Bitcoin Forum
June 18, 2018, 11:44:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3231 (80.4%)
Bank transfer / USD - 415 (10.3%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 371 (9.2%)
Total Voters: 4015

Pages: « 1 ... 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 [978] 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 ... 1142 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [2.5+ EH] Slush Pool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 4327293 times)
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1092


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2014, 05:21:56 AM
 #19541

It seems no one cares to TRY to explain HOW the guild would use 99% of my CPU when I would navigate to the website?

It doesn't do it anymore, and probably never will again.

Oh well.
One runaway javascript on the web page would be enough to do it. Why does this need to be explained, and especially on the slush pool thread?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1529365448
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529365448

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529365448
Reply with quote  #2

1529365448
Report to moderator
1529365448
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529365448

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529365448
Reply with quote  #2

1529365448
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529365448
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529365448

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529365448
Reply with quote  #2

1529365448
Report to moderator
1529365448
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529365448

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529365448
Reply with quote  #2

1529365448
Report to moderator
1529365448
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529365448

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529365448
Reply with quote  #2

1529365448
Report to moderator
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1035


ProwdClown on Trading View


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 05:22:44 AM
 #19542

I did tell him in a PM I had just upgraded from OS X Mavericks to OS X Yosemite that same night.  It was the first day Yosemite came available for download.  I don't know if that had anything to do with it or not?  It never did it before until after the upgrade to Yosemite.  I told him that might be part of the reason.  I just didn't know.

We should come together as a community to promote and support the best coin(s) for humanity in regards to decentralized currency, privacy, freedom of speech and freedom from tyranny.
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1035


ProwdClown on Trading View


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 05:24:06 AM
 #19543

It seems no one cares to TRY to explain HOW the guild would use 99% of my CPU when I would navigate to the website?

It doesn't do it anymore, and probably never will again.

Oh well.
One runaway javascript on the web page would be enough to do it. Why does this need to be explained, and especially on the slush pool thread?

Well, THAT could explain it because my computer later prompted me for a Java update after updating to Yosemite.  About 4 hours later.


We should come together as a community to promote and support the best coin(s) for humanity in regards to decentralized currency, privacy, freedom of speech and freedom from tyranny.
kkurtmann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
October 24, 2014, 05:25:31 AM
 #19544

I love this thread. The newbs make it so amusing.

https://www.buytrezor.com?a=55c37b866c11   well sir, I like it!
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1035


ProwdClown on Trading View


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 05:26:02 AM
 #19545

It seems no one cares to TRY to explain HOW the guild would use 99% of my CPU when I would navigate to the website?

It doesn't do it anymore, and probably never will again.

Oh well.
One runaway javascript on the web page would be enough to do it. Why does this need to be explained, and especially on the slush pool thread?

What prompted it is if you look back earlier to see me wondering what was up with the "1 Day Luck" acting up?

I suppose I will stop being paranoid and TRY to ask questions if something seems weird.

We should come together as a community to promote and support the best coin(s) for humanity in regards to decentralized currency, privacy, freedom of speech and freedom from tyranny.
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1035


ProwdClown on Trading View


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 05:26:57 AM
 #19546

I love this thread. The newbs make it so amusing.

LOL

Happy to make your night amusing...

Like I said,

I've officially been hazed!!!

We should come together as a community to promote and support the best coin(s) for humanity in regards to decentralized currency, privacy, freedom of speech and freedom from tyranny.
kkurtmann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
October 24, 2014, 05:27:54 AM
 #19547

Seems you been hazing yourself.

https://www.buytrezor.com?a=55c37b866c11   well sir, I like it!
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1035


ProwdClown on Trading View


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 05:36:08 AM
 #19548

Seems you been hazing yourself.

EXACTLY!!!

At least you're getting some entertainment...

