Bitcoin Forum
February 22, 2019, 10:01:54 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 847 848 849 850 851 852 853 854 855 856 857 858 859 860 861 862 863 864 865 866 867 868 869 870 871 872 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 891 892 893 894 895 896 [897] 898 899 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 ... 1147 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [4+ EH] Slush Pool (slushpool.com); Overt AsicBoost; World First Mining Pool  (Read 4346618 times)
RogMiner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 26, 2014, 11:00:59 AM
 #17921

Hello! I'm new to Bitcoin mining in general, and I followed a tutorial on how to get started. They suggested this pool. I just wanna say that I don't know like anything about bitcoin, besides the basics, and I'd like to know if I should go any further with what I am doing.

I have an ATI (or AMD) Radeon HD 7770 (GHz Edition) that I use for gaming and, well, this. I get 200 Mhash/s, and I wanna know if this is good for mining. I've mined about 0.00000494 BTC so far, and that's within a day. I also want to know if I should upgrade to a better Graphics Card or an ASIC thingy later on.

I know this thing is good for beginner users, and I just hope it survives everything I throw at it.

Anyway, thank you Smiley

I like Bitcoin so far btw. I just wish there was a method I could take. (I only have like $50 to spend right now)

Hello and welcome to mining.

Mining Bitcoin with a graphics card is not cost effective, it was the case some time ago that you could get good returns on a graphics card but that time has now passed. As you have found out you can earn about £0.01 a day with your graphics card but it will use about £1.00 a day in electricity meaning you will lose about £30 a month.

That said mining is great fun and if you want to really join in you need to be mining with an ASIC, with your $50 budget there isn't much you can do, but if the cost of electricity doesn't phase you then your next step could be to buy a cheap 2GH/s USB ASIC miner, however I would recommend checking out eBay for an Antminer S1 which are dropping in price all the time, you won't make any money unless the price of Bitcoin goes through the roof but if you underclock it there are still some months useful mining available.

As things stand the only way to make money is to spend money, and even then you may just lose everything so be careful, read the posts in this forum and in the hardware forum before spending any money and then you will be able to make an informed decision. Please heed this warning and don't rush out and buy anything, hardware prices will always come down so you have plenty of time to decide your next move.

Finally, be careful with your graphics card, overclocking it will make almost no difference to your hashing rate but it will eventually break your card, mining with your graphics card 24/7 will eventually break it. You don't want to end up with a huge electricity bill and no gaming machine, that really would be the worst of all worlds.

If you are going to mine at the low end then please just do it for fun, as doing it for money is a huge risk.
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550872914
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550872914

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550872914
Reply with quote  #2

1550872914
Report to moderator
1550872914
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550872914

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550872914
Reply with quote  #2

1550872914
Report to moderator
1550872914
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550872914

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550872914
Reply with quote  #2

1550872914
Report to moderator
yan7181
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 26, 2014, 01:13:09 PM
 #17922

do not mine with graphic card, your btc mined is even less then getting those free bitcoin at https://www.landofbitcoin.com/?r=phqCKSzE8j0J1vMW
get asic miner, usd 50 might get you a s1 if u bargain hard
cloudminerDW
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 26, 2014, 02:54:07 PM
 #17923

Hello! I'm new to Bitcoin mining in general, and I followed a tutorial on how to get started. They suggested this pool. I just wanna say that I don't know like anything about bitcoin, besides the basics, and I'd like to know if I should go any further with what I am doing.

I have an ATI (or AMD) Radeon HD 7770 (GHz Edition) that I use for gaming and, well, this. I get 200 Mhash/s, and I wanna know if this is good for mining. I've mined about 0.00000494 BTC so far, and that's within a day. I also want to know if I should upgrade to a better Graphics Card or an ASIC thingy later on.

I know this thing is good for beginner users, and I just hope it survives everything I throw at it.

Anyway, thank you Smiley

I like Bitcoin so far btw. I just wish there was a method I could take. (I only have like $50 to spend right now)

You can hop on Amazon and buy one of these for $27 USD  http://www.amazon.com/BITMAIN-ANTMINER-U2-Bitcoin-Overclockable/dp/B00ITD5NV6/ref=pd_sim_sbs_pc_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=1R9GF4V3NFV2KX7Z4RPC   it will be around 10x as fast as your video card is and only use 2 watts. save yourself some money on your energy costs and save your graphics card.  It will be a good intro to bitcoin mining. but its not going to make you rich.

