Bitcoin Forum
June 23, 2017, 12:19:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 [69] 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BAMT version 0.5 - Easy USB based mining Linux with farm wide management tools  (Read 312875 times)
Slix
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49



View Profile
April 11, 2013, 01:15:52 PM
 #1361

I got BAMT working great on 7970s and latest cgminer but I'm running into an issue shutting down or rebooting the machine.

While setting up I used "coldreboot", as recommended, repeatedly without problems. But then I wanted to make a backup image of my USB key so I used the "shutdown -h now" command to power off the machine cleanly. The machine hung while shutting down and ever since then coldreboot will not work and does the same thing. I get to "/etc/init.d/mine: OK" and then it just freezes. This is pretty inconvenient if I need to reboot the machine remotely at some point.

I believe gdm is the next service to shutdown but it hangs the machine.

Does anyone have any idea what it could be?

1SLixz2vRvjdpzZTep4Tiqs82Jc28tc6J
1498177177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498177177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498177177
Reply with quote  #2

1498177177
Report to moderator
1498177177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498177177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498177177
Reply with quote  #2

1498177177
Report to moderator
1498177177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498177177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498177177
Reply with quote  #2

1498177177
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498177177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498177177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498177177
Reply with quote  #2

1498177177
Report to moderator
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
April 11, 2013, 01:32:06 PM
 #1362

I got BAMT working great on 7970s and latest cgminer but I'm running into an issue shutting down or rebooting the machine.

While setting up I used "coldreboot", as recommended, repeatedly without problems. But then I wanted to make a backup image of my USB key so I used the "shutdown -h now" command to power off the machine cleanly. The machine hung while shutting down and ever since then coldreboot will not work and does the same thing. I get to "/etc/init.d/mine: OK" and then it just freezes. This is pretty inconvenient if I need to reboot the machine remotely at some point.

I believe gdm is the next service to shutdown but it hangs the machine.

Does anyone have any idea what it could be?

I had this problem a couple months ago, I just copied my configs over to a new USB drive and the issue went away. I don't know what got messed up, but that fixed it. I wish I could say exactly how to fix, sometimes its just faster to wipe and start over.
Slix
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49



View Profile
April 11, 2013, 01:48:13 PM
 #1363

I got BAMT working great on 7970s and latest cgminer but I'm running into an issue shutting down or rebooting the machine.

While setting up I used "coldreboot", as recommended, repeatedly without problems. But then I wanted to make a backup image of my USB key so I used the "shutdown -h now" command to power off the machine cleanly. The machine hung while shutting down and ever since then coldreboot will not work and does the same thing. I get to "/etc/init.d/mine: OK" and then it just freezes. This is pretty inconvenient if I need to reboot the machine remotely at some point.

I believe gdm is the next service to shutdown but it hangs the machine.

Does anyone have any idea what it could be?

I had this problem a couple months ago, I just copied my configs over to a new USB drive and the issue went away. I don't know what got messed up, but that fixed it. I wish I could say exactly how to fix, sometimes its just faster to wipe and start over.

Yeah... I was trying to avoid rebuilding my setup all over again but I guess this is just easier.

Thanks.

1SLixz2vRvjdpzZTep4Tiqs82Jc28tc6J
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
April 11, 2013, 02:33:11 PM
 #1364

I got BAMT working great on 7970s and latest cgminer but I'm running into an issue shutting down or rebooting the machine.

While setting up I used "coldreboot", as recommended, repeatedly without problems. But then I wanted to make a backup image of my USB key so I used the "shutdown -h now" command to power off the machine cleanly. The machine hung while shutting down and ever since then coldreboot will not work and does the same thing. I get to "/etc/init.d/mine: OK" and then it just freezes. This is pretty inconvenient if I need to reboot the machine remotely at some point.

I believe gdm is the next service to shutdown but it hangs the machine.

Does anyone have any idea what it could be?

I had this problem a couple months ago, I just copied my configs over to a new USB drive and the issue went away. I don't know what got messed up, but that fixed it. I wish I could say exactly how to fix, sometimes its just faster to wipe and start over.