We should come together as a community to promote and support the best coin(s) for humanity in regards to decentralized currency, privacy, freedom of speech and freedom from tyranny.
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1035


ProwdClown on Trading View


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 07:35:49 AM
 #19549

If you have EVERYONE's CPU on the guild that COULD be a lot of hashing power if combined.  
No it wouldn't. Please check your numbers. 10,000 of the most powerful CPUs today amount to about one S3 which is 440GH. For a pool with 13,000,000 GH, do you honestly think the pool operator would risk his reputation for that much more?

What I'm mentioning is NOT to continue accusations.  What I'm mentioning is merely to prove a point.

MacBook Pro 17" Early 2011

2.2 GHz Intel Quad Core i7; meaning 2.2 GHz x 4 cores = 8.8 GHz

450 divided by 8.8 = 51.14 MacBook Pro 17" with i7 2.2 GHz Quad Core chips

Most PC's and Mac's today I would say average around 2.2 GHz x 4 for 8.8 GHz but we will use my 2011 model Mac to be conservative.  If you had 10,000 computers with 8.8 GHz average, that would be equivalent to 195.5 S3's; NOT ONE as you say.  Also, if it took 10,000 CPU's to equal 1 S3, you would be saying EACH AND EVERY CPU in each and every computer [10,000 computers] is less than a quarter (.25 cents)!  That is FAR from the truth.  


BM1382 has achieved 15.75 Gh/s in hash performance in each chip:

BitMain BM1382 chip specifications:
- Process Node: 28nm
– Package Type: FCQFN-56
– Packaged Chip Size: 8mm x 8mm
– Number of Cores: 63
– Core Voltage: 0.75 V
– Core Frequency: 250 MHz
– Hash Rate: 15.75 GH/s

      250,000,000  Hz (250 MHz) - Core Frequency
    x              63       Cores (processors)
  15,750,000,000 Hash Rate

multiplied by 28 [63 core processors] = 450,000,000,000 (450GB) Total Hash Rate

The new Bitmain Antminer U3 uses four (4) 1382 chips [4 x 15.75GH] for a total of 63 GH/s

http://www.coindesk.com/hackers-hijack-retailers-showroom-pcs-cryptocurrency-mining/

Also, if it took 10,000 computers, as you say, why would hackers even bother hacking these retail stores for dismal profits from mining?  The reason is because it does not take 10,000 computers to make one S3.  It only takes approximately 50 computers to make one S3 but that is being conservative.  It may only take about 48 computers.

I challenge anyone with a PC that has a QUAD CORE PROCESSOR to mine with their CPU for an hour then multiply their hourly average hash rate x 51 and see if it is somewhat close to one S3.  Well, you might have to multiply it by 58 cause Slush always shows a little slower than what my rigs say.

You might see you have to multiply times close to 200 to get close to 450GH/s.  If that's the case, then it takes approximately 200 to equal 1 S3.

We should come together as a community to promote and support the best coin(s) for humanity in regards to decentralized currency, privacy, freedom of speech and freedom from tyranny.
cowchaser
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 07:51:26 AM
 #19550

My S4 is not performing as expected. I only see 1800 - 1900 Gh/sec hourly ratings on Slush so far.
Have been checking the average for the last couple of days but can't see any improvement.

I tried minimum difficulty at 2048 and 2250. No real difference.

Anyone seeing similar behavior ?

The funny thing is that on the S4 internal stats page I currently see like an average mining speed of 2002.39 Gh/s over the last 3 days.

Slush:
xxxxxxxxx    x    0    355500    3139621.50955    0 minutes    1806.571    2250

versus

S4 internal stats:

Elapsed    GH/S(5s)    GH/S(avg)    FoundBlocks    Utility    LocalWork    WU    BestShare
                     
3d3h14m53s 2845.66      2001.94        0             11.84         158480049 27975.18    153414510
dkaufman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 01:55:11 PM
 #19551

My S4 is not performing as expected

Hi Cowchaser,

Have you installed the latest S4 firmware from the bitmain site:

  https://bitmaintech.com/support.htm?pid=00720140930114518599JXGHWWD80660

and the latest S4-specific cgminer update from ckolivas:

  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=796839.msg9242133#msg9242133

Also remember that hashrates on Slush's pool seem to improve the longer you hash, so your hashrate may take 2 - 10 hours to reach the value its going to settle at.

thanks,

-dave
Tazza
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 01:55:44 PM
 #19552


I challenge anyone with a PC that has a QUAD CORE PROCESSOR to mine with their CPU for an hour then multiply their hourly average hash rate x 51 and see if it is somewhat close to one S3.  Well, you might have to multiply it by 58 cause Slush always shows a little slower than what my rigs say.

