Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 10:35:57 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 [549] 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2029990 times)
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
November 02, 2014, 08:54:22 PM
 #10961


Thank you, mdude77! That is exactly what I was hoping to find. Yes, Windows for me most of the time these days.

Edit: I just noticed that my problem arose because I was thrashing around at http://p2pool.org/ rather than http://p2pool.in/ - each is useful in its own way.


Any advice you can give as to how we could make p2pool.org experience more helpful for new users would be appreciated Smiley


Edit: Update. I set up an Antminer S2 to test things out, following advice under Run Miners at p2pool.in and adapting it to the S2 - which seemed easy but has not worked out yet. In the LuCI interface for my Ant, pool 1 shows http://127.0.0.1:9332/ with a BTC addy as username and an arbitrary password. Alas, the Ant shows the pool is "dead" and is mining on one of the centralized failover pools. The run_p2pool.exe continues to run in its command window. It scrolls pretty fast but seems OK, given that I don't really know what "normal" might look like. It shows the pool at 5578TH/s, for instance.

I seem to be stuck now - getting close though. I'll think about it some more.

If you haven't already, point your antminer to the ip of the machine p2pool is running on.




 




 
1480934157
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934157

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934157
Reply with quote  #2

1480934157
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480934157
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934157

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934157
Reply with quote  #2

1480934157
Report to moderator
1480934157
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934157

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934157
Reply with quote  #2

1480934157
Report to moderator
1480934157
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934157

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934157
Reply with quote  #2

1480934157
Report to moderator
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1278


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
November 02, 2014, 10:00:19 PM
 #10962


Thank you, mdude77! That is exactly what I was hoping to find. Yes, Windows for me most of the time these days.

Edit: I just noticed that my problem arose because I was thrashing around at http://p2pool.org/ rather than http://p2pool.in/ - each is useful in its own way.


Any advice you can give as to how we could make p2pool.org experience more helpful for new users would be appreciated Smiley


Edit: Update. I set up an Antminer S2 to test things out, following advice under Run Miners at p2pool.in and adapting it to the S2 - which seemed easy but has not worked out yet. In the LuCI interface for my Ant, pool 1 shows http://127.0.0.1:9332/ with a BTC addy as username and an arbitrary password. Alas, the Ant shows the pool is "dead" and is mining on one of the centralized failover pools. The run_p2pool.exe continues to run in its command window. It scrolls pretty fast but seems OK, given that I don't really know what "normal" might look like. It shows the pool at 5578TH/s, for instance.

I seem to be stuck now - getting close though. I'll think about it some more.

If you haven't already, point your antminer to the ip of the machine p2pool is running on.

Thanks - that seemed to help - the p2pool now shows "alive" on the Ant. It has only been a few minutes, but the pool window still shows Local 0H/s when it scrolls past (Pool 5268TH/s). But wait, there's more!

One more look - YES - local now 840GH/s and climbing - looks like you nailed it!

I'll worry about optimizing the S2 tomorrow, I guess, but the basics seem to be fine now. Thanks again.

aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1278


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
November 04, 2014, 02:03:40 PM
 #10963

I notice it is donating 1% automatically to devs. Hmmn - I thought the tutorial said 0.5%.

Use "--give-author 0" in the startup command (without quotes) Wink

When I first saw your suggestion I thought it seemed a bit harsh. Now, after looking at 500+ pages of the thread, I am beginning to know what I didn't know I didn't know.

I had thought I was doing a fairly casual pool-switch, but it's a much bigger "cultural" thing. Very interesting, and of course overwhelming at first.

Thank you for your patience - I'll catch up in time. I've now got a few S3s running p2pool, received a first payout from one, and shifted my S2 guinea pig to another task for the moment (I'm allergic to vi).
manfred87
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 192


View Profile
November 04, 2014, 02:36:08 PM
 #10964

hey! i want to setup my own nodes for different altcoins!
as we see here, there are quite some altcoins running on p2pool.. http://p2pools.org/
but how can i join this network ( as node, not as miner ) ?

edit: i finally found the information: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=214512.msg4998082#msg4998082
and examples: https://github.com/Rav3nPL/p2pool-rav/tree/master/p2pool/networks
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2014, 02:41:57 PM
 #10965

hey! i want to setup my own nodes for different altcoins!
as we see here, there are quite some altcoins running on p2pool.. http://p2pools.org/
but how can i join this network ( as node, not as miner ) ?

i got p2pool running for bitcoin..
but what are the next steps for altcoins? in the sourcecode there are two ( totally different ) examples for fastcoin..
what do i have to enter here to be part of the p2pool?
or does this not matter at all and p2pool will detect on which network i am? ( e.g. from last block hash )

i want to run >20 coins... do you have sample config files?

