Bitcoin Forum
July 19, 2019, 02:49:05 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 [128] 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 ... 224 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Launching the Antminer L3+, World's Most Powerful and Efficient Litecoin Miner  (Read 277342 times)
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1149


Clueless!


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 09:04:38 AM
 #2541



This is probably someplace on the thread but bear with me...I understand the L3+ is loud.....I have a 3 story house and some of my KNC Titans are in the basement etc

I don't really care if I hear the miners on the 1st floor above the basement....I use mostly use 2nd floor upstairs for office etc/1st floor I can avoid if noise is too much and/
sleep on 2nd floor. so that should not be an issue.....

So are these D3's and L3+'s  so loud that I can't get by with them in the basement with the windows open because the neighbors will freak?

or on the 1st floor, you can get by with your life etc and use say 4 of these puppies on the basement w/o going crazy?

got the space..winter is coming....free heat *such as it is* Not sure if I'm going to get any more equip this year but

what I have in the UPS wind as it shows is:

D3 (1 unit)    Sept 15th shipping start I think?

D3 (1 units)    Oct 15th shipping start I think?

L3+ (3 units)  Nov 15th shipping I think?

So anyway, with the above setup on house etc...is this gonna be too noisy or just mildly annoying on the 1st floor?

thanks....appreciate it...I have L3+'s but the rest are now in the FULL data hall ...so have had no exposure to noise Sad

Searing

p.s.

edit: unless the PSU's from bitmain arrive first I may also need to know if 2 Corsair 1200i's can run D3 to get by till the bitmain PSU's show? (or not recommended?)



Since no one "legally" have D3 in their home, i think they dont know how the power pull up like the spec said.
Like S9, i found out that its took more Watt that it spec (although its already state in their spec) and L3+ are less Watt

I would like to hear how the Corsair may work to run D3, please risk it for us  Grin

back to the "noise' issue in my basement and house arrangement (and not carrying too much if it is distracting on the 1st floor)

are other running D3's in the basement (with noise) and not going crazy...?

I had/have up to 3 hanging high speed 32" bracket window fans blowing in the height of summer in the basement...I think it is likely less noisy than them

then again when people say 69db that is the same as a canister vacuum cleaner running 24/7

as to the PSU stuff arriving the same time as the D3 unit...

just saying..you just know the D3 unit will show then the PSU 2 weeks later ....looking for an option Sad with the 2 1200i corsairs I have here about





After all your help this is my time to shine Cheesy


The noise level should be ok. Depending on how your house is build. If its classic american style build with wood frame and dry wall I don't know  about the noise level. If its solid build with bricks here it comes Tongue


I had 4 L3+ running for test purposes in one of our offices down the hall. The hall is around 30m long and the room itself is around 20sqm.

The heat is going to be around 35°C and the noise is going to be louder than 69db.  BUT I found and also our coworkers, that when the door was closed you could ignore the sound.


You were noticing it when you were in front of the office, but when you were at the other side of the hallway it sounded like a lout laptop.


I hope that helps a little bit, but if you got a solid house and you are on the first floor every normal tv/radio should overpower the sound from the basement.  And you should not hear anything the second floor (at least I was not able to hear anything one floor up)


Oh and in daytime the window can be open who cares about neighbors, at night it will be annoying. But it should be no problem with heat if you close the window for a couple of hours at night


thanks ...not ideal...but what I figured....
at worst I suppose I could swap back say 5-6 of my KNC Titans (they put out more heat for winter anyway) and just swap the 2 1200 watt D3's and the 3 L3+'s for another say 2400
watts for the knc titans ..thus the loud stuff goes to the data hall and the knc titans (quiet if more watts and heat) float back to my basement from the data hall

would be a pain/ but a wash...the knc titans are quiet and 400 mh 5 cube unit is about 1600 watts so it is do'able

first floor I don't care if I hear them ..the house is from 1928 so I should be ok

well supposedly I have a D3 arriving Sept 15th (a somewhat dubious purchase...not as dubious as the one coming Oct 15th..but I'm like a tween girl shopping shoes when it comes
to dubious asic equip)

likely I will get my D3 on the 15th and my PSU for in on the 30th ....sigh..... planning .....a person should probably do that once in awhile

thanks for the update


Try out www.synchro.net An 'Old School' BBS (Bulletin Board System) works on Win /10/8/7 and Linux!
Three-minute install. The last upgrade was Jan 1st, 2019. I think you will be impressed with this project!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1563504545
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1563504545

