Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 10:39:48 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3160 (80.5%)
Bank transfer / USD - 407 (10.4%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 359 (9.1%)
Total Voters: 3924

Pages: « 1 ... 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 [959] 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 978 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 ... 1105 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [40+ PH] SlushPool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 3933529 times)
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 11, 2014, 06:28:25 PM
 #19161

I KNOW, everything is a mess at the moment.  I'm about to hook up another S3 that just came in the mail about 2 minutes ago.  Two other S3's came in the mail yesterday that you do not see in this pic.  They are up and running as well.  One of those two is sitting on the bottom shelf to the far right with a Corsair AX860 next to it.  All of my PSU's are AX860 Platinum.

Don't mind the knife.  I just used it to open up a box that contained the S3 you see next to the PSU.  All other PSU's are behind the other S3's.  A box fan is to the left and blowing the heat to the right of the rack towards a window with another box fan facing outward to suck the hot air outside.

BIG PLANS in the works for commercial grade exhaust fans and relocation of the rack in front of the exhaust fan.  I need to run new wiring and receptacles (outlets) to that location as well from the new sub panel I'm installing.

It's a work in progress...  I'll post more pictures later.

I need to get some gas to mow and edge the yard as soon as I get this S3 hooked up that just came in the mail.  I will have 13 S3's going.  3 more S3's will be here Monday.  Hoped they would arrive today but tracking shows them arriving Monday via FedEx.

I'm at the final table of a 10M Poker Stars play money tourney.  4 of us left at the final table.  

I'll get on the new S3 and the yard when it's over.  LOL  Grin Grin Grin Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy



BTC ADDRESS:
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481409588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409588
Reply with quote  #2

1481409588
Report to moderator
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
October 11, 2014, 06:33:19 PM
 #19162


What do I do after uploading to posting.com?  I inserted in an "insert image" then previewed and the image does not show in preview.  Do I first have to do a "hyper link" to postimg.com and then do an "insert image" inside of the "hyper link?"

Actually, you do NOT need to have it as https.
When you upload to postimg.com you'll get a dialog like this:
EDIT: >>> img redacted <<<<

The all you do is select the copy to clipboard button next to the Direct Link and paste the link in a message here.
Finally, select the link inside the message and click on the Insert Image button, voilla!

EDIT2: Ah! I see you managed to sort that out ...

dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 11, 2014, 06:38:46 PM
 #19163


What do I do after uploading to posting.com?  I inserted in an "insert image" then previewed and the image does not show in preview.  Do I first have to do a "hyper link" to postimg.com and then do an "insert image" inside of the "hyper link?"

Actually, you do NOT need to have it as https.
When you upload to postimg.com you'll get a dialog like this:

The all you do is select the copy to clipboard button next to the Direct Link and paste the link in a message here.
Finally, select the link inside the message and click on the Insert Image button, voilla!

Thank you.

I was able to figure it out.

Still 4 of us left at the final table in the 10M Poker Stars play money tourney.  I NEED TO GET ON THE YARD.  Neighbors house up for sale next door.  Do not want to leave a bad impression on potential new neighbors.

BTC ADDRESS:
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 11, 2014, 06:41:39 PM
 #19164


What do I do after uploading to posting.com?  I inserted in an "insert image" then previewed and the image does not show in preview.  Do I first have to do a "hyper link" to postimg.com and then do an "insert image" inside of the "hyper link?"

Actually, you do NOT need to have it as https.
When you upload to postimg.com you'll get a dialog like this:
EDIT: >>> img redacted <<<<

The all you do is select the copy to clipboard button next to the Direct Link and paste the link in a message here.
Finally, select the link inside the message and click on the Insert Image button, voilla!

EDIT2: Ah! I see you managed to sort that out ...

Yes, thanks for the help everyone!!!

BTC ADDRESS:
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
October 11, 2014, 06:42:01 PM
 #19165


What do I do after uploading to posting.com?  I inserted in an "insert image" then previewed and the image does not show in preview.  Do I first have to do a "hyper link" to postimg.com and then do an "insert image" inside of the "hyper link?"

Actually, you do NOT need to have it as https.
When you upload to postimg.com you'll get a dialog like this:

The all you do is select the copy to clipboard button next to the Direct Link and paste the link in a message here.
Finally, select the link inside the message and click on the Insert Image button, voilla!

Thank you.

I was able to figure it out.

Still 4 of us left at the final table in the 10M Poker Stars play money tourney.  I NEED TO GET ON THE YARD.  Neighbors house up for sale next door.  Do not want to leave a bad impression on potential new neighbors.

