Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 10:39:49 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3160 (80.5%)
Bank transfer / USD - 407 (10.4%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 359 (9.1%)
Total Voters: 3924

Pages: « 1 ... 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 848 849 850 851 852 853 854 855 856 857 858 859 860 861 862 863 864 [865] 866 867 868 869 870 871 872 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 891 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 899 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 ... 1105 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [40+ PH] SlushPool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 3933530 times)
BlasterXXL
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 19, 2014, 03:30:01 PM
 #17281

Hi people, i have a problem
i have a notebook dedicated to mining having 3 USB 2.0 ports, and 5 Antminer U2 units.
when i connect 3 units to 3 ports, i usually get average 4800 MHash/s.
i bought powered USB 2.0 hub, 7 ports, external powered http://www.alza.sk/premiumcord-7-portovy-d235980.htm, i connected 5 units to the hub, cgminer is working, found 5 units, but i get average speed cca 3700 MHash/s or lower, some units (randomly) are working on very low performance
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-v8ppzHq_988/U8qKq0L0_nI/AAAAAAAAAbw/EtWuttYREPk/w660-h241-no/Untitled2.jpg.
I get similar results when i connect 2 units directly to the notebook USB and rest 3 to the hub.
Slow unit are changing randomly, very often unit attached to the hub is working on 2GHash. hub is powered by external power supply, internet connection is 10 Mbit/s, notebook is DELL i7 8Giga Ram, CPU usage 0-2%, units are not overclocked (i tried also higher overclocking, result were same), here is connection string
Code:
cgminer.exe --bmsc-options 115200:20 -o stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u *** -p *** --bmsc-freq 0781
what is wrong?
1481409589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409589
Reply with quote  #2

1481409589
Report to moderator
1481409589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409589
Reply with quote  #2

1481409589
Report to moderator
1481409589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409589
Reply with quote  #2

1481409589
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481409589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409589
Reply with quote  #2

1481409589
Report to moderator
1481409589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409589
Reply with quote  #2

1481409589
Report to moderator
1481409589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409589
Reply with quote  #2

1481409589
Report to moderator
andyjjones
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
July 19, 2014, 04:44:32 PM
 #17282

8HRS?!?!  What's with this long-ass block?
Sir Alan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
July 19, 2014, 05:50:53 PM
 #17283

8HRS?!?!  What's with this long-ass block?
That's nothing.  Start worrying when the round gets near 24 hours.

1Eeyore17YeHrbJW5Q3pSdV8sXujkdrrFc
Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
July 19, 2014, 07:54:20 PM
 #17284

Hi people, i have a problem
i have a notebook dedicated to mining having 3 USB 2.0 ports, and 5 Antminer U2 units.
when i connect 3 units to 3 ports, i usually get average 4800 MHash/s.
i bought powered USB 2.0 hub, 7 ports, external powered http://www.alza.sk/premiumcord-7-portovy-d235980.htm, i connected 5 units to the hub, cgminer is working, found 5 units, but i get average speed cca 3700 MHash/s or lower, some units (randomly) are working on very low performance
.
I get similar results when i connect 2 units directly to the notebook USB and rest 3 to the hub.
Slow unit are changing randomly, very often unit attached to the hub is working on 2GHash. hub is powered by external power supply, internet connection is 10 Mbit/s, notebook is DELL i7 8Giga Ram, CPU usage 0-2%, units are not overclocked (i tried also higher overclocking, result were same), here is connection string
Code:
cgminer.exe --bmsc-options 115200:20 -o stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333 -u *** -p *** --bmsc-freq 0781
what is wrong?

You problably don't have enough amps on that usb hub. I'm sure those u2's use at least 500ma a piece so you need at least a 4amp power brick for hub since you only get 500ma out of computer usb 2.0 port itself. I use this one a lot in my rigs

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DQFGJR4/ref=cm_sw_r_udp_awd_OUSYtb1AG6DN1E6Y

I would try a larger power brick on the usb hub you have first.

Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
BlasterXXL
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 19, 2014, 08:37:29 PM
 #17285

ah, thank you man.
quantumDavey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 12:16:47 AM
 #17286

Just had to pop in and say....

I've been reading this thread from very start, now up to page 507 - I think I might write a book about slush's pool and all the developments he made and contributions to the stability of the bitcoin system that he arguably enabled. Anyone tried reading this thread from page one, all the way through, without skipping ?? Certainly, slush is a bitcoin HERO, and he (effectively) did invent the mining pool in it's current form. Of course stratum was a serious leap forward and the collabaration with eleuthria (the operator of one of slush's pools major rivals at the time) helped cement it's future.

EDIT: Fixed some spelling and forgot to name eleuthria for his contribution to many things bitcoin pool wise.

If you've got a few weeks of spare time, I'd recommend reading the whole thread (though the odd bottle of wine helps with some [very tedious] bits).

Oh, and by the way, I'm not really a newby.... just tend to lurk, and so rarely post.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2014, 12:25:08 AM
 #17287

Of course stratum was a serious leap forward and the collaberation with the operator of one of slush's pools major rivals at the time helped cerment it's future.

Just FYI, Stratum wasn't developed with any collaboration.  It was just a coincidence that while Slush was making stratum, BTC Guild (with the help of ArtForz) was also working on ASIC-capable mining protocol changes.  The solution to fixing getwork's inefficiencies was very obvious, and in the end the two different protocols were virtually identical in function, just slightly different in syntax.  The BTC Guild protocol was marginally more efficient (10-30% depending on block size) due to lack of markup, but Slush's was more in-line with other Bitcoin API and protocols by using JSON.  It was wasteful, but it means new implementations of the protocol could use a JSON parsing library instead of writing their own parsers.

BTC Guild ended up supporting Stratum the same night since it only took a few hours to rewrite our new pool code (using the new protocol we had designed) to use Stratum, and Slush had a working stratum<->getwork proxy available already.  It would've taken me longer to write a [unnamed-protocol]<->getwork proxy than it did to just modify my input parser to use the stratum syntax.  Giving up some efficiency wasn't a huge tradeoff, considering both protocols used so little bandwidth that a 14.4k dial-up connection could keep up with it.


EDIT:  Actually, I do recall both of us were aware that the other was working on a solution to mining protocols.  IIRC, slush had been in contact with the poclbm developer, while I had been in contact with conman/ckolivas, the cgminer developer.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
xaotikdesigns
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 04:27:28 PM
 #17288

When I look at my miner on my account page, it's not showing any activity.  I've been mining for a little while now, and I've got a couple shares submited, but it looks like nothing is happening
xaotikdesigns
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 04:46:13 PM
 #17289

OK, disregard my last post, I was using an unsupported miner.  I switched to CGminer, but it looks like I have to have something plugged in to use it?

This is my first time mining, so I'm a litle clueless.  I read through the KB, but I can't really find any other mention of anything having to be plugged in except in the part about setting up CGMiner
Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 04:48:13 PM
 #17290

When I look at my miner on my account page, it's not showing any activity.  I've been mining for a little while now, and I've got a couple shares submited, but it looks like nothing is happening

We are in the middle of a block. Once we start another block you will see the estimated payout go to the unconfirmed payout and after 100 conformations it will go to confirmed payout. Once you reach threshold 0.01, it will send coins. Look at statistics page and follow blocks/conformations.

Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
mstrongbow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322

3D Printed!


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 05:02:59 PM
 #17291

OK, disregard my last post, I was using an unsupported miner.  I switched to CGminer, but it looks like I have to have something plugged in to use it?

This is my first time mining, so I'm a litle clueless.  I read through the KB, but I can't really find any other mention of anything having to be plugged in except in the part about setting up CGMiner

What are you trying to mine with? CPU? GPU? USB miner? FPGA?
What OS? What pool?

