Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 05:47:51 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 »
  Print  
Author Topic: BAMT version 0.5 - Easy USB based mining Linux with farm wide management tools  (Read 302632 times)
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
August 12, 2012, 10:53:01 AM
 #1121

When Kano gets a chip on his shoulder, it's almost impossible to remove and usually results in major collateral damage to anything or anyone within a large radius.
It's a shame.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480787271
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480787271

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480787271
Reply with quote  #2

1480787271
Report to moderator
1480787271
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480787271

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480787271
Reply with quote  #2

1480787271
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 12, 2012, 02:25:38 PM
 #1122

Well when you keep apologising by saying: "sorry I made that mistake BECAUSE the API is crap"
I oddly enough don't take that nicely at all.

... that's why I said stop replying ...

Who are these people you have sent forth with API bugs?

I'm having difficulty remembering any bugs in the API that ever related to BAMT ...
(probably >99% of the code in the API was put there by me)

I think there was an issue where you were sending the wrong 'quit' string to the API (with a \n) once ...
.. and I know BAMT still puts a \n on the end of everything it send to the API ... which it shouldn't ...

...

2.3.1f came from me - I added BFL and Icarus API support to 2.3.1 while ckolivas was away ...
... and that's why people with BFL singles and MiniRigs still use BAMT with their GPU rigs ...
(that 2.3.1f number already tells you it came from me - ckolivas doesn't put letters in there - I do)

...

Meh

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
david113
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 03:40:29 AM
 #1123

I see people keep asking for a BAMT able to run with 7970 cards so I am thinking to share mine.
It may work for you or it may not...give it a try. It worked for me two months already so is not gonna blow your PC.

It is a BAMT updated to SDK 2.6 and 8.921 AMD driver using cgminer 2.5.0.
SDK 2.6 was recommended by ckolivas for 7970 and the 8.921 driver was (I tried all recent drivers) the only one that did not gave me hardware errors with cgminer.
Other (more recent) SDK/driver combinations could work also but this one worked perfectly for me.

All you need to do is edit bamt.conf at the cgminer_opts line and enable cgminer in each GPU section for how many cards you have.
If you want to use a separate cgminer config be my guest, I personally enter all the options I need in that cgminer_opts line.

I give no guarantees that it will work for you, it does for me with three 7970 cards.

root password = root
user password = live

Download:
https://ca.isohunt.com/torrent_details/402809617/BAMT+for+7970?tab=summary

Hope this damn torrent will work, eventually add these trackers to your bit-torrent client:

http://announce.opensharing.org:2710/announce
http://exodus.desync.com:6969/announce



It work for my, Thanks a lot
dani
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 525


..yeah


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 08:02:40 AM
 #1124

me again,

one of my cards crashed tonight, cant tell why. But after restarting mining the card got back to 800/1000 instead of 525/225 and went bananas. my bamt.conf is still fine, saying 525/225 clock/ram. But no matter how often i restart mining or keep coldrebooting, it wont overclock this damn card. What the hell?

Hai
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 11:51:37 AM
 #1125

mother disabled ocing on he card
read the thread near the bening it will link you to the bamt 4 thread to a command that will delete the error code in mother

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 12:55:57 PM
 #1126

me again,

one of my cards crashed tonight, cant tell why. But after restarting mining the card got back to 800/1000 instead of 525/225 and went bananas. my bamt.conf is still fine, saying 525/225 clock/ram. But no matter how often i restart mining or keep coldrebooting, it wont overclock this damn card. What the hell?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65915.msg985548#msg985548
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
August 13, 2012, 03:17:11 PM
 #1127

I see people keep asking for a BAMT able to run with 7970 cards so I am thinking to share mine.
It may work for you or it may not...give it a try. It worked for me two months already so is not gonna blow your PC.

It is a BAMT updated to SDK 2.6 and 8.921 AMD driver using cgminer 2.5.0.
...
...

It work for my, Thanks a lot

Ah, many thanks for the feedback, so far at least 6 persons downloaded the image (from me) but no one said at least fuck you, it doesn't work...
I am glad to know that it is working for you  Smiley
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2012, 04:03:22 PM
 #1128

I see people keep asking for a BAMT able to run with 7970 cards so I am thinking to share mine.
It may work for you or it may not...give it a try. It worked for me two months already so is not gonna blow your PC.

