Bitcoin Forum
December 01, 2022, 03:37:28 AM *
News: Reminder: do not keep your money in online accounts
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 978 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 [993] 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 1029 1030 1031 1032 1033 1034 1035 1036 1037 1038 1039 1040 1041 1042 1043 ... 1155 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [4+ EH] Slush Pool (slushpool.com); Overt AsicBoost; World First Mining Pool  (Read 4380592 times)
hardhitter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 16, 2014, 09:00:36 AM
 #19841

So basically it steals your shares and pays you a fraction of what you would normally get because you had to shut down?  Who gets the reward from those shares?  Kind of messed up but good to know.
1669865848
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1669865848

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1669865848
Reply with quote  #2

1669865848
Report to moderator
1669865848
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1669865848

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1669865848
Reply with quote  #2

1669865848
Report to moderator
1669865848
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1669865848

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1669865848
Reply with quote  #2

1669865848
Report to moderator
The network tries to produce one block per 10 minutes. It does this by automatically adjusting how difficult it is to produce blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1669865848
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1669865848

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1669865848
Reply with quote  #2

1669865848
Report to moderator
jackbox
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1024



View Profile
November 16, 2014, 09:38:41 AM
 #19842

So basically it steals your shares and pays you a fraction of what you would normally get because you had to shut down?  Who gets the reward from those shares?  Kind of messed up but good to know.

I think it redistributes them to everyone else who stayed online during the entire round.

Look at this post. Shares at the beginning of a round have less value then shares in the end of a round.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1976.msg50002#msg50002

Buy a Trezor and Protect your BTC, BCH, BTG, DASH, LTC, DGB, ZEC, ETH and ETC from hackers.
If I was helpful please buy me a coffee BTC: 1DWK7vBaxcTC5Wd2nQwLGEoy8xdFVzGKLK  BTG: AWvN1iBqCUqG2tEh3XoVvRbdcGrAzfBBpW
If I was helpful please buy me a burger DGB: DLASV6CUQpGtGSyaVz5FYuu5YxZ17MoGQz
BostonGreen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
November 16, 2014, 11:54:16 AM
 #19843

Q: I have about £450 GBP to spend on miners ..... was going to get 2x S3, looks like I can get a couple for under £400 ...... would that be my best option? I'm fortunate in that I can run them for 12 hours a day on free electric (work), so power consumption cost are not an issue .....

Thanks
 

For that much you could buy a Jackson (Spondoolies SP-20) that has more than double the has rate of 2 x S3's.


Thanks for that, although looking at prices, SP-20 is around the £1300 GBP mark, I can buy an S3 with psu for £220 GBP, but I will look into the sp-20 some more ..... thanks again :
Sir Alan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 16, 2014, 12:03:30 PM
 #19844

Thanks for the help indeed. So right now in cgminer I see it set as diff 60, and it is still getting the same average, when it should be at least 100Gh/s. My last question regarding this is how do I set the difficulty exactly? Out of all of my miners, I never had to look into changing that.
You set the minimum difficulty in the My Account page on Slush's web site.  Minimum difficulty for each worker will show --- if it hasn't been set specifically; click on Edit for the worker you wish to change, type in the new setting and save.  Give it a few hours for things to settle down.  You are aiming for Slush to report near enough the same hash rate that CGminer reports, but remember that you are likely to see a lower hash rate anyway at peak internet usage times or if the connection routing is iffy.  Try small steps rather than going for broke: in your example I would start with perhaps 75 and see what happens.  I found it also works in BTC Guild.

1Eeyore17YeHrbJW5Q3pSdV8sXujkdrrFc
Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
November 16, 2014, 01:44:08 PM
Last edit: November 16, 2014, 02:37:55 PM by Billbags
 #19845

Off topic, but funny.....(I'll use this as my weekly Slush's thread joke Grin)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QQhVwBESulM

Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
moss
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 16, 2014, 05:18:02 PM
 #19846

Off topic, but funny.....(I'll use this as my weekly Slush's thread joke Grin)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QQhVwBESulM

Well, that's just too scarily accurate!  Grin
icex2014
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 16, 2014, 09:10:26 PM
 #19847

