Bitcoin Forum
June 24, 2021, 04:26:14 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 ... 326 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [DEAD] DeepBit.net PPS+Prop,instant payouts, we pay for INVALID BLOCKS too  (Read 1599523 times)
melter
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

The Premier Digital Asset Management Ecosystem


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 01:41:31 PM
 #1801

I have 2 5850s mining, is it better to crossfire them or just use them as two separate workers?

Also something I dont understand: If I have two separate workers running at the same time, won't they basically be competing against each other and trying to solve the same problem at the same time instead of working together to solve one problem faster?

No, the pool will be giving them different shares to work on [well, most likely anyway, I think the same shares can be given out if there are more workers available for work than there is work in a block].

what would happen if I was solo mining?

You should set up a master that hands out shares to your workers.  That avoids duplication.

how would i do that?

1624508774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624508774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624508774
Reply with quote  #2

1624508774
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1624508774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624508774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624508774
Reply with quote  #2

1624508774
Report to moderator
1624508774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624508774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624508774
Reply with quote  #2

1624508774
Report to moderator
1624508774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624508774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624508774
Reply with quote  #2

1624508774
Report to moderator
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:02:02 PM
 #1802

I have 2 5850s mining, is it better to crossfire them or just use them as two separate workers?

Also something I dont understand: If I have two separate workers running at the same time, won't they basically be competing against each other and trying to solve the same problem at the same time instead of working together to solve one problem faster?

No, the pool will be giving them different shares to work on [well, most likely anyway, I think the same shares can be given out if there are more workers available for work than there is work in a block].

what would happen if I was solo mining?

You should set up a master that hands out shares to your workers.  That avoids duplication.

how would i do that?

Search the forum or Google is your friend.  It is all there.  Unless you have have a lot of hashing power at your disposal [probably 2+GH/s] I wouldn't even consider it ... and the difficulty is about to go up 66% thanks to all the ding dongs bringing massive hardware online that probably won't pay itself off due to difficulty normalizing the the mining back towards 6Blocks/Hr.

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
proudhon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 1123



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:11:05 PM
 #1803

Anyone else unable to connect to deepbit?  I'm using Pheonix.

Edit:  Finally connected, just took several tries.

bitcoin price cannot be sustained above $10k <---- scientific fact
melter
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

The Premier Digital Asset Management Ecosystem


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:21:21 PM
 #1804

I have 2 5850s mining, is it better to crossfire them or just use them as two separate workers?

Also something I dont understand: If I have two separate workers running at the same time, won't they basically be competing against each other and trying to solve the same problem at the same time instead of working together to solve one problem faster?

No, the pool will be giving them different shares to work on [well, most likely anyway, I think the same shares can be given out if there are more workers available for work than there is work in a block].

what would happen if I was solo mining?

You should set up a master that hands out shares to your workers.  That avoids duplication.

how would i do that?

Search the forum or Google is your friend.  It is all there.  Unless you have have a lot of hashing power at your disposal [probably 2+GH/s] I wouldn't even consider it ... and the difficulty is about to go up 66% thanks to all the ding dongs bringing massive hardware online that probably won't pay itself off due to difficulty normalizing the the mining back towards 6Blocks/Hr.

I can't find a single thread that mentions setting up a master that hands out shares to workers... please provide a link or something

Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:49:41 PM
 #1805

I found one such in 30 seconds. 

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=9565.0

 Huh

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
melter
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

The Premier Digital Asset Management Ecosystem


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 04:04:59 PM
 #1806

that thread mentions nothing about setting up your own "master" to hand out shares to your workers...

Dale
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 04:38:41 PM
 #1807

What does it mean:
25.05.2011 11:21:11   0h 29m    - Invalid - X.XXXXXX
zimpixa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 04:52:23 PM
 #1808

I have problems with connection, which U could maybe solve.

