Bitcoin Forum
November 27, 2021, 04:35:39 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 [80] 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official FutureBit Moonlander 2 Driver and Support Thread  (Read 69152 times)
fonzerrellie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000

The ultimate OG Yolo coin $TROLL pow+pos hybrid


View Profile
May 17, 2018, 01:27:24 AM
 #1581

I just received my device, followed the instructions... No device found...   I'm seeing people with "no device found" on here so I checked my recent windows updates (running windows 7 x64) which one should I roll back ? the only ones I'm seeing are MSE security updates, and a "monthly quality rollup" ??

does the device need to be in a special powered USB hub or are the regular USB's on mobo and case good enough?

seems to be a solid chip, will be extremely happy to get it hashing and plan to buy a few more

Make sure you downloaded the UART driver from silicon labs. To check if that loaded correctly go to your devices panel and you should see it under a COM device...otherwise something is going on with the silicon labs driver.

I got mine running on the new Windows update using the older generic silicon labs drivers.  
Uninstall the drivers and re-install these from the web site  v6.7.5.
They will no longer be listed in device manager under COM ports and "moonlander2".  
They will be listed as Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge (COMx)

Bob


Thanks a bunch it worked like a charm

#Expanse $EXP 500 transactions 4 .1 EXP 1st Clone of ETH
#Trollcoin  One Coin to $TROLL them all
DOGE, WAVES, LUX
1638030939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638030939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638030939
Reply with quote  #2

1638030939
Report to moderator
1638030939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638030939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638030939
Reply with quote  #2

1638030939
Report to moderator
1638030939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638030939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638030939
Reply with quote  #2

1638030939
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638030939
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638030939

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638030939
Reply with quote  #2

1638030939
Report to moderator
Buddy_hell
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 17, 2018, 07:25:04 AM
 #1582

To measure voltage you need to physically measure it - instructions on page 1 of this thread.

To change clock depends on version and how you are starting ./bfgminer. Again syntax i think is on page 1. on my setup i can do it through the start up scrypt and edit the command line there, or i go to the bfgminer config file and edit it there.

failing that if you are starting from command line with the the --set... command at the end.

hope that helps.



I posted below questions a few days ago. I have combed through several pages in this thread and wasn't able find a clear response/hint. Nobody seems to answer or try to help. I will repeat my questions and hope somebody can respond instead of ignoring my request:

1. How do I find MLD stick current mem voltage? Is there a command (I am using terminal in apple to communicate with bfg through raspi)
2. How do I adjust clock rate?  <-- Yes I know I found a command (--set MLD:clock=xxx) but I do not know where in terminal to put this command.

As you may see my MLD 1 has some issues and I want to check if voltage is causing this:

https://image.ibb.co/c9VEgJ/Screen_Shot_2018_05_17_at_09_18_02.png

I thought this was a support thread.  Huh



Hi guys,

I am pretty noob on the MLD, I've got two sticks mining LTC in litecoinpool using Plugable 60W 7 port USB 3 hub.
It is working.

But my issue is low average hashspeed. My 24H average 5880 KH/s. Especially one of the miners seems to be dropping to 2.3 Mh/s.
If I restart the BFG it goes up and then drops again. It often also stops hashing and then restarts automatically.

I think I mistakenly adjusted the memory voltage pot too much/too little. I am not sure what its current memory voltage is.
So I need to know where I can find its current memory voltage.  Core voltage is running around .725 so that should not be the issue.
Also I do not know how to adjust clock rate. Can anyone share a command.

By the way I am running this on a raspi 0 through IOS.

Anyone can help?

Cheers and thanks a lot!
Hoiberg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2018, 07:38:29 AM
 #1583

Thank you for the tips.

I am communicating with the MLDs through Linux, based on the raspi so will find the right place to enter the "–set MLD:clock=" command.