Yeah... I was trying to avoid rebuilding my setup all over again but I guess this is just easier.

Thanks.

I have also found better luck with using, "sync" then "shutdown -h now".
Also, you may or may not know you can just copy the config files over from the CONFIG/FROM to the CONFIG/TO directories if you are doing this on Windows. Lastly, since you said you were using cgminer, it has been my experience to skip FIX# 20.
Slix
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49



View Profile
April 11, 2013, 07:39:39 PM
 #1365

I have also found better luck with using, "sync" then "shutdown -h now".
Also, you may or may not know you can just copy the config files over from the CONFIG/FROM to the CONFIG/TO directories if you are doing this on Windows. Lastly, since you said you were using cgminer, it has been my experience to skip FIX# 20.

Oh nice thanks that will help later when I have to remake the images.

Also I think I found the solution to my problem: use the -f switch to coldreboot and shutdown ("coldreboot -f" and "shutdown -hf now"). This forces the machine to power off/cycle. It's not clean, but I figured that since BAMT runs off memory it shouldn't affect much. I could be wrong.

1SLixz2vRvjdpzZTep4Tiqs82Jc28tc6J
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
April 14, 2013, 09:09:35 AM
 #1366



I would put up .2 bitcoin to renew your domain... But I also saw bamtlinux.org is that you?

Nope... not sure what the story is with that domain.
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
April 14, 2013, 10:59:14 AM
 #1367



I would put up .2 bitcoin to renew your domain... But I also saw bamtlinux.org is that you?

Nope... not sure what the story is with that domain.


Whoa, he speaks. Grin Good to hear from you. How you been man?
gbx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 222


View Profile
April 14, 2013, 01:37:31 PM
 #1368



I would put up .2 bitcoin to renew your domain... But I also saw bamtlinux.org is that you?

Nope... not sure what the story is with that domain.


A new fix is born!  bamt5_fix_21.tar

Thank you!  I tried a version of .6 of BAMT.  It at least worked with the 7870 card I was mucking with.  Would love to see continued work of this distribution.  I'll hit you with a donation.  Thanks for your effort!!!
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
April 14, 2013, 01:53:44 PM
 #1369



I would put up .2 bitcoin to renew your domain... But I also saw bamtlinux.org is that you?

Nope... not sure what the story is with that domain.


A new fix is born!  bamt5_fix_21.tar

Thank you!  I tried a version of .6 of BAMT.  It at least worked with the 7870 card I was mucking with.  Would love to see continued work of this distribution.  I'll hit you with a donation.  Thanks for your effort!!!

Yes, fix 21 is just to repair mother from fix 20 which makes her murder newer versions of cgminer every minute or so.  Hopefully makes life with BAMT a bit less painful.

lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
April 14, 2013, 02:15:28 PM
 #1370



Nope... not sure what the story is with that domain.


Whoa, he speaks. Grin Good to hear from you. How you been man?

Good, busy, insanity surrounds me and threatens to consume all of my waking moments.

And you?
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
April 14, 2013, 06:07:34 PM
 #1371



Nope... not sure what the story is with that domain.


Whoa, he speaks. Grin Good to hear from you. How you been man?

Good, busy, insanity surrounds me and threatens to consume all of my waking moments.

And you?
Well I hope it all works out for you, I can totally understand that. As they say, the candle that burns twice as bright, burns half as long. Wink So it's good to get away for a while sometimes.

I've been very busy with various projects as well, balancing them with family life, I can't complain.
mufa23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


I'd fight Gandhi.


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 04:10:37 AM
 #1372

I apologize if this has already been asked, but is there any chance of a BAMT for Litecoin mining? Or is BAMT pretty much dead period?

Positive rep with: pekv2, AzN1337c0d3r, Vince Torres, underworld07, Chimsley, omegaaf, Bogart, Gleason, SuperTramp, John K. and guitarplinker
pdawg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 06:27:48 AM
 #1373

lodcrappo, thanks for this app, switched from linuxcoin/smartcoin to this last night.  been running 3x6870's 24 hours straight with cgminer 2.11.4 (sans fix #20) and getting better speeds (solid 305 Mh/s on ea. card) than the previous setup. I'll shoot you some BTC when I get a chance.

