Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:27:22 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 [220] 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 ... 326 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [DEAD] DeepBit.net PPS+Prop,instant payouts, we pay for INVALID BLOCKS too  (Read 1455738 times)
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 06:10:37 PM
 #4381

Really?!? Kilo Hash/second?  Are you CPU mining with a 80486 or something?  If you are really that slow then it may not be turning in enough work in a timely manner to make it look like your are mining.

I have a low end GPU which gets about 34.5 MHash/s and it will often go for 3 or 4 minutes without turning in a share.  So if you are really mining that slow then it could take 20 or so minutes to find a valid share.  Watch the stats page on deepbit for how many shares your miner gets done.
Sam
Fair enough.  I was wondering if that rate was slow or not.  I'm running this on a Toshiba Satellite laptop with built-in ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series graphics.  However, the device that GUIMiner reports as being used is "AMD Athlon II P340 Du" which looks like my CPU instead of the GPU.  Any tips on getting the miner to recognize my GPU?

Deepbit updates the stats very responsively for me.  I see my miner find a share and then update my browser and it will have shown up already on the stats page.  But it can take a few minutes sometimes.  It sounds like you are mining, I would let it go for a couple of hours.

Edit: I meant account page not stats https://deepbit.net/account

Also if you are CPU mining I would use the Ufasoft miner.  I was getting 1.42MHsh/s on a 3.2GHz Pentium 4 which is pretty good for that older CPU.
Sam

Thanks.  I'll wait a few hours to see if it shows up.  I will also try the Ufasoft miner with my CPU if I can't figure out why it doesn't recognize my GPU.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
1481437642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437642
Reply with quote  #2

1481437642
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481437642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437642
Reply with quote  #2

1481437642
Report to moderator
1481437642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437642
Reply with quote  #2

1481437642
Report to moderator
1481437642
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437642

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437642
Reply with quote  #2

1481437642
Report to moderator
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 27, 2011, 06:21:51 PM
 #4382

Really?!? Kilo Hash/second?  Are you CPU mining with a 80486 or something?  If you are really that slow then it may not be turning in enough work in a timely manner to make it look like your are mining.

I have a low end GPU which gets about 34.5 MHash/s and it will often go for 3 or 4 minutes without turning in a share.  So if you are really mining that slow then it could take 20 or so minutes to find a valid share.  Watch the stats page on deepbit for how many shares your miner gets done.
Sam
Fair enough.  I was wondering if that rate was slow or not.  I'm running this on a Toshiba Satellite laptop with built-in ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series graphics.  However, the device that GUIMiner reports as being used is "AMD Athlon II P340 Du" which looks like my CPU instead of the GPU.  Any tips on getting the miner to recognize my GPU?

Deepbit updates the stats very responsively for me.  I see my miner find a share and then update my browser and it will have shown up already on the stats page.  But it can take a few minutes sometimes.  It sounds like you are mining, I would let it go for a couple of hours.

Edit: I meant account page not stats https://deepbit.net/account

Also if you are CPU mining I would use the Ufasoft miner.  I was getting 1.42MHsh/s on a 3.2GHz Pentium 4 which is pretty good for that older CPU.
Sam

Thanks.  I'll wait a few hours to see if it shows up.  I will also try the Ufasoft miner with my CPU if I can't figure out why it doesn't recognize my GPU.

I'm not sure the 4200 series is supported by the Catalyst drivers.  If it is then try downloading the ATI/AMD Catalyst package.  On my older low end GPU, which a Radeon HD 4670, I had allot of trouble getting a Catalyst package it install at all except for the one that shipped with it on the CD, but that version (9.9ish?) Would not mine.  But I finally got Catalyst 10.7 to install and with OpenCL 2.2 got it to work with Phoenix 1.50 and haven't messed with it since.

So I guess I would try Catalyst version 11.6 and use the Ufasoft miner at first.  If the miner doesn't work then install the ATI OpenCL version 2.2 and try the Ufasoft miner again.  If you have trouble installing the 11.6 catalyst then roll back to around 10.7 and move forward from there until you get one to install.

The Ufasoft miner is the best CPU miner available and works best with Intel CPU's.  But it also works with AMD GPU's.  And now it even works with Nvidia with Cuda installed.
Good Luck,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 06:33:11 PM
 #4383

Thanks for the info Sam.  I will look for a Catalyst driver for my 4200 if it is supported.  In the meantime I have switched to the Ufasoft miner and I'm now getting 1.2 Mhash/s. After a few minutes, it still hasn't appeared on my deepbit account page, but I'll let it run for awhile and see if it shows up.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 06:45:54 PM
 #4384

Thanks for the info Sam.  I will look for a Catalyst driver for my 4200 if it is supported.  In the meantime I have switched to the Ufasoft miner and I'm now getting 1.2 Mhash/s. After a few minutes, it still hasn't appeared on my deepbit account page, but I'll let it run for awhile and see if it shows up.

