Bitcoin Forum
June 18, 2021, 07:03:35 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 [95] 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 ... 326 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [DEAD] DeepBit.net PPS+Prop,instant payouts, we pay for INVALID BLOCKS too  (Read 1599523 times)
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 28, 2011, 10:24:15 AM
 #1881

One more question
I got 12 confirmations. Is that all, Or I'd need more?
Is it 1 confirmation for each BTC transacted?
like If I am to receive 100 BTCs I'll need 100+ confirmations?
It depends on your confidence in that transaction.
If you know that it's real and not some kind of fraud, then you may spend it just after the first confirmation.

If you want to be sure - you may need to wait for 2-6 confirmations before doing something like shipping a package to your buyer.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Takamsda
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 10:51:56 AM
 #1882

Thank you! =P

It depends on your confidence in that transaction.
If you know that it's real and not some kind of fraud, then you may spend it just after the first confirmation.

If you want to be sure - you may need to wait for 2-6 confirmations before doing something like shipping a package to your buyer.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 03:02:12 PM
 #1883

GAH!, my miner shutdown two of it's four GPU's due to heat overnight!
Email warnings please? how long?

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
mjsbuddha
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


yung lean


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 03:08:48 PM
 #1884

GAH!, my miner shutdown two of it's four GPU's due to heat overnight!
Email warnings please? how long?

+1 ETA on email notifications?
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 28, 2011, 03:49:59 PM
 #1885

GAH!, my miner shutdown two of it's four GPU's due to heat overnight!
Email warnings please? how long?
+1 ETA on email notifications?
I'm thinking about it right now.
I can't give you exact time at this moment because it may be not precise enough, but I will post an update on this information in next 15 hours.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 03:52:25 PM
 #1886

GAH!, my miner shutdown two of it's four GPU's due to heat overnight!
Email warnings please? how long?
+1 ETA on email notifications?
I'm thinking about it right now.
I can't give you exact time at this moment because it may be not precise enough, but I will post an update on this information in next 15 hours.

great man!

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 28, 2011, 04:12:34 PM
 #1887

GAH!, my miner shutdown two of it's four GPU's due to heat overnight!
Email warnings please? how long?

Don't let that happen too many times or you really risk damage to your card.  Those are emergency shutdowns.  You really need to work on air flow.  Check out MSI Afterburner if you are running Windows and consider cooling options if you can't get it controlled with your existing hardware [just running with your case open can help].

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 04:39:38 PM
 #1888

GAH!, my miner shutdown two of it's four GPU's due to heat overnight!
Email warnings please? how long?

Don't let that happen too many times or you really risk damage to your card.  Those are emergency shutdowns.  You really need to work on air flow.  Check out MSI Afterburner if you are running Windows and consider cooling options if you can't get it controlled with your existing hardware [just running with your case open can help].

My OS lockedup due to a Schedualded Defrag AKA Fans didnt auto tune upwards to compensate for the heat

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 28, 2011, 04:59:47 PM
 #1889


Don't let that happen too many times or you really risk damage to your card.  Those are emergency shutdowns.  You really need to work on air flow.  Check out MSI Afterburner if you are running Windows and consider cooling options if you can't get it controlled with your existing hardware [just running with your case open can help].

My OS lockedup due to a Schedualded Defrag AKA Fans didnt auto tune upwards to compensate for the heat

So your hard drive(s) are running just a little hotter?  That tells me that you are running your cards too hot all the time.  I keep my cards between abut 75C and 78C (depends on room temperature ... I use a custom fan profile on one machine to keep the temperature where I want it using MSI Afterburner).  The machines that run in my basement [although one is down waiting for a CPU] use a constant fan speed since the temperature down there changes very little.

