Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 05:47:19 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BAMT version 0.5 - Easy USB based mining Linux with farm wide management tools  (Read 302627 times)
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
July 26, 2012, 07:01:09 PM
 #1041

Why does the BAMT web interface show an error when I unplug the GPU from a monitor?

__.....__ .' ':, / __ _ __ \\ | |_)) || |_))|| | | \\ || | || | || _, | status.pl ||.-(_{} | |/ ` | ,_ (;|/) \\| {}_)-,||` \\;/,,;;;;;;;,\\|//, .;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;, ,;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;,// \\;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;,// ,';;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;' One of the BAMT tools has suffered a fatal error. Can't use an undefined value as a HASH reference at /usr/lib/cgi-bin/status.pl line 88. Defiled: Unable to record this travesty in the deathlog! Why?: Permission denied

I find a good practice is not to have a monitor connected at all.  Once you know the IP, format BAMT fresh, then just SSH in.  Bamt does wonky things when you unplug the monitor.

well i have to have a monitor to tell the board where to boot to
Set the default in the BIOS.

doesn't work for me

sd card reader for now

Yeah, pick up a 2GB for like $6, it will save you some frustration.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820171509


quickly how can i transfer my configuration from one installation to another? (for example, changing usb keys)

copied batm.conf and pools and when the system starts up it just overwrites them with older versions

have your bamt.conf (and/or cgminer.conf) in text files on your computer, then when you ssh into the box,

cd /etc/bamt/
rm bamt.conf
nano bamt.conf
paste your conf into the putty window by right clicking
save


Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 26, 2012, 07:03:04 PM
 #1042

Why does the BAMT web interface show an error when I unplug the GPU from a monitor?

__.....__ .' ':, / __ _ __ \\ | |_)) || |_))|| | | \\ || | || | || _, | status.pl ||.-(_{} | |/ ` | ,_ (;|/) \\| {}_)-,||` \\;/,,;;;;;;;,\\|//, .;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;, ,;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;,// \\;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;,// ,';;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;' One of the BAMT tools has suffered a fatal error. Can't use an undefined value as a HASH reference at /usr/lib/cgi-bin/status.pl line 88. Defiled: Unable to record this travesty in the deathlog! Why?: Permission denied

I find a good practice is not to have a monitor connected at all.  Once you know the IP, format BAMT fresh, then just SSH in.  Bamt does wonky things when you unplug the monitor.

well i have to have a monitor to tell the board where to boot to
Set the default in the BIOS.

doesn't work for me

sd card reader for now

Yeah, pick up a 2GB for like $6, it will save you some frustration.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820171509


quickly how can i transfer my configuration from one installation to another? (for example, changing usb keys)

copied batm.conf and pools and when the system starts up it just overwrites them with older versions

have your bamt.conf (and/or cgminer.conf) in text files on your computer, then when you ssh into the box,

cd /etc/bamt/
rm bamt.conf
nano bamt.conf
paste your conf into the putty window by right clicking
save



I don't get it/don't know how to SSH into the box

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
July 26, 2012, 07:25:02 PM
 #1043

Quote
I don't get it/don't know how to SSH into the box

Get putty:
http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/

Find the IP of your rig, SSH to it with Putty.
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
July 26, 2012, 07:44:03 PM
 #1044

Quote
I don't get it/don't know how to SSH into the box

Get putty:
http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/

Find the IP of your rig, SSH to it with Putty.

Perhaps this will help:

Quote
You can utilize the FROM and TO directories in windows to edit/modify the bamt.conf file.

they can be found at \BAMT\CONFIG

FROM = the existing bamt.conf used on the image.
TO = the bamt.conf the image will pull to use on next mine start

\BAMT also contains 2 other useful directories.  CONTROL and STATUS.  All described in the readme.txt in the \BAMT directory.

You'll need to use an editor on windows that doesn't add a CR/LF to the end of the line, or use a hex editor.

Just plug the USB into another machine (don't boot from it) I think these directories are in /live/image/...

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 26, 2012, 08:03:18 PM
 #1045

Quote
I don't get it/don't know how to SSH into the box

Get putty:
http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/

Find the IP of your rig, SSH to it with Putty.

Perhaps this will help:

Quote
You can utilize the FROM and TO directories in windows to edit/modify the bamt.conf file.

they can be found at \BAMT\CONFIG

FROM = the existing bamt.conf used on the image.
TO = the bamt.conf the image will pull to use on next mine start

\BAMT also contains 2 other useful directories.  CONTROL and STATUS.  All described in the readme.txt in the \BAMT directory.

You'll need to use an editor on windows that doesn't add a CR/LF to the end of the line, or use a hex editor.

Just plug the USB into another machine (don't boot from it) I think these directories are in /live/image/...