No worries ... do what you have to do!
Impressive farm you have out there ..... but you can reduce your investment by steering clear of OFF-THE-SHELF psu's and opting for server psu's if you are not afraid to get your hands dirty. (just my 2 cents)

dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 11, 2014, 06:46:07 PM
 #19166


What do I do after uploading to posting.com?  I inserted in an "insert image" then previewed and the image does not show in preview.  Do I first have to do a "hyper link" to postimg.com and then do an "insert image" inside of the "hyper link?"

Actually, you do NOT need to have it as https.
When you upload to postimg.com you'll get a dialog like this:

The all you do is select the copy to clipboard button next to the Direct Link and paste the link in a message here.
Finally, select the link inside the message and click on the Insert Image button, voilla!

Thank you for the comment.  It's still small but a work in progress.

I was able to figure it out.

Still 4 of us left at the final table in the 10M Poker Stars play money tourney.  I NEED TO GET ON THE YARD.  Neighbors house up for sale next door.  Do not want to leave a bad impression on potential new neighbors.

No worries ... do what you have to do!
Impressive farm you have out there ..... but you can reduce your investment by steering clear of OFF-THE-SHELF psu's and opting for server psu's if you are not afraid to get your hands dirty. (just my 2 cents)

Agreed...

I'm a stickler for good equipment!

Thought I could sell them on eBay and get some of my investment back if worse came to worse.

BTC ADDRESS:
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
October 11, 2014, 07:15:13 PM
 #19167


No worries ... do what you have to do!
Impressive farm you have out there ..... but you can reduce your investment by steering clear of OFF-THE-SHELF psu's and opting for server psu's if you are not afraid to get your hands dirty. (just my 2 cents)

Agreed...

I'm a stickler for good equipment!

Thought I could sell them on eBay and get some of my investment back if worse came to worse.
Fair enough for being a stickler for good (looking?) equipment, and yes, you can recoup some of the outlay by flogging the PSU's on ebay.
My approach to bitcoin mining is that the golden egg is the ASIC rig and not the PSU (though technically a rig has to include the PSU!), but seeing how quickly the ASIC rigs depreciate, I target the fastest route to ROI on the complete rig, and for that, a server PSU does the trick.

For my S3+'s, I use a Dell server PSU that I can get running for no more than 20 GBP (approx 30 USD), that including the PSU itself, all the wiring and the required 6 pin PCIe sockets. But then again, the PSU's I use may not work for you if you are not on a 230V supply. But that means that I treat the PSU as disposable and do not look to recoping anything from them (should the worst happen!), but in terms of good equipment, they sure are designed better than normal PC PSU's.

dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 11, 2014, 07:17:52 PM
 #19168


No worries ... do what you have to do!
Impressive farm you have out there ..... but you can reduce your investment by steering clear of OFF-THE-SHELF psu's and opting for server psu's if you are not afraid to get your hands dirty. (just my 2 cents)

Agreed...

I'm a stickler for good equipment!

Thought I could sell them on eBay and get some of my investment back if worse came to worse.
Fair enough for being a stickler for good (looking?) equipment, and yes, you can recoup some of the outlay by flogging the PSU's on ebay.
My approach to bitcoin mining is that the golden egg is the ASIC rig and not the PSU (though technically a rig has to include the PSU!), but seeing how quickly the ASIC rigs depreciate, I target the fastest route to ROI on the complete rig, and for that, a server PSU does the trick.

For my S3+'s, I use a Dell server PSU that I can get running for no more than 20 GBP (approx 30 USD), that including the PSU itself, all the wiring and the required 6 pin PCIe sockets. But then again, the PSU's I use may not work for you if you are not on a 230V supply. But that means that I treat the PSU as disposable, but in terms of good equipment, they sure are designed better than normal PC PSU's.

No, 120 volt.  I suppose I could set up a 230V receptacle.  However, I have already invested all I will invest in S3's with the PSU's I already have.  All I'm getting now are S4's from here on out.

I just finished eating.  Gotta go get gas for my mower now.  I keep my computer up all the time.  So, even though it says i'm online, it doesn't mean I'm at the computer.

Later guys.  Gotta do some work.

BTC ADDRESS:
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 11, 2014, 09:48:17 PM
 #19169

Finished mowing the yard.

Back inside and straightened up [just a little bit] after hooking up the 13th S3.  I am so looking forward to those other 3 S3's getting here Monday.

I'm chilling the rest of the day.  I'll work on the sub panel this evening [maybe] but most certainly tomorrow.

I've been remodeling the downstairs.  That is new tile on the floor.  That's also why you do not see base molding yet [remodeling].



