Bitcoin Forum
April 30, 2024, 12:53:17 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 [315] 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 ... 417 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining  (Read 417954 times)
leenoox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 200
Merit: 101



View Profile
December 19, 2017, 07:27:15 PM
 #6281

double post... disregard

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
Greek_miner_
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 07:36:16 PM
 #6282

double post... disregard
Thanks.  Hopefully it can be included in the next update.
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile WWW
December 19, 2017, 08:11:51 PM
 #6283

I'm just starting to mine ETN over at mininghub and need nvOC to parse the workername to the miner, presumably I can just edit 1bash and 0miner as follows...?

1bash

Code:
# Electroneum(ETN) ## No Need to add stratum+tcp:// to server address
ETN_WORKER="$WORKERNAME"
ETN_ADDRESS="my account name"
ETN_POOL="europe.cryptonight-hub.miningpoolhub.com"
ETN_PORT="20596"

0miner

Code:
if [ $COIN == "ETN" ]
then
  HCD='/home/m1/KTccminer-cryptonight/ccminer'
  ADDR="$ETN_ADDRESS.$ETN_WORKER"


Thanks in advance
Mike

Sorry and Thanks for catching the bug
Worker was missing for KRB and ETN in 0miner and 1bash , fixed for stable release.

KRB and ETN are looking for the KTccminer-cryptonight binaries btw.......not part of the 2.0 script upgrade, no dropbox link to any pre-compiled binary package....

TIA
Mike

Again ... Sorry and Thanks

Compiled and added to update script, please run the script again

Which script, the 4update script ? And run unelevated?

TIA
Mike

Nope, the nvOC update script

killeriq
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 19, 2017, 10:18:57 PM
 #6284

Code:

Hello,
trying to mine Lyra with ccminer, but it just fail to run all the time:
Code:
[2017-12-18 22:00:42] Starting on stratum+tcp://xzc.suprnova.cc:1569
[2017-12-18 22:00:42] NVML GPU monitoring enabled.
[2017-12-18 22:00:42] 5 miner threads started, using 'lyra2z' algorithm.
/home.m1/2unix: line 138: 2205 Terminated  bash '/home/m1/3main'
or
Code:
/home.m1/2unix: line 138: 2907 Terminated  bash '/home/m1/3main'
or
/home.m1/2unix: line 138: 3554 Terminated  bash '/home/m1/3main'

Any clue how to fix it? thanks

What version of nvOC? Are you LOCAL or REMOTE configuration?

Im on 19-20 and LOCAL, thx

Please,
Execute in remote ssh terminal (Or at tty01 (CTRL+ALT+F1)) the nvOC report command and give us here the result by copy/paste
nvOC file to diagnose is in /home/m1

Code:
nvOC report

Set this to NO in 1 bash

Code:
AUTO_START_MINER="NO"      # YES or NO # Set this to NO when troubleshooting, this will prevent the watchdog restarting the rig

And try to execute or copy paste the minning command without automatic loop of nvOC Like that but in replacing variables :
Code:
if [ $COIN == "ZCOIN" ]
then
  HCD='/home/m1/TPccminer/ccminer'
  ADDR="$ZCOIN_ADDRESS.$ZCOIN_WORKER"
[b]  screen -dmSL miner $HCD -a lyra2z -o stratum+tcp://$ZCOIN_POOL:$ZCOIN_PORT -u $ADDR -p $MINER_PWD[/b]
fi


Hello, here u go...

Code:
root@m1-desktop:~$./nvOC report

      Report generator v0019-2.0.002 by leenoox

cat: /root/1bash: No such file or directory

[code]

Software info:
Report ver    :  v0019-2.0.002
nvOC (1bash)  :
nvOC (3main)  :  nvOC v0019-2.0 - Community Release
1bash ver     :
3main ver     :  v0019-2.0.005
5watchdog ver :  v0019-2.0.011
6tempcontrol v:  v0019-2.0.003
wtm switch ver:  v0019-2.0.006
Kernel        :  4.4.0-97-generic
OS            :  Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS
System        :  (gcc 5.4.0 (Ubuntu 5.4.0-6ubuntu1~16.04.4)
nvidia driver :  387.34

