Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 05:46:59 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 [37] 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BAMT version 0.5 - Easy USB based mining Linux with farm wide management tools  (Read 302624 times)
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 03:11:23 PM
 #721

I'm able to mine on 7 with no problems.  Not sure why an 8 GPU rig is silly, though.

But in either case, I'm moving to FPGAs anyway at some point, so I'm not losing too much sleep over it.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480787219
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480787219

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480787219
Reply with quote  #2

1480787219
Report to moderator
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 03:54:30 PM
 #722

I'm able to mine on 7 with no problems.  Not sure why an 8 GPU rig is silly, though.

But in either case, I'm moving to FPGAs anyway at some point, so I'm not losing too much sleep over it.

FPGA is the biggest reason I think worrying about 8 GPUs today is silly, and getting more silly.

The massive amount of headaches everyone who attempts those monster rigs seems to have is the other.

Beyond the "Mommy look what I did" factor, it seems difficult to justify the added expense, lack of flexibility,
 and added complexity/stability issues that come with monster rigs.

There may be some justification in extreme situations of limited space, but FPGA basically makes packing tons
of GPUs into a few boxes even more "doing it wrong" than it was (imho) before.  Just an opinion, based partially
on fact-ish truthiness.


If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
Isokivi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Items flashing here available at btctrinkets.com


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 05:09:28 PM
 #723

I'm able to mine on 7 with no problems.  Not sure why an 8 GPU rig is silly, though.

But in either case, I'm moving to FPGAs anyway at some point, so I'm not losing too much sleep over it.

FPGA is the biggest reason I think worrying about 8 GPUs today is silly, and getting more silly.

The massive amount of headaches everyone who attempts those monster rigs seems to have is the other.

Beyond the "Mommy look what I did" factor, it seems difficult to justify the added expense, lack of flexibility,
 and added complexity/stability issues that come with monster rigs.

There may be some justification in extreme situations of limited space, but FPGA basically makes packing tons
of GPUs into a few boxes even more "doing it wrong" than it was (imho) before.  Just an opinion, based partially
on fact-ish truthiness.


Thanks for the info, saves me a lot of time in trying.

Space is an issue for me, also electricity is not that cheap, so adding a gpu to the same mobo/cpu/ram always helps me squeeze a bit more Mhs/J.

Bitcoin trinkets now on my online store: btc trinkets.com <- Bitcoin Tiepins, cufflinks, lapel pins, keychains, card holders and challenge coins.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 05:54:27 PM
 #724

I'm able to mine on 7 with no problems.  Not sure why an 8 GPU rig is silly, though.

But in either case, I'm moving to FPGAs anyway at some point, so I'm not losing too much sleep over it.

FPGA is the biggest reason I think worrying about 8 GPUs today is silly, and getting more silly.

The massive amount of headaches everyone who attempts those monster rigs seems to have is the other.

Beyond the "Mommy look what I did" factor, it seems difficult to justify the added expense, lack of flexibility,
 and added complexity/stability issues that come with monster rigs.

There may be some justification in extreme situations of limited space, but FPGA basically makes packing tons
of GPUs into a few boxes even more "doing it wrong" than it was (imho) before.  Just an opinion, based partially
on fact-ish truthiness.

8 GPU rigs are more cost effective, take up less space, and have higher efficiency.  Something you fail to accept.

BAMT x64 works just fine (well it does require manually fixing it).  8 GPU are no more complex then 1-7 and simply require a x64 kernel, nothing more.

Still it is like beating a dead horse so will leave it at that.
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 06:53:18 PM
 #725

8 GPU rigs are more cost effective, take up less space, and have higher efficiency.  Something you fail to accept.

BAMT x64 works just fine (well it does require manually fixing it).  8 GPU are no more complex then 1-7 and simply require a x64 kernel, nothing more.

Still it is like beating a dead horse so will leave it at that.

So lets all take a minute to thank lodcrappo for putting out such a wonderful piece of software that without, we would be spending many more hours setting up our rigs and less time sitting back watching them hash away.