404 not found on home page
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1004


View Profile
November 16, 2014, 09:18:13 PM
 #19848

Whats the formula?  I assumed it was Your shares / Total shares x Block value = Your BTC reward

It is somewhere on the website but you are penalized every time you disconnect as the algorithm presupposes you are pool-hopping.
Not true. Over long periods it has no effect on your earnings. The times you disconnect just at the end of a round and are penalized are offset by the times when you disconnect near the start of the round, but are paid out the same as if you'd mined the entire block.
kkurtmann
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 475
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
November 16, 2014, 09:32:04 PM
 #19849

So basically it steals your shares and pays you a fraction of what you would normally get because you had to shut down?  Who gets the reward from those shares?  Kind of messed up but good to know.

Nobody is "stealing" anything. If you are solo mining and find a block after 40 shares or 40 billion shares you still only get the 25 BTC. (Just an example)

https://www.buytrezor.com?a=55c37b866c11   well sir, I like it!
Mick2000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 17, 2014, 08:10:23 AM
 #19850

Hi all,

Okay, newbie question. Is it possible to direct multiple miners to the same worker? If it is possible are there any downsides?

Thanks in advance.

Mick
nicklello
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 193
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 17, 2014, 09:17:03 AM
 #19851

Hi all,

Okay, newbie question. Is it possible to direct multiple miners to the same worker? If it is possible are there any downsides?

Thanks in advance.

Mick

It's certainly possible... either directly or by running a stratum proxy locally (to reduce internet connection bandwidth usage).

The downside is that all miners will get the same difficulty work... not an issue if they're the same sort of HashPower but may be an issue if one is 2GHs and the other (for example) 32GHs.
Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
November 17, 2014, 04:05:23 PM
Last edit: November 17, 2014, 04:41:15 PM by Billbags
 #19852

Last week was a good one @ Slush's Pool  Grin

Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
rascall
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 17, 2014, 04:09:17 PM
 #19853

It also makes it more difficult to spot if one of your miners goes down, if each has a unique worker ID then faults are easier to spot from the Slush stats page and its much easier isolate/fix a problem. All the miners will also get work of the appropriate difficulty too.

Rascall
Speedster1978
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 17, 2014, 05:13:22 PM
 #19854

Anyone else having issues with Slush's Pool right now?

I'm trying to figure out a weird issue...

Originally I had issues getting my U3 to work on my desktop, so I got it up and going on my laptop... works great... problem is when I have to use my laptop for work, I have to VPN into my work, so I can't get pools to work anymore... so I had to move it back to my desktop...

I get CGMiner to work on my desktop where it recognizes the U3 now, after wiping out all device manager hidden devices and what not with it unplugged... problem is now it can see the device but it keeps saying:

Pool 0 difficulty changed to 32
And it never starts up... my URL, User, and Password is the exact same as on my laptop, but doesn't seem to work.

I can connect to GHash.IO's pool just fine though...


___ dock.io _______Decentralized professional data exchange powered by Ethereum_______
WHITEPAPER     █ █ █ █     FACEBOOK     TWITTER     TELEGRAM     █ █ █ █     ANN THREAD
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  ● ⚫ ●  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
jackbox
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1024



View Profile
November 17, 2014, 05:18:12 PM
 #19855

Anyone else having issues with Slush's Pool right now?

I'm trying to figure out a weird issue...

Originally I had issues getting my U3 to work on my desktop, so I got it up and going on my laptop... works great... problem is when I have to use my laptop for work, I have to VPN into my work, so I can't get pools to work anymore... so I had to move it back to my desktop...

I get CGMiner to work on my desktop where it recognizes the U3 now, after wiping out all device manager hidden devices and what not with it unplugged... problem is now it can see the device but it keeps saying:

Pool 0 difficulty changed to 32
And it never starts up... my URL, User, and Password is the exact same as on my laptop, but doesn't seem to work.

I can connect to GHash.IO's pool just fine though...



I might not be much help with connection issues but curious where you bought your U3 and how much did you pay for it?