Also ordered some external fans to support the cooling of the sticks; we're getting hot weather here now that might be the reason for the high failur rate of one of my MLDs.

pyroandy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2018, 11:38:42 AM
 #1584

struggling now. Got the screen command to work and worked out how to reconnect ot the screen etc, but get a bfgminer not found error.......

guessing something went wrong in the process, any tips?

andy

Are you running headless?
Can you hook up a screen and a keyboard and mouse?
Buddy_hell
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2018, 08:56:09 PM
 #1585

Both.

I set up using a keyboard and mouse, then run the pi's and connect remote via VNC.

I have 9 ML2's ssplit over 3 RPIs and they exhibit similar levels of instability on v34 irrespective of USB hub, frequency or voltage settings. So hopeful for new version if i can get it running, but i get the missing bfgminer error.

andy

jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
May 19, 2018, 11:37:15 PM
 #1586

Finally got around to launching our site...check it out at futurebit.io!

If you are new and looking for a quick start guide to get your Moonlander 2 up and running as quickly as possible head to https://www.futurebit.io/getting-started/

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
fvineyard
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 134
Merit: 11


View Profile
May 19, 2018, 11:56:04 PM
 #1587

Nice job on the web site. Looks impressive.
pyroandy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 20, 2018, 11:59:29 AM
Last edit: May 20, 2018, 12:20:36 PM by pyroandy
 #1588

Both.

I set up using a keyboard and mouse, then run the pi's and connect remote via VNC.

I have 9 ML2's ssplit over 3 RPIs and they exhibit similar levels of instability on v34 irrespective of USB hub, frequency or voltage settings. So hopeful for new version if i can get it running, but i get the missing bfgminer error.

andy



Missing bfgminer is normally caused by communication problems with hubs. What hubs are you using? Have you updated your pi? Can you try 1 ML2 in one hub hooked up to the pi? Do you have a PC you can try the hub on? We are assuming you downloaded the library's needed, libjansson-dev and libcurl4-openssl-dev?
hercthx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 20, 2018, 06:42:27 PM
 #1589

Hi there! I seem to have run up against an error I cannot find a fix to. I'm running a Moonlander 2 on a windows 10 machine using bfgminer 5.4.3-38. I'm showing a " FutureBit Write error: No space left on device ". any ideas or help? stick is running zeros across the board, 0 work 0 HW, just the error cycling non stop.
pyroandy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 21, 2018, 12:13:01 PM
 #1590

Hi there! I seem to have run up against an error I cannot find a fix to. I'm running a Moonlander 2 on a windows 10 machine using bfgminer 5.4.3-38. I'm showing a " FutureBit Write error: No space left on device ". any ideas or help? stick is running zeros across the board, 0 work 0 HW, just the error cycling non stop.

Try Post #1581?
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
May 21, 2018, 04:17:36 PM
 #1591

Hi there! I seem to have run up against an error I cannot find a fix to. I'm running a Moonlander 2 on a windows 10 machine using bfgminer 5.4.3-38. I'm showing a " FutureBit Write error: No space left on device ". any ideas or help? stick is running zeros across the board, 0 work 0 HW, just the error cycling non stop.

Thats a rare driver bug ive run into...unpluging/repluging in the miner fixes it.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
Buddy_hell
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 21, 2018, 05:07:25 PM
 #1592

Both.

I set up using a keyboard and mouse, then run the pi's and connect remote via VNC.

I have 9 ML2's ssplit over 3 RPIs and they exhibit similar levels of instability on v34 irrespective of USB hub, frequency or voltage settings. So hopeful for new version if i can get it running, but i get the missing bfgminer error.

andy



Missing bfgminer is normally caused by communication problems with hubs. What hubs are you using? Have you updated your pi? Can you try 1 ML2 in one hub hooked up to the pi? Do you have a PC you can try the hub on? We are assuming you downloaded the library's needed, libjansson-dev and libcurl4-openssl-dev?

Tried it on two different RPI. executed update and upgrade commands prior to install. Running two different hubs - Orico 9 port runing 3 MLD 2s and an anker 7 port running 3 MLD 2s. Both have the same error.

i have the libjannson and libcurl libraries need to check on the others. I might try refresshing and the autoremove command to see if i have some orphaned routines causing issues.

