Bitcoin Forum
August 19, 2019, 12:52:20 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 [117] 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Setup & Troubleshoot] Bitmain AntMiner S1 180GH/S miner  (Read 447597 times)
jayman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 04:35:07 AM
Last edit: March 25, 2014, 05:03:48 AM by jayman
 #2321

i so far have 3 ant miners with another 2 coming i'm noticing on the 1st one i ordered about 6weeks or so ago it doesn't have a few green lights the other 2 have, also the fan is different and the results are alot of HW errors, running 5-7 degrees hotter, and fan running faster. My ants aren't OC and the other 2 i have hardly ever give HW errors. I've noticed previously in other posts some people saying similar things about having a dodgy ant. I've been happy with bitmain, top service, cheap and all i just hope they don't try slip in dodgy old units now and again to try get rid of them well atleast i can still use it but it loses 1/4 of shares. Anyone know how to fix units like this or is it just too bad ?


1566175940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566175940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566175940
Reply with quote  #2

1566175940
Report to moderator
1566175940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566175940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566175940
Reply with quote  #2

1566175940
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1566175940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566175940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566175940
Reply with quote  #2

1566175940
Report to moderator
1566175940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566175940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566175940
Reply with quote  #2

1566175940
Report to moderator
1566175940
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566175940

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566175940
Reply with quote  #2

1566175940
Report to moderator
Raptor2213
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 04:36:51 AM
 #2322

Has anyone measured how much power an Antminer at 400Mhz consumes?

Did something I say help you out?    BTC - 18oTipf66z8dbwTgRCiPjbdPmqEP7zuCFb
pjviitas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 04:42:16 AM
 #2323

Has anyone measured how much power an Antminer at 400Mhz consumes?

3 x O/C Ants each with their own 850W Bronze PSU draws about 1280W at the wall.

So that's about 425W each.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 04:52:07 AM
 #2324

Has anyone measured how much power an Antminer at 400Mhz consumes?

3 x O/C Ants each with their own 850W Bronze PSU draws about 1280W at the wall.

So that's about 425W each.

Im actually running 3 overclocked to 387.5MHz on a AX1200 gold PSU.  however, i think that 2 of them need to be tweaked to 375 because the hw error rates are a tad high and it would ease the load on the psu slightly

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
jimrome
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 446
Merit: 250


Earn with impressio.io


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 05:28:03 AM
 #2325

i so far have 3 ant miners with another 2 coming i'm noticing on the 1st one i ordered about 6weeks or so ago it doesn't have a few green lights the other 2 have, also the fan is different and the results are alot of HW errors, running 5-7 degrees hotter, and fan running faster. My ants aren't OC and the other 2 i have hardly ever give HW errors. I've noticed previously in other posts some people saying similar things about having a dodgy ant. I've been happy with bitmain, top service, cheap and all i just hope they don't try slip in dodgy old units now and again to try get rid of them well atleast i can still use it but it loses 1/4 of shares. Anyone know how to fix units like this or is it just too bad


Yeah, the quality is hit or miss. Extremely frustrating.

a few things to check/try on your "dodgy" ant:
- heatsink: are screws tight, is amount of paste appropriate (I've seen both too much and too little used)
- Download and install Kano's cgminer binaries, as it seems that Bitmain has stopped firmware development on this product. This leaves the firmware essentially incomplete, with basic features broken.
- Replace the fan and/or add a pull fan on the front
- Run stock fan at full 12V by disabling PWM (e.g. by disabling fan header pin 4 or switching to a standard, non-PWM, fan.). Invest in a pair of good ear plugs.

.▄███     ██████     ███▄
██████   ███████   ██████
 ██████ ██████████ ██████
  ██████████████████████
   █████████  ████████
    ██████    ██████
    ███████    ██████
   █████████  █████████
  ██████████████████████
 ██████ ██████████ ██████
██████   ██████   ██████
 ▀███     ██████     ███▀
IMPRESSIO     ▄███████████████▄
     ██             ██
     ▀███████████████▀
           ██ ██
           ██ ██
       ▄▄█████████▄▄ ▄███▄
    ▄███▀▀       ▀▀████ ▀██▄
  ▄██▀   ▄▄█████▄▄   ▀██▄ ██
 ▄██  ▄███  █  █████▄  ██▄█▀
 ██  ███         █████  ██
██  ██████  ███   █████  ██
██  ██████  ▀▀▀  ▄█████  ██
██  ██████  ▄▄▄▄  █████  ██
██  ██████  ████   ████  ██
 ██  ███          ████  ██
 ▀██  ▀███  █  █████▀  ██▀
  ▀██▄   ▀▀█████▀▀   ▄██▀
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
Fior Sirtheoir
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 06:19:35 AM
 #2326

Been doing some ready, has the remote pool switching been fixed in CG miner.  I have been reading on this as pool switching is something I would like to do on my own, but to access each miner and change the settings is a pain.  Can anyone point me in the direction to get this done?
Raptor2213
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 06:32:16 AM
 #2327

- Download and install Kano's cgminer binaries, as it seems that Bitmain has stopped firmware development on this product. This leaves the firmware essentially incomplete, with basic features broken.

