Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2020, 02:54:32 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 [220]
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 437275 times)
tntdgcr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219
Merit: 100

Bitcoin Mining Hosting


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2016, 02:28:02 AM
 #4381

New MM firmware released for AvalonMiner 6.0, Hardware model: MM-60, Version: 601605-256e0f00

Firmware Details:
  http://downloads.canaan-creative.com/software/avalon6/mm/2016-05-11/

ChangeLog:
* Check api fifo overflow
* Add CODE_HOTBEFORE for hot notify
* Add a new package AVA4_P_SET_FREQ
* Support device hardware error
* Fix duplicate share
* Move stratum file to a lib
* Update temp check

Communicate:
  http://lists.canaan-creative.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo
  IRC: #avalon @freenode.net

Documents:
  https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon

time to try some new firmware

OregonMines is expanding. Are you expanding with us?
1594911272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594911272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594911272
Reply with quote  #2

1594911272
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1594911272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594911272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594911272
Reply with quote  #2

1594911272
Report to moderator
HerbPean
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 01, 2016, 05:22:57 AM
 #4382

New MM firmware released for AvalonMiner 6.0, Hardware model: MM-60, Version: 601605-256e0f00

Firmware Details:
  http://downloads.canaan-creative.com/software/avalon6/mm/2016-05-11/

ChangeLog:
* Check api fifo overflow
* Add CODE_HOTBEFORE for hot notify
* Add a new package AVA4_P_SET_FREQ
* Support device hardware error
* Fix duplicate share
* Move stratum file to a lib
* Update temp check

Communicate:
  http://lists.canaan-creative.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo
  IRC: #avalon @freenode.net

Documents:
  https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon

time to try some new firmware

Tested it and I can't get my daisy chain to work ... I see all 4 in the UI but only one is hashing

EDIT: did a rollback to the previous version. working now.
alh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1731
Merit: 1011


View Profile
June 01, 2016, 06:24:19 AM
 #4383

@Herb: For you, what was the "previous" version?

Is the process of changing the MM firmware pretty reliable and painless? I don't worry at all about the RPi stuff since I can always just put back a previous SD card, but have zero experience with changing the MM firmware.

Any caveats or warnings, besides the usual "Leave it alone if it's not broke"?
HerbPean
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 03, 2016, 03:57:29 AM
 #4384

@Herb: For you, what was the "previous" version?

Is the process of changing the MM firmware pretty reliable and painless? I don't worry at all about the RPi stuff since I can always just put back a previous SD card, but have zero experience with changing the MM firmware.

Any caveats or warnings, besides the usual "Leave it alone if it's not broke"?

Pretty much, don't fix what is not broken but I tried it anyway Tongue

I went back to the January release => https://canaan.io/downloads/software/avalon6/mm/2016-01-25/

Herb
alh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1731
Merit: 1011


View Profile
June 03, 2016, 07:08:56 AM
 #4385

Thanks for your experience Herb. My only real complaint with my Avalon6 is that I have never had any real success in terms of "downclocking" it. I can easily adjust the Frequency down to 100 (from 500 nominal), but after a few hours, it's essentially back up to the original power, speed, and fan RPM.

A couple other questions:

1) I assume you just use the  "System --> Backup/Flash Firmware" tab to do so?

2) I see 3 files in the directory you pointed to on the website. I understand the md5sums file. Bu I don't know if the mm.bit or mm.mcs is the actual image to be flashed. How did you know which one to choose?

3) Have you ever tried reducing the Frequency and observed the effect several hours later?

alex
geoffrey
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 06, 2016, 07:28:48 PM
 #4386

a new Avalon miner ?

Avalon 7
https://github.com/Canaan-Creative/Avalon-extras/commit/d290470244811c0ae4d5a45e7308372a104704fb
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1463


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
June 06, 2016, 08:01:26 PM
 #4387

Nice pick, that's interesting!  Cool

HerbPean
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 06, 2016, 08:28:32 PM
 #4388

Thanks for your experience Herb. My only real complaint with my Avalon6 is that I have never had any real success in terms of "downclocking" it. I can easily adjust the Frequency down to 100 (from 500 nominal), but after a few hours, it's essentially back up to the original power, speed, and fan RPM.

A couple other questions:

1) I assume you just use the  "System --> Backup/Flash Firmware" tab to do so?

2) I see 3 files in the directory you pointed to on the website. I understand the md5sums file. Bu I don't know if the mm.bit or mm.mcs is the actual image to be flashed. How did you know which one to choose?

3) Have you ever tried reducing the Frequency and observed the effect several hours later?

alex

Hey Sorry for the late reply !

1) No it's Status => MM Upgrade

2) It's the MCS file.

3) Nope but Philipma1957 did some test, downclocking improve just a little bit the efficiency but it's very substantial.

Tips => Please visit https://ehash.com/support for support,visit http://downloads.canaan-creative.com for firmware download.

