Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 10:39:21 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3160 (80.5%)
Bank transfer / USD - 407 (10.4%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 359 (9.1%)
Total Voters: 3924

Pages: « 1 ... 849 850 851 852 853 854 855 856 857 858 859 860 861 862 863 864 865 866 867 868 869 870 871 872 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 891 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 [899] 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 ... 1105 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [40+ PH] SlushPool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 3933508 times)
Moria843
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 384


Found Lost beach - quiet now


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 04:42:56 PM
 #17961

I found the following block while mining with slush.

https://blockchain.info/block/000000000000000014bf07c25415110d1d565cc60db69f5acb3743843ede2937?site=slush

It had 0 transactions. Too bad I wasn't solo mining Smiley
If you don't mind me asking, how much hashpower were you pointing at Slush's when you found that block?

Also, congrats on finding the block!

I had, and still running, 8 overclocked S1s for a total of 1.6 Th/s. One of the nice things about slush is that it lets you know and keeps track of blocks found by your miners in your user stats. I've never seen that at other pools.

One of the bad things is when you lose internet service, like a lot of TW customers did this morning, your shares can shrivel away. I wish they would change that. I don't think pool hopping that big a deal.

Hot time, summer in the city, back of my mine getting hot & gritty!!!
1481409561
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409561

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409561
Reply with quote  #2

1481409561
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481409561
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409561

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409561
Reply with quote  #2

1481409561
Report to moderator
1481409561
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409561

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409561
Reply with quote  #2

1481409561
Report to moderator
1481409561
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409561

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409561
Reply with quote  #2

1481409561
Report to moderator
bobsav2121
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 05:20:16 PM
 #17962

"One of the bad things is when you lose internet service, like a lot of TW customers did this morning, your shares can shrivel away. I wish they would change that. I don't think pool hopping that big a deal"

I agree and it's not just an unexpected loss of internet.

Taking one or more of your miners down for  " maintenance" or " re-arranging "  can and will cost you.

I dont know the ins and outs of pool hopping but I think regular users shouldn't be penalized.

Bob
robyone
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 05:56:54 PM
 #17963

lets say I have set miner to restart every 1 hour, does that mean the mined shares will be lost?
bobsav2121
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:01:22 PM
 #17964

lets say I have set miner to restart every 1 hour, does that mean the mined shares will be lost?

Just wondering why would you want to do that ?

Bob
jterry211
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:02:43 PM
 #17965

lets say I have set miner to restart every 1 hour, does that mean the mined shares will be lost?

Why would you reset them so much? Or at all for that matter.

JT
bobsav2121
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:08:22 PM
 #17966

I have 28 different machine running various mining programs and never reset any of them.
I think your making a mistake.

Bob
robyone
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:16:18 PM
 #17967

my 2x antminers s3 batch6 seem to be running very unstable for me, when I first start them cold they run fine for many random amount of hours or days, and then suddenly losing 6-7% of power (from 440 Gh/s to 410 Gh/s), I have been experimenting alot, cleaning the heatsinks, running open/closed case, reversing both fans, keeping room they are in as cool as possible, but they seem to be doing that no matter what I try. restarting cgminer seems to be keeping AVG hash rate up.
bobsav2121
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:23:25 PM
 #17968

my 2x antminers s3 batch6 seem to be running very unstable for me, when I first start them cold they run fine for many random amount of hours or days, and then suddenly losing 6-7% of power (from 440 Gh/s to 410 Gh/s), I have been experimenting alot, cleaning the heatsinks, running open/closed case, reversing both fans, keeping room they are in as cool as possible, but they seem to be doing that no matter what I try. restarting cgminer seems to be keeping AVG hash rate up.

Well I think you may be causing some of the problems your self.
1st thing you want to do is set the machine up and LET IT RUN for 24 hrs.
These machines do vary in speed.  Dont watch the present speed you want to watch the AVERAGE speed on the ANTMINERS.
trying to react to every small variation can lead you down the wrong road.
I have 6 S3's and they do vary in speed but after TIME they all average out.

Take a step back and let your machine run for a while before you go chasing a problem that's not really there.

Take it from someone who learned the hard way...

Also machine speed on the GUI it not always reported as accurate at it could be.

What is your " POOL" reporting ?

TvaiX
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:37:06 PM
 #17969

I have one small klondike 5-6Gh/s (donnu how to overclock it Smiley I bought first one to play with it.
When I restart first time it drops half speed, when I restart again it wont start up, only shutting down it and disconnection from electricity helps...
And last two days, one of two S1 after booting cold simple don`t start to mine (not showing speed in gui) after I change speed in file and rebooting it starts again. Simple restart don`t work. Working temp. 43-45c.
robyone
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:42:59 PM
 #17970