Sometimes my router can't connect to random pages ( last one was bitwatch.com). Page is 'unreachable' until I restart my router. This wasn't problem, but few days ago I noticed it also blocks mining since deepbit.net was the 'blocked' page. Today same happened. I have routers firewall turned off, but this doesn't help. Do u have any idea what can I do to solve this?

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Dale
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 05:22:21 PM
 #1809

I have problems with connection, which U could maybe solve.
Sometimes my router can't connect to random pages ( last one was bitwatch.com). Page is 'unreachable' until I restart my router.
Do you have any torrent clients in your home network?
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 05:40:49 PM
 #1810

I have problems with connection, which U could maybe solve.

Sometimes my router can't connect to random pages ( last one was bitwatch.com). Page is 'unreachable' until I restart my router. This wasn't problem, but few days ago I noticed it also blocks mining since deepbit.net was the 'blocked' page. Today same happened. I have routers firewall turned off, but this doesn't help. Do u have any idea what can I do to solve this?

What router?  I highly recommend the D-Link DIR-655 or DIR-855 (I use the latter).  Use DNS Relay and setup on your router to use a DNS that is not your ISP.  Good options are:

Google DNS http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/
8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4

OpenDns http://www.opendns.com/
208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

I use Google DNS, but frankly, I wonder about their information gathering these days.  OpenDNS is also very good and you do not have to sign up either, but they also may gather data [and you can actually use this data to monitor activity from your network which uses DNS, if you sign up for a free account].  They are both fantastic, but most of the time, I have found Google DNS to perform just a little better .... far better than Comcast most of the time in spite of the fact that they are out of the ISP network.  Your router should cache by TTL anyway [or memory limits].  If your router does not have this option, then set it up individually on your mining machine, or setup a DNS of your own on one of your mining rigs [especially if you are running linux ... just install bind and learn how to configure it] and point the rest of your machines at it instead.  OpenDNS does have a nice option to use the last known address for a lookup if it fails to find a current one ... thus often keeping you connected when you might otherwise not be.

I am just assuming the issue is DNS related, but it very well could be connectivity related.  Perhaps your ISP is not multi-homed, or it is overloaded; a common problem with QWest DSL using MSN for instance ... which is why most of who I know moved to Comcast or Charter depending upon where they live.

I too have seen these communication errors every now and again and they are only a minute or two in duration and it is usually when Tycho was doing maintenance.  There were some issues with growth awhile back, but I think Tycho has done a decent job of trying to balance the network [appears to be using a basic DNS load balancer which is why I was suggesting DNS ... your ISP may not be honoring the TTL as it should].

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
zimpixa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 06:01:01 PM
 #1811

Both lockups appeared when there was noone at home and nothing else than miner was using network.

Router is Belking F5D7632 ( All I've found on it). Changed DNS and gonna wait for next lockup.

Found out taht installed firmware is from 2005 and newest one from 2007 (but actual version seems to be same). Should I bother to change it?

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 25, 2011, 06:05:53 PM
 #1812

What does it mean:
25.05.2011 11:21:11   0h 29m    - Invalid - X.XXXXXX
This block was orphaned by the blockchain. Don't worry, you still received your payment for it.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
minerX
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 06:08:29 PM
 #1813

that thread mentions nothing about setting up your own "master" to hand out shares to your workers...

That's because you're a dumbass.  Try reading a bit more and thinking about it.  If that doesn't work maybe you should go ask in a non-deepbit thread about solo mining.  Just a thought, you might get better responses?  (Although it seems like the ones you got have been perfectly acceptable you just aren't noticing the solution right in front of your nose.)
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 06:15:47 PM
Last edit: May 25, 2011, 06:55:47 PM by Veldy
 #1814

Both lockups appeared when there was noone at home and nothing else than miner was using network.

Router is Belking F5D7632 ( All I've found on it). Changed DNS and gonna wait for next lockup.

Found out taht installed firmware is from 2005 and newest one from 2007 (but actual version seems to be same). Should I bother to change it?