48-Port Gigabit Rackmount Switch by TP-LINK
TL-SG1048

Highlights:
48 10/100/1000Mbps RJ45 ports
Innovative energy-efficient technology saves power up to 70%
Supports MAC address self-learning and auto MDI/MDIX
Standard 19-inch rack-mountable steel case

The 48-Port Gigabit Switch TL-SG1048 is designed to meet the needs of the most demanding workgroup and departmental connectivity requirements. A reliable, easy-to-use switch without the complexity of management, the TL-SG1048 provides 48 10/100/1000Mbps ports. The TL-SG1048 combines ease of use with unsurpassed performance resulting in an exceptional value for any cost-conscious network administrator who wants the best possible solution at the best possible price.


BTC ADDRESS:
Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
October 11, 2014, 10:16:57 PM
 #19170

I love new miner porn Roll Eyes

Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 11, 2014, 10:17:44 PM
 #19171

I love new miner porn Roll Eyes

LOL

 Grin Grin Grin

never heard it spoken that way before.

lol

BTC ADDRESS:
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
October 11, 2014, 10:43:34 PM
 #19172

Finished mowing the yard.

Back inside and straightened up [just a little bit] after hooking up the 13th S3.  I am so looking forward to those other 3 S3's getting here Monday.

I'm chilling the rest of the day.  I'll work on the sub panel this evening [maybe] but most certainly tomorrow.

I've been remodeling the downstairs.  That is new tile on the floor.  That's also why you do not see base molding yet [remodeling].

EDIT: >>> redacted image <<<



I think your next step will be to manage that exhaust efficiently, including that from the PSU's. With your setup, I'd be tempted to simply muzzle each exhaust fan and redirect either outside or to heating, but you have the PSU hest to contend with. I keep my rig in the garden (I built a fairly water-tight cubicle for them from scavenged kitchen cabinets) and simply exhaust it out, and the ambient is never that high (even in the just ended HOT summer here!).

dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 11, 2014, 10:44:32 PM
 #19173

i have no clue WHY they are keeping me at "activity 28." and a "newbie."  NO IDEA?

Somebody doesn't like me.

That's cool...

BTC ADDRESS:
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 11, 2014, 10:54:42 PM
 #19174

Finished mowing the yard.

Back inside and straightened up [just a little bit] after hooking up the 13th S3.  I am so looking forward to those other 3 S3's getting here Monday.

I'm chilling the rest of the day.  I'll work on the sub panel this evening [maybe] but most certainly tomorrow.

I've been remodeling the downstairs.  That is new tile on the floor.  That's also why you do not see base molding yet [remodeling].

EDIT: >>> redacted image <<<



I think your next step will be to manage that exhaust efficiently, including that from the PSU's. With your setup, I'd be tempted to simply muzzle each exhaust fan and redirect either outside or to heating, but you have the PSU hest to contend with. I keep my rig in the garden (I built a fairly water-tight cubicle for them from scavenged kitchen cabinets) and simply exhaust it out, and the ambient is never that high (even in the just ended HOT summer here!).


My plans are to build a cubical out of 2x4 framing and plywood walls with hinged doors for access RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE WINDOW.  

I want to have 3 exhaust fans.

1st for exhaust to suck heat out of the window during the summer with switch to turn off or on.
2nd to suck air into the cubical with switch to turn of or on.
3rd built up high in the cubical facing into the recreation room downstairs to turn on during the winter to heat the house.  The room is downstairs.  Heat rises and these things put out LOTS of heat.

It is a double hung window.  I'm taking the windows out and putting plywood in their place with holes cut into it for the exhaust fans.  I will put siding on the plywood from the outside to keep the plywood safe from water so it doesn't warp or mildew.

BTC ADDRESS:
dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 11, 2014, 11:10:03 PM
 #19175

I want to attach the following to the side of the inclosed cubical I build:  It is an air-conditioner for server cabinets.

$599.00 on Amazon.

GO TO THIS LINK:

http://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-SRCOOL12K-Portable-Conditioner/dp/B002XITVCK/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1413068428&sr=1-1&keywords=server+air+conditioner

It got 4 out of 5 stars from 88 reviews.



BTC ADDRESS:
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
October 11, 2014, 11:12:35 PM
 #19176


My plans are to build a cubical out of 2x4 framing and plywood walls with hinged doors for access RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE WINDOW.  

I want to have 3 exhaust fans.

1st for exhaust to suck heat out of the window during the summer with switch to turn off or on.
2nd to suck air into the cubical with switch to turn of or on.
3rd built up high in the cubical facing into the recreation room downstairs to turn on during the winter to heat the house.  The room is downstairs.  Heat rises and these things put out LOTS of heat.