What binaries?

Did something I say help you out?    BTC - 18oTipf66z8dbwTgRCiPjbdPmqEP7zuCFb
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 25, 2014, 07:21:42 AM
 #2328

- Download and install Kano's cgminer binaries, as it seems that Bitmain has stopped firmware development on this product. This leaves the firmware essentially incomplete, with basic features broken.

What binaries?

These: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg5856097#msg5856097

smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1131



View Profile
March 25, 2014, 09:08:16 AM
 #2329

I've noticed a few of my ants are now showing x's in asic status. No idea how long this has been going on, but hash rate seems unaffected. Something I should pay attention to, or ignore it?

jayman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 10:44:57 AM
 #2330

i so far have 3 ant miners with another 2 coming i'm noticing on the 1st one i ordered about 6weeks or so ago it doesn't have a few green lights the other 2 have, also the fan is different and the results are alot of HW errors, running 5-7 degrees hotter, and fan running faster. My ants aren't OC and the other 2 i have hardly ever give HW errors. I've noticed previously in other posts some people saying similar things about having a dodgy ant. I've been happy with bitmain, top service, cheap and all i just hope they don't try slip in dodgy old units now and again to try get rid of them well atleast i can still use it but it loses 1/4 of shares. Anyone know how to fix units like this or is it just too bad


Yeah, the quality is hit or miss. Extremely frustrating.

a few things to check/try on your "dodgy" ant:
- heatsink: are screws tight, is amount of paste appropriate (I've seen both too much and too little used)
- Download and install Kano's cgminer binaries, as it seems that Bitmain has stopped firmware development on this product. This leaves the firmware essentially incomplete, with basic features broken.
- Replace the fan and/or add a pull fan on the front
- Run stock fan at full 12V by disabling PWM (e.g. by disabling fan header pin 4 or switching to a standard, non-PWM, fan.). Invest in a pair of good ear plugs.

Hey thanks for all the tips didn't know a few things you pointed out might try replacing the fan anyone know any really good fans? will have to go with PWM though as my wife will not be happy with such loud noises  Grin

Raptor2213
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 11:28:54 AM
 #2331

i so far have 3 ant miners with another 2 coming i'm noticing on the 1st one i ordered about 6weeks or so ago it doesn't have a few green lights the other 2 have, also the fan is different and the results are alot of HW errors, running 5-7 degrees hotter, and fan running faster. My ants aren't OC and the other 2 i have hardly ever give HW errors. I've noticed previously in other posts some people saying similar things about having a dodgy ant. I've been happy with bitmain, top service, cheap and all i just hope they don't try slip in dodgy old units now and again to try get rid of them well atleast i can still use it but it loses 1/4 of shares. Anyone know how to fix units like this or is it just too bad


Yeah, the quality is hit or miss. Extremely frustrating.

a few things to check/try on your "dodgy" ant:
- heatsink: are screws tight, is amount of paste appropriate (I've seen both too much and too little used)
- Download and install Kano's cgminer binaries, as it seems that Bitmain has stopped firmware development on this product. This leaves the firmware essentially incomplete, with basic features broken.
- Replace the fan and/or add a pull fan on the front
- Run stock fan at full 12V by disabling PWM (e.g. by disabling fan header pin 4 or switching to a standard, non-PWM, fan.). Invest in a pair of good ear plugs.

Hey thanks for all the tips didn't know a few things you pointed out might try replacing the fan anyone know any really good fans? will have to go with PWM though as my wife will not be happy with such loud noises  Grin

The bgears fan I posted about earlier pushes a lot of air and is reasonably quiet.  Cheap too.  You'll need to get some M.4 30mm screws from your local hardware store and a fan grill though.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835132022
I've been using two of them for two years as CPU fans without any issues.