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
VastLite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 05:44:59 PM
 #1890

Maybe the defrag was cpu-intensive? Honestly I haven't payed attention to them since switching to windows 7 so I have no idea how they are anymore; I don't even know if I have mine scheduled for all drives...
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 502



View Profile
May 28, 2011, 07:20:43 PM
 #1891

I leave! I will give the BTC
This increase of difficulty on 80 % has made for me unprofitable to continue.
It is ready to give the last 3.85 BTC to the one who will send me 0.1 BTC (I will send on the same address)
1P9q1WhXLs3iKy1aHiCqGcnf7dfJo46oXg
This is the "lastminer" scammer, back to its old tricks. Ignore it, and whatever you do - don't send it any BTC!

This space intentionally left blank.
dourox11uk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0



View Profile
May 28, 2011, 07:30:51 PM
 #1892

GAH!, my miner shutdown two of it's four GPU's due to heat overnight!
Email warnings please? how long?
+1 ETA on email notifications?
I'm thinking about it right now.
I can't give you exact time at this moment because it may be not precise enough, but I will post an update on this information in next 15 hours.
Hello,

would be nice to see ETA on all other useful features!  Roll Eyes
Gradius
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 08:07:16 PM
 #1893

Would I be correct in assuming that the pool was down for a bit today and that's why the rewards for about 6-7 hours were "none?"
minerX
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 10:57:39 PM
 #1894

I have a problem where my internet randomly disconnects me and requires my computer to restart.  I'm pretty sad about it.   Any of you guys know a trick to tell the computer to restart when this happens?

Maybe an idle task or something?   Or I was thinking a batch ping file that ran every hour or something... Hmm.
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 29, 2011, 12:52:56 AM
 #1895

Seems long polling notifications are coming a little too late in many cases.  Look at the following.

[28/05/2011 19:46:36] Result: b7e9b22d accepted
[28/05/2011 19:46:55] Result: c941723a accepted
[28/05/2011 19:47:08] Result: 6a3f8cad rejected
[28/05/2011 19:47:08] LP: New work pushed
[28/05/2011 19:47:15] Result: 5f8f3e8d accepted
[28/05/2011 19:47:53] Result: 3730a2cf accepted

Is there anything that can be done about this?

After a lot of testing, I am seeing the reject counts in poclbm and phoenix (1.48 anyway) seem almost identical [for any given pool]. 

Thoughts?

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 29, 2011, 01:04:26 AM
 #1896

Make the Internet faster.

3KzNGwzRZ6SimWuFAgh4TnXzHpruHMZmV8
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 29, 2011, 01:18:58 AM
 #1897


Don't let that happen too many times or you really risk damage to your card.  Those are emergency shutdowns.  You really need to work on air flow.  Check out MSI Afterburner if you are running Windows and consider cooling options if you can't get it controlled with your existing hardware [just running with your case open can help].

My OS lockedup due to a Schedualded Defrag AKA Fans didnt auto tune upwards to compensate for the heat

So your hard drive(s) are running just a little hotter?  That tells me that you are running your cards too hot all the time.  I keep my cards between abut 75C and 78C (depends on room temperature ... I use a custom fan profile on one machine to keep the temperature where I want it using MSI Afterburner).  The machines that run in my basement [although one is down waiting for a CPU] use a constant fan speed since the temperature down there changes very little.

I Use MSIa fan profiles aswell, My cards run at 75°aswell, I had the "schedualer" service disabled but a registry value stating "perform first defrag?" was never answer, So when the OS went to call upon the schedualer to tell me to defrag, It sat there looping with requests until it filled my ram, Once my ram was full, My comp went "yo dude your ram is full, This is bad" and then Qued a system restart, Wich could not be done due to no schedualer service, So it flooded the ram as much as it possibly could with requests, Until for somereason my OS lockup and stop responding, At wich point my cards continued to mine somehow (i assume) Whilst the auto tune profile didnt update fan speeds in relation to card temperatures, Causing the cards to "restart" at 110°
The othercard, (i assume) never reached 110 because it's Next Door Neighbour in the case "restarted" but couldnt due to full ram.
I only know this because this is what the event viewer has recorded.