WebMonkey
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100



View Profile WWW
April 16, 2013, 02:10:42 AM
 #1374

Downloading now. What AMD drivers are in it? What CGMiner version is it?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65915.msg1055004#msg1055004

Cgminer version IS rather old now...although is easy to update.

P.S. I can eventually update cgminer and send it to you by mail or something. Just need to replace the old cgminer folder with the new one.
You can go also Litecoin mining then, got about 560kh/s (2200+ with 4 cards) last time I tried.


did anyone ever get this?

i'd really like to have a "drop and replace" cgminer folder for bamt.

thanks for your time,
'monkey

Team Calvary Racing

support the ministry
BTC: 1KXvwsDwRM2RUdwtnff3feuYrHH2a1JHnR
LTC: LWdf2pnmQqBkg7GP7rmfGYCZaAQrjsu2Yx
pdawg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
April 16, 2013, 07:40:07 PM
 #1375

Downloading now. What AMD drivers are in it? What CGMiner version is it?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65915.msg1055004#msg1055004

Cgminer version IS rather old now...although is easy to update.

P.S. I can eventually update cgminer and send it to you by mail or something. Just need to replace the old cgminer folder with the new one.
You can go also Litecoin mining then, got about 560kh/s (2200+ with 4 cards) last time I tried.


did anyone ever get this?

i'd really like to have a "drop and replace" cgminer folder for bamt.

thanks for your time,
'monkey

If you are referring to litecoin mining, Check this link out: http://www.bitcointrading.com/forum/linux-distros/bamt-version-0-5-easy-usb-based-mining-linux-with-farm-wide-management-tools/#post_litecoinonbamt

Otherwise if you are wanting to update cgminer easily, download this tarball that inaba made:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65915.msg901078;topicseen#msg901078

Run fixer all the way through the fixes.  Fix #21 will Fix #20 which breaks the newer cgminer builds.  Drop the tarball it into /opt/miners/  and extract it.  then go into the extracted folder  type "git pull", and then "./update.sh", and you're done.  I would backup the existing cgminer then remove it, folder prior to doing this.

mufa23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


I'd fight Gandhi.


View Profile
April 17, 2013, 08:41:25 PM
 #1376

Did you guys notice an update was pushed out today? What is it?
Code:
bamt5_fix_21.tar

Quote
Remove cgminer babysit routine from mother as it breaks on modern versions
and shouldn't be needed anymore.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do you wonder why there haven't been updates for a long time?
Do you wonder why version 0.6 never made it out of beta?

It's probably because you didn't donate to support the BAMT developer.

               1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc

Positive rep with: pekv2, AzN1337c0d3r, Vince Torres, underworld07, Chimsley, omegaaf, Bogart, Gleason, SuperTramp, John K. and guitarplinker
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
April 17, 2013, 08:54:25 PM
 #1377

Quote
Do you wonder why there haven't been updates for a long time?
Do you wonder why version 0.6 never made it out of beta?

It's probably because you didn't donate to support the BAMT developer.

Word.
mitak64
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239


View Profile
April 19, 2013, 02:09:23 PM
 #1378

Did you guys notice an update was pushed out today? What is it?
Code:
bamt5_fix_21.tar

"Mother" was killing newer versions of cgminer, with this update we can now safely use the latest versions.
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
April 19, 2013, 07:59:17 PM
 #1379

Did you guys notice an update was pushed out today? What is it?
Code:
bamt5_fix_21.tar

Quote
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do you wonder why there haven't been updates for a long time?
Do you wonder why version 0.6 never made it out of beta?

It's probably because you didn't donate to support the BAMT developer.

               1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc

We donated 30 BTC to make the new version and now there isn't even a home page for our ad to display on.

Izael
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
April 20, 2013, 02:18:02 PM
 #1380

Hi all, How i can redownload all #FIX? I skipped #20 and now i want download but i can't... any solution?
Pages: « 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 [69] 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!