Hardware info:
Motherboard   :  ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0  Rev 1.xx
BIOS ver.     :  2901 05/04/2016
CPU Model     :  FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor
CPU Cores     :  8 (Cores + Threads)
Mem Total     :        16391036 kB
Mem Free      :        15123064 kB
Swap Total    :               0 kB
Swap Free     :               0 kB
Ethernet      :  Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 09)

HDD and Partion info:
NAME    SIZE FSTYPE TYPE ROTA HOTPLUG TRAN VENDOR   MODEL             REV MOUNTPOINT
sde    28.7G        disk    1       1 usb  SanDisk  Ultra Fit        1.00
├─sde1    9M vfat   part    1       1                                     /media/m1/12D3-A8691
└─sde2 13.7G ext4   part    1       1                                     /

VGA info:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
06:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
07:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)

1bash settings:
1bash version .............:
LOCAL or REMOTE ...........:
TEAMVIEWER started ........:
SSH daemon started ........:
SLOW_USB_KEY_MODE .........:
SRR .......................:
Watchdog ..................:

Temp Control ..............:

CLEAR_LOGS_ON_BOOT ........:
AUTO_UPDATE ...............:
AUTO_REBOOT ...............:
_Parallax_MODE (upPaste)...:

TELEGRAM_MESSAGES .:
TELEGRAM_ALERTS .:

P106_100_FULL_HEADLESS_MODE:
GPUPowerMizerMode_Adjust...:
POWERLIMIT (global) .......:
CORE_OVERCLOCK (global)....:
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK (global) .:
MANUAL_FAN ................:
ALGO_SPECIFIC_OC ..........:

GLOBAL_WORKERNAME .........:
AUTO_WORKERNAME ...........:
plusCPU ...................:

ZM_or_EWBF ................:

COIN ......................:
ZPOOLPASS .................: hidden_pass...,
_WORKER ................:
_ADDRESS ...............: ...
_POOL ..................:



WORK IN PROGRESS! Report script (beta release)

*** If posting the Report on bitcointalk.org forum please copy everything
    between the
Code:
 and [\code] including the [code] and [\code] tags.
    This will ensure proper alignment when posting the Report.


root@m1-desktop:/home/m1#


the code u mention should be pasted here instead or where? i have it probably wrong... Thanks

Code:
  # ZCOIN lyra2v2
#  if [ $COIN == "ZCOIN" ]
#  then
#    ALGORITHM="LYRA2V2"
#    POWERLIMIT_WATTS=115
#    __CORE_OVERCLOCK=100
#    MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=-200
#  fi
 
  if [ $COIN == "ZCOIN" ]
then
  HCD='/home/m1/TPccminer/ccminer'
  ADDR="$ZCOIN_ADDRESS.$ZCOIN_WORKER"
[b]  screen -dmSL miner $HCD -a lyra2z -o stratum+tcp://$ZCOIN_POOL:$ZCOIN_PORT -u $ADDR -p $MINER_PWD[/b]
fi
[/code][/code]
joshuajones02
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 20, 2017, 02:43:53 AM
 #6285

what can I type in the terminal to modify GPU settings while miner is running for each GPU individually? i.e Power limit, oc core, & fan speed

For GPU1:

nvidia-smi -i 1 -pl 75

export DISPLAY=:0
nvidia-settings -a [gpu:1]/GPUGraphicsClockOffset[3]=200
nvidia-settings -a [gpu:1]/GPUMemoryTransferRateOffset[3]=1000
nvidia-settings -a [gpu:1]/GPUFanControlState=1
nvidia-settings -a [fan:1]/GPUTargetFanSpeed=8

--
Tigel

thanks man

| World Fintech Startups | Microsoft Azure Partner | $1,5 M Raised During pre-ICO |
     BANKEX - Proof-of-Asset Protocol     
| WHITE PAPER | BLOGSLACKTELEGRAMBITCOINTALKGITHUBTWITTERYOUTUBEFACEBOOK |☰
leenoox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 200
Merit: 101



View Profile
December 20, 2017, 04:06:29 AM
 #6286

Hey killeriq,
the ./nvOC report doesn't work when executed as root user. As you can notice, it didn't pull any values from 1bash.
Please execute ./nvOC report as unprivileged user m1 and repost your report, copy and paste between the two code marks.