Rav3nPL maintains a fork with many alts already included, probably your best starting point:

https://github.com/Rav3nPL/p2pool-rav

windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2014, 02:44:06 PM
 #10966

I notice it is donating 1% automatically to devs. Hmmn - I thought the tutorial said 0.5%.

Use "--give-author 0" in the startup command (without quotes) Wink

When I first saw your suggestion I thought it seemed a bit harsh. Now, after looking at 500+ pages of the thread, I am beginning to know what I didn't know I didn't know.

I had thought I was doing a fairly casual pool-switch, but it's a much bigger "cultural" thing. Very interesting, and of course overwhelming at first.

Thank you for your patience - I'll catch up in time. I've now got a few S3s running p2pool, received a first payout from one, and shifted my S2 guinea pig to another task for the moment (I'm allergic to vi).


It sure is, welcome to the rabbit hole Smiley

And thanks for your feedback on p2pool.org, it was helpful. It's a work in progress...

windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2014, 05:38:35 AM
 #10967

3 Things:

1. We got a block that is not showing in the p2pool default front ends (DOA share found a block):
Block 328755: https://blockchain.info/block-index/489257/000000000000000014d699b2c406f04bd9ebfb0be4971db7159b2e87e498ad26

2. It is my first block found ever! Current mine speed ~4TH/s
http://minefast.coincadence.com/miner.php?id=1BqZakP8wFhRDLkWRGatAwqqt7AQmcePeB

3. Woot!

Block 328755 Summary:
Hash 000000000000000014d699b2c406f04bd9ebfb0be4971db7159b2e87e498ad26
Number Of Transactions    691
Output Total    4,998.59378132 BTC
Transaction Fees    0.08150844 BTC
Height    328755 (Main Chain)
Timestamp    2014-11-06 04:56:20
Relayed By    P2Pool
Difficulty    39,603,666,252.42


mahrens917
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2014, 12:12:31 PM
 #10968

Windpath, congrats on your found block!

Find the pool with the best payout!
nodes.p2pool.co
MissouriMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164



View Profile WWW
November 06, 2014, 02:32:17 PM
 #10969

3 Things:

1. We got a block that is not showing in the p2pool default front ends (DOA share found a block):
Block 328755: https://blockchain.info/block-index/489257/000000000000000014d699b2c406f04bd9ebfb0be4971db7159b2e87e498ad26

2. It is my first block found ever! Current mine speed ~4TH/s
http://minefast.coincadence.com/miner.php?id=1BqZakP8wFhRDLkWRGatAwqqt7AQmcePeB

3. Woot!

Block 328755 Summary:
Hash 000000000000000014d699b2c406f04bd9ebfb0be4971db7159b2e87e498ad26
Number Of Transactions    691
Output Total    4,998.59378132 BTC
Transaction Fees    0.08150844 BTC
Height    328755 (Main Chain)
Timestamp    2014-11-06 04:56:20
Relayed By    P2Pool
Difficulty    39,603,666,252.42



Thanks.  My node is not showing 2 blocks found today.  It is only showing 1 of the 3.  My node shows block 328799, but is missing 328777 and 328755.   Would be great if anyone knows how to fix this in the front-end code.  Cheers.

Edit:  Oops...   Congrats Windpath!
jonnybravo0311
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2014, 02:35:59 PM
 #10970

Congrats on your first block find windpath!

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2014, 02:55:54 PM
 #10971

3 Things:
...

Thanks.  My node is not showing 2 blocks found today.  It is only showing 1 of the 3.  My node shows block 328799, but is missing 328777 and 328755.   Would be great if anyone knows how to fix this in the front-end code.  Cheers.

Edit:  Oops...   Congrats Windpath!

It is not actually a bug in the front end code, it is a limitation of only pulling data from the p2pool node.

When a share is DOA it is not included in the share chain, so other p2pool nodes do not know about it.

However, DOA shares that meet the minimum bitcoin difficulty are still submitted to the bitcoin network just to be safe.

Two of these DOA shares found a block today...

This does happen relatively frequently.

The problem is that however you find the "DOA blocks" it ads dependencies to the front end that are not required to run a node, and increases the complexity of running one...

CoinCadence can find these blocks because we scan the bitcoin blockchain for p2pool blocks and store them in a MySQL DB.

