Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:31:46 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BAMT version 0.5 - Easy USB based mining Linux with farm wide management tools  (Read 302589 times)
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2012, 12:13:32 AM
 #921

Thanks for the clarification. Also if you have 80 BTC in the fund. I will trade for a New Daimond HD7970 Reference if you can not find one cheap(Ill cover shipping if in US). I get deals on them from time to time. Thats why I have 9 of them with more on the way. Just an offer to help out.

Sounds good to me.  we should have 80 soon.  anything we can save on the card i'll put towards the next goal.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
1480725106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725106
Reply with quote  #2

1480725106
Report to moderator
1480725106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725106
Reply with quote  #2

1480725106
Report to moderator
1480725106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725106
Reply with quote  #2

1480725106
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480725106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725106
Reply with quote  #2

1480725106
Report to moderator
1480725106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725106
Reply with quote  #2

1480725106
Report to moderator
1480725106
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725106

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725106
Reply with quote  #2

1480725106
Report to moderator
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 12:07:28 PM
 #922

Why not use a 77xx or 78xx card?  It's cheaper and works the same way o.o

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
tosku
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 368



View Profile WWW
June 11, 2012, 12:37:47 PM
 #923

I have two 5850 and one 5770 in my BAMT rig at the moment. The performance I'm getting is quite sluggish.
5850 1: 845/150 MHz, 303Mh/s
5850 2: 940/150 MHz, 324Mh/s
5770 1: 930/280 MHz, 215Mh/s

BAMT is using the default miner, phoenix I think. I've set aggression to 11.

I used to get 730 MH/s out of the two 5850 cards alone when they were in my Windows 7 workstation running cgminer, using the same clocks.

What do I need to do to speed things up?

Will using cgminer instead of the default miner make things go faster, or is this a driver/software version issue?

Skude.se/BTC - an easier way to request your daily free coins!
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2012, 12:56:10 PM
 #924

Why not use a 77xx or 78xx card?  It's cheaper and works the same way o.o

why not do your job for half the pay? o.O


If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 01:09:06 PM
 #925

Just recieved 2 Diamond HD7970's I am putting them in today. Will be ordering again next week round wed. Let me know when your ready I will pull a card back out or send you one from the next order.

I wish all my maintenance guys that I employ would work for half-pay.  Smiley

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2012, 01:10:31 PM
 #926

I have two 5850 and one 5770 in my BAMT rig at the moment. The performance I'm getting is quite sluggish.
5850 1: 845/150 MHz, 303Mh/s
5850 2: 940/150 MHz, 324Mh/s
5770 1: 930/280 MHz, 215Mh/s

BAMT is using the default miner, phoenix I think. I've set aggression to 11.

I used to get 730 MH/s out of the two 5850 cards alone when they were in my Windows 7 workstation running cgminer, using the same clocks.

What do I need to do to speed things up?

Will using cgminer instead of the default miner make things go faster, or is this a driver/software version issue?

in general cgminer will sometimes give slightly better rates than phoenix, but sometimes not, depends on hardware and settings.  phoenix2 gives me slightly better rates than either of them, but I have limited hardware to test on so might just be me.  in any case the difference is a few mhash, not the difference you are seeing.

there are several kernel parameters you can adjust in the default miner.  probably just need to experiment.  you should get similar performance regardless of the miner you use.

If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 01:16:58 PM
 #927

I have two 5850 and one 5770 in my BAMT rig at the moment. The performance I'm getting is quite sluggish.
5850 1: 845/150 MHz, 303Mh/s
5850 2: 940/150 MHz, 324Mh/s
5770 1: 930/280 MHz, 215Mh/s

BAMT is using the default miner, phoenix I think. I've set aggression to 11.

I used to get 730 MH/s out of the two 5850 cards alone when they were in my Windows 7 workstation running cgminer, using the same clocks.

What do I need to do to speed things up?

Will using cgminer instead of the default miner make things go faster, or is this a driver/software version issue?

You might want to actually check you clocks with something other that what bamt says.  Just cause it said your mem is at 150 does not mean it is. I had a 6970 that Bamt would say was set like I set it at 1000Mhz but it was actually at 1375. Just my instance but you might want to look into it.  I know when I did have a 5850 running on bamt I got 365MHash on BAMT at 920/460mem.


Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
tosku
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 368



View Profile WWW
June 11, 2012, 03:56:00 PM
 #928

You might want to actually check you clocks with something other that what bamt says.  Just cause it said your mem is at 150 does not mean it is. I had a 6970 that Bamt would say was set like I set it at 1000Mhz but it was actually at 1375. Just my instance but you might want to look into it.  I know when I did have a 5850 running on bamt I got 365MHash on BAMT at 920/460mem.

What can I use to check the clocks? Is there something included in BAMT that I can use?

there are several kernel parameters you can adjust in the default miner.  probably just need to experiment.  you should get similar performance regardless of the miner you use.

What parameters do you think I should adjust? I've tried changing some things around, but I've only gotten worse performance, not better.

Skude.se/BTC - an easier way to request your daily free coins!
cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 04:17:25 PM
 #929

Why not use a 77xx or 78xx card?  It's cheaper and works the same way o.o

why not do your job for half the pay? o.O



Buy the cheaper card and keep the rest of the money Cheesy  Unless you're a gamer.  I loves mah 7970 crossfire Tongue

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
June 11, 2012, 04:39:56 PM
 #930

I use atitweak from the cmd line.