Did something I say help you out?    BTC - 18oTipf66z8dbwTgRCiPjbdPmqEP7zuCFb
Biontic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121
Merit: 100

HodL tight, it's gonna get wild


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2014, 11:42:59 AM
 #2332

what is the freq_value for the 393.75 chip freq does anyone know

        option 'freq_value'     '5f05'   #393.75M
        option 'chip_freq'      '393.75'
        option 'timeout'        '38'

Imho - this is the optimal setting, it uses marginally less power then oc'ing to 400, gives you close enough to 200GH/s and effectively means you are not paying for HW errors.

"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself.
 Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man." ~George Bernard Shaw
moesab
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 03:34:18 PM
 #2333


Probably will go for a normal fan next time...not the PWM fans.

If you clip the white wire on the fan, it will disconnect the PWM and it will run full speed all of the time, if that's what you are looking to do.

Yeah I know but that's not what I'm looking for... As why pay more for a PWM fan and then not use the PWM function...?

I'll probably use some cheap fans...or some used ones....
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 04:48:38 PM
 #2334

i so far have 3 ant miners with another 2 coming i'm noticing on the 1st one i ordered about 6weeks or so ago it doesn't have a few green lights the other 2 have, also the fan is different and the results are alot of HW errors, running 5-7 degrees hotter, and fan running faster. My ants aren't OC and the other 2 i have hardly ever give HW errors. I've noticed previously in other posts some people saying similar things about having a dodgy ant. I've been happy with bitmain, top service, cheap and all i just hope they don't try slip in dodgy old units now and again to try get rid of them well atleast i can still use it but it loses 1/4 of shares. Anyone know how to fix units like this or is it just too bad


Yeah, the quality is hit or miss. Extremely frustrating.

a few things to check/try on your "dodgy" ant:
- heatsink: are screws tight, is amount of paste appropriate (I've seen both too much and too little used)
- Download and install Kano's cgminer binaries, as it seems that Bitmain has stopped firmware development on this product. This leaves the firmware essentially incomplete, with basic features broken.
- Replace the fan and/or add a pull fan on the front
- Run stock fan at full 12V by disabling PWM (e.g. by disabling fan header pin 4 or switching to a standard, non-PWM, fan.). Invest in a pair of good ear plugs.

all these are true, particularly checking the screws. usually almost everyt screw can benefit from an extra 1/8th turn, and there is often -3 screws per unit that need 1/3 turn of more.

My last 5 miners that arrived together were like that. no thermal goo leaks thankfully (my prior order of three needed alcohol cleaning on ALL SIX BLADES), but most of the screws benefitted from a quick tension check and 1 screw actually managed to not be screwed in at all. I pulled the miner out of its mylar bag and watched the screw fall out and slip through the grated flooring to be lost somewhere below Sad

^I tightened all the nearby screws and theres no issues with it - just 1 hole that is missing its screw

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
jimrome
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 446
Merit: 250


Earn with impressio.io


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 06:25:46 PM
 #2335

i so far have 3 ant miners with another 2 coming i'm noticing on the 1st one i ordered about 6weeks or so ago it doesn't have a few green lights the other 2 have, also the fan is different and the results are alot of HW errors, running 5-7 degrees hotter, and fan running faster. My ants aren't OC and the other 2 i have hardly ever give HW errors. I've noticed previously in other posts some people saying similar things about having a dodgy ant. I've been happy with bitmain, top service, cheap and all i just hope they don't try slip in dodgy old units now and again to try get rid of them well atleast i can still use it but it loses 1/4 of shares. Anyone know how to fix units like this or is it just too bad


Yeah, the quality is hit or miss. Extremely frustrating.

a few things to check/try on your "dodgy" ant:
- heatsink: are screws tight, is amount of paste appropriate (I've seen both too much and too little used)
- Download and install Kano's cgminer binaries, as it seems that Bitmain has stopped firmware development on this product. This leaves the firmware essentially incomplete, with basic features broken.
- Replace the fan and/or add a pull fan on the front
- Run stock fan at full 12V by disabling PWM (e.g. by disabling fan header pin 4 or switching to a standard, non-PWM, fan.). Invest in a pair of good ear plugs.

Hey thanks for all the tips didn't know a few things you pointed out might try replacing the fan anyone know any really good fans? will have to go with PWM though as my wife will not be happy with such loud noises  Grin

The bgears fan I posted about earlier pushes a lot of air and is reasonably quiet.  Cheap too.  You'll need to get some M.4 30mm screws from your local hardware store and a fan grill though.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835132022
I've been using two of them for two years as CPU fans without any issues.