It is a BAMT updated to SDK 2.6 and 8.921 AMD driver using cgminer 2.5.0.
SDK 2.6 was recommended by ckolivas for 7970 and the 8.921 driver was (I tried all recent drivers) the only one that did not gave me hardware errors with cgminer.
Other (more recent) SDK/driver combinations could work also but this one worked perfectly for me.

All you need to do is edit bamt.conf at the cgminer_opts line and enable cgminer in each GPU section for how many cards you have.
If you want to use a separate cgminer config be my guest, I personally enter all the options I need in that cgminer_opts line.

I give no guarantees that it will work for you, it does for me with three 7970 cards.

root password = root
user password = live

Download:
https://ca.isohunt.com/torrent_details/402809617/BAMT+for+7970?tab=summary

Hope this damn torrent will work, eventually add these trackers to your bit-torrent client:

http://announce.opensharing.org:2710/announce
http://exodus.desync.com:6969/announce










Sweet!  But I'm getting no seeds.  Can someone seed this please?

philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
August 13, 2012, 04:11:38 PM
 #1129

I am seeding it right now. Try to add those trackers I mentioned above to your torrent client.
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2012, 04:12:42 PM
 #1130

I am seeding it right now. Try to add those trackers I mentioned above to your torrent client.
Oh there we go, I had to read between the lines.  I mean put an empty line between trackers.  W00t!

philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
August 13, 2012, 06:48:15 PM
 #1131

A bit later, gigavps found that 2.3f would sometimes just exit with no clear indication of why.  He was desperate for a fix, and I believe contacted you guys, posted on the cgminer forum, etc.  When no solution was forthcoming, he asked me if I could hack mother to detect that it had exited and start it back up.  So I did.
Anyway I instrumented the newer cgminer restart problem in bamt and it is indeed in the /opt/bamt/mother monitoring file. The perl parsing of ps axu output fails to detect cgminer is there and it then calls /etc/init.d/mine restart . So it is in fact bamt that is restarting cgminer, and if I edit the mother script to parse the output of ps axu differently, it does NOT continually restart cgminer. Alas I don't really know perl, but it does seem to need fixing.

If you copy this file on top of mother in /opt/bamt it shouldn't restart on you (note this is not the correct fix and will probably not restart cgminer should it actually really crash):
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/mother

So what would be best thing to do then, use ckolivas's fix OR don't apply BAMT fix 20 in the first place?


mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2012, 09:15:42 PM
 #1132



This error is currently the bane of my existence. 

Why does this happen, on a fresh BAMT, immediately after setting the root password?  Once that error happens, if you reboot, there's a chance it might work on next boot, but sometimes reformatting the USB helps.

I've had to format BAMT so many times now that the USB sticks are dying, and it's mostly because of this stupid Xauthority error.

Any tips?  I've asked in the past but no real solutions to this.

BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 09:38:16 PM
 #1133



This error is currently the bane of my existence. 

Why does this happen, on a fresh BAMT, immediately after setting the root password?  Once that error happens, if you reboot, there's a chance it might work on next boot, but sometimes reformatting the USB helps.

I've had to format BAMT so many times now that the USB sticks are dying, and it's mostly because of this stupid Xauthority error.

Any tips?  I've asked in the past but no real solutions to this.

Have you applied all the updates? IIRC there was a fix that addressed this, I may be wrong through, it's been a while.
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2012, 09:57:31 PM
 #1134

This error is currently the bane of my existence. 

Why does this happen, on a fresh BAMT, immediately after setting the root password?  Once that error happens, if you reboot, there's a chance it might work on next boot, but sometimes reformatting the USB helps.

I've had to format BAMT so many times now that the USB sticks are dying, and it's mostly because of this stupid Xauthority error.

Any tips?  I've asked in the past but no real solutions to this.

Have you applied all the updates? IIRC there was a fix that addressed this, I may be wrong through, it's been a while.
Yeah, that's what I do after setting the password, usually, but there isn't a fix for this.

philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
August 13, 2012, 09:57:39 PM
 #1135



This error is currently the bane of my existence. 

Why does this happen, on a fresh BAMT, immediately after setting the root password?  Once that error happens, if you reboot, there's a chance it might work on next boot, but sometimes reformatting the USB helps.