With speeds that low, you will be seeing a long period between shares.  A GPU miner runs 300-400 MH/s on average, and even they can sometimes take over 1 minute to find a share (though normally its much faster, and sometimes multiple shares in a second or two, the joy of random hashing!).

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 27, 2011, 07:47:28 PM
 #4385

Thanks for the info Sam.  I will look for a Catalyst driver for my 4200 if it is supported.  In the meantime I have switched to the Ufasoft miner and I'm now getting 1.2 Mhash/s. After a few minutes, it still hasn't appeared on my deepbit account page, but I'll let it run for awhile and see if it shows up.

Yep, give it some time.  If your using Windoze I would download speedfan and monitor your laptops temperatures.  The Ufasoft miner has CPU Temp throttling mechanism now so the default is to not go over 83 degrees Celsius.  But the other temps should be monitored too, especially on a laptop.

Once you get your feet wet with your current configuration I would look at building a desktop with a GPU or two and use CG Miner which supports multiple pools with failover.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 08:30:30 PM
 #4386

I was getting 1.42MHsh/s on a 3.2GHz Pentium 4 which is pretty good for that older CPU.
About how often were you finding a share with that rate?

With speeds that low, you will be seeing a long period between shares.  A GPU miner runs 300-400 MH/s on average, and even they can sometimes take over 1 minute to find a share (though normally its much faster, and sometimes multiple shares in a second or two, the joy of random hashing!).
With my current setup (Ufasoft at 1.2 Mhash/s) I haven't found a share yet in a little over an hour Sad  I think I'll consider adding a GPU to a desktop and use that.

If your using Windoze I would download speedfan and monitor your laptops temperatures.
Thanks for the tip, I'll do that.

Once you get your feet wet with your current configuration I would look at building a desktop with a GPU or two and use CG Miner which supports multiple pools with failover.
Sounds like good advice.  What other pools would you recommend? Also, do you know if there's a GUI that uses CG Miner as a backend?

Thanks again!

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
johnj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 27, 2011, 08:47:03 PM
 #4387

I was getting 1.42MHsh/s on a 3.2GHz Pentium 4 which is pretty good for that older CPU.
About how often were you finding a share with that rate?

At 225 mh/s on (1) 5770, I was getting 1 share every 20s on average. 1.42 mh/s is 0.63% of 225, which would result in 1 share every 3169s (52 minutes). With blocks being on average 10minutes each, this isn't in your favor.

Note that I'm not super fancy at math and I could have converted stuff wrong.

1AeW7QK59HvEJwiyMztFH1ubWPSLLKx5ym
TradeHill Referral TH-R120549
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 27, 2011, 09:03:48 PM
 #4388

I was getting 1.42MHsh/s on a 3.2GHz Pentium 4 which is pretty good for that older CPU.
About how often were you finding a share with that rate?
Thanks again!

I don't really know.  I was CPU mining on my P4's just for giggles to see what the hash rate was.  I was getting more than 1 share per 52 minutes though, but the difficulty was allot lower in May/June when I started.

On my laptop which is a dual core 2.4 GHz Intel Core Duo I was getting 5.6Mhash/s with about 10 shares an hour or so.  Can't remember for sure now.

Anyway I would check into a pool that has a low hash rate and pays PPS, Pay Per Share.  Deepbit is solving a block about every 20 or 25 minutes and if you get one or two shares an hour, you will never see a share in that time frame.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 09:11:55 PM
 #4389

So what you're saying is even if I *do* solve one or two shares an hour, they will be stale/worthless, since the block will already have been solved?  Makes sense.

And just to confirm what you already though, my 4200 series card is not supported from all the research I've been able to do.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 27, 2011, 09:16:55 PM
 #4390

Once you get your feet wet with your current configuration I would look at building a desktop with a GPU or two and use CG Miner which supports multiple pools with failover.
Sounds like good advice.  What other pools would you recommend? Also, do you know if there's a GUI that uses CG Miner as a backend?

Thanks again!

I like Deepbit and BTC Guild the best.  I have only used two other pools besides them but not enough to recommend one way or the other.

But while your CPU mining I would search the Pools thread on the forums for a small PPS or SMPPS pool so that you can get some shares in during a round.  Smaller pools have longer rounds and PPS earns you a flat rate which would be best for a low hash rate.

No there is no GUI for CGMiner.  I like the text base interface myself.  It's easy to navigate.  But search the CG Miner thread, some guy said that he could/would code a GUI front end.  Don't know if he was serious or not.

Happy hashing,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 09:17:13 PM
 #4391

So what you're saying is even if I *do* solve one or two shares an hour, they will be stale/worthless, since the block will already have been solved?  Makes sense.

And just to confirm what you already though, my 4200 series card is not supported from all the research I've been able to do.

As long as you have long polling, you will not be submitting stales (outside of latency issues where a share is submitted in the time window between an LP sending and you receiving).  Since shares don't have any type of progress, you're not "losing" any mining time when changing work to the new work sent by the longpoll.