I'd suggest nmb/mat FBA12G12U1BX (~2700RPM, >110CFM, static pressure >.3 h20) if you can find them, which can be tricky as they are manufacturer discontinued. They do have a replacement part but I have no experience with it.

The FBA12G12U1BX moves a ton of air (comparable to the stock fans provided with the S1 at 12V) but are much quieter. They are far from quiet, but the the noise (to my ear) is much more tolerable, reminds me of loud white noise and rushing air rather than the high pitched (infuriating) whine the stock fans can develop.

FYI: an important spec to look at is not only the raw CFM, but also the static pressure figure.

.▄███     ██████     ███▄
██████   ███████   ██████
 ██████ ██████████ ██████
  ██████████████████████
   █████████  ████████
    ██████    ██████
    ███████    ██████
   █████████  █████████
  ██████████████████████
 ██████ ██████████ ██████
██████   ██████   ██████
 ▀███     ██████     ███▀
IMPRESSIO     ▄███████████████▄
     ██             ██
     ▀███████████████▀
           ██ ██
           ██ ██
       ▄▄█████████▄▄ ▄███▄
    ▄███▀▀       ▀▀████ ▀██▄
  ▄██▀   ▄▄█████▄▄   ▀██▄ ██
 ▄██  ▄███  █  █████▄  ██▄█▀
 ██  ███         █████  ██
██  ██████  ███   █████  ██
██  ██████  ▀▀▀  ▄█████  ██
██  ██████  ▄▄▄▄  █████  ██
██  ██████  ████   ████  ██
 ██  ███          ████  ██
 ▀██  ▀███  █  █████▀  ██▀
  ▀██▄   ▀▀█████▀▀   ▄██▀
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
BitcoinValet
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 09:19:12 PM
 #2336

I setup a new antminer today, but am having trouble getting it to connect to my pool. I am trying to connect to my BTCGuild pool, but no mater how I configure the setting, it is showing as dead. If I leave the pools from the default settings, the first one can connect, and the other 2 show dead.

Has anyone else had this issue? Is there a better pool that is easier to point these to?

n3xus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 02:08:07 AM
 #2337

I setup a new antminer today, but am having trouble getting it to connect to my pool. I am trying to connect to my BTCGuild pool, but no mater how I configure the setting, it is showing as dead. If I leave the pools from the default settings, the first one can connect, and the other 2 show dead.

Has anyone else had this issue? Is there a better pool that is easier to point these to?

use this Pool: Stratum.btcguild.com:3333
and I know eleuthria was having some issue's but I think they are fixed.
It sometimes takes a min to connect

ryliou
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 04:19:16 AM
 #2338

what is the freq_value for the 393.75 chip freq does anyone know

        option 'freq_value'     '5f05'   #393.75M
        option 'chip_freq'      '393.75'
        option 'timeout'        '38'

Imho - this is the optimal setting, it uses marginally less power then oc'ing to 400, gives you close enough to 200GH/s and effectively means you are not paying for HW errors.
Anyboday know how to setup Antminer to use Wifi? My setup didn't work right if I pull internet cable out.
------
Network Status Actions
LAN
 ()
br-lan Uptime: 0h 0m 0s
MAC-Address:
RX: 0.00 B (0 Pkts.)
TX: 0.00 B (0 Pkts.)
     
WWAN

Client "GRK7P" Uptime: 1d 11h 25m 48s
MAC-Address:
RX: 31.46 MB (101188 Pkts.)
TX: 11.12 MB (79710 Pkts.)
IPv4: 192.168.1.191/24
     
WAN
 ()
br-wan Uptime: 1d 11h 25m 56s
MAC-Address:
RX: 24.17 MB (132310 Pkts.)
TX: 2.36 MB (10074 Pkts.)
IPv4: 192.168.1.201/24
     
 
faustus66
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 07:21:23 AM
 #2339

Hi,

Having trouble getting one of my ants up and running. It's been running non-stop for over a month but today had to be powered off for a switchboard upgrade.

It powers back on but sits there with the lights on the controller board, one red constant, one green flashing around a second on/off. All the other ants on the same power circuit came back on no problem.

The network cable light is on green but the amber side is off. The lan light at the hub is off.

I've tried a known working network cable and hub port. I've also tried the reset button which does not seem to have any visible effect (is there a definitive duration for the button push to reset?).

Any advice on what to try next before looking at an RMA?

Cheers
Jacques21
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 08:45:55 AM
 #2340

if anyone can help me to setup my antminer s1 through teamviewer or skype, i will pay 2 litecoins. Send me a PM

Thanks
Pages: « 1 ... 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 [117] 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!