You might see you have to multiply times close to 200 to get close to 450GH/s.  If that's the case, then it takes approximately 200 to equal 1 S3.


You really ought to test out that hypothesis yourself before spouting off such utter tripe on here. You do know of course a Ghz is in no way comparable to GH/s.

Actually, since I'm feeling kind I'll give you the answer and save you some time and give you the (rough) hashing results using all cores.

4x Opteron 6174's will crank out around 115Mhash/s (while chewing over 300 watts), an Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Black Edition will do a whopping 2.9Mhash/s!!  But you're also aware that's the exact reason people switched to GPU's right? where the 5830 would do 270-330 Mhash/s 5850 was around the 400 range.
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 02:01:05 PM
 #19553

If you have EVERYONE's CPU on the guild that COULD be a lot of hashing power if combined.  
No it wouldn't. Please check your numbers. 10,000 of the most powerful CPUs today amount to about one S3 which is 440GH. For a pool with 13,000,000 GH, do you honestly think the pool operator would risk his reputation for that much more?

What I'm mentioning is NOT to continue accusations.  What I'm mentioning is merely to prove a point.

MacBook Pro 17" Early 2011

2.2 GHz Intel Quad Core i7; meaning 2.2 GHz x 4 cores = 8.8 GHz

450 divided by 8.8 = 51.14 MacBook Pro 17" with i7 2.2 GHz Quad Core chips

Most PC's and Mac's today I would say average around 2.2 GHz x 4 for 8.8 GHz but we will use my 2011 model Mac to be conservative.  If you had 10,000 computers with 8.8 GHz average, that would be equivalent to 195.5 S3's; NOT ONE as you say.  Also, if it took 10,000 CPU's to equal 1 S3, you would be saying EACH AND EVERY CPU in each and every computer [10,000 computers] is less than a quarter (.25 cents)!  That is FAR from the truth.  


BM1382 has achieved 15.75 Gh/s in hash performance in each chip:

BitMain BM1382 chip specifications:
- Process Node: 28nm
– Package Type: FCQFN-56
– Packaged Chip Size: 8mm x 8mm
– Number of Cores: 63
– Core Voltage: 0.75 V
– Core Frequency: 250 MHz
– Hash Rate: 15.75 GH/s

      250,000,000  Hz (250 MHz) - Core Frequency
    x              63       Cores (processors)
  15,750,000,000 Hash Rate

multiplied by 28 [63 core processors] = 450,000,000,000 (450GB) Total Hash Rate

The new Bitmain Antminer U3 uses four (4) 1382 chips [4 x 15.75GH] for a total of 63 GH/s

http://www.coindesk.com/hackers-hijack-retailers-showroom-pcs-cryptocurrency-mining/

Also, if it took 10,000 computers, as you say, why would hackers even bother hacking these retail stores for dismal profits from mining?  The reason is because it does not take 10,000 computers to make one S3.  It only takes approximately 50 computers to make one S3 but that is being conservative.  It may only take about 48 computers.

I challenge anyone with a PC that has a QUAD CORE PROCESSOR to mine with their CPU for an hour then multiply their hourly average hash rate x 51 and see if it is somewhat close to one S3.  Well, you might have to multiply it by 58 cause Slush always shows a little slower than what my rigs say.

You might see you have to multiply times close to 200 to get close to 450GH/s.  If that's the case, then it takes approximately 200 to equal 1 S3.


