Bitcoin Forum
April 22, 2018, 01:21:04 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3228 (80.4%)
Bank transfer / USD - 415 (10.3%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 371 (9.2%)
Total Voters: 4012

Pages: « 1 ... 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 [974] 975 976 977 978 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 ... 1139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [2.5+ EH] Slush Pool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 4325872 times)
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1008


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 21, 2014, 07:49:34 PM
 #19461

No, current doesn't drop unless you're hooked up to a resistor. A power supply is (close to) a constant power device, so current will increase in proportion to the voltage drop. It will be pretty minor though.

The sole job of resistance is to oppose current [DC or AC].  Also, resistance will not drop (consume; eat) any voltage unless current is flowing through it.  Being that AC will flow ON or THROUGH a capacitor no matter if the capacitor is open (normal) or shorted (abnormal); voltage is dropped by the resistance in the metal plates of the capacitor (line cord).  However, I will not continue in the "science" of electrons flowing on/through a capacitor.  I will simply provide a table below for current ratings in wire other than magnet wire.

Current Ratings:

Most current ratings for wires (except magnet wires) are based on permissible voltage drop, not temperature rise. For example, 0.5 mm^2 wire is rated at 3A in some applications but will carry over 8 A in free air without overheating. You will find tables of permitted maximum current in national electrical codes, but these are based on voltage drop (not the heating which is no problem in the current rating those codes give).  Which I say again, "the wire gauge (AWG) used is more important than the length [when looking at power cords for peripherals].

Here is a small current and AWG table taken from the Amateur Radio Relay Handbook, 1985.

AWG  dia mils     circ mils     open air A      cable Amp       ft/lb bare     ohms/1000'
        
10     101.9         10380           55                  33               31.82           1.018
12       80.8          6530           41                   23               50.59           1.619
14       64.1          4107           32                   17               80.44           2.575

Mils are .001". "open air A" is a continuous rating for a single conductor with insulation in open air. "cable amp" is for in multiple conductor cables. Disregard the amperage ratings for household use.

To calculate voltage drop, plug in the values: V = DIR/1000
Where I is the amperage, R is from the ohms/1000' column above, and D is the total distance the current travels (don't forget to add the length of the neutral and hot together - ie: usually double cable length). Design rules in the CEC call for a maximum voltage drop of 6% (7V on 120V circuit).



What I'm arguing: is the AMOUNT of the resistance in a 14 AWG power line cord at 12 feet in length will not get as hot as a 16 AWG power line cord of the same length in a circuit running at 11.666667 AMPS (Bitmain Antminer S4 @ 1400 watts = 11.666667 AMPS).  This is THE SAME THING you pointed out in your statement I quoted below.

WE AGREE!!!  GAUGE (AWG) IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN LENGTH; since the length we are talking about is really not very long at all.


Cable heating won't really change, since while you'll have 3.3x the voltage drop with a 10ft vs 3ft cable and essentially the same current and will therefore dissipate 3.3x more power, the cable also has 3.3x more surface area to dissipate heat. That's why wire gauges are rated for a certain current without regard for length.

MY SENTIMENTS EXACTLY

BTC ADDRESS:
1524403264
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524403264

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524403264
Reply with quote  #2

1524403264
Report to moderator
1524403264
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524403264

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524403264
Reply with quote  #2

1524403264
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524403264
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524403264

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524403264
Reply with quote  #2

1524403264
Report to moderator
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1008


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 21, 2014, 07:53:57 PM
 #19462


Actually given the same load attached to a cable, the longer the cable, the more the resistance, the greater the voltage drop across the cable (lost as heat), but the current drops. Since current drops, an infinitely long cable would have all the voltage drop but no current and would be cool.
No, current doesn't drop unless you're hooked up to a resistor. A power supply is (close to) a constant power device, so current will increase in proportion to the voltage drop. It will be pretty minor though.

Cable heating won't really change, since while you'll have 3.3x the voltage drop with a 10ft vs 3ft cable and essentially the same current and will therefore dissipate 3.3x more power, the cable also has 3.3x more surface area to dissipate heat. That's why wire gauges are rated for a certain current without regard for length.

You're wrong! Current will drop regardless of load if cable is long enough. The wire itself becomes a big resistor. Even if the supply was ideal, there would be little current getting to the load (or going through the cable) if the cable was long enough. Cable resistance approaches infinity as length increases. Of course, the difference between 3 to 10 feet is insignificant.