Herb

Mikeqin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 13, 2016, 11:25:52 AM
 #4389

Which Raspberry Pi firmware did you use ?
This may occurs before this one, https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon6#20160125.
We always use the latest Raspberry Pi firmware with the latest Avalon Miner 6.0 MM firmware.
Anyway We still work hard to keep backward. Smiley


New MM firmware released for AvalonMiner 6.0, Hardware model: MM-60, Version: 601605-256e0f00

Firmware Details:
  http://downloads.canaan-creative.com/software/avalon6/mm/2016-05-11/

ChangeLog:
* Check api fifo overflow
* Add CODE_HOTBEFORE for hot notify
* Add a new package AVA4_P_SET_FREQ
* Support device hardware error
* Fix duplicate share
* Move stratum file to a lib
* Update temp check

Communicate:
  http://lists.canaan-creative.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo
  IRC: #avalon @freenode.net

Documents:
  https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon

time to try some new firmware

Tested it and I can't get my daisy chain to work ... I see all 4 in the UI but only one is hashing

EDIT: did a rollback to the previous version. working now.
HerbPean
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 13, 2016, 04:22:38 PM
 #4390

Which Raspberry Pi firmware did you use ?
This may occurs before this one, https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon6#20160125.
We always use the latest Raspberry Pi firmware with the latest Avalon Miner 6.0 MM firmware.
Anyway We still work hard to keep backward. Smiley


New MM firmware released for AvalonMiner 6.0, Hardware model: MM-60, Version: 601605-256e0f00

Firmware Details:
  http://downloads.canaan-creative.com/software/avalon6/mm/2016-05-11/

ChangeLog:
* Check api fifo overflow
* Add CODE_HOTBEFORE for hot notify
* Add a new package AVA4_P_SET_FREQ
* Support device hardware error
* Fix duplicate share
* Move stratum file to a lib
* Update temp check

Communicate:
  http://lists.canaan-creative.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo
  IRC: #avalon @freenode.net

Documents:
  https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon

time to try some new firmware

Tested it and I can't get my daisy chain to work ... I see all 4 in the UI but only one is hashing

EDIT: did a rollback to the previous version. working now.

I didn't update the Pie... it's probably that.
alh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1731
Merit: 1011


View Profile
June 13, 2016, 05:14:04 PM
 #4391

It would be REALLY attractive to know what Pi software is expected to be teamed up with which MM firmware. They obviously have their own dates and own features/fixes. When got my used A6, I had no idea which Pi software to use,
and one I got past the bad cable, no idea if my combination was "good" or "bad". I have been quite reluctant to tinker with the MM firmware for fear of bricking the A6. I don't worry about the Pi, since i's always possible to get back to a working state.

Any guidance on this on the website would be swell.
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 13, 2016, 06:34:53 PM
Last edit: June 13, 2016, 06:58:51 PM by toptek
 #4392

It would be REALLY attractive to know what Pi software is expected to be teamed up with which MM firmware. They obviously have their own dates and own features/fixes. When got my used A6, I had no idea which Pi software to use,
and one I got past the bad cable, no idea if my combination was "good" or "bad". I have been quite reluctant to tinker with the MM firmware for fear of bricking the A6. I don't worry about the Pi, since i's always possible to get back to a working state.

Any guidance on this on the website would be swell.


https://downloads.openwrt.org/chaos_calmer/15.05/brcm2708/bcm2708/ should work with the Rasp berry PI b

https://downloads.openwrt.org/chaos_calmer/15.05/brcm2708/bcm2709/ should work with the Raspberry PI 2b

pi3 i haven't find one yet but really haven't looked or tried ....


https://canaan.io/downloads/software/avalon6/openwrt/20160530/brcm2708/


The MM for A6 should work with any Raspberry like the USB uart dongle they have for the a6  works with both the A4/4.1 and 6, they sent me a replacement uart usb dongle for my 4.1 and it's version two that comes with the A6 and work well on  my a 4.1 . but the A4 and A4.1 does have a different  MM and it's listed as such on there FTP.

A 4/.4.1 is listed like this https://canaan.io/downloads/software/avalon4/ for MM


 A6

https://canaan.io/en/support/

They just did a firmware release and made it more clear in the above link.

 like i said one MM for both rasp berry pi for the A6 the A4 had two different versions of the miner that hashed different.Smiley.

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
brother3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 02, 2016, 08:19:14 AM
 #4393

I would like to solo mine (not BTC) via network with Avalon 6.  I have tried google for a few days and all I could come up was the IP address of the Avalon 6 and the possibility of using Multiminer.  I can't get the Avalon to be detected by Multiminer after a many hours...

If anyone can point me to a way to solo mine using windows and Avalon 6 over LAN that would be awesome.  I have had no issues with solo mining with CPU and GPU but ASIC is a different beast to me...

Thanks for your time!
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2870
Merit: 2447



View Profile
July 02, 2016, 01:35:32 PM
Last edit: July 02, 2016, 07:38:30 PM by philipma1957
 #4394

I would like to solo mine (not BTC) via network with Avalon 6.  I have tried google for a few days and all I could come up was the IP address of the Avalon 6 and the possibility of using Multiminer.  I can't get the Avalon to be detected by Multiminer after a many hours...