Vogan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 20, 2017, 04:15:22 AM
 #6287

Nice project
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile WWW
December 20, 2017, 07:44:25 AM
 #6288

Code:

Hello,
trying to mine Lyra with ccminer, but it just fail to run all the time:
Code:
[2017-12-18 22:00:42] Starting on stratum+tcp://xzc.suprnova.cc:1569
[2017-12-18 22:00:42] NVML GPU monitoring enabled.
[2017-12-18 22:00:42] 5 miner threads started, using 'lyra2z' algorithm.
/home.m1/2unix: line 138: 2205 Terminated  bash '/home/m1/3main'
or
Code:
/home.m1/2unix: line 138: 2907 Terminated  bash '/home/m1/3main'
or
/home.m1/2unix: line 138: 3554 Terminated  bash '/home/m1/3main'

Any clue how to fix it? thanks


What version of nvOC? Are you LOCAL or REMOTE configuration?

Im on 19-20 and LOCAL, thx

Please,
Execute in remote ssh terminal (Or at tty01 (CTRL+ALT+F1)) the nvOC report command and give us here the result by copy/paste
nvOC file to diagnose is in /home/m1

Code:
nvOC report

Set this to NO in 1 bash

Code:
AUTO_START_MINER="NO"      # YES or NO # Set this to NO when troubleshooting, this will prevent the watchdog restarting the rig

And try to execute or copy paste the minning command without automatic loop of nvOC Like that but in replacing variables :
Code:
if [ $COIN == "ZCOIN" ]
then
  HCD='/home/m1/TPccminer/ccminer'
  ADDR="$ZCOIN_ADDRESS.$ZCOIN_WORKER"
[b]  screen -dmSL miner $HCD -a lyra2z -o stratum+tcp://$ZCOIN_POOL:$ZCOIN_PORT -u $ADDR -p $MINER_PWD[/b]
fi


Hello, here u go...

Code:
root@m1-desktop:~$./nvOC report

      Report generator v0019-2.0.002 by leenoox

cat: /root/1bash: No such file or directory

[code]

Software info:
Report ver    :  v0019-2.0.002
nvOC (1bash)  :
nvOC (3main)  :  nvOC v0019-2.0 - Community Release
1bash ver     :
3main ver     :  v0019-2.0.005
5watchdog ver :  v0019-2.0.011
6tempcontrol v:  v0019-2.0.003
wtm switch ver:  v0019-2.0.006
Kernel        :  4.4.0-97-generic
OS            :  Ubuntu 16.04.3 LTS
System        :  (gcc 5.4.0 (Ubuntu 5.4.0-6ubuntu1~16.04.4)
nvidia driver :  387.34

Hardware info:
Motherboard   :  ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0  Rev 1.xx
BIOS ver.     :  2901 05/04/2016
CPU Model     :  FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor
CPU Cores     :  8 (Cores + Threads)
Mem Total     :        16391036 kB
Mem Free      :        15123064 kB
Swap Total    :               0 kB
Swap Free     :               0 kB
Ethernet      :  Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 09)

HDD and Partion info:
NAME    SIZE FSTYPE TYPE ROTA HOTPLUG TRAN VENDOR   MODEL             REV MOUNTPOINT
sde    28.7G        disk    1       1 usb  SanDisk  Ultra Fit        1.00
├─sde1    9M vfat   part    1       1                                     /media/m1/12D3-A8691
└─sde2 13.7G ext4   part    1       1                                     /

VGA info:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
05:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
06:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)
07:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation Device 1b81 (rev a1)

1bash settings:
1bash version .............:
LOCAL or REMOTE ...........:
TEAMVIEWER started ........:
SSH daemon started ........:
SLOW_USB_KEY_MODE .........:
SRR .......................:
Watchdog ..................:

Temp Control ..............:

CLEAR_LOGS_ON_BOOT ........:
AUTO_UPDATE ...............:
AUTO_REBOOT ...............:
_Parallax_MODE (upPaste)...:

TELEGRAM_MESSAGES .:
TELEGRAM_ALERTS .:

P106_100_FULL_HEADLESS_MODE:
GPUPowerMizerMode_Adjust...:
POWERLIMIT (global) .......:
CORE_OVERCLOCK (global)....:
MEMORY_OVERCLOCK (global) .:
MANUAL_FAN ................:
ALGO_SPECIFIC_OC ..........:

GLOBAL_WORKERNAME .........:
AUTO_WORKERNAME ...........:
plusCPU ...................:

ZM_or_EWBF ................:

COIN ......................:
ZPOOLPASS .................: hidden_pass...,
_WORKER ................:
_ADDRESS ...............: ...
_POOL ..................:



WORK IN PROGRESS! Report script (beta release)

*** If posting the Report on bitcointalk.org forum please copy everything
    between the
Code:
 and [\code] including the [code] and [\code] tags.
    This will ensure proper alignment when posting the Report.


root@m1-desktop:/home/m1#


the code u mention should be pasted here instead or where? i have it probably wrong... Thanks

Code:
  # ZCOIN lyra2v2
#  if [ $COIN == "ZCOIN" ]
#  then
#    ALGORITHM="LYRA2V2"
#    POWERLIMIT_WATTS=115
#    __CORE_OVERCLOCK=100
#    MEMORY_OVERCLOCK=-200
#  fi
 
  if [ $COIN == "ZCOIN" ]
then
  HCD='/home/m1/TPccminer/ccminer'
  ADDR="$ZCOIN_ADDRESS.$ZCOIN_WORKER"
[b]  screen -dmSL miner $HCD -a lyra2z -o stratum+tcp://$ZCOIN_POOL:$ZCOIN_PORT -u $ADDR -p $MINER_PWD[/b]
fi
[/code][/code]



Did you run the update script with sudo too ?
If yes please run this (thnx to wi$em@n suggestion)

Code:
sudo chown -R m1 /home/m1

samba001
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 20, 2017, 08:24:28 AM
 #6289

I have been using nvOC for more than 4 months and I can confidently say that it made my life very easy. I have enabled auto switch and everything works fine, hardly I connect to my rig once a day to see the progress. So far everything is working great.

I really appreciate the Dev team for putting so many thoughts and get this working for most of the mining beginners.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion    Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency    TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️        VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile WWW
December 20, 2017, 08:56:52 AM
Last edit: January 21, 2018, 08:22:29 AM by papampi
 #6290

SSD-USB resize and add swap - Guide - nvOC-v0019-2.0 Community Release.


Open Gparted, root password is miner1, Locate your drive, there are 2 partitions, a 9Mb fat, a 16Gb ext4 and a free unused space at the end.

1- Make swap partition (Skip for USB install)
Right click on the unused space, create new partition, "Partition Type : Swap" make the size you want (1Gb up to Ram size) grab and move it to the end of drive.
Apply.

2- Expand root partition:
Right click on the primary 16gb partition, resize/move, resize it to the desired size (better to give it all).
Apply. (skip to step 5 for usb installs)

3- Applying Swap partition (skip this for USB Installs)

Right click on the swap partition and get the info, copy the UUID.

open /etc/fstab with this command

Code:
gksudo gedit /etc/fstab

You will see a line which refers to a swap partition during installation ...

Some thing similar to this :


Code:
#swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=cdba7b01-5ae6-4104-9a6e-f723b8bd87ac none            swap    sw              0       0


Change the UUID with the one you copied from newly made swap partition.

Save and close gedit.

Activate swap:

Code:
sudo swapon --all

It will read your fstab and enable the swap partition.

4- Check swap partition with free command

Code:
#free

             total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
            
Mem:        8171388     3020388     2637404      142044     2513596     4647472

Swap:       8123388           0     8123388

5- Check partition size with:

Code:
df -h

reboot


Edit:
Its better to skip making swap partition for USB installs.

bel123
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 20, 2017, 10:00:01 AM
 #6291

why in linux there are 2 version - for rx and for nvidia... is it not possible to make unified version which works for both cards?
killeriq
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 20, 2017, 11:31:45 AM
 #6292



Did you run the update script with sudo too ?
If yes please run this (thnx to wi$em@n suggestion)

Code:
sudo chown -R m1 /home/m1

Im bit confused what to run now...