AHA obviously i should have saw a use for the TO folder and should have tried it out

EDIT: Web interface stopped working

do i need to startup the PC with video cable attached and viewing for it to show? thats how i started it before and web interface worked

now startup, auto loads and starts hash but web interface not working
i have correct ip address, at least its the same as the one on the background of the mining rig bamt screen

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2012, 03:38:28 PM
 #1046

Where can I download BAMT? The original site bamter.org is down, and the only link I found in this thread that isn't a 404 gives me a corrupt download.
BitcoinTrading.com's got your back.

Direct download.

bamter.org is hosted at MomentoVPS - https://momentovps.com/

They take payment via BTC, which is why we use them.  However, they are very unreliable, even for a cheap virtual hosting place.  This means the bamter.org site is sometimes offline.

If anybody knows of a better VPS/hosting solution that takes BTC, lemme know.

Downloading images from unofficial sources is not recommended.  As you found with the corrupt download and 404s, they often just don't work.  You also run the risk of tampering or malware infected images if you choose not to use official mirror sites.


If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 03:43:25 PM
 #1047

They take payment via BTC, which is why we use them.  However, they are very unreliable, even for a cheap virtual hosting place.  This means the bamter.org site is sometimes offline.

If anybody knows of a better VPS/hosting solution that takes BTC, lemme know.
http://bitvps.com/ is run by a guy that knows what he is doing and takes bitcoins.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2012, 06:07:55 PM
 #1048

Downloading images from unofficial sources is not recommended.  As you found with the corrupt download and 404s, they often just don't work.  You also run the risk of tampering or malware infected images if you choose not to use official mirror sites.

So you recommend just.. just waiting until your server comes back on instead of downloading it from my site?  We have had 100% uptime since July 2011.  Since these are pretty big files, and the upload is of a limited speed, it is plausible that the download could get messed up in transit, but that can happen to any server.  If it doesn't make it... Just try again.

I took the liberty to download it from my server once just now and from all your mirrors, and the MD5 hashes were all identical.  

Code:
bamt_v0.5c.zip

1 - bitcointrading - 1DA3D70D0C4A1C4F44F6870772AAD26D
2 - backpack ------- 1DA3D70D0C4A1C4F44F6870772AAD26D
3 - biomancer ------ 1DA3D70D0C4A1C4F44F6870772AAD26D
4 - macdonaldbeats - 1DA3D70D0C4A1C4F44F6870772AAD26D

If someone gets a corrupt download, the issue is on their end.  If the image was corrupt, you would have seen more than one person say so in the periods of bamter.org downtime.  I always test files I upload.

I'm doing you and the community a favour by offering my bandwidth.  

If anyone happens to be looking for the other versions of BAMT for whatever reason, here you go:

edit: I added a mirror!  This is the murdercapitals server, the one that my text rpg is on, it has lots of extra bandwidth.  The bitcointrading server is 1/3 of the speed of the murdercapitals server for big files like this.

http://files.murdercapitals.com/bamt/bamt_v0.4.zip MD5: 4974FAC52C0591244AA95DA237DCC451
http://www.bitcointrading.com/files/bamt_v0.4.zip MD5: 4974FAC52C0591244AA95DA237DCC451

http://files.murdercapitals.com/bamt/bamt64_v05a.zip MD5: 38D9658847F6862471CCF27C9A5CF8A8
http://www.bitcointrading.com/files/bamt64_v05a.zip MD5: 38D9658847F6862471CCF27C9A5CF8A8

I warn you though, don't ask for help for any version other than 0.5c, these images are not supported.

420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 27, 2012, 09:38:39 PM
 #1049

Web interface working again but now my core speeds are locked

most of my overclock is still set except one core is reverted back to STOCK, (1 out of 6 cores) and my config is still set to overclock

then i change all my overclock cards in bamt.conf, and save, restart mining and THEY'RE ALL locked to what they just were, same overclock and one core back to STOCK

what in tarnation?

EDIT: just restarted, now they're ALL back to stock!!!!

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
July 27, 2012, 09:59:33 PM
 #1050

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65915.msg775882#msg775882

Quote
Your overclocking was too high.

Your GPU locked up.

In order to make the best of the situation, BAMT has disabled O/C on that GPU and rebooted.

This allowed your rig to continue mining in a situation where otherwise it would have sat there locked up.  You're welcome.

Now you must reduce overclocking settings, remove the file in /live/image/BAMT/CONTROL/ACTIVE that has suspended o/c, and restart mining.
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 27, 2012, 10:02:17 PM
 #1051

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65915.msg775882#msg775882

Quote
Your overclocking was too high.

Your GPU locked up.

In order to make the best of the situation, BAMT has disabled O/C on that GPU and rebooted.