It is a double hung window.  I'm taking the windows out and putting plywood in their place with holes cut into it for the exhaust fans.  I will put siding on the plywood from the outside to keep the plywood safe from water so it doesn't warp or mildew.

You know I mentioned how fast ASIC rigs depreciate? If I were you, I'd desist from making major structural changes to your house to cater for a particular ASIC rig. And like you said, your next rigs are S4's and they may require a different setup to the S3's and in any case both of which may turn out to be obsolete within the year!

But yeah, using the heat exhausted for this winter's heating is definitely one I have on the radar too.

dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 11, 2014, 11:17:22 PM
 #19177


My plans are to build a cubical out of 2x4 framing and plywood walls with hinged doors for access RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE WINDOW.  

I want to have 3 exhaust fans.

1st for exhaust to suck heat out of the window during the summer with switch to turn off or on.
2nd to suck air into the cubical with switch to turn of or on.
3rd built up high in the cubical facing into the recreation room downstairs to turn on during the winter to heat the house.  The room is downstairs.  Heat rises and these things put out LOTS of heat.

It is a double hung window.  I'm taking the windows out and putting plywood in their place with holes cut into it for the exhaust fans.  I will put siding on the plywood from the outside to keep the plywood safe from water so it doesn't warp or mildew.

You know I mentioned how fast ASIC rigs depreciate? If I were you, I'd desist from making major structural changes to your house to cater for a particular ASIC rig. And like you said, your next rigs are S4's and they may require a different setup to the S3's and in any case both of which may turn out to be obsolete within the year!

But yeah, using the heat exhausted for this winter's heating is definitely one I have on the radar too.
It will be just this one set up.  I have 2 more empty shelves on top [that you do not see in the pic] and 1 empty on the bottom to hold my S4's.  Their is room for adjustment on the racks to make plenty of room for approximately 36 S4's turned on their sides IF I got rid of the S3's.  However, I don't have the AMPS in this house for 36 S4's.  17,000 to 18,000 watts is the max I will go.

BTC ADDRESS:
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
October 11, 2014, 11:19:02 PM
 #19178

I want to attach the following to the side of the inclosed cubical I build:  It is an air-conditioner for server cabinets.

$599.00 on Amazon.

SOMEBODY DOES NOT LIKE ME.

THEY WONT LET ME POST AN IMAGE NOW.

GO TO THIS LINK:

http://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-SRCOOL12K-Portable-Conditioner/dp/B002XITVCK/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1413068428&sr=1-1&keywords=server+air+conditioner

That is impressive! You sure are putting some outlay on your rigs! I wonder what hashing power for a set period you'd need to ROI with that installed? Saying that, is your best option mining in a pool rather than running your own P2Pool node? I've promised myself a couple of S4's (if I can get them in the next month) and I will then revert to my own node. I live near an exchange so latency "should" not be an issue.

dmwardjr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


The Few, The Proud, The BTC


View Profile
October 11, 2014, 11:25:08 PM
 #19179

I want to attach the following to the side of the inclosed cubical I build:  It is an air-conditioner for server cabinets.

$599.00 on Amazon.

SOMEBODY DOES NOT LIKE ME.

THEY WONT LET ME POST AN IMAGE NOW.

GO TO THIS LINK:

http://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-SRCOOL12K-Portable-Conditioner/dp/B002XITVCK/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1413068428&sr=1-1&keywords=server+air+conditioner

That is impressive! You sure are putting some outlay on your rigs! I wonder what hashing power for a set period you'd need to ROI with that installed? Saying that, is your best option mining in a pool rather than running your own P2Pool node? I've promised myself a couple of S4's (if I can get them in the next month) and I will then revert to my own node. I live near an exchange so latency "should" not be an issue.

LOL

I was actually looking into the same thing on P2Pool last night.  However, it is something else I have to look up on youtube and google to educate myself.



You see how much more room I have?  Don't forget the bottom shelf not in the picture.  I know there is room for at least 30 S4's

BTC ADDRESS:
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
October 11, 2014, 11:32:53 PM
 #19180

^^^^ No doubt, you have enough space!
And neither am I so conversant with the merits of either, nevertheless, despite being in a different league than you are in terms of hashing power, I'll be running a node when I get my puny S4's on board!
BTW, you also may be ripe for mining through a proxy, but again not much guidance from this end!

EDIT: -Did you just see that? We won a 4 second block!

EDIT2: - Nooooo! Same block number!


Pages: « 1 ... 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 [959] 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 978 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 ... 1105 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!