If anyone can point me to a way to solo mine using windows and Avalon 6 over LAN that would be awesome.  I have had no issues with solo mining with CPU and GPU but ASIC is a different beast to me...

Thanks for your time!

Sure  but you really want  a rasp pi  not windows.


do not try my advice below it its no longer working correctly

I solo mined PPC with the avalon 6


http://mining.securepayment.cc/pools/ppcoin/stats.php?address=PV68JwCpM5CGGf9rirFS7weYWXnMeiyCaC&submit=Lookup+Stats

I hit a few blocks.  


Mind you this is not pure solo mining.

The avalon 6 will only mine sha 256   so BTC and PPC will work

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
ZedZedNova
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 263

Ooh La La, C'est Zoom!


View Profile
July 02, 2016, 07:15:37 PM
 #4395

I would like to solo mine (not BTC) via network with Avalon 6.  I have tried google for a few days and all I could come up was the IP address of the Avalon 6 and the possibility of using Multiminer.  I can't get the Avalon to be detected by Multiminer after a many hours...

If anyone can point me to a way to solo mine using windows and Avalon 6 over LAN that would be awesome.  I have had no issues with solo mining with CPU and GPU but ASIC is a different beast to me...

Thanks for your time!

Sure  but you really want  a rasp pi  not windows.

 I solo mined PPC with the avalon 6


http://mining.securepayment.cc/pools/ppcoin/stats.php?address=PV68JwCpM5CGGf9rirFS7weYWXnMeiyCaC&submit=Lookup+Stats

I hit a few blocks.  

Mind you this is not pure solo mining.

The avalon 6 will only mine sha 256   so BTC and PPC will work

FYI, securepayment.cc hasn't updated their PPC pool to the new fork so any hashing you do there is wasted hash. I was trying to hash there with my Compac stick miner.

I'll dig up the thread with my question, and the answer I received.

edit: found it - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=601925.msg15282523#msg15282523

- zed

No mining at the moment.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2870
Merit: 2447



View Profile
July 02, 2016, 07:37:34 PM
 #4396

I would like to solo mine (not BTC) via network with Avalon 6.  I have tried google for a few days and all I could come up was the IP address of the Avalon 6 and the possibility of using Multiminer.  I can't get the Avalon to be detected by Multiminer after a many hours...

If anyone can point me to a way to solo mine using windows and Avalon 6 over LAN that would be awesome.  I have had no issues with solo mining with CPU and GPU but ASIC is a different beast to me...

Thanks for your time!

Sure  but you really want  a rasp pi  not windows.

 I solo mined PPC with the avalon 6


http://mining.securepayment.cc/pools/ppcoin/stats.php?address=PV68JwCpM5CGGf9rirFS7weYWXnMeiyCaC&submit=Lookup+Stats

I hit a few blocks.  

Mind you this is not pure solo mining.

The avalon 6 will only mine sha 256   so BTC and PPC will work

FYI, securepayment.cc hasn't updated their PPC pool to the new fork so any hashing you do there is wasted hash. I was trying to hash there with my Compac stick miner.

I'll dig up the thread with my question, and the answer I received.

edit: found it - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=601925.msg15282523#msg15282523

- zed


I will strike my post out.  Thanks


I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Mikeqin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 28, 2016, 03:46:48 AM
 #4397

Hi, All:
New MM firmware and Raspberry Pi has released.
Raspberry Pi 3 Model B has been supported, and also fix the mm hash rate bug

New firmware released for AvalonMiner 6.0 RPi, Version: Avalon Firmware - 20160726
Firmware Details:
RPi Firmware
   https://canaan.io/downloads/software/avalon6/openwrt/20160726/

ChangeLog:
* Support Raspberry Pi 3 Model B
* Sync with OpenWrt master branch (cac971da)


New MM firmware released for AvalonMiner 6.0, Hardware model: MM-60, Version: 601607-2a78bc90

Firmware Details:
  https://canaan.io/downloads/software/avalon6/mm/2016-07-15/

ChangeLog:
* Fix: 50% off hash rate bug

Communicate:
   Email: service@canaan-creative.com
   IRC: #avalon @freenode.net

Documents:
  https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon
Mikeqin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 08:00:10 AM
 #4398

New MM firmware released for AvalonMiner 6.0, Hardware model: MM-60, Version: 601608-6dffde40

Firmware Details:
  https://canaan.io/downloads/software/avalon6/mm/2016-08-15/

ChangeLog:
* Update: Update led status

Communicate:
   Email: service@canaan-creative.com
   IRC: #avalon @freenode.net

Documents:
  https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon6
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1042



View Profile
October 12, 2017, 06:58:18 AM
Last edit: October 12, 2017, 01:51:28 PM by Rabinovitch
 #4399

Where can I buy USB AUC converters for Avalon A6 and Avalon 7x1? I have placed an order an canaan.io and I have sent an e-mail to lily, but may be there are another ways to obtain these converters?..

From Siberia with love! Hosting by Rabinovitch!
Fundraising for BOINC Farm
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST, STORJ), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
Pages: « 1 ... 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 [220]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!