This allowed your rig to continue mining in a situation where otherwise it would have sat there locked up.  You're welcome.

Now you must reduce overclocking settings, remove the file in /live/image/BAMT/CONTROL/ACTIVE that has suspended o/c, and restart mining.

Thanks, BUT, there are NO files in that folder. Do i need to put USB stick back in another machine to delete? Throught BAMT file explorer there are no files in that folder since I deleted the gpu1noOC file gpu1 was the first core that reverted back to stock

EDIT: for the record i'm only doing a modest overclock
750mhz/250mem/1.06v

does the low memory frequency make overclock harder?

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2012, 10:14:03 PM
 #1052

They take payment via BTC, which is why we use them.  However, they are very unreliable, even for a cheap virtual hosting place.  This means the bamter.org site is sometimes offline.

If anybody knows of a better VPS/hosting solution that takes BTC, lemme know.
http://bitvps.com/ is run by a guy that knows what he is doing and takes bitcoins.

thanks, i will check them out

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2012, 10:24:00 PM
 #1053

So you recommend just.. just waiting until your server comes back on instead of downloading it from my site?

Yes, that is what I recommend.  Of course you may offer any promise you like regarding the files on your site, and that is fine, but that comes from you and not from me or the BAMT project.  I can only guarantee the content of the mirrors that have official arrangements with the BAMT project, surely that makes sense.  It's not that I don't appreciate you helping some people out, I just cannot take any responsibility here.  While you might have only the best intentions, others may offer mirrors that do not.
Also I cannot take responsibility for the security of your website.  You may have authentic images there now and some hacker may replace them with something else tonight.  Checksums are great but most people ignore them unfortunately.  All in all its just a headache to have uncoordinated mirrors out there.

We will move the official site to a more reliable hosting provider so it will not be an issue in the future.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 27, 2012, 10:50:01 PM
 #1054

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65915.msg775882#msg775882

Quote
Your overclocking was too high.

Your GPU locked up.

In order to make the best of the situation, BAMT has disabled O/C on that GPU and rebooted.

This allowed your rig to continue mining in a situation where otherwise it would have sat there locked up.  You're welcome.

Now you must reduce overclocking settings, remove the file in /live/image/BAMT/CONTROL/ACTIVE that has suspended o/c, and restart mining.

Thanks, BUT, there are NO files in that folder. Do i need to put USB stick back in another machine to delete? Throught BAMT file explorer there are no files in that folder since I deleted the gpu1noOC file gpu1 was the first core that reverted back to stock

EDIT: for the record i'm only doing a modest overclock
750mhz/250mem/1.06v

does the low memory frequency make overclock harder?

Another thing, unfortunately BAMT doesn't boot using my integrated graphics, only when using one of the GPU's. locks on a white line on the top left, not blinking though
ASUS P8BW C206

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
July 27, 2012, 10:53:31 PM
 #1055

So you recommend just.. just waiting until your server comes back on instead of downloading it from my site?

Yes, that is what I recommend.  Of course you may offer any promise you like regarding the files on your site, and that is fine, but that comes from you and not from me or the BAMT project.  I can only guarantee the content of the mirrors that have official arrangements with the BAMT project, surely that makes sense.  It's not that I don't appreciate you helping some people out, I just cannot take any responsibility here.  While you might have only the best intentions, others may offer mirrors that do not.
Also I cannot take responsibility for the security of your website.  You may have authentic images there now and some hacker may replace them with something else tonight.  Checksums are great but most people ignore them unfortunately.  All in all its just a headache to have uncoordinated mirrors out there.

We will move the official site to a more reliable hosting provider so it will not be an issue in the future.


Why not just post an official torrent?  Then there will not be doubt of the legitimacy, it will not cost bandwidth once it's seeded, always be up, etc.

420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 27, 2012, 10:56:21 PM
 #1056

Any way to view CPU usage in BAMT?

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 11:05:22 PM
 #1057

Any way to view CPU usage in BAMT?

SSH in and type top

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
July 27, 2012, 11:08:31 PM
 #1058

Any way to view CPU usage in BAMT?

SSH in and type top

for PuTTy what is the login name and pass for default

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1744


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 11:11:39 PM
 #1059

Why not just post an official torrent?  Then there will not be doubt of the legitimacy, it will not cost bandwidth once it's seeded, always be up, etc.
+1
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
July 27, 2012, 11:14:50 PM
 #1060

Any way to view CPU usage in BAMT?

SSH in and type top

for PuTTy what is the login name and pass for default

login user, pass live.  You will need to be root to use any BAMT tools. Type sudo su to become root.  This is standard linux stuff.  Please PM me if you need more help so we don't add more clutter to this thread.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!