I have not had good luck woth Belkin anything, but as always, your mileage may vary.  Is your mining client working over wireless?  G or N?  Does your router show you the signal strength as seen by the router [not as seen by your client machine]?

For instance, my router shows:

Number Of Wireless Clients – 2.4GHz Band: 3
SSID                   MAC Address   IP Address           Mode   Rate               (Mbps)   Signal (%)
MYSSID             xxxxxxxxxxxxx   192.168.1.xxx   802.11g                 54   80
MYSSID               xxxxxxxxxxxxx  192.168.1.xxx   802.11g                 54   82
MYSSID               xxxxxxxxxxxxx  192.168.1.xxx   802.11n (2.4GHz)    108   66   <== one miner is on this machine in the basement
MYSSID5      xxxxxxxxxxxxx  192.168.1.xxx   802.11n (5GHz)         162   64

As you can see, the transfer rates are good.  Testing on my network [tcpdump, nmap, ping, etc] all show a quality connection and all is good.  My Comcast cable connection is almost custom goodness due to Comcast taking a personal interest in getting everything running properly for me since I was a very early adopter of the DOCSIS 3.0 22Mbps/5Mbps service Smiley  Flawless on Comcast's side for months and months.

So, check your router, your network, your DNS, and your connectivity [as well as error rates and signal strength of your cable modem or DSL router (modem) as required].

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 06:48:35 PM
 #1815

I have been doing some pool jumping lately for testing purposes [still haven't tried BTC Guild or the Eligius].  The main testing I am is with miner performance.  I am only testing with two miners; Phoenix 1.48 and GUIMiner - v2011-05-21.  In particular, I care about stale/invalid shares.  Obviously, slush loses on that since there is no long polling and I did not test that [I recall the number was always over 1% when I used the pool].  However, there has been one big surprise.   Phoenix 1.48 generates a LOT more invalid shares than GUIMiner when using deepbit, but works fabulously with BTCMine for instance.  I am wondering if anybody else has noticed this.  After several thousand shares, I would range between 0.45% and 0.8% [over 2% for for the first thousand shares in the worst case].  I am seeing a high number of these now, so I just switched over to GUIMiner and will let it run and see, but over several attempts, the number of invalid shares has been less than half of what Phoenix is spitting out.  Is there an issue with long polling either with Phoenix or deepbit such that the two don't play well together?  I originally thought it might be the larger faster pool, but then it occurred to me that a long polling message should be pushed at the same rate for all pools.

Any idea why this might be?  Anybody else experience such an issue and willing to do a comparison themselves?

Worth noting is that the share count listed by the pool matches perfectly with the client [although with some pools like BTCMine, you have to wait a bit for the share count catch up on the web page which means you have to stop mining for a bit or use a new worker].  Deepbit makes this type of testing a breeze Smiley  I like Phoenix, because I plan to use it on my linux box when it is up and running [bad mobo ... fixed tomorrow and online this weekend] and I like it's interface.  I may have to use poclbm [which isn't bad mind you], but would prefer Phoenix.

Tycho - are you aware of any issues with Phoenix and deepbit?

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
Dale
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 06:52:40 PM
 #1816

25.05.2011 11:21:11   0h 29m    - Invalid - X.XXXXXX
This block was orphaned by the blockchain. Don't worry, you still received your payment for it.
Well, I know about payment, but how this thing could happen? It's some kind of "stale" share in the pool, but in bitcoin network, right?
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 06:53:35 PM
 #1817

What does it mean:
25.05.2011 11:21:11   0h 29m    - Invalid - X.XXXXXX
This block was orphaned by the blockchain. Don't worry, you still received your payment for it.

Something that no other pool does Smiley  Although the number of blocks lost as invalid is pretty small all things considered.  Not sure the actual percentage of total payout affected, but looking at deepbit and other pools, I would say it is pretty rare [probably less than once or twice per week].  Tycho ... any idea?  Anyway, a great feature you offer (necessitated by the instant payout feature I suspect).