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 29, 2011, 02:43:18 AM
 #1898

Make the Internet faster.
Fast is definitely NOT the issue.  I have a very stable, low latency and fast connection (22Mbps/5Mbps down/up TCP/IP ... not ATM or DOCSIS frames which would imply a slight lower effective speed].  Testing against most any site in the United States or Canada results in nearly perfect results, at least through the Comcast network.  However, there is an international route in play here.

You are in part correct that it is an Internet issue, but the issue isn't speed (throughput).  See the results below.  The issue is occasional packet loss along the route.

100 ping packet test
Ping statistics for 46.4.99.204:
    Packets: Sent = 100, Received = 91, Lost = 9 (9% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 144ms, Maximum = 188ms, Average = 155ms

WHOIS shows I am being routed to German from the US
role:            Hetzner Online AG - Contact Role
address:         Hetzner Online AG
address:         Stuttgarter Straße 1
address:         D-91710 Gunzenhausen
address:         Germany

Traceroute shows a backbone issue between deepbit.net in Germany and my host
Tracing route to deepbit.net [46.4.99.204]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    14 ms     8 ms    10 ms  73.115.174.1
  2     9 ms    14 ms    12 ms  ge-9-1-ur02.hamlake.mn.minn.comcast.net [68.85.165.229]
  3    12 ms     9 ms    13 ms  te-0-3-0-2-ar01.roseville.mn.minn.comcast.net [68.87.174.70]
  4    22 ms    21 ms    19 ms  te-0-4-0-0-cr01.chicago.il.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.91.137]
  5    90 ms    57 ms    54 ms  pos-2-10-0-0-cr01.newyork.ny.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.86.113]
  6    54 ms    56 ms    54 ms  pos-0-4-0-0-pe01.111eighthave.ny.ibone.comcast.net [68.86.85.22]
  7    54 ms    54 ms    59 ms  nyk-s2-rou-1001.us.eurorings.net [75.149.228.126]
  8   135 ms   167 ms   136 ms  nntr-s1-rou-1021.FR.eurorings.net [134.222.226.166]
  9   135 ms   136 ms     *     nntr-s1-rou-1022.FR.eurorings.net [134.222.231.154]
 10   141 ms   142 ms   140 ms  ffm-s1-rou-1022.DE.eurorings.net [134.222.229.30]
 11   144 ms   155 ms   156 ms  ffm-s1-rou-1021.DE.eurorings.net [134.222.231.141]
 12   147 ms   149 ms   148 ms  nbg-s1-rou-1001.DE.eurorings.net [134.222.225.26]
 13   147 ms   143 ms   143 ms  kpn-gw.hetzner.de [134.222.107.21]
 14   159 ms   150 ms   162 ms  hos-bb2.juniper1.fs.hetzner.de [213.239.240.146]
 15   150 ms     *        *     hos-tr1.ex3k7.rz14.hetzner.de [213.239.224.136]
 16   149 ms   152 ms   147 ms  j2.deepbit.net [46.4.99.204]

Trace complete.

Looking at the obvious points on the route, hops 5, 8, 9 and 10 are candidates due to large jumps and variation

Hop 5 - the largest variation and most likely candidate
Ping statistics for 68.86.86.113:
    Packets: Sent = 100, Received = 90, Lost = 10 (10% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 52ms, Maximum = 92ms, Average = 58ms

I checked for packet loss to hop 4 and it was clean [well, I lost 1 packet in 250 hops].  I would rather see this was at hop 5, since then it would arguably be an issue between Comcast and the connection crossing the Atlantic, but alas, it is a Comcast issue.

So, in this case, outbound communications from my miners to deepbit.net seem to be caused by a bad or overloaded Comcast backbone router in New York. NOTICE to Comcast users; it is most likely that nearly all connections to deepbit.net are going through this same router in New York and thus ALL Comcast customers are likely suffering the same issue.  This is not necessarily the cause however, but most likely the connection is maintained on the same route in both directions in this particular case. 