IMHO, you should probably donate more and argue less if you want a 64 bit version of BAMT. He has already said he would do it if paid.
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 06:55:12 PM
 #726


BAMT x64 works just fine (well it does require manually fixing it).  8 GPU are no more complex then 1-7 and simply require a x64 kernel, nothing more.

Still it is like beating a dead horse so will leave it at that.


Funny, I could have sworn that it took myself and Little Duke several days of work to make that hacked up, outdated test version of bamt x64 that a few people are using.  (The same one, btw, that so many people had so many problems with that we decided not to go x64).

If only we had known that it simply required a 64 bit kernel..


If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 07:06:02 PM
 #727

8 GPU rigs are more cost effective, take up less space, and have higher efficiency.  Something you fail to accept.

BAMT x64 works just fine (well it does require manually fixing it).  8 GPU are no more complex then 1-7 and simply require a x64 kernel, nothing more.

Still it is like beating a dead horse so will leave it at that.

So lets all take a minute to thank lodcrappo for putting out such a wonderful piece of software that without, we would be spending many more hours setting up our rigs and less time sitting back watching them hash away.

IMHO, you should probably donate more and argue less if you want a 64 bit version of BAMT. He has already said he would do it if paid.

Thanks as always..


Since you mentioned the 'I'll do it when you pay me to' offerings, reminded me I was going to update that..

We have 32btc and change donated since I committed to putting all future donations towards funding 79xx support.  I think there is another 30 btc committed.  So that puts us fairly close to having the bounty.  If 7970 prices come down or a few more donations come in, we should have it.  I don't pay very good attention so if there is a crazy deal on them somewhere and we have enough to get one, lemme know.





If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
April 30, 2012, 02:25:34 PM
 #728

This is a reference card still 459.99 and free shipping.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
gazorp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 02, 2012, 01:22:20 PM
 #729

Can anyone here tell me how to overclock past the 840mhz limit in ATIcontrolpanel overdrive?  I am using unlocked 6950's.  Also how do i get past the 775Mhz limit on my 5850s?

On my windows machine, i can use msi afterburner to go beyond 900mhz.  Im BAMT i am limited to the default 840Mhz in the overdrive control.  I did try making the setting higher in the bamt.conf file, but this seemed to have no real effect on the clocks after restarting the session.

Also, is there a way to make new ATIOvedriveCtrl shortcut links and then have them autolaunch and load profiles upon bootup?  Something similar to making shortcuts on windows and purring them in startup?  Maybe there is a script to use?

I also noticed in my quad card rig, i do not get the pretty graphs on the desktop.  any advise to enable that?


Any tips or help is greatly appreciated to help me squeeze out that last bit of MH/s!
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
May 02, 2012, 04:37:44 PM
 #730

Can anyone here tell me how to overclock past the 840mhz limit in ATIcontrolpanel overdrive?  I am using unlocked 6950's.  Also how do i get past the 775Mhz limit on my 5850s?

On my windows machine, i can use msi afterburner to go beyond 900mhz.  Im BAMT i am limited to the default 840Mhz in the overdrive control.  I did try making the setting higher in the bamt.conf file, but this seemed to have no real effect on the clocks after restarting the session.

Also, is there a way to make new ATIOvedriveCtrl shortcut links and then have them autolaunch and load profiles upon bootup?  Something similar to making shortcuts on windows and purring them in startup?  Maybe there is a script to use?

I also noticed in my quad card rig, i do not get the pretty graphs on the desktop.  any advise to enable that?


Any tips or help is greatly appreciated to help me squeeze out that last bit of MH/s!
Have you tried flashing your USB again with a fresh BAMT .5c and doing the config again?  I find sometimes if an error occurs the clocks will stay stock even if you OC the config and reboot, and only making a fresh install makes it work again.

gazorp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 02, 2012, 04:48:41 PM
 #731

Can anyone here tell me how to overclock past the 840mhz limit in ATIcontrolpanel overdrive?  I am using unlocked 6950's.  Also how do i get past the 775Mhz limit on my 5850s?

On my windows machine, i can use msi afterburner to go beyond 900mhz.  Im BAMT i am limited to the default 840Mhz in the overdrive control.  I did try making the setting higher in the bamt.conf file, but this seemed to have no real effect on the clocks after restarting the session.

