Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:09:52 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 [576] 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2034301 times)
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 11:52:42 AM
 #11501

just add this line at the end of /config/cgminer.conf: "queue" : "1"
and if You want to set queue from shell use: /usr/bin/cgminer-api "setconfig|queue,1" (You can also let ssh do it remotely)
I did not find any difference between queue 0 and 1 in results and I do not use --lowmem

I'm guessing adding it to cgminer.conf would make the setting persistent across reboots? Definitely going to do that if so.
Files changed in /config are permanent across reboots. In the S5 there is a file /config/user_setting which has just
Code:
queue 8192
I'm not sure if the S4 is the same but if it is, that's all you need to modify, to say queue 1

user_settings doesn't exist on the S4.  There is a cgminer.conf there, but the queue setting is not there.  I may try adding it.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
1481339392
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339392

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339392
Reply with quote  #2

1481339392
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481339392
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339392

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339392
Reply with quote  #2

1481339392
Report to moderator
1481339392
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339392

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339392
Reply with quote  #2

1481339392
Report to moderator
idonothave
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 12:34:33 PM
 #11502

just add this line at the end of /config/cgminer.conf: "queue" : "1"
and if You want to set queue from shell use: /usr/bin/cgminer-api "setconfig|queue,1" (You can also let ssh do it remotely)
I did not find any difference between queue 0 and 1 in results and I do not use --lowmem

I'm guessing adding it to cgminer.conf would make the setting persistent across reboots? Definitely going to do that if so.
Files changed in /config are permanent across reboots. In the S5 there is a file /config/user_setting which has just
Code:
queue 8192
I'm not sure if the S4 is the same but if it is, that's all you need to modify, to say queue 1

user_settings doesn't exist on the S4.  There is a cgminer.conf there, but the queue setting is not there.  I may try adding it.

M

root@antMiner:~# cat /config/cgminer.conf
{
"pools" : [
...
"bitmain-freq" : "7:200:0782",
"bitmain-voltage" : "0725",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "1"
}
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 01:31:57 PM
 #11503

root@antMiner:~# cat /config/cgminer.conf
{
"pools" : [
...
"bitmain-freq" : "7:200:0782",
"bitmain-voltage" : "0725",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "1"
}


After the pools I have this:

Code:
,
"api-listen" : true,
"api-network" : true,
"api-allow" : "W:0/0",
"bitmain-freq" : "7:200:0782",
"bitmain-voltage" : "0725"
}


I'll probably try adding the queue setting and see what happens.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
nreal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 01:34:22 PM
 #11504

So those antpool p2pool nodes are listed at http://p2pool-nodes.info/ too?

Stealing miners from p2pool?

it is possible, because You cannot recognize it since the port is the same 9332 and also web-stat page is very probably the same (as they (AntPool) use the same open source project as a base for their changes). admins should find the way how to filter it
miner should be very carreful where he connects his machine, because is well known, that AntPool p2pool clone does not pay transaction fees to miners
the best possible and the safiest is to run own node with original sources from here https://github.com/forrestv/p2pool

Do they antpool p2pool nodes get payments from p2pool blocks??

Hope they close down their nodes soon enough.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2015, 01:48:48 PM
 #11505


Do they antpool p2pool nodes get payments from p2pool blocks??

Hope they close down their nodes soon enough.

No, as IYF mentioned, they don't use the standard p2pool share chain.

So do I. Sooner the better.

The way I see it, and please correct me someone if I'm wrong, but they are simply piggy backing off p2pool decentralization marketing, and by using the same ports as p2pool they are stealing/fooling miners into thinking that they are actually helping p2pool decentralization/network - when the opposite is in fact the case. As things are, they are harming the p2pool network.

What can be done? Well, short of every p2pool node banning the IP of antp2pool & pestering them to change their ports - not a lot  Angry

Again, someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
idonothave
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 02:02:35 PM
 #11506

root@antMiner:~# cat /config/cgminer.conf
{
"pools" : [
...
"bitmain-freq" : "7:200:0782",
"bitmain-voltage" : "0725",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "1"
}


After the pools I have this:

Code:
,
"api-listen" : true,
"api-network" : true,
"api-allow" : "W:0/0",
"bitmain-freq" : "7:200:0782",
"bitmain-voltage" : "0725"
}


I'll probably try adding the queue setting and see what happens.

M

You have to add it there manually Smiley use vi editor
idonothave
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 02:11:39 PM
 #11507


Do they antpool p2pool nodes get payments from p2pool blocks??

Hope they close down their nodes soon enough.

No, as IYF mentioned, they don't use the standard p2pool share chain.

So do I. Sooner the better.

The way I see it, and please correct me someone if I'm wrong, but they are simply piggy backing off p2pool decentralization marketing, and by using the same ports as p2pool they are stealing/fooling miners into thinking that they are actually helping p2pool decentralization/network - when the opposite is in fact the case. As things are, they are harming the p2pool network.