So i should run this as SUDO
Code:
./nvOC report

then this

Code:
sudo chown -R m1 /home/m1

Question about update under SUDO is this one?:

Code:
cd ~/Downloads
wget https://www.dropbox.com/s/s3rkv2o3bynqnpm/nvOC-19-2-update
bash ~/Downloads/nvOC-19-2-update

I didnt run the update under SUDO...wasnt in instructions https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg26128098#msg26128098

FYI: its a bit messy to search thought 300+ pages what to do an how, would be great to update 1st page.

Thanks
thaelin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 20, 2017, 11:38:15 AM
 #6293

why in linux there are 2 version - for rx and for nvidia... is it not possible to make unified version which works for both cards?

Then you would have drivers for both types of cards in the same machine. More overhead in my opinion. I did try the 580 and was not impressed as to what I got in return. They are power hungry and you have so many things to do to them to get the most.

 The Nvidia side is just basic plug and play. With 2.0 its even better.  But  then each to his/her own there. Since I work 2 jobs, time is gold to me and have damn little of it right now.
thaelin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 20, 2017, 11:44:35 AM
 #6294

   Just do the update as user M1. Not as root. If you do root, then root owns the changes and user M1 cant run them.   I did that and am doing just great with it.  I do need to d/l the newest update and re-run it to get all the new addys from Pampi. My log file is finally in the making and will be running that to see what coins are good for the long haul.  Will share that when I get enough data logged to make a good plot from.  Python language wound up being a bit of a challenge for me.  Somewhere in those pgms, it limits the file size and I still have not found out how to un-limit it. 
papampi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 140


Linux FOREVER! Resistance is futile!!!


View Profile WWW
December 20, 2017, 11:55:09 AM
 #6295

why in linux there are 2 version - for rx and for nvidia... is it not possible to make unified version which works for both cards?

Then you would have drivers for both types of cards in the same machine. More overhead in my opinion. I did try the 580 and was not impressed as to what I got in return. They are power hungry and you have so many things to do to them to get the most.

 The Nvidia side is just basic plug and play. With 2.0 its even better.  But  then each to his/her own there. Since I work 2 jobs, time is gold to me and have damn little of it right now.

As thaelin said they have 2 different drivers so watchdog and tempcontrol should use different scripts to check GPU utilization. temp control, overclock, voltage ,... 
Also they have different miners too

So mixing all these in a rig will make the os much bigger and big time overhead in core system.

CryptAtomeTrader44
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 340
Merit: 103

It is easier to break an atom than partialities AE


View Profile
December 20, 2017, 01:35:13 PM
 #6296

why in linux there are 2 version - for rx and for nvidia... is it not possible to make unified version which works for both cards?

I think if you propose a structure in directorys and a script that permit to réunite all the miners and drivers version for AMD and Nvidia, you'll make somme happy guys in mining world.

In m1, you could make two directorys, AMD directory and Nvidia directory.

For weight's image, i suggest you too look for a tiny Linux distro like Lubuntu for example.

Install all you need for AMD and try to rewrite scripts for temp cotrol and watchdog with appropriates commands.


The most important could be the script who permit the choice a the first boot but possible after Huh
leenoox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 200
Merit: 101



View Profile
December 20, 2017, 04:19:27 PM
 #6297



Did you run the update script with sudo too ?
If yes please run this (thnx to wi$em@n suggestion)

Code:
sudo chown -R m1 /home/m1

Im bit confused what to run now...

So i should run this as SUDO
Code:
./nvOC report

then this

Code:
sudo chown -R m1 /home/m1

Question about update under SUDO is this one?:

Code:
cd ~/Downloads
wget https://www.dropbox.com/s/s3rkv2o3bynqnpm/nvOC-19-2-update
bash ~/Downloads/nvOC-19-2-update

I didnt run the update under SUDO...wasnt in instructions https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.msg26128098#msg26128098

FYI: its a bit messy to search thought 300+ pages what to do an how, would be great to update 1st page.