Both hubs run fine under v34- especially if i use a modest difficulty etc. If i use a low difficulty coin they tend to fallover every hour.
pyroandy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 22, 2018, 04:16:39 PM
 #1593

Both.

I set up using a keyboard and mouse, then run the pi's and connect remote via VNC.

I have 9 ML2's ssplit over 3 RPIs and they exhibit similar levels of instability on v34 irrespective of USB hub, frequency or voltage settings. So hopeful for new version if i can get it running, but i get the missing bfgminer error.

andy



Missing bfgminer is normally caused by communication problems with hubs. What hubs are you using? Have you updated your pi? Can you try 1 ML2 in one hub hooked up to the pi? Do you have a PC you can try the hub on? We are assuming you downloaded the library's needed, libjansson-dev and libcurl4-openssl-dev?

Tried it on two different RPI. executed update and upgrade commands prior to install. Running two different hubs - Orico 9 port runing 3 MLD 2s and an anker 7 port running 3 MLD 2s. Both have the same error.

i have the libjannson and libcurl libraries need to check on the others. I might try refresshing and the autoremove command to see if i have some orphaned routines causing issues.

Both hubs run fine under v34- especially if i use a modest difficulty etc. If i use a low difficulty coin they tend to fallover every hour.

May I suggest a clean install of Raspbian, update it and then restart. Download the Libraries and restart again. Then install bfgminer.
Try one ML2 in one hub and work up from there. The Orico 9 port hub may struggle to run three ML2's with only a 30-watt power supply.
TheDoozer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 22, 2018, 08:09:29 PM
 #1594

I have a question about the Frequencies ....right now I'm running at 954 but I'm wondering, can I push further? HW errors are just under 1%  I'm keeping them quite cool and feel I have more headroom at higher frequencies....still have a good amount of voltage etc to play around with...anyone else running higher than 954?
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
May 22, 2018, 08:51:00 PM
 #1595

I have a question about the Frequencies ....right now I'm running at 954 but I'm wondering, can I push further? HW errors are just under 1%  I'm keeping them quite cool and feel I have more headroom at higher frequencies....still have a good amount of voltage etc to play around with...anyone else running higher than 954?

Its capped there for a reason. FYI the ASIC is rated for 700mhz continuous operation, I over-engineered the board/cooling so it could be pushed further. 954 is getting close to the max of what the main voltage regulator can handle, as well as currents the main ASIC can handle. Either way the PLL commands for frequencies are hard coded, so you can't go higher even if you wanted Wink

Maybe in a few months ill add a few higher frequencies in the source if people want compile on their own to deliberately blow up their moonlanders Smiley

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
TheDoozer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 22, 2018, 11:03:03 PM
 #1596

mine are actually doing really well as far as heat goes, didn't have to overvolt too much....I do have a 3500 rpm delta fan to help keep them cool but only running at 2100 rpm....the heatsinks slightly warm to the touch all in all working great at 954 (granted I'm just testing...I love overclocking things...I run em normally at 852/876
doroboNeko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 23, 2018, 02:36:31 AM
 #1597



You should see 5.4.2-38 at the top if your running the latest version.


It crashed again with segmentation fault although it was not running that specific version. It was running 5.2.0-243. How would i go about rebuilding for latest version?

That is the latest version...my fork is just stuck on 5.2 because thats when I forked it...should probably update that. How many units are you running, and what kind of system.

Just on unit on Gentoo.

Wanted to let everyone know that if you're running Gentoo, to check your CFLAGS/CXXFLAGS first. I forgot that i had changed them to some unsafe optimizations. I had gdb referring to libcurl.so when it segv, so i rebuilt curl package with standard safe c/cxxflags and it has been working without problem until now. If i don't respond to this in a couple days then you can assume that my problem has been solved   Grin. Crossing my fingers.
doroboNeko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 24, 2018, 02:13:18 AM
 #1598



You should see 5.4.2-38 at the top if your running the latest version.


It crashed again with segmentation fault although it was not running that specific version. It was running 5.2.0-243. How would i go about rebuilding for latest version?