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1563504545
Reply with quote  #2

1563504545
Report to moderator
Albortz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 250


Tax Attorney - Investor - Entrepreneur


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 09:21:29 AM
 #2542




thanks ...not ideal...but what I figured....
at worst I suppose I could swap back say 5-6 of my KNC Titans (they put out more heat for winter anyway) and just swap the 2 1200 watt D3's and the 3 L3+'s for another say 2400
watts for the knc titans ..thus the loud stuff goes to the data hall and the knc titans (quiet if more watts and heat) float back to my basement from the data hall

would be a pain/ but a wash...the knc titans are quiet and 400 mh 5 cube unit is about 1600 watts so it is do'able

first floor I don't care if I hear them ..the house is from 1928 so I should be ok

well supposedly I have a D3 arriving Sept 15th (a somewhat dubious purchase...not as dubious as the one coming Oct 15th..but I'm like a tween girl shopping shoes when it comes
to dubious asic equip)

likely I will get my D3 on the 15th and my PSU for in on the 30th ....sigh..... planning .....a person should probably do that once in awhile

thanks for the update





Look on the bright side, you can deduct it off of taxes. And since I assume you are straight and declared it as a business you might be able to completely write off the equipment over the time.  In the end you got a value left of 1$ in your books.  

One reason I don't care if I pay 1800$ or 2500$  Cheesy    In the end it gets written off and my sometimes also not so bright moments become less worse haha


           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion
Anonymous and Untraceable
ANN  Whitepaper  Facebook  Twitter  Telegram  Discord 





      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
.
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1149


Clueless!


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 09:37:59 AM
 #2543




thanks ...not ideal...but what I figured....
at worst I suppose I could swap back say 5-6 of my KNC Titans (they put out more heat for winter anyway) and just swap the 2 1200 watt D3's and the 3 L3+'s for another say 2400
watts for the knc titans ..thus the loud stuff goes to the data hall and the knc titans (quiet if more watts and heat) float back to my basement from the data hall

would be a pain/ but a wash...the knc titans are quiet and 400 mh 5 cube unit is about 1600 watts so it is do'able

first floor I don't care if I hear them ..the house is from 1928 so I should be ok

well supposedly I have a D3 arriving Sept 15th (a somewhat dubious purchase...not as dubious as the one coming Oct 15th..but I'm like a tween girl shopping shoes when it comes
to dubious asic equip)

likely I will get my D3 on the 15th and my PSU for in on the 30th ....sigh..... planning .....a person should probably do that once in awhile

thanks for the update





Look on the bright side, you can deduct it off of taxes. And since I assume you are straight and declared it as a business you might be able to completely write off the equipment over the time.  In the end you got a value left of 1$ in your books.  

One reason I don't care if I pay 1800$ or 2500$  Cheesy    In the end it gets written off and my sometimes also not so bright moments become less worse haha





yeah....but having 100 BTC in Jan ..mine like heck all year....take profits and triple hash with proper asic equip into next Jan with still 100 BTC just to get around the tax man ..is getting old Smiley

I mean I have to get off this hamster treadmill someday don't ya know.....(I've been legit since my bank in 2013 found out I did BTC (and in 2013 BTC was 'evil")  and informed SEC about it....got on a stupid bank error at their end....

I got a CPA to do taxes..this was 2013...figureing the bank would try to screw me when I embarrassed them with bank error..pointed out bank error....banker did what I expected and still tried to screw me saying I probably did not pay taxes..dropped CPA filed tax forms

on the desk..the SEC guy on the speaker phone was saying 'why am I here?"

mountain out of a mole hill on a bank deposit error of 99,999.99 they never bothered to check on a supposed to be 10,131.80 wire xfer to Sweden for a knc miner

so yeah I'm honest as hell Smiley

But again the problem is....kicking the can down the road each year since 2015 is getting down right silly ..eguip wise......I mean am I supposed to build a data hall in 2019?

thus yeah...dubious purchases indeed or pay the tax man 50% of income.....



Try out www.synchro.net An 'Old School' BBS (Bulletin Board System) works on Win /10/8/7 and Linux!
Three-minute install. The last upgrade was Jan 1st, 2019. I think you will be impressed with this project!
qctechno
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 307
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 11:13:44 AM
 #2544

Newegg is selling L3+ https://t.co/Qg2JiCSiqG

Last time they listed Bitmain product, it was the S7-LN.

Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1149


Clueless!


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 11:39:45 AM
 #2545

Newegg is selling L3+ https://t.co/Qg2JiCSiqG

Last time they listed Bitmain product, it was the S7-LN.

$5,930 bucks....ouch!


Try out www.synchro.net An 'Old School' BBS (Bulletin Board System) works on Win /10/8/7 and Linux!
Three-minute install. The last upgrade was Jan 1st, 2019. I think you will be impressed with this project!
dot1q
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 12:12:46 PM
 #2546

Hi everyone!
I have a question regarding DHL. As Bitmain cannot send my miners to my country, I ordered them to my virtual US address ( like shipito, litemf ) for re-sending to my country.
Already 7 days my package is in DHL warehouse with status " Clearance event". Today i got an email from Bitmain that i need to do customs clearance.
Can I do it online and pay with my credit card ?


Finally custom clearance is done and my 2x L3+ miners are in warehouse in US.
I want to sell them.  Who is interested, please pm me.

usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1096
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 13, 2017, 01:22:03 PM
 #2547

I havent seen too many sales go through, I guess it depends on the price.
How much are you looking for?
tomothy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 258
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 03:40:07 PM
 #2548

Does anyone have updated profitability and break even data they would be willing to share compared to current difficulty and purchasing new hardware now? Any idea of how long the lifecycle of the l3+ will last? Saving coin/cash for next gen hardware so don't want to buy more now and get stuck in the cold with a q2 2018 release :/
cienki77
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 03:58:11 PM
 #2549

Mine L3 is on hold for over 2 weeks in UPS China.. Bitmain is saying to wait and do not worry and UPS is saying to contact Bitmain... Anyone here is stuck with the same issue?

I received all mine, I used FedEx for one half and UPS for the other.



funny thing, I have got one in 3 days and second one is stuck... both from the same batch

That's what Bitmain has replied with (miner stuck in UPS warehouse for over 2 weeks)

Thanks for your consultation!
Chinese customs is very strict with Antminers these days. We are preparing the new documents they required recently. We will do our best to make the packages be released as soon as we can. Sorry again for this situation.

FCK COIN REBORN! WE DO GIVE A FCK!
usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1096
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 13, 2017, 04:24:54 PM
 #2550

Does anyone have updated profitability and break even data they would be willing to share compared to current difficulty and purchasing new hardware now? Any idea of how long the lifecycle of the l3+ will last? Saving coin/cash for next gen hardware so don't want to buy more now and get stuck in the cold with a q2 2018 release :/
Well, the payout is all over the map depending on where you mine.
I prefer nicehash myself, and you can see the "current" payout at this URL: https://www.nicehash.com/algorithm
As of this posting, it's showing 0.0136 BTC/GH/Day. A single L3+ is about 50% of that (500MH), so you should expect to get 0.0068 BTC/Day as of this posting (around $30 USD/day), however, the number fluctuates rapidly, so it's already out of date...
What I do is download the "current" values for all the algos on nicehash into a postgres database so I can do computation on averages and chart graphs and such.
jchi2210
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 105



View Profile
September 13, 2017, 04:35:51 PM
 #2551

Do you guys think it would be worth buying 2 more D3's or should I buy another L3+? They are about to release another batch.

Halo Platform is one of the fastest Blockchains I've seen yet. They have FREE transactions. 250 Millisecond Block speeds. Smart contracts, Masternodes, blockchain games, and their own high speed DEX with BTC/ETH/USDC pairs. Similar to ETH, Waves, EOS, and more yet with only $1 million mcap. This video showcases the speed and reliability of the blockchain using the DEX, Masternodes (that will soon payout in BTC and ETH), blockchain games, and more! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g74d3ixX7E8&feature=youtu.be
usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1096
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 13, 2017, 04:42:42 PM
 #2552

Do you guys think it would be worth buying 2 more D3's or should I buy another L3+? They are about to release another batch.
Ive been trying for months, failed every time. My last purchase from Bitmain was June.
Just can't get past the website timeouts.
tomothy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 258
Merit: 250


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 04:52:02 PM
 #2553

Supposedly they've upgraded the website. We'll find out soon enough. I feel your pain but was able to buy more in July. More of a headache and hassle then necessary.
usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1096
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 13, 2017, 04:55:23 PM
 #2554

Supposedly they've upgraded the website. We'll find out soon enough. I feel your pain but was able to buy more in July. More of a headache and hassle then necessary.
I can never get a web page, every time they released sometging all I get are timeouts.
Ill give it a try again tomorrow but not really expecting to get through.
jchi2210
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 105



View Profile
September 13, 2017, 05:02:45 PM
 #2555

Do you guys think it would be worth buying 2 more D3's or should I buy another L3+? They are about to release another batch.
Ive been trying for months, failed every time. My last purchase from Bitmain was June.
Just can't get past the website timeouts.