There are 3 ways that come to mind to accomplish including these blocks in your front end:

1. Scan the local bitcoin blockchain as mentioned above
2. Pull P2Pool blocks from another source (i.e. https://blockchain.info/blocks/P2Pool contains blocks from the last 3 days, someone did this on the Node Status front end and shared the source here if you want to dig through the thread for it)
3. Monitor the balance on your payout address (will have some false positives when donations occur)

Or you can just visit http://minefast.coincadence.com/p2pool-stats.php Wink


MissouriMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164



View Profile WWW
November 06, 2014, 03:27:57 PM
 #10972

3 Things:
...

Thanks.  My node is not showing 2 blocks found today.  It is only showing 1 of the 3.  My node shows block 328799, but is missing 328777 and 328755.   Would be great if anyone knows how to fix this in the front-end code.  Cheers.

Edit:  Oops...   Congrats Windpath!

It is not actually a bug in the front end code, it is a limitation of only pulling data from the p2pool node.

When a share is DOA it is not included in the share chain, so other p2pool nodes do not know about it.

However, DOA shares that meet the minimum bitcoin difficulty are still submitted to the bitcoin network just to be safe.

Two of these DOA shares found a block today...

This does happen relatively frequently.

The problem is that however you find the "DOA blocks" it ads dependencies to the front end that are not required to run a node, and increases the complexity of running one...

CoinCadence can find these blocks because we scan the bitcoin blockchain for p2pool blocks and store them in a MySQL DB.

There are 3 ways that come to mind to accomplish including these blocks in your front end:

1. Scan the local bitcoin blockchain as mentioned above
2. Pull P2Pool blocks from another source (i.e. https://blockchain.info/blocks/P2Pool contains blocks from the last 3 days, someone did this on the Node Status front end and shared the source here if you want to dig through the thread for it)
3. Monitor the balance on your payout address (will have some false positives when donations occur)

Or you can just visit http://minefast.coincadence.com/p2pool-stats.php Wink



Thank you for the explanation.  I already have the coincadence site bookmarked, so I'm good to go there.  I was just hoping there was an easy way to adjust the code on the local node.  And now I understand why.  Thanks again.
jonnybravo0311
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2014, 07:06:09 PM
 #10973

3 Things:
...

Thanks.  My node is not showing 2 blocks found today.  It is only showing 1 of the 3.  My node shows block 328799, but is missing 328777 and 328755.   Would be great if anyone knows how to fix this in the front-end code.  Cheers.

Edit:  Oops...   Congrats Windpath!

It is not actually a bug in the front end code, it is a limitation of only pulling data from the p2pool node.

When a share is DOA it is not included in the share chain, so other p2pool nodes do not know about it.

However, DOA shares that meet the minimum bitcoin difficulty are still submitted to the bitcoin network just to be safe.

Two of these DOA shares found a block today...

This does happen relatively frequently.

The problem is that however you find the "DOA blocks" it ads dependencies to the front end that are not required to run a node, and increases the complexity of running one...

CoinCadence can find these blocks because we scan the bitcoin blockchain for p2pool blocks and store them in a MySQL DB.

There are 3 ways that come to mind to accomplish including these blocks in your front end:

1. Scan the local bitcoin blockchain as mentioned above
2. Pull P2Pool blocks from another source (i.e. https://blockchain.info/blocks/P2Pool contains blocks from the last 3 days, someone did this on the Node Status front end and shared the source here if you want to dig through the thread for it)
3. Monitor the balance on your payout address (will have some false positives when donations occur)

Or you can just visit http://minefast.coincadence.com/p2pool-stats.php Wink



Thank you for the explanation.  I already have the coincadence site bookmarked, so I'm good to go there.  I was just hoping there was an easy way to adjust the code on the local node.  And now I understand why.  Thanks again.
As windpath stated, virtually every front end relies upon the share data on your local node to obtain the information used in the display.  Since DOA/Orphan shares never make it into the chain, nodes don't know about them, and hence can't display the info to the user.  The most reliable way to actually get p2pool blocks is to query the blockchain.info APIs and filter on p2pool.

Code:
http://blockchain.info/blocks/P2Pool?format=json
gets you this:
Code:



{
"blocks" : [
{
"height" : 328799,
"hash" : "00000000000000000c3ad871b33074e0c7764ef49c8b55b3b7adeaa23368a434",
"time" : 1415269319,
"main_chain" : true
},

{
"height" : 328777,
"hash" : "000000000000000014887e877f75f2b2891ae07794d3d9f89b2e18cde0640f7d",
"time" : 1415260433,
"main_chain" : true
},

{
"height" : 328755,
"hash" : "000000000000000014d699b2c406f04bd9ebfb0be4971db7159b2e87e498ad26",
"time" : 1415249780,
"main_chain" : true
},