Are you antivirus programs the same on both computers? Maybe it is blocking the port needed to connect to the stratum server. Also do you have to enter a USB ID into cgminer? If so, that would change between computers. Sounds like the program is seeing the stratum server but not your U3. If you are on a USB hub, try a USB port directly on computer and not a hub. Good luck getting it working. I have an Antminer S3 but every intriqued by these devices and would not mind owning one.

Buy a Trezor and Protect your BTC, BCH, BTG, DASH, LTC, DGB, ZEC, ETH and ETC from hackers.
If I was helpful please buy me a coffee BTC: 1DWK7vBaxcTC5Wd2nQwLGEoy8xdFVzGKLK  BTG: AWvN1iBqCUqG2tEh3XoVvRbdcGrAzfBBpW
If I was helpful please buy me a burger DGB: DLASV6CUQpGtGSyaVz5FYuu5YxZ17MoGQz
Speedster1978
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 17, 2014, 05:29:29 PM
 #19856

Anyone else having issues with Slush's Pool right now?

I'm trying to figure out a weird issue...

Originally I had issues getting my U3 to work on my desktop, so I got it up and going on my laptop... works great... problem is when I have to use my laptop for work, I have to VPN into my work, so I can't get pools to work anymore... so I had to move it back to my desktop...

I get CGMiner to work on my desktop where it recognizes the U3 now, after wiping out all device manager hidden devices and what not with it unplugged... problem is now it can see the device but it keeps saying:

Pool 0 difficulty changed to 32
And it never starts up... my URL, User, and Password is the exact same as on my laptop, but doesn't seem to work.

I can connect to GHash.IO's pool just fine though...



I might not be much help with connection issues but curious where you bought your U3 and how much did you pay for it?

Are you antivirus programs the same on both computers? Maybe it is blocking the port needed to connect to the stratum server. Also do you have to enter a USB ID into cgminer? If so, that would change between computers. Sounds like the program is seeing the stratum server but not your U3. If you are on a USB hub, try a USB port directly on computer and not a hub. Good luck getting it working. I have an Antminer S3 but every intriqued by these devices and would not mind owning one.

What's confusing is I can connect to GHash.IO's pool just fine but not Slush's Pool right now... so hardware is working fine... it's something going on with just that one pool...

I paid $120 including shipping for it... once I get my S3's this week and my S4 soon after, was debating on selling the U3 as I like the standalone miner idea better then having to keep my PC on for this USB miner.

___ dock.io _______Decentralized professional data exchange powered by Ethereum_______
WHITEPAPER     █ █ █ █     FACEBOOK     TWITTER     TELEGRAM     █ █ █ █     ANN THREAD
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  ● ⚫ ●  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
jackbox
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1024



View Profile
November 17, 2014, 05:40:02 PM
 #19857


What do you have the minimum difficulty set for the U3 worker in Slush pool. If set for 256 it might be a bit much for that unit. I would suggest logging in and setting minimum difficulty level to 32 for a U3.

Buy a Trezor and Protect your BTC, BCH, BTG, DASH, LTC, DGB, ZEC, ETH and ETC from hackers.
If I was helpful please buy me a coffee BTC: 1DWK7vBaxcTC5Wd2nQwLGEoy8xdFVzGKLK  BTG: AWvN1iBqCUqG2tEh3XoVvRbdcGrAzfBBpW
If I was helpful please buy me a burger DGB: DLASV6CUQpGtGSyaVz5FYuu5YxZ17MoGQz
TvaiX
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 17, 2014, 09:33:57 PM
 #19858

Last week was a good one @ Slush's Pool  Grin

Yea, but now pools performance keeps rising.
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
November 17, 2014, 09:47:17 PM
 #19859

Something to shout about!

http://beta.mining.bitcoin.cz/

http://satoshilabs.com/news/2014-11-17-slush-pool-beta-released-while-others-shut-down-we-move-forward/

Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
November 17, 2014, 10:05:53 PM
 #19860


I can't find the statistics tab on the new site?

Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
Pages: « 1 ... 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 978 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 [993] 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 1018 1019 1020 1021 1022 1023 1024 1025 1026 1027 1028 1029 1030 1031 1032 1033 1034 1035 1036 1037 1038 1039 1040 1041 1042 1043 ... 1155 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!