I was able to get 5 L3+ out of the last batch and able to get 6 D3's out of a couple of batches back. I ordered a PSU off of them yesterday and it seems to flow a little better. I just think it is crazy for them to release D3's and L3+ at the exact same time. It isn't the best way to test out their "revamped" website. I mean just think, you will get both kinds of customer base (D3 customer base and L3+ customer base) trying to get their product at the same time. I am really questioning if I should even buy any more miners at this point, I have seen a lot of people say that they will not ROI by the time we get the D3's in, and some other people saying the same thing about the L3+.

Halo Platform is one of the fastest Blockchains I've seen yet. They have FREE transactions. 250 Millisecond Block speeds. Smart contracts, Masternodes, blockchain games, and their own high speed DEX with BTC/ETH/USDC pairs. Similar to ETH, Waves, EOS, and more yet with only $1 million mcap. This video showcases the speed and reliability of the blockchain using the DEX, Masternodes (that will soon payout in BTC and ETH), blockchain games, and more! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g74d3ixX7E8&feature=youtu.be
TK211X
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 05:03:09 PM
 #2556

Supposedly they've upgraded the website. We'll find out soon enough. I feel your pain but was able to buy more in July. More of a headache and hassle then necessary.
I can never get a web page, every time they released sometging all I get are timeouts.
Ill give it a try again tomorrow but not really expecting to get through.

VPN into china and it gets way easier from my experience.
usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1096
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 13, 2017, 05:19:03 PM
 #2557

Supposedly they've upgraded the website. We'll find out soon enough. I feel your pain but was able to buy more in July. More of a headache and hassle then necessary.
I can never get a web page, every time they released sometging all I get are timeouts.
Ill give it a try again tomorrow but not really expecting to get through.

VPN into china and it gets way easier from my experience.
I have no idea how to do that.
Don't you need a target server or host in China to do that? Assuming it's like opening a remote windows session with RDP?
Albortz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 250


Tax Attorney - Investor - Entrepreneur


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 05:22:36 PM
 #2558

Supposedly they've upgraded the website. We'll find out soon enough. I feel your pain but was able to buy more in July. More of a headache and hassle then necessary.
I can never get a web page, every time they released sometging all I get are timeouts.
Ill give it a try again tomorrow but not really expecting to get through.

VPN into china and it gets way easier from my experience.
I have no idea how to do that.
Don't you need a target server or host in China to do that? Assuming it's like opening a remote windows session with RDP?



the easiest way is to buy VPN services from a company that does not keep logs on customers and is outside of the US and A

Costs around 3-4 bucks a month and you get access to hundreds and thousands of servers around the world. Everything is encrypted and you get a foreign IP

           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion
Anonymous and Untraceable
ANN  Whitepaper  Facebook  Twitter  Telegram  Discord 





      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
.
TK211X
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 05:32:14 PM
 #2559

Supposedly they've upgraded the website. We'll find out soon enough. I feel your pain but was able to buy more in July. More of a headache and hassle then necessary.
I can never get a web page, every time they released sometging all I get are timeouts.
Ill give it a try again tomorrow but not really expecting to get through.

VPN into china and it gets way easier from my experience.
I have no idea how to do that.
Don't you need a target server or host in China to do that? Assuming it's like opening a remote windows session with RDP?

You can use a simple one like tunnel bear. Select Hong Kong and off you go. It'll still be slow but the pages actually load and you can checkout. I can't definitively say what will happen this time since they supposedly "upgraded".
GMPoison
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 13, 2017, 11:44:27 PM
 #2560

So with the new L3+ batch they're releasing soon, what do we think the price point will be, and when do we think they will be shipping? I know a few other sites have the L3+ available at a decent price ($2700) for the November 1st batch, not sure if it'd be more worth it to order those or order from this new batch, guess we'll have to wait and see what this new batch looks like. 
Pages: « 1 ... 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 [128] 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 ... 224 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!