Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:19:15 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BAMT version 0.5 - Easy USB based mining Linux with farm wide management tools  (Read 302848 times)
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
April 17, 2012, 09:06:53 PM
 #621

quick question for ya:

got a 7970, set it up, got bamt working and it's mining right now.

sort of a noobish question, but where is the cgminer.conf file?  i can see it hashing in gpumon I just don't know how to change the cgminer settings.
You can put the cgminer.conf anywhere you want.

I put mine in /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf and then put this in /etc/bamt/bamt.conf
Code:
settings:
    cgminer_opts: --config /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf

You can attach to the screen session and do most of the settings from inside cgminer and then save the config to get yourself started

1481199555
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199555

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199555
Reply with quote  #2

1481199555
Report to moderator
1481199555
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199555

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199555
Reply with quote  #2

1481199555
Report to moderator
1481199555
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199555

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199555
Reply with quote  #2

1481199555
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2012, 09:13:35 PM
 #622

quick question for ya:

got a 7970, set it up, got bamt working and it's mining right now.

sort of a noobish question, but where is the cgminer.conf file?  i can see it hashing in gpumon I just don't know how to change the cgminer settings.
You can put the cgminer.conf anywhere you want.

I put mine in /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf and then put this in /etc/bamt/bamt.conf
Code:
settings:
    cgminer_opts: --config /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf

You can attach to the screen session and do most of the settings from inside cgminer and then save the config to get yourself started

Ah thanks so much!  How do I attach to the screen session?

Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
April 17, 2012, 09:42:16 PM
 #623

quick question for ya:

got a 7970, set it up, got bamt working and it's mining right now.

sort of a noobish question, but where is the cgminer.conf file?  i can see it hashing in gpumon I just don't know how to change the cgminer settings.
You can put the cgminer.conf anywhere you want.

I put mine in /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf and then put this in /etc/bamt/bamt.conf
Code:
settings:
    cgminer_opts: --config /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf

You can attach to the screen session and do most of the settings from inside cgminer and then save the config to get yourself started

Ah thanks so much!  How do I attach to the screen session?
Code:
screen -r

You should read up on screen first.

I actually ended up going back to phoenix instead of cgminer.  I get less rejects and a higher hash rate.

mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2012, 09:44:27 PM
 #624

quick question for ya:

got a 7970, set it up, got bamt working and it's mining right now.

sort of a noobish question, but where is the cgminer.conf file?  i can see it hashing in gpumon I just don't know how to change the cgminer settings.
You can put the cgminer.conf anywhere you want.

I put mine in /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf and then put this in /etc/bamt/bamt.conf
Code:
settings:
    cgminer_opts: --config /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf

You can attach to the screen session and do most of the settings from inside cgminer and then save the config to get yourself started

Ah thanks so much!  How do I attach to the screen session?
Code:
screen -r

You should read up on screen first.

I actually ended up going back to phoenix instead of cgminer.  I get less rejects and a higher hash rate.
yeah I got cgminer working with ubuntu and i was disapointed with the hashrate.  this is more-or-less an experiment, but it's coming along nicely!

edit: but yes, the screen -r command does wonders! 

having an issue where i set the core frequency to say,  800mhz, and it says "driver reports success but see below" and it's running at 300mhz core.  i'm still tinkering with it, did a coldreboot, see how it likes that. 

in the bamt.conf, there are values to set for core and memory, are these ignored when cgminer is at the wheel?

cmg5461
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374



View Profile
April 17, 2012, 10:49:42 PM
 #625

I have a tiny suggestion, but would it be possible to have mother ping the first choice in the pool file when mining on a backup?  It would be great to have the process automated Cheesy

If I've helped: 1CmguJhwW4sbtSMFsyaafikJ8jhYS61quz

Sold: 5850 to lepenguin. Quick, easy and trustworthy.
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
April 17, 2012, 10:59:21 PM
 #626

in the bamt.conf, there are values to set for core and memory, are these ignored when cgminer is at the wheel?
When I was using cgminer, I removed all of those lines from my bamt.conf and did everything in cgminer.conf

CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806



View Profile
April 18, 2012, 03:00:27 AM
 #627

With a hint from lodcrappo in an earlier post, I've got BAMT working on an unsupported gigabyte motherboard(990fxa-UD3). I've loaded plopkexec boot manager on a second usb drive(could be loaded on cd or floppy as well) and set it as the default boot device in the bios. Plopkexec auto-detects BAMT on my second drive and I can select and boot into BAMT. Now I've got to figure out how to configure the boot manager to auto boot into a distribution so I can set up my headless miner.

http://www.plop.at/en/plopkexec.html

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - GekkoScience DL580 Breakout Boards are In Stock!
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
April 18, 2012, 05:42:37 PM
 #628

OK I have prepared an iso to make booting on gigabyte motherboards possible, see my post here:

http://www.bitcointrading.com/forum/index.php?topic=416.msg1149#msg1149

Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
April 18, 2012, 06:39:54 PM
 #629

OK I have prepared an iso to make booting on gigabyte motherboards possible, see my post here:

http://www.bitcointrading.com/forum/index.php?topic=416.msg1149#msg1149

Could u make an iso for bamt that has 7970 support out of the box?