{
"height" : 328555,
"hash" : "000000000000000011ca6426165101ea682e9432383a10d7877dce5086c9be06",
"time" : 1415131036,
"main_chain" : true
},

{
"height" : 328506,
"hash" : "000000000000000004228856bb5340644e299c85e03ff0dfec46165cdd6fe90f",
"time" : 1415104948,
"main_chain" : true
},

{
"height" : 328402,
"hash" : "00000000000000001ad400d94bcefa5712325b159b9f0c20f83ab74f69d91bf0",
"time" : 1415050207,
"main_chain" : true
},

{
"height" : 328270,
"hash" : "00000000000000000ef9d63a3e7a93bd86aee5d38a050665febcd7d63f7fc6d6",
"time" : 1414979743,
"main_chain" : true
},

{
"height" : 328253,
"hash" : "000000000000000015baf96ed8e738f41c69fbcdd76e73a49b9d1f481890d197",
"time" : 1414973069,
"main_chain" : true
}
]
}
If you want more detailed information about the block, you can then query about each specifically:
Code:
http://blockchain.info/block-index/328799?format=json
gets you the following:
Code:


{
"hash":"0000000000000001a90ea36d3c2b44e5dc9658a63b99916ca77e81be9fde3fb0",
"ver":2,
"prev_block":"0000000000000009c0ea1ce62d6affc55cb84455e51edd7c6cea352563b6fcc3",
"mrkl_root":"2921c6ddb81babe9baf571cee293bc7b6c2d7d36944ae1d039bb8bbd6a0ceca7",
"time":1382908236,
"bits":420150405,
    "fee":6356397,
    "nonce":1565264106,
"n_tx":151,
"size":105883,
"block_index":328799,
"main_chain":true,
"height":266427,
"received_time":1382908240,
"relayed_by":"68.168.104.126",

"tx":[{"ver":1,"size":2954,"inputs":[{"sequence":4294967295,"script":"03bb10040d00456c696769757300526d8118fabe6d6d91f57b13a8f0ef318e7afb8f221514d0571fd65f87d6b62095efc2cf02ea60bc0400000000000000002f7373312f00d037e70e00000000563b0200"}],"time":1382908240,"tx_index":41908536,"vin_sz":1,"hash":"2a4076ba40e87159549f3fbe3a7725f0256326426dd06c056bc2b1fdb7b256b5","vout_sz":83,"relayed_by":"68.168.104.126","out":

.....

.....


 }
Using this information, you can properly render things.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
jonnybravo0311
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2014, 10:57:21 PM
 #10974

So... something strange just happened on my node.  I've been busy with work today and didn't really check on my node.  However, when I just recently looked, I noticed a couple of blocks had been found.  I checked my wallet... and no payout.  Well, that's just odd, since I definitely have shares on the chain.

I head on over to windpath's node to check on my address and see that each block records me as being on the payout list.  I go and check blockchain... yup, my address received the payouts.  So... where are they?

I looked at my client and see the happy green checkbox stating that all is good in the world and that I'm up to date.  I see multiple connections.  Everything looks good.  Right up until I look at the block height reported as the latest.  Um... that block was found over 5 hours ago.

The core client claimed it was up to date and everything showed green, but clearly it wasn't.  I restarted the core client and when it came back up it happily synchronized and wouldn't you know it, I get the notifications of my mining payouts.

Has anyone ever seen this before?

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
November 07, 2014, 07:20:48 AM
 #10975

Everyone.
P2Pool payout is direct from block so it need to MATURE b4 you can spend it.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2014, 01:56:00 PM
 #10976

To the 1+ PH/s miner using CoinCadence as a backup



Please contact me, I'd like to give you a private node address...

TracerX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 778



View Profile
November 07, 2014, 05:57:48 PM
 #10977

Please contact me, I'd like to give you a private node address...
Hilarious.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
November 07, 2014, 06:00:53 PM
 #10978

Please contact me, I'd like to give you a private node address...
Hilarious.

I'd like to offer him my wife...... Tongue

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204



View Profile
November 10, 2014, 04:42:40 PM
 #10979

Sweet, back to back blocks!  Cool

Edit: And only 1 second apart..  Shocked
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470


View Profile
November 10, 2014, 05:32:56 PM
 #10980

Sweet, back to back blocks!  Cool

Edit: And only 1 second apart..  Shocked

CoinCadence is showing them as 30s apart. Any idea why is it showing as 0.00% luck?

iCEBREAKER is a troll! He and cypherdoc helped HashFast scam 50 Million $ from its customers !
H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
Pages: « 1 ... 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 [549] 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!