I've had to format BAMT so many times now that the USB sticks are dying, and it's mostly because of this stupid Xauthority error.

Any tips?  I've asked in the past but no real solutions to this.

Found this:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65915.msg885677#msg885677
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
August 13, 2012, 10:17:24 PM
 #1136

This error is currently the bane of my existence. 

Why does this happen, on a fresh BAMT, immediately after setting the root password?  Once that error happens, if you reboot, there's a chance it might work on next boot, but sometimes reformatting the USB helps.

I've had to format BAMT so many times now that the USB sticks are dying, and it's mostly because of this stupid Xauthority error.

Any tips?  I've asked in the past but no real solutions to this.

Have you applied all the updates? IIRC there was a fix that addressed this, I may be wrong through, it's been a while.
Yeah, that's what I do after setting the password, usually, but there isn't a fix for this.
I believe I had this one time, I think I did this to fix it. (Or it's maybe a bad USB flash drive?)

Fresh image to USB flash drive.
Booted with a monitor attached.
Logged in as root via the gui.
Minimal mods to the bamt.conf to get the cards enabled and on a pool. (tweak/oc/tune later)
Ran cgminer via the gui, hit F for fixer, applied all.
As root via the gui, changed PW.
Then SSH'd to it from PuTTY.

I just remember getting an error like that before, and I think logging in on the rig first before hitting it via SSH made that go away. Or I'm way off base, and I'm thinking of something completely different. Either way, hope it helps.
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2012, 10:33:47 PM
 #1137

This error is currently the bane of my existence. 

Why does this happen, on a fresh BAMT, immediately after setting the root password?  Once that error happens, if you reboot, there's a chance it might work on next boot, but sometimes reformatting the USB helps.

I've had to format BAMT so many times now that the USB sticks are dying, and it's mostly because of this stupid Xauthority error.

Any tips?  I've asked in the past but no real solutions to this.

Found this:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65915.msg885677#msg885677

Exactly.  Reduce overclocking.  But the system hasn't been configured yet, all that has been done is the password is set.  It's not doing ANYTHING yet.

This error is currently the bane of my existence. 

Why does this happen, on a fresh BAMT, immediately after setting the root password?  Once that error happens, if you reboot, there's a chance it might work on next boot, but sometimes reformatting the USB helps.

I've had to format BAMT so many times now that the USB sticks are dying, and it's mostly because of this stupid Xauthority error.

Any tips?  I've asked in the past but no real solutions to this.

Have you applied all the updates? IIRC there was a fix that addressed this, I may be wrong through, it's been a while.
Yeah, that's what I do after setting the password, usually, but there isn't a fix for this.
I believe I had this one time, I think I did this to fix it. (Or it's maybe a bad USB flash drive?)

Fresh image to USB flash drive.
Booted with a monitor attached.
Logged in as root via the gui.
Minimal mods to the bamt.conf to get the cards enabled and on a pool. (tweak/oc/tune later)
Ran cgminer via the gui, hit F for fixer, applied all.
As root via the gui, changed PW.
Then SSH'd to it from PuTTY.

I just remember getting an error like that before, and I think logging in on the rig first before hitting it via SSH made that go away. Or I'm way off base, and I'm thinking of something completely different. Either way, hope it helps.


I don't know if that's the case.. It would be annoying to have to configure each box this way...  I'll try it though.

philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
August 13, 2012, 10:36:37 PM
 #1138

What if you exit SSH and SSH again directly as root?
mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2012, 10:38:47 PM
 #1139

Two identical boxes, both MSI 890FXA-GD70 motherboards, both 4x 5850s, I cannot set the password without it spitting the Xauthority error.

We need 6 cards running on each box.  It's like effin' impossible to do but there is a 6-card 890FXA-GD70 with 6x 6870s on it running no problem.

These two, again identical, all same bios (1.6) and it errors on 4 cards.  WTF.

mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2012, 10:41:03 PM
 #1140

What if you exit SSH and SSH again directly as root?
That's a damn good suggestion.  Tried it on both, one worked the other didn't.  But we need more than 4 cards on these boards, so i'll try 5 on the one that succeeded SSH as root.

edit: same thing..

Pages: « 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!