Thanks


1. Run the update script as normal user m1 (Do NOT use sudo)

2. Run this:  sudo chown -R m1 /home/m1

3. Edit your 1bash with your settings, addresses, OC... (do NOT use sudo for this)

4. Run the miner (you can reboot to start the miner)

5. If after reboot your miner doesnt work, execute this as normal user m1 (do NOT use sudo):   ./nvOC report

6. Post the report here (copy everything between the code marks)

leenoox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 200
Merit: 101



View Profile
December 20, 2017, 04:36:18 PM
Last edit: December 20, 2017, 06:58:38 PM by leenoox
 #6298


SSD-USB resize and add swap - Guide - nvOC-v0019-2.0 Community Release.


Open Gparted, root password is miner1, Locate your drive, there are 2 partitions, a 9Mb fat, a 16Gb ext4 and a free unused space at the end.

Right click on the unused space, create new partition, "Partition Type : Swap" make the size you want (1Gb up to Ram size) grab and move it to the end of drive. Apply.

Right clcik on the primary 16gb partition, resize/move, resize it to the desired size (better to give it all). Apply.

Right click on the swap partition and get the info, copy the UUID.

open /etc/fstab with this command

Code:
gksudo gedit /etc/fstab

You will see a line which refers to a swap partition during installation ...

Some thing similar to this :


Code:
#swap was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=cdba7b01-5ae6-4104-9a6e-f723b8bd87ac none            swap    sw              0       0


Change the UUID with the one you copied from newly made swap partition.

Save and close gedit.

Activate swap:

Code:
sudo swapon --all

It will read your fstab and enable the swap partition.

Check it with free command in  terminal

Code:
#free

             total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
            
Mem:        8171388     3020388     2637404      142044     2513596     4647472

Swap:       8123388           0     8123388

Check partition size with

Code:
df -h

reboot


If you have 4 GB of RAM or more, there is no need to create swap partition, I haven't seen nvOC to use more than 2-3 GB of RAM. Especially if you are using USB flash drive to run nvOC I don't recommend creating swap as it will reduce the lifespan of your USB flash drive.

What is swap partition?
swap partition is used as virtual memory. In case system runs out of physical RAM it will start using this partition as additional RAM. It will be slower than the actual RAM but it will prevent system freezes or hang-ups due to lack of physical RAM. Due to finite number of write operation on the memory cells, it is not recommended to use swap partition on USB flash drives unless you use very small amount of RAM (2 GB or less) and you want to risk the life of the USB flash drive to extend the amount of "RAM" (virtual) available to the system.

poisonxa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
December 21, 2017, 03:39:32 AM
 #6299

why in linux there are 2 version - for rx and for nvidia... is it not possible to make unified version which works for both cards?

I think if you propose a structure in directorys and a script that permit to réunite all the miners and drivers version for AMD and Nvidia, you'll make somme happy guys in mining world.

In m1, you could make two directorys, AMD directory and Nvidia directory.

For weight's image, i suggest you too look for a tiny Linux distro like Lubuntu for example.

Install all you need for AMD and try to rewrite scripts for temp cotrol and watchdog with appropriates commands.


The most important could be the script who permit the choice a the first boot but possible after Huh

im currently working on a fork system like this where in 1bash you can select what type of cards you will be using and based on that it selects the miners and settings accordingly.

thaelin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 21, 2017, 10:38:19 AM
 #6300

   Hi Poision:
   This is simply my experiences with using AMD cards and reading just how much you have to do with them to get the most out. I blew about $800 on two rx580's to find that unless I reflash the roms they perform dismal. Add to that the power draw and I really see no gains there. Yes you can definitely get higher hash rates with them but at what costs?
   I am one to look to the KISS formula and makes my life run much smoother for sure.  I am retiring my two cards to video use only and replacing them with 1070's as can. That board will handle 6 cards and is supported by NVOC so why fight with all the drivers that don't work right.  On that note, I have had some issues with the latest Nvidia drivers too. But with 2.0 upgrade, that vanished and I have  6 soon to be 7 miners up and rocking. One with the old 1050's as well.
Pages: « 1 ... 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 [315] 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 ... 417 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!