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
April 18, 2012, 08:08:48 PM
 #630

OK I have prepared an iso to make booting on gigabyte motherboards possible, see my post here:

http://www.bitcointrading.com/forum/index.php?topic=416.msg1149#msg1149

Could u make an iso for bamt that has 7970 support out of the box?

ask lodcrappo Smiley

01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
April 18, 2012, 08:53:58 PM
 #631

OK I have prepared an iso to make booting on gigabyte motherboards possible, see my post here:

http://www.bitcointrading.com/forum/index.php?topic=416.msg1149#msg1149
Good work! Will test very soon!
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
April 18, 2012, 09:14:49 PM
 #632

OK I have prepared an iso to make booting on gigabyte motherboards possible, see my post here:

http://www.bitcointrading.com/forum/index.php?topic=416.msg1149#msg1149

Could u make an iso for bamt that has 7970 support out of the box?

ask lodcrappo Smiley

I am pretty sure I already asked.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
April 18, 2012, 10:07:02 PM
 #633

By adding support for 7000 series cards (updating the SDK) you kill the hashrate on all 5000 series cards.  And since most the mining on GPUs is done on 5000 series cards it turns out to be not such a good idea for most BAMT users.

Perhaps since all you 7000 series card users are crapping out $600 a card, you guys should come up with a bounty for someone, or even lodcrappo, to do a BAMT split with the newer SDK.

But to be honest, why don't you guys just update the SDK on your existing BAMT image?
http://developer.amd.com/sdks/amdappsdk/assets/AMD_APP_SDK_Installation_Notes.pdf

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
April 18, 2012, 10:11:44 PM
 #634

Perhaps since all you 7000 series card users are crapping out $600 a card, you guys should come up with a bounty for someone, or even lodcrappo, to do a BAMT split with the newer SDK.

I donate to lodcrappo to get ANYTHING done in BAMT. Guess what..... it now has everything I need.

This is definitely a good strategy.
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806



View Profile
April 19, 2012, 01:45:56 AM
 #635

OK I have prepared an iso to make booting on gigabyte motherboards possible, see my post here:

http://www.bitcointrading.com/forum/index.php?topic=416.msg1149#msg1149

Doesn't work for me, hangs at loading plpbt.bin. This is the same thing I get when trying to boot from usb via the standard plop boot manager GUI. (plopKexec works for me though) Can you give us some insight on the settings you used building the plop boot manager iso?

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - GekkoScience DL580 Breakout Boards are In Stock!
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
April 19, 2012, 03:38:07 AM
 #636

OK I have prepared an iso to make booting on gigabyte motherboards possible, see my post here:

http://www.bitcointrading.com/forum/index.php?topic=416.msg1149#msg1149

Doesn't work for me, hangs at loading plpbt.bin. This is the same thing I get when trying to boot from usb via the standard plop boot manager GUI. (plopKexec works for me though) Can you give us some insight on the settings you used building the plop boot manager iso?

Damn!  I thought it would have worked for all situations.  I made it like 2 weeks ago and it works wonders with the 990FXA-UD3, I can't really remember what settings I used, if the plop GUI dies for you then chances are this will too, since it's just the menu but without a menu, it is just set to boot from USB at boot.  Which board do you have?

pcexpress4less
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 03:57:33 AM
 #637

With a hint from lodcrappo in an earlier post, I've got BAMT working on an unsupported gigabyte motherboard(990fxa-UD3). I've loaded plopkexec boot manager on a second usb drive(could be loaded on cd or floppy as well) and set it as the default boot device in the bios. Plopkexec auto-detects BAMT on my second drive and I can select and boot into BAMT. Now I've got to figure out how to configure the boot manager to auto boot into a distribution so I can set up my headless miner.

http://www.plop.at/en/plopkexec.html

Plopkexec boot manager is also working for my Gigabyte 990fxa-UD3. I will try your iso next and share the results . I'm just now trying out BAMT and this was a big issue as I have several of these boards. I didn't get a answer back from Gigabyte as for when they intend to solve the bios boot problem. If they ever do. Off topic but does anyone know how to get mgpumon web interface to stop showing old miner names and stats?
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806



View Profile
April 19, 2012, 04:05:26 AM
 #638

OK I have prepared an iso to make booting on gigabyte motherboards possible, see my post here:

http://www.bitcointrading.com/forum/index.php?topic=416.msg1149#msg1149

Doesn't work for me, hangs at loading plpbt.bin. This is the same thing I get when trying to boot from usb via the standard plop boot manager GUI. (plopKexec works for me though) Can you give us some insight on the settings you used building the plop boot manager iso?

Damn!  I thought it would have worked for all situations.  I made it like 2 weeks ago and it works wonders with the 990FXA-UD3, I can't really remember what settings I used, if the plop GUI dies for you then chances are this will too, since it's just the menu but without a menu, it is just set to boot from USB at boot.  Which board do you have?

Same board actually. I do have about 3 hdd in this machine, I wonder if standard plop bootmgr has an issue with multiple devices? I spent some time last night trying to read through the documentation to manually set the device ID but doc is written in pretty bad english. Curious to see if it works for the other guy with the UD3.

ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - GekkoScience DL580 Breakout Boards are In Stock!
Definit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
April 19, 2012, 05:23:56 AM
 #639

Off topic but does anyone know how to get mgpumon web interface to stop showing old miner names and stats?

you try restarting your main rig that displays mgpumon?
JL421
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146


View Profile
April 19, 2012, 07:13:36 AM
 #640

I have an odd issue...whenever I try to define a

cgminer_opts: --config /etc/bamt/cgminer.conf

CGMiner never starts...if I put my options directly into the line it works flawlessly every time.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!