To there you have it, the issue does not seem to be deepbit as far as outbound goes.  I have no idea what inbound traffic from deepbit.net looks like since a reverse traceroute would be required along with ping results from each hop originating from deepbit.net.  Having said that; there is one hop that looks a little troubling and that would be 15 which looks to be one hop upstream of data center used by deepbit.net.

netname:         HETZNER-RZ14
descr:           Hetzner Online AG
descr:           Datacenter 14

So, any Euro customers, especially Germany or France, if you could do something similar, we can at least see if there is loss on your side of the pond Smiley  Looking through the hosting company's site, http://www.hetzner.de, I don't see any tools for doing a reverse traceroute ... so I have to leave that task to Tycho if he cares to do it.  A good example of a such a tool in the US that is connected very well as far as the US and Canada are concerned is from Giganews at http://www.giganews.com/performance.html#traceroute, but doesn't do the ping tests in either direction looking for packet loss.  Perhaps one of the better tools out there, again to one of two sites, is from DSL Reports at http://www.dslreports.com/pingtest.

So, perhaps a little overkill, but I did it to find out why the issue and it solidly points to a single network backbone router in New York owned by Comcast (arguably the largest single network entity in the world and one of the best maintained, especially considering their size).  They seem to have blown it on this one.  Sad


If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
error
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 29, 2011, 02:46:18 AM
 #1899

I'm not surprised if 111 Eighth Avenue has some minor congestion. Though I'd also suspect any other possible route would be worse.

3KzNGwzRZ6SimWuFAgh4TnXzHpruHMZmV8
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 29, 2011, 02:58:39 AM
Last edit: May 29, 2011, 04:06:40 AM by Veldy
 #1900

I Use MSIa fan profiles aswell, My cards run at 75°aswell, I had the "schedualer" service disabled but a registry value stating "perform first defrag?" was never answer, So when the OS went to call upon the schedualer to tell me to defrag, It sat there looping with requests until it filled my ram, Once my ram was full, My comp went "yo dude your ram is full, This is bad" and then Qued a system restart, Wich could not be done due to no schedualer service, So it flooded the ram as much as it possibly could with requests, Until for somereason my OS lockup and stop responding, At wich point my cards continued to mine somehow (i assume) Whilst the auto tune profile didnt update fan speeds in relation to card temperatures, Causing the cards to "restart" at 110°
The othercard, (i assume) never reached 110 because it's Next Door Neighbour in the case "restarted" but couldnt due to full ram.
I only know this because this is what the event viewer has recorded.

I recommend that you get Diskeeper 2011 Premier; they have a full featured trial.  This is  not a plug beyond that I have used it for years [and swear by it] and will completely avoid this problem forever.  Get the SSD extension for those of you [like me] that boot the OS and programs from the SSD and store data and swap on hard drives [granted, I have 12GB of tri-channel RAM on my machine, so, I rarely see much use of swap [although a relatively large file is reserved of course].  Scheduled defrag [especially on Windows XP], is terrible.  It is best to keep the OS from fragmenting the data in the first place when practical [and clean up when it has too].

[EDIT] Even with an admittedly small sample (would like several thousand) and while I have uTorrent running grabbing the latest Debian 6.0.1a DVDs [all 8 DVDs, although I personally will probably only need the first one or two].  You might find it interesting that both miners are have the same percentage loss ... although that is likely somewhat coincidence.  It definitely could be worse.

1205 (0.66%)
1054 (0.66%)

And all that research and the loss is fairly similar to what I have been seeing with BTCMine.com lately [nearly the same number of long-polling pushes obviously].  I ran the same tests, but found absolutely no packet loss.  Used the DSL Reports tool I mentioned on the first hop address on my traceroute for deepbit.net and it came up great with low jitter, 25-27ms latency from both servers used [West Coast and Central I think it was].  So, while the packet loss through New York is part of the problem, it seems like long polling isn't quite as good as it is reputed to be [or could be improved] ... still better than the alternative of not having it though.

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
Pages: « 1 ... 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 [95] 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 ... 326 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!