That is the latest version...my fork is just stuck on 5.2 because thats when I forked it...should probably update that. How many units are you running, and what kind of system.

Just on unit on Gentoo.

Wanted to let everyone know that if you're running Gentoo, to check your CFLAGS/CXXFLAGS first. I forgot that i had changed them to some unsafe optimizations. I had gdb referring to libcurl.so when it segv, so i rebuilt curl package with standard safe c/cxxflags and it has been working without problem until now. If i don't respond to this in a couple days then you can assume that my problem has been solved   Grin. Crossing my fingers.

Nope. Is it wierd that gdb shows me that the program is using libcurl.so instead of libcurl-gnutls.so, and if so how do i make it link to the correct one? I don't know what else could be the problem beside that.
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1929
Merit: 1310


View Profile
May 24, 2018, 05:33:35 AM
 #1599



You should see 5.4.2-38 at the top if your running the latest version.


It crashed again with segmentation fault although it was not running that specific version. It was running 5.2.0-243. How would i go about rebuilding for latest version?

That is the latest version...my fork is just stuck on 5.2 because thats when I forked it...should probably update that. How many units are you running, and what kind of system.

Just on unit on Gentoo.

Wanted to let everyone know that if you're running Gentoo, to check your CFLAGS/CXXFLAGS first. I forgot that i had changed them to some unsafe optimizations. I had gdb referring to libcurl.so when it segv, so i rebuilt curl package with standard safe c/cxxflags and it has been working without problem until now. If i don't respond to this in a couple days then you can assume that my problem has been solved   Grin. Crossing my fingers.

Nope. Is it wierd that gdb shows me that the program is using libcurl.so instead of libcurl-gnutls.so, and if so how do i make it link to the correct one? I don't know what else could be the problem beside that.

Sound to me like your using some non standard libary that’s causing the issue. I would try doing a completely clean OS install and fresh install of dependencies then recompile.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
pavetherainforest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2018, 09:08:23 PM
 #1600

Hi, I have a fan question, i know it was talked about in the past, but i scanned the thread and couldn't find any conversations about it. so i have 9 moonlanders, but 2 of them are fairly noisy and 3 of them sound like a jet taking off in my office. i'm curious about replacing the fans on them, and was wondering what specs were ideal, and if anybody had a recommendation of a solid fan, that is also ideally as quiet as possible. i'm only running 4 of them currently, and it burns to not be running at full capacity.

I found these, which seem to be what's stock on the moonlander.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/5v-5-volt-25mm-7mm-25x7mm-9-Blade-Small-Micro-Axial-Flow-Blushless-DC-Cooling-Fan/32246944246.html?src=google&albslr=202576665&isdl=y&aff_short_key=UneMJZVf&source=%7Bifdyn:dyn%7D%7Bifpla:pla%7D%7Bifdbm:DBM&albch=DID%7D&src=google&albch=shopping&acnt=708-803-3821&isdl=y&albcp=653153647&albag=34728528644&slnk=&trgt=75384829977&plac=&crea=en32246944246&netw=g&device=c&mtctp=&aff_platform=google&gclid=Cj0KCQjw6J7YBRC4ARIsAJMXXsfcN7LaAp_bgF--sgLpQyiTSTgP4445wYqvHzns_OOOk1X2Mfi7OVkaAgEGEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

but there's also these, which instead of 5v is 24v. will this blow up my moonlander? hahaha
https://www.neweggbusiness.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIV1RM7AV5512&nm_mc=KNC-GoogleBizMKPL-PC&cm_mmc=KNC-GoogleBizMKPL-PC-_-pla-_-Case+Fans-_-9SIV1RM7AV5512&gclid=Cj0KCQjw6J7YBRC4ARIsAJMXXsdgF6RZSzd8o9yOZDXdN-KaBf_sFfGtR_pkngS8u_4G8EssB2A5X8waAq6kEALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

if anyone has replaced their fans and are happy with their results, please let me know. dying to get back up to full capacity. thanks!!
Pages: « 1 ... 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 [80] 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!