What can be done? Well, short of every p2pool node banning the IP of antp2pool & pestering them to change their ports - not a lot  Angry

Again, someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

Y, it is big robbery.
What we can do?
We should be better, we should more popularize original p2pool, explain things, help newbies...
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2015, 02:45:49 PM
 #11508


Do they antpool p2pool nodes get payments from p2pool blocks??

Hope they close down their nodes soon enough.

No, as IYF mentioned, they don't use the standard p2pool share chain.

So do I. Sooner the better.

The way I see it, and please correct me someone if I'm wrong, but they are simply piggy backing off p2pool decentralization marketing, and by using the same ports as p2pool they are stealing/fooling miners into thinking that they are actually helping p2pool decentralization/network - when the opposite is in fact the case. As things are, they are harming the p2pool network.

What can be done? Well, short of every p2pool node banning the IP of antp2pool & pestering them to change their ports - not a lot  Angry

Again, someone please correct me if I'm wrong.
You're not wrong.  I spent some time going through their p2pool code when they released it.  All they did was add some reliance upon a database to capture/store worker/share info.  It wasn't complete and I don't know that they ever pursued it any further.  They certainly jumped on the decentralized bandwagon, but have done nothing except for talk about how they support it, while behind the scenes they aren't doing squat.  The last update to the code was on November, 13, 2014.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 02:58:07 PM
 #11509

root@antMiner:~# cat /config/cgminer.conf
{
"pools" : [
...
"bitmain-freq" : "7:200:0782",
"bitmain-voltage" : "0725",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "1"
}


After the pools I have this:

Code:
,
"api-listen" : true,
"api-network" : true,
"api-allow" : "W:0/0",
"bitmain-freq" : "7:200:0782",
"bitmain-voltage" : "0725"
}


I'll probably try adding the queue setting and see what happens.

M

You have to add it there manually Smiley use vi editor

I added it.  Didn't do a thing.  Next time I changed the pools, it got lost.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 03:14:40 PM
 #11510

i'm ALL IN to help STOP dishonest pool.

Maybe someone with a good knowledge & higher stats/rep can start a thread so that we can create more awareness on the pool thread & also ask antpool to provide evidence to the public that they (which we all doubt) are legitimately proving as what they are saying/doing ?

I say NO to Cheats & Scams what about you guys ?
idonothave
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 04:07:22 PM
 #11511

root@antMiner:~# cat /config/cgminer.conf
{
"pools" : [
...
"bitmain-freq" : "7:200:0782",
"bitmain-voltage" : "0725",
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "1"
}


After the pools I have this:

Code:
,
"api-listen" : true,
"api-network" : true,
"api-allow" : "W:0/0",
"bitmain-freq" : "7:200:0782",
"bitmain-voltage" : "0725"
}


I'll probably try adding the queue setting and see what happens.

M

You have to add it there manually Smiley use vi editor

I added it.  Didn't do a thing.  Next time I changed the pools, it got lost.

M

I did not try if it is lost if I push "save & apply", I do not use UI. I have just added it into cgminer.conf file, then I did "/etc/init.d/cgminer restart" and it works. And it is persistent accross reboots...

edit: as was mentioned above, I suppose this also could solve the thing: echo "queue 1" > /config/user_setting
but personaly I did not try it because of no need
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 04:10:00 PM
 #11512

I did not try if it is lost if I push "save & apply", I do not use UI. I have just added it into cgminer.conf file, then I did "/etc/init.d/cgminer restart" and it works. And it is persistent accross reboots...

This is on your S4?

Sounds like we're doing about the same thing except I tweak my pool settings, causing settings to get lost.  So I use cgminer-api to set the queue setting.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
idonothave
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 04:14:09 PM
 #11513

I did not try if it is lost if I push "save & apply", I do not use UI. I have just added it into cgminer.conf file, then I did "/etc/init.d/cgminer restart" and it works. And it is persistent accross reboots...

This is on your S4?

Sounds like we're doing about the same thing except I tweak my pool settings, causing settings to get lost.  So I use cgminer-api to set the queue setting.

M

Yes, my S4 unit. It seems any change of pool settings is changing file to defaults.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218



View Profile
January 08, 2015, 05:06:49 PM
 #11514

just add this line at the end of /config/cgminer.conf: "queue" : "1"
and if You want to set queue from shell use: /usr/bin/cgminer-api "setconfig|queue,1" (You can also let ssh do it remotely)
I did not find any difference between queue 0 and 1 in results and I do not use --lowmem

I'm guessing adding it to cgminer.conf would make the setting persistent across reboots? Definitely going to do that if so.
Files changed in /config are permanent across reboots. In the S5 there is a file /config/user_setting which has just
Code:
queue 8192
I'm not sure if the S4 is the same but if it is, that's all you need to modify, to say queue 1

Ok thanks, good to know. You suggest setting queue to 1 instead of 0? I keep seeing people say queue 0 for p2pool, but if you say 1 is best that's what I'll set.