No, I am not. Current will rise as cable length rises and voltage at the load will decrease until either the input current or input voltage protection of the PSU trips at which point the PSU will shut down and current will go to (almost) 0.
For an S4 pulling 1400W (with a PF=1) from a 240V line and assuming the PSU trips off at 100V, you'd be pulling 14A and could thus use up to a 600m long 14 gauge cable. IE, preposterously long.

All i know is i had a heavy gauge 10ft cable on 3 avalons and the ends were getting reallllly hot.  Changed over to a heavy gauge 3ft cable and no problems.

JT

When you said you changed over "...to a HEAVY GAUGE 3ft cable and no problems," I'm simply saying the "HEAVY GAUGE" [switching from 18 AWG or 16 AWG to 14 AWG] was what cut down the heat RATHER THAN THE LENGTH of the power cord.

Also, I'm not shouting when using caps.  The caps are only for EMPHASIS.

BTC ADDRESS:
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1008


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 21, 2014, 08:13:32 PM
 #19463

Bitcoin Difficulty:   35,002,482,026
Estimated Next Difficulty:   35,374,044,839 (+1.06%)
Adjust time:   After 250 Blocks, About 1.7 days
Hashrate(?):   243,539,654 GH/s
Block Generation Time(?):   
1 block: 9.9 minutes
3 blocks: 29.9 minutes
6 blocks: 59.7 minutes
Updated:   15:8 (4.3 minutes ago)

BTC ADDRESS:
sjc1490
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 21, 2014, 08:29:06 PM
 #19464

I have 3 S4 coupons expire 10/25 worth 200.00 each if anyone is interested. (.2 each) PM me.

BTC ADDRESS: 12Qwd8VKLQ4xF44ytHXBpCAKuF9VknG4X2
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1008


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 21, 2014, 09:37:41 PM
 #19465

If you haven't already, PLEASE read this article on BITCOIN:

http://blog.easybitz.com/2014/10/05/closing-the-circle/

David

BTC ADDRESS:
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1008


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 21, 2014, 09:59:44 PM
 #19466

Damn good YouTube video:  Bitcoin Cryptocurrency Crash Course with Andreas Antonopoulos - Jefferson Club Dinner Meetup

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JP9-lAYngi4#t=304

BTC ADDRESS:
Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 12:53:12 AM
 #19467

Damn good YouTube video:  Bitcoin Cryptocurrency Crash Course with Andreas Antonopoulos - Jefferson Club Dinner Meetup

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JP9-lAYngi4#t=304

So 2 hours ago I was gonna check the pool, eat supper and watch The Voice. Thanks to your post I have not got any of that done. That is a grate video. It was worth the time Grin

This is the one I actually watched:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xUNGFZDO8mM

Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1008


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 01:23:24 AM
 #19468

Damn good YouTube video:  Bitcoin Cryptocurrency Crash Course with Andreas Antonopoulos - Jefferson Club Dinner Meetup

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JP9-lAYngi4#t=304

So 2 hours ago I was gonna check the pool, eat supper and watch The Voice. Thanks to your post I have not got any of that done. That is a grate video. It was worth the time Grin

This is the one I actually watched:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xUNGFZDO8mM

WOW...

You and I are like riding on the same wave or something...

Cause I too had to put The Voice on hold [recorded it] so I could let my wife [Who also is interested in Bitcoin] watch it.  She actually put The Voice on hold to watch it.  We did eat first though.  I cooked us some pork chops, rice and green beans with sweet tea to drink.

Thanks for the one you provided as well.  I'm going to watch it AFTER The Voice.

David

BTC ADDRESS:
wasikidding
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 02:56:04 AM
 #19469

Anyone else get a prisma? I heard they didnt come with the usb adapter they were supposed to can any one confirm?

BTC ADDY just in case you are my rich uncle lol 1KCQ4fXa3mWBvBsYRLmWY4QHqBa4ZYFdh6
kcal63
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 03:02:43 AM
 #19470

David,
Good vid, I have seen him expostulate on the subject before but this was a good iteration. The Circle article was a very good summation of the basic idea many of us have been promoting for the past couple of years.