I am not taking antminer status page that much into account, but am looking at pool stats.
I have been running miners for 2 weeks now. The problem is with only one of the units, they both are not similar, they have different heatsink design, fans on good one are really loud and running 1980RPMs AVG one temp sensor shows 40, other 35, the bad one is very silent and fans run at 1620AVG, both temp sensors show 38 degrees.
when I first started the bad one, it ran at 440 GH/s avg for about 12 hours, then took a dip to 400 AVG for 8 hours and back to 440 for 3 hours. Then there was a power outage in my area for 1 hour, after power came back it started hashing 400 AVG for 30 hours non stop. I came home and tried to reboot for several times, it did not help (10 minute AVG was showing 400-420 GH/s). Then tried to reset to factory defaults, which fixed the issue for 6 hours hashing at expected rate, then it went back to 400 GH/s AVG (for no appearent reason). One morning I reset to factory defaults again, it hashed at 440 GH/s for a short period of time (30-60 minutes) and then it was back to 400 GH/s for 8 hours. There are no X showing in miner status, temperature is lower than the other miner I have (which runs 440 avg no matter what). Acceptance rate / rejects ratio are very similar. After seeing it run slow for 30 hours non stop I am not letting it do this anymore, instead I am trying different things with it - one of which is auto cgminer restart.

edit: by the way, I have found at least 2 people on this forum reporting this same exact symptoms as I have and are auto restarting as well.
bobsav2121
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 07:14:38 PM
 #17971

I am not taking antminer status page that much into account, but am looking at pool stats.
I have been running miners for 2 weeks now. The problem is with only one of the units, they both are not similar, they have different heatsink design, fans on good one are really loud and running 1980RPMs AVG one temp sensor shows 40, other 35, the bad one is very silent and fans run at 1620AVG, both temp sensors show 38 degrees.
when I first started the bad one, it ran at 440 GH/s avg for about 12 hours, then took a dip to 400 AVG for 8 hours and back to 440 for 3 hours. Then there was a power outage in my area for 1 hour, after power came back it started hashing 400 AVG for 30 hours non stop. I came home and tried to reboot for several times, it did not help (10 minute AVG was showing 400-420 GH/s). Then tried to reset to factory defaults, which fixed the issue for 6 hours hashing at expected rate, then it went back to 400 GH/s AVG (for no appearent reason). One morning I reset to factory defaults again, it hashed at 440 GH/s for a short period of time (30-60 minutes) and then it was back to 400 GH/s for 8 hours. There are no X showing in miner status, temperature is lower than the other miner I have (which runs 440 avg no matter what). Acceptance rate / rejects ratio are very similar. After seeing it run slow for 30 hours non stop I am not letting it do this anymore, instead I am trying different things with it - one of which is auto cgminer restart.

edit: by the way, I have found at least 2 people on this forum reporting this same exact symptoms as I have and are auto restarting as well.

Well forget about temperature, these things can run at 50c with no problem, I know because I had 3 running down in Florida in the spring and had no i'll effects.
What pool are you mining at ?
robyone
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 07:19:05 PM
 #17972

I am 90% on Eligius, but have tried Slush, Ghash, Discus Fish - all of them report same behavior.
The only pool I am getting stable hash rate on bad unit is solopool.net. Only difference I can see is that most pools will set difficulty to 256 or 1024, but solopool is setting it to 50, but I do not feel lucky enough to mine there.
bobsav2121
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 07:31:49 PM
 #17973

I am 90% on Eligius, but have tried Slush, Ghash, Discus Fish - all of them report same behavior.
The only pool I am getting stable hash rate on bad unit is solopool.net. Only difference I can see is that most pools will set difficulty to 256 or 1024, but solopool is setting it to 50, but I do not feel lucky enough to mine there.

How many machines did you say you had?
Are they all from the same " batch "
My s3's are from Batch one, and the internet is full of people who say they cant get there's to run but mine just plugged in and run at 440 all day long.
If you have 2 identical units and they are doing what you say, I'm afraid you might have a " ,marginal " one.
Dont forget Bitmain's stated speed is +/- 5% so you might have got 1 that doesn't quite make the grade.
Not sure what to say.
Did you try swapping power supply's between the  "good " one and the " bad" one ?
robyone
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 07:42:21 PM
 #17974

I only found out about Bitcoin a month ago, I only have 2 S3s for experimental purpose, I am not expecting them to ROI (ordered late (batch 6) and bought coins while they were 600 a pop). using them as heater for appartment, it is cold here already - 18 degrees during day outside.
yes, tried power supply swap. tried moving the units apart, using different power outlets, swapping pci-e ports (now they run all 4 pci-e ports connected) and what not.
the hash rate does sometimes (like the one 30 hour period I mentioned) drop 10% which is below the expected rate.

thank you for looking into it, I think this needs engineer to find the cause of the problem Smiley

here is someone reporting same behavior:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.3900
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.msg8169759#msg8169759

edit: this is offtopic anyway, my question was - does restarting cgminer every 1 hour cause problems with pool shares?
sjc1490
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
August 27, 2014, 07:58:48 PM
 #17975

I only found out about Bitcoin a month ago, I only have 2 S3s for experimental purpose, I am not expecting them to ROI (ordered late (batch 6) and bought coins while they were 600 a pop). using them as heater for appartment, it is cold here already - 18 degrees during day outside.
yes, tried power supply swap. tried moving the units apart, using different power outlets, swapping pci-e ports (now they run all 4 pci-e ports connected) and what not.
the hash rate does sometimes (like the one 30 hour period I mentioned) drop 10% which is below the expected rate.

thank you for looking into it, I think this needs engineer to find the cause of the problem Smiley

here is someone reporting same behavior:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.3900
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.msg8169759#msg8169759

edit: this is offtopic anyway, my question was - does restarting cgminer every 1 hour cause problems with pool shares?