I started out with 3 of those and a Raspberry Pi and a USB powered hub and a USB Fan from Arctic. it was fun and enough to get me addicted hehe.
bspurloc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 569
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 26, 2014, 03:15:45 PM
 #17924

do not mine with graphic card, your btc mined is even less then getting those free bitcoin at https://www.landofbitcoin.com/?r=phqCKSzE8j0J1vMW
get asic miner, usd 50 might get you a s1 if u bargain hard

haha an S1 for $50...
 imagine someone being that dumb...
cuz you know you cant buy an upgrade kit for them to make them S3's... no really you cant just yet Wink

maybe a Block eruptor Cube, those are only worth $50. s1's lil under $150 at x5 the hashing rate
wow funniest thing on ebay is people selling corsair 500+'s with a cube for under $50... the power supply is that value! nice deals if you can snag it!

jterry211
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 26, 2014, 03:59:09 PM
 #17925

do not mine with graphic card, your btc mined is even less then getting those free bitcoin at https://www.landofbitcoin.com/?r=phqCKSzE8j0J1vMW
get asic miner, usd 50 might get you a s1 if u bargain hard

haha an S1 for $50...
 imagine someone being that dumb...
cuz you know you cant buy an upgrade kit for them to make them S3's... no really you cant just yet Wink

maybe a Block eruptor Cube, those are only worth $50. s1's lil under $150 at x5 the hashing rate
wow funniest thing on ebay is people selling corsair 500+'s with a cube for under $50... the power supply is that value! nice deals if you can snag it!



I got a couple Antminer S1's for about $70 a pop after lots of bargain hunting.  Amazing what you find when people misspell stuff.  I used to find the usb block erupters for dirt cheap cause they would spell it block eruptOr.  Search and you shall find.  Also amazing what you can find on craigslist too got an Antminer S2 for $650 once.

JT
guitarplinker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2014, 04:25:55 PM
 #17926

do not mine with graphic card, your btc mined is even less then getting those free bitcoin at https://www.landofbitcoin.com/?r=phqCKSzE8j0J1vMW
get asic miner, usd 50 might get you a s1 if u bargain hard

haha an S1 for $50...
 imagine someone being that dumb...
cuz you know you cant buy an upgrade kit for them to make them S3's... no really you cant just yet Wink

maybe a Block eruptor Cube, those are only worth $50. s1's lil under $150 at x5 the hashing rate
wow funniest thing on ebay is people selling corsair 500+'s with a cube for under $50... the power supply is that value! nice deals if you can snag it!



I got a couple Antminer S1's for about $70 a pop after lots of bargain hunting.  Amazing what you find when people misspell stuff.  I used to find the usb block erupters for dirt cheap cause they would spell it block eruptOr.  Search and you shall find.  Also amazing what you can find on craigslist too got an Antminer S2 for $650 once.

JT
Myself as well. I was able to buy a single S1 + PSU for $110, as then two more for 0.065 each.

@Billbags, it was probably found right after another block, so there were no new transactions to include. It happens once and awhile.
Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
August 26, 2014, 05:08:17 PM
Last edit: August 28, 2014, 02:55:59 AM by Billbags
 #17927

So a block includes these 4 things:

1. A set of transactions
2. A timestamp
3. The 256-bit hash of the preceeding block
4. A nonce sufficient to make the hash of the block not exceed the current target

I now assume the transaction amount could be ZERO if that's the number needed in the control theorys feedback loop to ensure the proper amount of time a block needs to be completed to get 2016 blocks every 2 weeks.

Update: If someone could confirm or disprove this, it would be appreciated greatly. I can't find that transaction figures would deal with time in the block equations, so my theory on zero transactions may be false.

60minhr∗24hrday∗7dayweek 10minblock=2016 in 2weeks

Tcurrent=Tprior∗tprior/2weeks

D=work/2(32)=2(256)/(Tcurrent+1)∗2(32)

hashes/second≈D∗2(32)/600

Update:
To validate a block, a node checks several things including that the block’s hash does not exceed the current target, that the timestamp inside the block is not too far in the future or the past, and that all transactions inside the block are valid. So now I'm assuming zero transactions = no invalid transactions. This would make the node accept the block and cue it to be confirmed while transmitting it to the other nodes.

Last Update:
I had totally forgotten the fact that transactions happen everyday without fees, so I now realize that a block with no transaction FEES doesn't mean there wasn't any transactions and most importantly a block can be solved with zero transactions. Sorry for the madness, just trying to understand block #317553.Time to log off, relax and enjoy the pools good luck for awhile.



Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
Moria843
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441
Merit: 250


Found Lost beach - quiet now


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 12:28:29 AM
 #17928

I found the following block while mining with slush.

https://blockchain.info/block/000000000000000014bf07c25415110d1d565cc60db69f5acb3743843ede2937?site=slush

It had 0 transactions. Too bad I wasn't solo mining Smiley

Hot time, summer in the city, back of my mine getting hot & gritty!!!
sjc1490
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 27, 2014, 12:29:26 AM
 #17929

I found the following block while mining with slush.

https://blockchain.info/block/000000000000000014bf07c25415110d1d565cc60db69f5acb3743843ede2937?site=slush

It had 0 transactions. Too bad I wasn't solo mining Smiley

Congrads and thanks.

BTC ADDRESS: 12Qwd8VKLQ4xF44ytHXBpCAKuF9VknG4X2
Moria843
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441
Merit: 250


Found Lost beach - quiet now


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 12:30:14 AM
 #17930

I found the following block while mining with slush.

https://blockchain.info/block/000000000000000014bf07c25415110d1d565cc60db69f5acb3743843ede2937?site=slush

It had 0 transactions. Too bad I wasn't solo mining Smiley

Correction. It had 1 transaction - the 25 BTC award.

Hot time, summer in the city, back of my mine getting hot & gritty!!!
andyjjones
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 11:29:49 AM
 #17931

Why does the Bitcoin system allow for blocks with 0 transactions? 
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 501


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 12:32:41 PM
 #17932

Why does the Bitcoin system allow for blocks with 0 transactions? 

Why not?
Bitcoin system is set to produce a block every ~10min with or without transactions in case there are none as it was in it's first days. The first transaction ever is in block 170 should we loose 169 blocks because there are no transactions?

Mega Crypto Polis - www.MegaCryptoPolis.com
BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
guitarplinker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
August 27, 2014, 03:02:09 PM
 #17933

I found the following block while mining with slush.

https://blockchain.info/block/000000000000000014bf07c25415110d1d565cc60db69f5acb3743843ede2937?site=slush

It had 0 transactions. Too bad I wasn't solo mining Smiley
If you don't mind me asking, how much hashpower were you pointing at Slush's when you found that block?

Also, congrats on finding the block!
Moria843
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441
Merit: 250


Found Lost beach - quiet now


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 04:42:56 PM
 #17934

I found the following block while mining with slush.

https://blockchain.info/block/000000000000000014bf07c25415110d1d565cc60db69f5acb3743843ede2937?site=slush

It had 0 transactions. Too bad I wasn't solo mining Smiley
If you don't mind me asking, how much hashpower were you pointing at Slush's when you found that block?

Also, congrats on finding the block!

I had, and still running, 8 overclocked S1s for a total of 1.6 Th/s. One of the nice things about slush is that it lets you know and keeps track of blocks found by your miners in your user stats. I've never seen that at other pools.

One of the bad things is when you lose internet service, like a lot of TW customers did this morning, your shares can shrivel away. I wish they would change that. I don't think pool hopping that big a deal.

Hot time, summer in the city, back of my mine getting hot & gritty!!!
bobsav2121
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 05:20:16 PM
 #17935

"One of the bad things is when you lose internet service, like a lot of TW customers did this morning, your shares can shrivel away. I wish they would change that. I don't think pool hopping that big a deal"

I agree and it's not just an unexpected loss of internet.

Taking one or more of your miners down for  " maintenance" or " re-arranging "  can and will cost you.

I dont know the ins and outs of pool hopping but I think regular users shouldn't be penalized.

Bob
robyone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 05:56:54 PM
 #17936

lets say I have set miner to restart every 1 hour, does that mean the mined shares will be lost?
bobsav2121
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:01:22 PM
 #17937

lets say I have set miner to restart every 1 hour, does that mean the mined shares will be lost?

Just wondering why would you want to do that ?

Bob
jterry211
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:02:43 PM
 #17938

lets say I have set miner to restart every 1 hour, does that mean the mined shares will be lost?

Why would you reset them so much? Or at all for that matter.

JT
bobsav2121
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:08:22 PM
 #17939

I have 28 different machine running various mining programs and never reset any of them.
I think your making a mistake.

Bob
robyone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:16:18 PM
 #17940

my 2x antminers s3 batch6 seem to be running very unstable for me, when I first start them cold they run fine for many random amount of hours or days, and then suddenly losing 6-7% of power (from 440 Gh/s to 410 Gh/s), I have been experimenting alot, cleaning the heatsinks, running open/closed case, reversing both fans, keeping room they are in as cool as possible, but they seem to be doing that no matter what I try. restarting cgminer seems to be keeping AVG hash rate up.
Pages: « 1 ... 847 848 849 850 851 852 853 854 855 856 857 858 859 860 861 862 863 864 865 866 867 868 869 870 871 872 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 891 892 893 894 895 896 [897] 898 899 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 ... 1147 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!