Is anyone else noticing that their error rate at the pool is swinging wildly the past couple of days?
It could just be something in my setup but I haven't been able to find it yet.
My error rate (normally between 2 and 4%) has been shifting between 1% and 24% every couple of hours for the past day or so.
I am looking at everything I can think of from the controllers, software and internet connection to the cables, PSU and board connections.
If anyone has any suggestions they would be appreciated.
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1008


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 06:15:17 AM
 #19471

David,
Good vid, I have seen him expostulate on the subject before but this was a good iteration. The Circle article was a very good summation of the basic idea many of us have been promoting for the past couple of years.

Is anyone else noticing that their error rate at the pool is swinging wildly the past couple of days?
It could just be something in my setup but I haven't been able to find it yet.
My error rate (normally between 2 and 4%) has been shifting between 1% and 24% every couple of hours for the past day or so.
I am looking at everything I can think of from the controllers, software and internet connection to the cables, PSU and board connections.
If anyone has any suggestions they would be appreciated.


Wow!

Sounds terrible no matter what "error rate" you are referring to.  My question is, "What error rate?"

Are you referring to HW errors?  Get Work Fail Occasions? 

BTC ADDRESS:
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1008


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 06:25:06 AM
 #19472

Damn good YouTube video:  Bitcoin Cryptocurrency Crash Course with Andreas Antonopoulos - Jefferson Club Dinner Meetup

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JP9-lAYngi4#t=304

So 2 hours ago I was gonna check the pool, eat supper and watch The Voice. Thanks to your post I have not got any of that done. That is a grate video. It was worth the time Grin

This is the one I actually watched:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xUNGFZDO8mM

Wow!  Wow!

Damn good video!!!

I like the YouTube video you provided a link to [Of the same dude] more than the one I provided a link to.  I'm putting a hyperlink of it on here again in case anyone is interested.  

I must say this is the best advocate ever for bitcoin to politicians.


Andreas M. Antonopoulos educates Senate of Canada about Bitcoin (Oct 8, ENGLISH)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xUNGFZDO8mM

BTC ADDRESS:
Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 07:55:16 AM
 #19473

David,
Good vid, I have seen him expostulate on the subject before but this was a good iteration. The Circle article was a very good summation of the basic idea many of us have been promoting for the past couple of years.

Is anyone else noticing that their error rate at the pool is swinging wildly the past couple of days?
It could just be something in my setup but I haven't been able to find it yet.
My error rate (normally between 2 and 4%) has been shifting between 1% and 24% every couple of hours for the past day or so.
I am looking at everything I can think of from the controllers, software and internet connection to the cables, PSU and board connections.
If anyone has any suggestions they would be appreciated.


What kind of miner/rig are u using?

Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
jterry211
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 02:37:15 PM
 #19474

Cmon man i added a bunch of hashing power Sunday and now back to 2 block days.  Oh well ride the wave as they say.

JT
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1008


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 03:29:37 PM
 #19475

Cmon man i added a bunch of hashing power Sunday and now back to 2 block days.  Oh well ride the wave as they say.

JT

The more I think about it, I wish those who left would stay here rather than leave.  We need more hashing power as a pool to maintain the "norm" each day.  I know some prefer they stay away to have a higher payout.  However, there is less chance of finding blocks as often.  It's a trade off.

GHash has gone from 57 - 60 PH/s a week ago to 63 - 65 PH/s the last couple of days.  They have gone from 9 minute shifts to 8 minute shifts over the last few days.  I think a lot of miners left here and went to GHash and/or BTC Guild.

I have all of my 7.4 TH/s right here at the moment.  I'm thinking about splitting my hashing power again between pools if the luck here doesn't change soon.  However, it is nice to see the size of the pay out per block found here compared to other pools.

I'm getting .02261740 average payout with 7.4 TH/s at the moment.  It can fluctuate depending on the total hashing power of the pool.  At the Dark Side, I can get .00285674 on average.  That means I need to find 7.91721(7.9) blocks on GHash for every one block we find on Slush.

BTC ADDRESS:
andyjjones
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 03:42:47 PM
 #19476

What are some of the best 2nd-hand mining rigs at the moment around the 100usd mark?
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1008


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 04:20:44 PM
 #19477

What are some of the best 2nd-hand mining rigs at the moment around the 100usd mark?

I'm going to choose Bitmain Antminer rigs more than any other mainly because of "stability."

As for "2nd-hand" rigs, that is putting a lot of trust in the seller that all is okay with the 2nd-hand rig.