Also, is there a way to make new ATIOvedriveCtrl shortcut links and then have them autolaunch and load profiles upon bootup?  Something similar to making shortcuts on windows and purring them in startup?  Maybe there is a script to use?

I also noticed in my quad card rig, i do not get the pretty graphs on the desktop.  any advise to enable that?


Any tips or help is greatly appreciated to help me squeeze out that last bit of MH/s!
Have you tried flashing your USB again with a fresh BAMT .5c and doing the config again?  I find sometimes if an error occurs the clocks will stay stock even if you OC the config and reboot, and only making a fresh install makes it work again.

Yes, i am new to BAMT and just started with 0.5c.  I took some efforts to get everything booted and mining stable.   Now i just want to streamline and squeeze out a bit more performance.

I know my card have plenty of cooling headroom and MHz left... Smiley
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
May 02, 2012, 04:53:37 PM
 #732

Can anyone here tell me how to overclock past the 840mhz limit in ATIcontrolpanel overdrive?  I am using unlocked 6950's.  Also how do i get past the 775Mhz limit on my 5850s?

On my windows machine, i can use msi afterburner to go beyond 900mhz.  Im BAMT i am limited to the default 840Mhz in the overdrive control.  I did try making the setting higher in the bamt.conf file, but this seemed to have no real effect on the clocks after restarting the session.

Also, is there a way to make new ATIOvedriveCtrl shortcut links and then have them autolaunch and load profiles upon bootup?  Something similar to making shortcuts on windows and purring them in startup?  Maybe there is a script to use?

I also noticed in my quad card rig, i do not get the pretty graphs on the desktop.  any advise to enable that?


Any tips or help is greatly appreciated to help me squeeze out that last bit of MH/s!

I'm not sure why you are using the ATI panel to overclock when the overclocking and voltage settings are built into both the miners that come with BAMT.  Either miner will let you change the clocks and voltage to you hearts content, you have no reason to use anything from ATI/AMD to do it.

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
May 02, 2012, 04:59:54 PM
 #733

Can anyone here tell me how to overclock past the 840mhz limit in ATIcontrolpanel overdrive?  I am using unlocked 6950's.  Also how do i get past the 775Mhz limit on my 5850s?

On my windows machine, i can use msi afterburner to go beyond 900mhz.  Im BAMT i am limited to the default 840Mhz in the overdrive control.  I did try making the setting higher in the bamt.conf file, but this seemed to have no real effect on the clocks after restarting the session.

Also, is there a way to make new ATIOvedriveCtrl shortcut links and then have them autolaunch and load profiles upon bootup?  Something similar to making shortcuts on windows and purring them in startup?  Maybe there is a script to use?

I also noticed in my quad card rig, i do not get the pretty graphs on the desktop.  any advise to enable that?


Any tips or help is greatly appreciated to help me squeeze out that last bit of MH/s!

don't use the ati control panel.


1 - Edit bamt.conf to have the settings you want. 
2 - Restart mining.
3 - There is no step 3

That is all.


If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
craked5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
May 03, 2012, 12:12:01 AM
 #734

Hey guys! im sorry if this as been discussed earlier but i seem to get a red screen when i try to mine and it says "A fault as been found in gpu x".
Can someone please help?
I will donate for a good answer! Thanks

gazorp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
May 03, 2012, 02:17:44 AM
 #735

Can anyone here tell me how to overclock past the 840mhz limit in ATIcontrolpanel overdrive?  I am using unlocked 6950's.  Also how do i get past the 775Mhz limit on my 5850s?

On my windows machine, i can use msi afterburner to go beyond 900mhz.  Im BAMT i am limited to the default 840Mhz in the overdrive control.  I did try making the setting higher in the bamt.conf file, but this seemed to have no real effect on the clocks after restarting the session.

Also, is there a way to make new ATIOvedriveCtrl shortcut links and then have them autolaunch and load profiles upon bootup?  Something similar to making shortcuts on windows and purring them in startup?  Maybe there is a script to use?