    Bitcoin-Scratchticket.com       Win Bitcoin Playing Scratchtickets        Provably Fair   
*Got LootCrate?*
*My Stuff For Sale thread/s*   www.CryptoCause.org   Ask me about SEGMining Hosting!
"Don't undertake a project unless it is manifestly important and nearly impossible" - Edwin Land
conorcccc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 06:03:46 PM
 #17292

http://s17.postimg.org/6lj7uvd3z/Untitled.png

What does 'pool 0 detected new block' mean?
mstrongbow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322

3D Printed!


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 07:08:56 PM
 #17293



What does 'pool 0 detected new block' mean?

As with most "CODE", numbers start from 0 and not 1.
So, Pool "0" is the first pool listed in your mining software config.
A new block was found on the network, so your pool/miners will work on the next block in line until your pool discovers a block for itself or another block is detected on the network.


edit: added tid bit info

    Bitcoin-Scratchticket.com       Win Bitcoin Playing Scratchtickets        Provably Fair   
*Got LootCrate?*
*My Stuff For Sale thread/s*   www.CryptoCause.org   Ask me about SEGMining Hosting!
"Don't undertake a project unless it is manifestly important and nearly impossible" - Edwin Land
conorcccc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 07:51:25 PM
 #17294

Cheers mstrongbow Cheesy i understand it now Smiley
Sir Alan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 10:35:47 PM
 #17295

Have I missed something?  The share difficulty, which used to fluctuate wildly, now seems to be fixed on /8, resulting in a 20% drop in my perceived hash rate and earnings on my old and slow coal-fired set-up (the actual hash rate reported by BFGminer is unchanged).  This seems to have occurred in the last few days, and I notice that recent screen shots posted by other members are also showing the same difficulty.  Is this a change implemented by the pool?

1Eeyore17YeHrbJW5Q3pSdV8sXujkdrrFc
Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 11:00:58 PM
 #17296

+1
I have noticed something similar going on also. I'm hopeing these new miners with all these dupe/rej/discared shares aren't effecting pools like that farm ran by SmartMiners with bad firmware that caused share withholding to hurt Eligius and BTC Guild miners profits a few months back.

Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
mstrongbow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322

3D Printed!


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 11:14:40 PM
 #17297

+1
I have noticed something similar going on also. I'm hopeing these new miners with all these dupe/rej/discared shares aren't effecting pools like that farm ran by SmartMiners with bad firmware that caused share withholding to hurt Eligius and BTC Guild miners profits a few months back.


Heya Bill! Got that USB hub, going to give it a go once I get moved. I am also working on an enclosure for the Rockminer USB  hub plus another version that will hold the fan control unit for a nice clean setup.

My rewards/hashrate are right on par with where they should be  Grin

    Bitcoin-Scratchticket.com       Win Bitcoin Playing Scratchtickets        Provably Fair   
*Got LootCrate?*
*My Stuff For Sale thread/s*   www.CryptoCause.org   Ask me about SEGMining Hosting!
"Don't undertake a project unless it is manifestly important and nearly impossible" - Edwin Land
Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 11:23:52 PM
 #17298

Thanks, it's problably just my "mabey the software is out-of-date" paranoia kicking in.

Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
mstrongbow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322

3D Printed!


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 11:30:10 PM
 #17299

Thanks, it's problably just my "mabey the software is out-of-date" paranoia kicking in.

Mayhaps but it's better safe than sorry in this game I say  Cool

    Bitcoin-Scratchticket.com       Win Bitcoin Playing Scratchtickets        Provably Fair   
*Got LootCrate?*
*My Stuff For Sale thread/s*   www.CryptoCause.org   Ask me about SEGMining Hosting!
"Don't undertake a project unless it is manifestly important and nearly impossible" - Edwin Land
ritoplssssssss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 12:52:39 AM
 #17300

I submitted 18 shares to slush's pool and I still have 0 BTC. Why?
Pages: « 1 ... 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 831 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 848 849 850 851 852 853 854 855 856 857 858 859 860 861 862 863 864 [865] 866 867 868 869 870 871 872 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 891 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 899 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 ... 1105 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!