I am really not the best one to ask I do not know linux. I just know what problems I have run into and what I have done to fix them.

BTW LOD  Does BAMT support USB 3.0 and having the USB Stick on it?

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
lodcrappo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2012, 02:26:45 AM
 #931

I use atitweak from the cmd line.

I am really not the best one to ask I do not know linux. I just know what problems I have run into and what I have done to fix them.

BTW LOD  Does BAMT support USB 3.0 and having the USB Stick on it?

using atitweak manually is a very good way to explore what your system can and cannot do, or to quickly try various clock rates before committing them to the static config, or to verify settings.  if you want to get the most out of bamt, become friendly with atitweak and the other utilities.

as for usb 3.0, all i can say is yes it works fine on the one motherboard I have.  if it doesn't work fine, i would just stick the key into a 2.0 slot.  there is no benefit to using 3.0 for bamt.



If you want to support further development of BAMT (http://bamter.org/):  1PoRYaGS56ksQmK7XXLurW3B2zwCAE8PRc
TheOtherGuy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71



View Profile
June 12, 2012, 03:31:22 AM
 #932

My MSI-GD70 won't work on the USB 3.0.

1NDoRoTapFZNiUhzTPyFdKib66QLJfmcuR
tosku
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 368



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2012, 10:08:35 AM
 #933

Problem solved, I think. WORKSIZE=128 in the kernel parameters gave a significant bump in speed (from 303 to 352) when running with a single 5850. I'll put the rest of the cards in and report back.

Skude.se/BTC - an easier way to request your daily free coins!
Cray-1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36



View Profile
June 13, 2012, 06:27:18 PM
 #934

I am a big fan of BAMT. 

I there any way to schedule BAMT mining to run at a specific time of the day?  I have 3 rigs (each with 5 5830’s).  Each rig draws about 1KW of power.  This is a lot of power consumption and I am not sure it is economically profitable to run during “Peak demand” time periods.  Fortunately, my power company offers substantial discounts to shift loads to “Off peak”.

Ideally, I would like to power up and mine at night and use minimal power during the day.

I have heard that cron jobs may be a solution but I have not yet figured out how they work.

Any ideas?
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2012, 06:41:57 PM
 #935

30 BTC sent for the 7970 integration!  Looking forward to the bamt revamp!

edit: donation is on behaf of wtcr.ca, online bitcoin computer store !

Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
June 13, 2012, 07:16:05 PM
 #936

30 BTC sent for the 7970 integration!  Looking forward to the bamt revamp!

edit: donation is on behaf of wtcr.ca, online bitcoin computer store !

Awesomeness!

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
tosku
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 368



View Profile WWW
June 13, 2012, 07:25:00 PM
 #937

I am a big fan of BAMT.  

I there any way to schedule BAMT mining to run at a specific time of the day?  I have 3 rigs (each with 5 5830’s).  Each rig draws about 1KW of power.  This is a lot of power consumption and I am not sure it is economically profitable to run during “Peak demand” time periods.  Fortunately, my power company offers substantial discounts to shift loads to “Off peak”.

Ideally, I would like to power up and mine at night and use minimal power during the day.

I have heard that cron jobs may be a solution but I have not yet figured out how they work.

Any ideas?

This might not be the most elegant solution, but it should work:



It really uses minimal power during the off period, something like 1W.

Skude.se/BTC - an easier way to request your daily free coins!
Cray-1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36



View Profile
June 13, 2012, 07:50:23 PM
 #938

Tosku,

I thought of that.  The only problem is when I power up I have to press a small button on the board to power it.  This can be jumpered to the case (I have an open rig...no case) for the power button.  I tried to just short out the jumper with the hope of powering up automatically but it powered the board down after a few seconds.  The motherboard I am using is a MSI 890FXA-GD70.

Thanks for your idea.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
June 13, 2012, 07:51:43 PM
 #939

Tosku,

I thought of that.  The only problem is when I power up I have to press a small button on the board to power it.  This can be jumpered to the case (I have an open rig...no case) for the power button.  I tried to just short out the jumper with the hope of powering up automatically but it powered the board down after a few seconds.  The motherboard I am using is a MSI 890FXA-GD70.

Thanks for your idea.
In the BIOS there is an option for what to do when there is a power outage. Change that option to always turn the machine on when power is restored, and then you could use such a timer. The option defaults to always staying off when power is restored.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
June 13, 2012, 08:46:58 PM
 #940

I am a big fan of BAMT. 

I there any way to schedule BAMT mining to run at a specific time of the day?  I have 3 rigs (each with 5 5830’s).  Each rig draws about 1KW of power.  This is a lot of power consumption and I am not sure it is economically profitable to run during “Peak demand” time periods.  Fortunately, my power company offers substantial discounts to shift loads to “Off peak”.

Ideally, I would like to power up and mine at night and use minimal power during the day.

I have heard that cron jobs may be a solution but I have not yet figured out how they work.

Any ideas?


Get a plug in timer that can handle the wattage and set the times. (easiest solutions work best)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 [47] 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!