I also noticed in my quad card rig, i do not get the pretty graphs on the desktop.  any advise to enable that?


Any tips or help is greatly appreciated to help me squeeze out that last bit of MH/s!

don't use the ati control panel.


1 - Edit bamt.conf to have the settings you want. 
2 - Restart mining.
3 - There is no step 3

That is all.





I am using the default Phoenix2 config.  None of the settings in bamt.conf seem to take effect i.e. i get default clocks.  I am guesing i should try cgminer?

Thanks for the help.

PS  i sent a pm about pro tools Smiley


abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
May 03, 2012, 02:34:09 PM
 #736

as I mentioned in the other bamt thread, please post your bamt.conf

TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
May 03, 2012, 09:04:43 PM
 #737

Using the default config, nothing is configured or enabled.  You have to set it up.   Roll Eyes

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
May 03, 2012, 09:12:41 PM
 #738

Can anyone here tell me how to overclock past the 840mhz limit in ATIcontrolpanel overdrive?  I am using unlocked 6950's.  Also how do i get past the 775Mhz limit on my 5850s?

On my windows machine, i can use msi afterburner to go beyond 900mhz.  Im BAMT i am limited to the default 840Mhz in the overdrive control.  I did try making the setting higher in the bamt.conf file, but this seemed to have no real effect on the clocks after restarting the session.

Also, is there a way to make new ATIOvedriveCtrl shortcut links and then have them autolaunch and load profiles upon bootup?  Something similar to making shortcuts on windows and purring them in startup?  Maybe there is a script to use?

I also noticed in my quad card rig, i do not get the pretty graphs on the desktop.  any advise to enable that?


Any tips or help is greatly appreciated to help me squeeze out that last bit of MH/s!

don't use the ati control panel.


1 - Edit bamt.conf to have the settings you want. 
2 - Restart mining.
3 - There is no step 3

That is all.





I am using the default Phoenix2 config.  None of the settings in bamt.conf seem to take effect i.e. i get default clocks.  I am guesing i should try cgminer?

Thanks for the help.

PS  i sent a pm about pro tools Smiley


If the settings in bamt.conf do not take effect, either:

1 - You have specified them incorrectly
2 - or, They aren't valid settings that Linux can apply
3 - or, You aren't measuring whether they take effect correctly.

as requested by others, post or pastebin your bamt.conf if you would like further support.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
Brunic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633



View Profile
May 03, 2012, 10:46:59 PM
 #739

Playing around with BAMT, I found a strange bug.

When I have a monitor plugged in, and I'm fooling around in BAMT, if I unplug the monitor, it makes BAMT crash. Here's what munin shows when I connect to the rig:

Quote
__.....__ .' ':, / __ _ __ \\ | |_)) || |_))|| | | \\ || | || | || _, | status.pl ||.-(_{} | |/ ` | ,_ (;|/) \\| {}_)-,||` \\;/,,;;;;;;;,\\|//, .;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;, ,;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;,// \\;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;,// ,';;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;' One of the BAMT tools has suffered a fatal error. Can't use an undefined value as a HASH reference at /usr/lib/cgi-bin/status.pl line 88. Defiled: Unable to record this travesty in the deathlog! Why?: Permission denied

If I never plug a monitor in BAMT and I boot the rig, everything's fine. It only occurs when BAMT is started and I plug and unplug the monitor. If I want to plug back the monitor to check what happens in BAMT, it start working again without problems.

I use the 0.5c version of BAMT.
wknight
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 889


Bitcoin calls me an Orphan


View Profile WWW
May 03, 2012, 10:54:54 PM
 #740


We have 32btc and change donated since I committed to putting all future donations towards funding 79xx support.  I think there is another 30 btc committed.  So that puts us fairly close to having the bounty.  If 7970 prices come down or a few more donations come in, we should have it.  I don't pay very good attention so if there is a crazy deal on them somewhere and we have enough to get one, lemme know.


Umm just FYI.. i donated for the second time because its good software.. not for any other reasons what you use it for is totally up to you bro Smiley

Mining Both Bitcoin and Litecoin.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 [37] 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!