Yes.

BTC ADDRESS: 12Qwd8VKLQ4xF44ytHXBpCAKuF9VknG4X2
robyone
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 08:07:01 PM
 #17976

ok, thanks for reply, I will bite the bullet then and let it run at whatever hash rate it feels like without touching it Smiley
bobsav2121
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 08:49:28 PM
 #17977

ok, thanks for reply, I will bite the bullet then and let it run at whatever hash rate it feels like without touching it Smiley

I think that's a good idea.
If you are reacting to a sudden 10% drop without waiting to see if it corrects, you may be chasing your tail.

A lot of things contribute to pool speed and yes I have had identical machines that were both running at the  "correct " speed when 1 drops speed for not apparent reason, but it just
comes back around to " normal " .

Remember the " machine GUI is not 100% accurate and the " pool" speed reporting is not 100% accurate so your dealing with 2 items that can add up to a figure you may think is wrong.
1 idea is to set up your 2 machines on the same pool with different worker names and track the speed and payout over 3 or 4 days.
That will give you a much better idea of whats going on than just chasing a " speed " figure.
Good luck
Bob
bspurloc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 569


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 08:58:33 PM
 #17978

do not mine with graphic card, your btc mined is even less then getting those free bitcoin at https://www.landofbitcoin.com/?r=phqCKSzE8j0J1vMW
get asic miner, usd 50 might get you a s1 if u bargain hard

haha an S1 for $50...
 imagine someone being that dumb...
cuz you know you cant buy an upgrade kit for them to make them S3's... no really you cant just yet Wink

maybe a Block eruptor Cube, those are only worth $50. s1's lil under $150 at x5 the hashing rate
wow funniest thing on ebay is people selling corsair 500+'s with a cube for under $50... the power supply is that value! nice deals if you can snag it!



I got a couple Antminer S1's for about $70 a pop after lots of bargain hunting.  Amazing what you find when people misspell stuff.  I used to find the usb block erupters for dirt cheap cause they would spell it block eruptOr.  Search and you shall find.  Also amazing what you can find on craigslist too got an Antminer S2 for $650 once.

JT

yeah I forgot about the dumb dumb factor. newbs to ebay etc not understanding how things work then the misspelling part. good find along with the power supply addition.
jterry211
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 09:11:15 PM
 #17979

I only found out about Bitcoin a month ago, I only have 2 S3s for experimental purpose, I am not expecting them to ROI (ordered late (batch 6) and bought coins while they were 600 a pop). using them as heater for appartment, it is cold here already - 18 degrees during day outside.
yes, tried power supply swap. tried moving the units apart, using different power outlets, swapping pci-e ports (now they run all 4 pci-e ports connected) and what not.
the hash rate does sometimes (like the one 30 hour period I mentioned) drop 10% which is below the expected rate.

thank you for looking into it, I think this needs engineer to find the cause of the problem Smiley

here is someone reporting same behavior:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.3900
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.msg8169759#msg8169759

edit: this is offtopic anyway, my question was - does restarting cgminer every 1 hour cause problems with pool shares?

Did you buy them from bitmain or on ebay?  If you got them directly from Bitmain i would call them.  Kinda odd you bought 2 from batch six and they dont look the same. 

JT
bobsav2121
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 09:25:16 PM
 #17980

I only found out about Bitcoin a month ago, I only have 2 S3s for experimental purpose, I am not expecting them to ROI (ordered late (batch 6) and bought coins while they were 600 a pop). using them as heater for appartment, it is cold here already - 18 degrees during day outside.
yes, tried power supply swap. tried moving the units apart, using different power outlets, swapping pci-e ports (now they run all 4 pci-e ports connected) and what not.
the hash rate does sometimes (like the one 30 hour period I mentioned) drop 10% which is below the expected rate.

thank you for looking into it, I think this needs engineer to find the cause of the problem Smiley

here is someone reporting same behavior:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.3900
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=671189.msg8169759#msg8169759

edit: this is offtopic anyway, my question was - does restarting cgminer every 1 hour cause problems with pool shares?

Did you buy them from bitmain or on ebay?  If you got them directly from Bitmain i would call them.  Kinda odd you bought 2 from batch six and they dont look the same. 

JT

They don't look the same, I didn't  catch that !!!!

If they didn't come from Bitmain , then you might of got had.
Someone might have dumped a bad one on you.
I was under the assumption that they were all bought from Bitmain in Batch 6

BTW unless they are completely DOA the return shipping to China is a deal breaker.
Pages: « 1 ... 849 850 851 852 853 854 855 856 857 858 859 860 861 862 863 864 865 866 867 868 869 870 871 872 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 891 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 [899] 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 ... 1105 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!