However, I will say that there is absolutely no reason anybody should be CPU mining at this time.   Even with free electricity, you will wear out your components faster, especially on a laptop.  You're essentially trading months/years of use of your laptop for pennies.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 27, 2011, 09:22:27 PM
 #4392

So what you're saying is even if I *do* solve one or two shares an hour, they will be stale/worthless, since the block will already have been solved?  Makes sense.

And just to confirm what you already though, my 4200 series card is not supported from all the research I've been able to do.

Pretty much, except for really long blocks, hence the reason to use small PPS pool.

Too bad about the 4200, but my 4670 only does 34.5 Mhash/s.  I wouldn't bother with that anymore, but I run that machine 24/7 as a file and print server so I figured why not mine with it.  And I used it for training purposes mainly.  It's AGP and that was the only AGP GPU I could find still.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 09:58:58 PM
 #4393

However, I will say that there is absolutely no reason anybody should be CPU mining at this time.   Even with free electricity, you will wear out your components faster, especially on a laptop.  You're essentially trading months/years of use of your laptop for pennies.
Fair observation.  At this point I'm only mining to learn how to do it.  I'll have to get a GPU or three if I decide to get serious about this.

Pretty much, except for really long blocks, hence the reason to use small PPS pool.
Thanks.  I will look for a small pool to play around in.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 27, 2011, 10:30:14 PM
 #4394

Thanks for the info Sam.  I will look for a Catalyst driver for my 4200 if it is supported.  In the meantime I have switched to the Ufasoft miner and I'm now getting 1.2 Mhash/s. After a few minutes, it still hasn't appeared on my deepbit account page, but I'll let it run for awhile and see if it shows up.

The Mobility 4200 is not supported.

http://developer.amd.com/sdks/AMDAPPSDK/pages/DriverCompatibility.aspx

CPU mining is very likely to be unproductive.  A 1.2MH/s you will earn on average 1 share per hour or about $0.07 per month.  You likely will consume 10x to 50x as much in power.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 27, 2011, 10:30:39 PM
 #4395

However, I will say that there is absolutely no reason anybody should be CPU mining at this time.   Even with free electricity, you will wear out your components faster, especially on a laptop.  You're essentially trading months/years of use of your laptop for pennies.
Fair observation.  At this point I'm only mining to learn how to do it.  I'll have to get a GPU or three if I decide to get serious about this.

Pretty much, except for really long blocks, hence the reason to use small PPS pool.
Thanks.  I will look for a small pool to play around in.

Have fun but don't splash around too much.  I would suggest a PPS pool until you get your AMD GPU's.

I was trying to get you the links to the Hardware Comparison and Mining Rig's but the site seems to be down or gone.  Here are the links in case someone else knows where they are now.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig

Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 11:42:53 PM
 #4396

Have fun but don't splash around too much.  I would suggest a PPS pool until you get your AMD GPU's.

I was trying to get you the links to the Hardware Comparison and Mining Rig's but the site seems to be down or gone.  Here are the links in case someone else knows where they are now.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig

Thanks, I'll try to snag those links out of Google cache.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
dietwice
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
October 28, 2011, 08:32:43 AM
 #4397

Hello,

I had to be paid about an hour ago and I see that payment in the log (https://deepbit.net/payments), but I don't see it in my wallet and when I try to see the transaction details (https://blockexplorer.com/tx/3dea894a2f2c5a37c48513db618dabc695c08370f45e228279c2619d9745f592) it says "No such transaction".

Are there any problems with payouts?

Thanks.

Donations appreciated at 1DZ6PVjnV8zRdvtgKSqzpAYhifxP1XKhwM
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
October 28, 2011, 11:34:21 AM
 #4398

Hello,

I had to be paid about an hour ago and I see that payment in the log (https://deepbit.net/payments), but I don't see it in my wallet and when I try to see the transaction details (https://blockexplorer.com/tx/3dea894a2f2c5a37c48513db618dabc695c08370f45e228279c2619d9745f592) it says "No such transaction".

Are there any problems with payouts?

Thanks.
No problem with payouts & the link shows 0.77900625 btc in the transaction & address.
dietwice
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile
October 28, 2011, 03:38:54 PM
 #4399

I've checked again later and all were ok, thanks.

Donations appreciated at 1DZ6PVjnV8zRdvtgKSqzpAYhifxP1XKhwM
soptik
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38



View Profile
October 28, 2011, 06:15:32 PM
 #4400

Hello,

I had to be paid about an hour ago and I see that payment in the log (https://deepbit.net/payments), but I don't see it in my wallet and when I try to see the transaction details (https://blockexplorer.com/tx/3dea894a2f2c5a37c48513db618dabc695c08370f45e228279c2619d9745f592) it says "No such transaction".

Are there any problems with payouts?

Thanks.

I have the same problem - transaction is in payment history, but it still isn't in blockchain (searched after 1 hour). Was the deepbit payout system changed to send transaction not imediately but after some time?

EDIT: Trasaction finally arrived - after some 70 minutes.
Pages: « 1 ... 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 [220] 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 ... 326 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!