers for all frequencies?


Einer trage des andern Last, so werdet ihr das Gesetz Christi erfüllen.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2013, 09:09:39 PM
 #1358

I've uploaded new firmware

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130626-1/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

This one includes a minor calculation bug fix internally, and I changed the web UI to allow you to discretely set any frequency you like instead of the drop-down box, changing the default from 282 to 300 since I don't think anyone runs these at 282 any more. This will allow you to manually fine tune it yourself, should you find a sweet spot for your hardware. I now have the highest hashrate I've ever had on a stock batch 2 at 83.7GH so far (but it's been only 20 mins so that might be just luck). EDIT: it was just luck, but it's still never been higher.

Doesn't seem to start mining if I input a non-standard number. I removed the --auto option and changed to 358 and 345 on two different miners and they never began hashing.
Switching back to 350 (with or without auto) makes them start immediately again.
Doh, forgot to update part of my build process. Will build another firm shortly, sorry.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2013, 10:37:21 PM
 #1359

I've uploaded new firmware

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130626-1/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

This one includes a minor calculation bug fix internally, and I changed the web UI to allow you to discretely set any frequency you like instead of the drop-down box, changing the default from 282 to 300 since I don't think anyone runs these at 282 any more. This will allow you to manually fine tune it yourself, should you find a sweet spot for your hardware.

New binary which really does what that one was supposed to:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130627/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

I tested it with non standard values. It has sanity checking to prevent values <256 and >450 (hah!), but the usual warnings apply Wink

It also has the more relaxed timeouts which some people found allowed them to go to higher frequencies. See how you go, and watch for higher rejects than normal as a sign the timeout is too long.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kaerf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 26, 2013, 10:40:40 PM
 #1360

I've uploaded new firmware

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130626-1/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

This one includes a minor calculation bug fix internally, and I changed the web UI to allow you to discretely set any frequency you like instead of the drop-down box, changing the default from 282 to 300 since I don't think anyone runs these at 282 any more. This will allow you to manually fine tune it yourself, should you find a sweet spot for your hardware.

New binary which really does what that one was supposed to:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130627/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

I tested it with non standard values. It has sanity checking to prevent values <256 and >450 (hah!), but the usual warnings apply Wink

It also has the more relaxed timeouts which some people found allowed them to go to higher frequencies. See how you go, and watch for higher rejects than normal as a sign the timeout is too long.

thanks, con.

the latest firmware seems to fix the hashrate disparity between Avalon's console and pool stats...at least for me anyway.
Pages: « 1 ... 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 [68] 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 ... 220 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!