The best thing going at the moment for close to $100.00 USD [AND IT IS BRAND NEW] would be the NEW Bitmain Antminer U3 https://www.bitmaintech.com/productDetail.htm?pid=00020141017110427977rQGR3pcf06BE

$56.00 USD for each U3.  You can get two of these for $112.00 and have a total of 126 GH/s.

Yes, you could buy a "used" bitmain antminer S1 on eBay that has 180 GH/s but you also need to purchase a PSU.  That would put you over $100.00 or right at it.

The new U3 also needs a PSU but only requires one (1) PCIe to power it.  Depending on the PSU you get, you can power 2 to 6 Bitmain Antminer U3's.

Also, the new U3 is NOT stand alone.  You need cgminer to run this.  If you are not cgminer literate, as I am not, you may want to get an S1 on eBay from a reputable seller.

Antminer U3: Decentralization continued
 
Bitmain are committed to furthering the decentralization of the bitcoin network and providing quality products to consumers. In light of this, Bitmain is proud to announce its latest miner, the U3 USB miner.
 
The U3 utilises 4 of Bitmain’s latest generation BM1382 chips in high quality, domed case.
 
Batch 1 will go on sale on Oct. 18th Beijing (UTC +8 Time Zone). The 1st Batch of U3s are priced at 56 USD per unit (excluding shipping), with dispatch estimated Nov. 5th. A minimum order quantity of 60 is required, each extra units added must be the integral multiples of 20.
 
 
Specifications:
* Hash Rate: 63 GH/s at 0.75V
* Power Efficiency: 0.8 Watt/GH/s on wall at 0.75V
* Voltage: DC 12V input, 6A
* Chip Quantity per unit: 4
* One 80mm fan
* Noise: ~25 DB at 25 °C ambient temperature
* Hashrate and VDD core voltage can be adjusted via cgminer command line
* USB connection
* 12V AC/DC power brick of 16A, but power line not included
* Certificate Compliance: FCC/CE
 
Note:
1)   Power consumption: Quoted figures depend on your PSUs efficiency, the ambient temperature and the accuracy of the power meter.
2)   PSU: You must provide your own ATX PSU with 1 PCI-e connector, or a power line.
 

Features:

Scalable: Multiple U3 miners can be maintained by one controller running cgminer due to its USB port.

Hassle free: Setup consists of plugging in the USB and power cables and running Antminer CGMiner.

Cool: U3s remain cool and quiet due to its 80mm fan which quietly exhausts air out the side of the case.  

Stable and Accurate: Based on the tried and tested BM1382 chip, the U3 is extremely stable and is able to run 24 hours a day without problems.

Exquisite:

The refined design of the U3 allow it to blend on any desk or shelf without standing out.

BTC ADDRESS:
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 05:47:44 PM
 #19478

Pff... Why buy one S1 when you can pick up 200 for just 40x your budget, PSUs included? Smiley
http://www.ebay.com/itm/200x-AntMiner-S1-Bitcoin-Miners-with-Power-Supplies-/131323182516?pt=US_Virtual_Currency&hash=item1e9378bdb4
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
October 22, 2014, 06:00:24 PM
 #19479

Pff... Why buy one S1 when you can pick up 200 for just 40x your budget, PSUs included? Smiley
http://www.ebay.com/itm/200x-AntMiner-S1-Bitcoin-Miners-with-Power-Supplies-/131323182516?pt=US_Virtual_Currency&hash=item1e9378bdb4
Now, if I were in the US, I'd be bidding .... each @ $200 including PSU is unreal! I know a few fellas who've paid as much for just the PSU.

jterry211
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 07:58:37 PM
 #19480

Pff... Why buy one S1 when you can pick up 200 for just 40x your budget, PSUs included? Smiley
http://www.ebay.com/itm/200x-AntMiner-S1-Bitcoin-Miners-with-Power-Supplies-/131323182516?pt=US_Virtual_Currency&hash=item1e9378bdb4
Now, if I were in the US, I'd be bidding .... each @ $200 including PSU is unreal! I know a few fellas who've paid as much for just the PSU.

I picked up 6 S1's the other day for $39 a pop shipped and they took BTC. So no skin off my butt. Half tempted on that one lol. Hopefully Bitmain brings out more upgrades.

JT
Pages: « 1 ... 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 [974] 975 976 977 978 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 ... 1139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!