I don't mean to turn this thread into an S4 thread, but while you're here.. I noticed you compiled cgminer 4.9 for S5, any chance you'll do the same for the S4?

Quote from: idonothave
Yes. As far as I know it is persistent accross reboots. Smiley

Thanks again for bringing that up, you've just saved me a lot of annoyance.  Cheesy
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2015, 05:14:40 PM
 #11515

Thought you would all appreciate this:

Bitcoin: The magic of mining

http://www.economist.com/news/business/21638124-minting-digital-currency-has-become-big-ruthlessly-competitive-business-magic

Smiley

yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 07:13:09 PM
 #11516

thx windpath for leading the post here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=855548.180

c'mon guys lets support the REAL p2pool & not the FAKE !
IYFTech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


WANTED: Active dev to fix & re-write p2pool in C


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 07:13:53 PM
 #11517


Do they antpool p2pool nodes get payments from p2pool blocks??

Hope they close down their nodes soon enough.

No, as IYF mentioned, they don't use the standard p2pool share chain.

So do I. Sooner the better.

The way I see it, and please correct me someone if I'm wrong, but they are simply piggy backing off p2pool decentralization marketing, and by using the same ports as p2pool they are stealing/fooling miners into thinking that they are actually helping p2pool decentralization/network - when the opposite is in fact the case. As things are, they are harming the p2pool network.

What can be done? Well, short of every p2pool node banning the IP of antp2pool & pestering them to change their ports - not a lot  Angry

Again, someone please correct me if I'm wrong.
You're not wrong.  I spent some time going through their p2pool code when they released it.  All they did was add some reliance upon a database to capture/store worker/share info.  It wasn't complete and I don't know that they ever pursued it any further.  They certainly jumped on the decentralized bandwagon, but have done nothing except for talk about how they support it, while behind the scenes they aren't doing squat.  The last update to the code was on November, 13, 2014.

+1000 to this!

I think it's about time the p2pool community put a little pressure on Bitmain "p2p" in an effort to sort this little misconception out once & for all. I see a few comments have been posted already........

I'm in   Wink

-- Smiley  Thank you for smoking  Smiley --  If you paid VAT to dogie for items you should read this thread:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1018906.0
yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
January 08, 2015, 07:16:44 PM
 #11518


Do they antpool p2pool nodes get payments from p2pool blocks??

Hope they close down their nodes soon enough.

No, as IYF mentioned, they don't use the standard p2pool share chain.

So do I. Sooner the better.

The way I see it, and please correct me someone if I'm wrong, but they are simply piggy backing off p2pool decentralization marketing, and by using the same ports as p2pool they are stealing/fooling miners into thinking that they are actually helping p2pool decentralization/network - when the opposite is in fact the case. As things are, they are harming the p2pool network.

What can be done? Well, short of every p2pool node banning the IP of antp2pool & pestering them to change their ports - not a lot  Angry

Again, someone please correct me if I'm wrong.
You're not wrong.  I spent some time going through their p2pool code when they released it.  All they did was add some reliance upon a database to capture/store worker/share info.  It wasn't complete and I don't know that they ever pursued it any further.  They certainly jumped on the decentralized bandwagon, but have done nothing except for talk about how they support it, while behind the scenes they aren't doing squat.  The last update to the code was on November, 13, 2014.

+1000 to this!

I think it's about time the p2pool community put a little pressure on Bitmain "p2p" in an effort to sort this little misconception out once & for all. I see a few comments have been posted already........

I'm in   Wink

i'll start by bumping up the p2pool hashrate . . .
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2015, 10:44:25 PM
 #11519

Ok thanks, good to know. You suggest setting queue to 1 instead of 0? I keep seeing people say queue 0 for p2pool, but if you say 1 is best that's what I'll set.

I don't mean to turn this thread into an S4 thread, but while you're here.. I noticed you compiled cgminer 4.9 for S5, any chance you'll do the same for the S4?
There's almost no real difference between 0 and 1 though some have claimed lower rejects with zero, there is a possibility of slightly lower hashrates on underpowered devices, of which all the bitmain gear is.

The 4.9 I compiled for S5 is based on bitmain's branch with a handful of my fixes, so it's not a real, official 4.9 and there's no advantage to updating the S4 binary. With time there will be a real driver for these in the master cgminer branch, and  that's when more binaries would have anything to offer.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
nreal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
January 09, 2015, 04:14:41 AM
 #11520

How can p2pool ever be written in C ?
Someone should take the job and donation address should be changed so it goes to developers, but is it enough to get started?
Its too difficult to even change the donation btc address now, if something like the ckproxy that works with pool gets done I would like to support that, but cant do that because cant change the code..  Donation could be a tool in p2pool to get things better (--donation btcaddress reason)
No one donates anything anymore, and development has stopped Sad  
P2pool could be running just fine on 4 cores atom if it was written in C..

Pages: « 1 ... 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 [576] 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!