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
Veldy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10



View Profile
May 25, 2011, 07:01:32 PM
 #1818

25.05.2011 11:21:11   0h 29m    - Invalid - X.XXXXXX
This block was orphaned by the blockchain. Don't worry, you still received your payment for it.
Well, I know about payment, but how this thing could happen? It's some kind of "stale" share in the pool, but in bitcoin network, right?

Generally, two workers found the solution for a block at almost an identical time and it is just a matter of which block chain grows the fastest after that [which means, generally, that the first one in wins, but statistically, that might not always be so due to various reasons].  It is natural.  Now, if every block started to show up as invalid ... it would indicate an attack, but I have never seen two in a row or even two in a moderate time frame of hours.

Just the cost of mining ... somebody might solve it almost exactly when you do and it essentially becomes a coin toss whose solution turns up as the valid one.

If you have found my post helpful, please donate what you feel it is worth: 18vaZ4K62WiL6W2Qoj9AE1cerfCHRaUW4x
[Tycho]
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 25, 2011, 07:08:02 PM
 #1819

UPDATE:

Now you can lock your bitcoin address forever. Yes, that really means "forever" and there will be no way to unlock it.
Press the button at the very bottom of advanced settings page, check that confirmation e-mail contains YOUR bitcoin address and click the link.

Welcome to my bitcoin mining pool: https://deepbit.net - Both payment schemes (including PPS), instant payout, no invalid blocks !
ICBIT Trading platform : USD/BTC futures trading, Bitcoin difficulty futures (NEW!). Third year in bitcoin business.
zimpixa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 07:08:18 PM
 #1820

Both lockups appeared when there was noone at home and nothing else than miner was using network.

Router is Belking F5D7632 ( All I've found on it). Changed DNS and gonna wait for next lockup.

Found out taht installed firmware is from 2005 and newest one from 2007 (but actual version seems to be same). Should I bother to change it?

I have not had good luck woth Belkin anything, but as always, your mileage may vary.  Is your mining client working over wireless?  G or N?  Does your router show you the signal strength as seen by the router [not as seen by your client machine]?

For instance, my router shows:

Number Of Wireless Clients – 2.4GHz Band: 3
SSID                   MAC Address   IP Address           Mode   Rate               (Mbps)   Signal (%)
MYSSID             xxxxxxxxxxxxx   192.168.1.xxx   802.11g                 54   80
MYSSID               xxxxxxxxxxxxx  192.168.1.xxx   802.11g                 54   82
MYSSID               xxxxxxxxxxxxx  192.168.1.xxx   802.11n (2.4GHz)    108   66   <== one miner is on this machine in the basement
MYSSID5      xxxxxxxxxxxxx  192.168.1.xxx   802.11n (5GHz)         162   64

As you can see, the transfer rates are good.  Testing on my network [tcpdump, nmap, ping, etc] all show a quality connection and all is good.  My Comcast cable connection is almost custom goodness due to Comcast taking a personal interest in getting everything running properly for me since I was a very early adopter of the DOCSIS 3.0 22Mbps/5Mbps service Smiley  Flawless on Comcast's side for months and months.

So, check your router, your network, your DNS, and your connectivity [as well as error rates and signal strength of your cable modem or DSL router (modem) as required].

Actually rig is connected by cable, so there is nothing about signal strength. Rhis rig (and my mining career) started 15 days ago, first lockup 5 days ago and last one today. Of course there were other lockups of random pages even months before I started mining.

@Tycho
Making it really permanent will just create tons of PM's from ppl that lost their wallet file and want to change address, cuz of like 10 BTC on page acc

YinCoin YangCoin ☯☯First Ever POS/POW Alternator! Multipool! ☯ ☯ http://yinyangpool.com/ 
Free Distribution! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623937
Pages: « 1 ... 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 [91] 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 ... 326 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!