A general purpose CPU cannot output one doubleSHA256 hash per clock cycle. GHz != GH/s. That's the whole reason that we use specialized ASICs. An i5-2500k will get ~20MH/s or so (at 4GHz I believe, though I haven't tried in years). You could have 100,000 people looking at your page and hashing for you, and it would equal about the power of a single Bitmain S4. Probably less, since the average processor is likely less powerful across a sample of 100,000 users.
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
October 24, 2014, 02:04:30 PM
 #19554

^^^^ Guys, wasted breath there, someone forgot to take their tablets on time (this thread is littered with that kind of twaddle from them)!

bspurloc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 569
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 02:58:25 PM
 #19555

It seems no one cares to TRY to explain HOW the guild would use 99% of my CPU when I would navigate to the website?

It doesn't do it anymore, and probably never will again.

Oh well.
One runaway javascript on the web page would be enough to do it. Why does this need to be explained, and especially on the slush pool thread?

cuz the slush pool thread isnt about helping people on the slush pool.
 it's now a chat area and wah wah long blocks wah wah long blocks...
kcal63
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 03:00:55 PM
 #19556

Well first, yes I should have posted more info/specs about my error issue. It was across all of my miners, BTCGardens, Rockminers, and Bitmain.I found the problem a bad cable.

Second< I will post more info on the Bitmain U3's as soon as mine arrive, I orderd 2 of them a while ago and they have an expected delivery date of Nov 17 as of now. (I know they are money losing miners but so cute I had to have a couple Smiley  )

Third. Does anyone have a Prisma miner up and running on Slush's yet? Wondering about performance, particularly when connected to Slush's pool.
bspurloc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 569
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 03:04:32 PM
 #19557

My S4 is not performing as expected. I only see 1800 - 1900 Gh/sec hourly ratings on Slush so far.
Have been checking the average for the last couple of days but can't see any improvement.

I tried minimum difficulty at 2048 and 2250. No real difference.

Anyone seeing similar behavior ?

The funny thing is that on the S4 internal stats page I currently see like an average mining speed of 2002.39 Gh/s over the last 3 days.

Slush:
xxxxxxxxx    x    0    355500    3139621.50955    0 minutes    1806.571    2250

versus

S4 internal stats:

Elapsed    GH/S(5s)    GH/S(avg)    FoundBlocks    Utility    LocalWork    WU    BestShare
                     
3d3h14m53s 2845.66      2001.94        0             11.84         158480049 27975.18    153414510

slush doesn't allow for manual changing of the diff, is that in the S4's gui???

bspurloc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 569
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 03:06:49 PM
 #19558

Well first, yes I should have posted more info/specs about my error issue. It was across all of my miners, BTCGardens, Rockminers, and Bitmain.I found the problem a bad cable.

Second< I will post more info on the Bitmain U3's as soon as mine arrive, I orderd 2 of them a while ago and they have an expected delivery date of Nov 17 as of now. (I know they are money losing miners but so cute I had to have a couple Smiley  )

Third. Does anyone have a Prisma miner up and running on Slush's yet? Wondering about performance, particularly when connected to Slush's pool.

how did you order 2 when they had the min at 60? and now 20?
They dont really explain how to power them too...
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
October 24, 2014, 03:09:56 PM
 #19559


slush doesn't allow for manual changing of the diff, is that in the S4's gui???

Check your facts, infact slush NOW allows manual setting of diff.

Sir Alan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 04:28:01 PM
 #19560

slush doesn't allow for manual changing of the diff, is that in the S4's gui???
Check your facts, infact slush NOW allows manual setting of diff.
Or, to be strictly accurate, manual setting of minimum diff - the pool may then set it higher automatically.  BTCguild has done the same.

I have set my S3+s to minimum 256 on both pools (balanced 50/50) and that achieves a higher perceived hash rate on both than does 128.

1Eeyore17YeHrbJW5Q3pSdV8sXujkdrrFc
Pages: « 1 ... 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 [978] 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 ... 1142 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!