Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 08:59:16 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 [205] 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 432392 times)
gjpminingco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Co-Owner Of DCMCo-Op Mining Farm at 3.5 th/s


View Profile WWW
April 26, 2014, 05:13:38 AM
 #4081

I can help you i am still here
I sent you a msg on bitmessage also

1511081956
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511081956

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511081956
Reply with quote  #2

1511081956
Report to moderator
1511081956
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511081956

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511081956
Reply with quote  #2

1511081956
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511081956
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511081956

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511081956
Reply with quote  #2

1511081956
Report to moderator
1511081956
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511081956

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511081956
Reply with quote  #2

1511081956
Report to moderator
1511081956
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511081956

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511081956
Reply with quote  #2

1511081956
Report to moderator
whizzard
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 26, 2014, 08:00:41 PM
 #4082

LOL well... after all that work, I managed to figure out the net config problems and get the OpenWRT to work just as it is intended!  The bad news?  I just realized that this is a batch 1 Avalon not a 2!!!  So the avalon 2 firmware seems to be useless to me!  It ends up that I have an Avalon 1, and I can get it mining with the Debian Wheezy SD card it came with, but only by SSH... and I would love to have a web interface.  Is this possible?  Because all the firmwares I see on the site are for the TP-Link controller which I do not have, and have heard it has crash issues.

How difficult is it to get the Avalon 1 working with a nice web ui and overclock options on a raspberry pi controller?  Possible?

--edit--

Also I would like newest firmware because I don't think the person I bought this older miner from ever updated it... and that is another reason I want to flash a new system to the SD.

Specs:

Avalon 1
4 Module (20-25GH per) = 100GH average
gjpminingco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Co-Owner Of DCMCo-Op Mining Farm at 3.5 th/s


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2014, 02:55:02 PM
 #4083

LOL well... after all that work, I managed to figure out the net config problems and get the OpenWRT to work just as it is intended!  The bad news?  I just realized that this is a batch 1 Avalon not a 2!!!  So the avalon 2 firmware seems to be useless to me!  It ends up that I have an Avalon 1, and I can get it mining with the Debian Wheezy SD card it came with, but only by SSH... and I would love to have a web interface.  Is this possible?  Because all the firmwares I see on the site are for the TP-Link controller which I do not have, and have heard it has crash issues.

How difficult is it to get the Avalon 1 working with a nice web ui and overclock options on a raspberry pi controller?  Possible?

--edit--

Also I would like newest firmware because I don't think the person I bought this older miner from ever updated it... and that is another reason I want to flash a new system to the SD.

Specs:

Avalon 1
4 Module (20-25GH per) = 100GH average

I can help you no problem Please msg me when your online and ready

eddyann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
April 27, 2014, 11:26:45 PM
 #4084

my avalon once in a while stop hashing as well (2-3 days or sometimes once in 5 days). FW version 3.10.12. reboot cannot make it work, the only way to start hashing by disconnecting the power supply and switch it on again. is it FW issues?

It could be a Firmware issue but it is Hard to Say

updated to the latest firmware. but still after 2-3 days it stop hashing. I need to on/off the supply to get it start hashing again. soft reboot just not work. any possibilities on the power supply issues? the unit comes with cooler master ex2 625w for 2 units
gjpminingco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Co-Owner Of DCMCo-Op Mining Farm at 3.5 th/s


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2014, 08:22:39 AM
 #4085

I mean is it possible that you PSU could be failing, Have you been monitoring the temps, it could be also that the unit is shutting the hashing units down due to over heating

eddyann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
April 28, 2014, 08:38:43 AM
 #4086

I mean is it possible that you PSU could be failing, Have you been monitoring the temps, it could be also that the unit is shutting the hashing units down due to over heating

the unit is in server room. Temp less than 30C. I checked the cgminer log, when it stop hashing it says socket connect failed: Connection refused. If I on/off again the miner, it will hash. If I'm lucky it can hash about 2-3 days non stop. later on it stop hashing. and the log says socket connect failed: Connection refused

Diagnostic ping/traceroute are all ok. no packet loss

I have upgrade the firmware to the latest one. this is Avalon 2 55nm
whizzard
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 28, 2014, 03:09:15 PM
 #4087

I mean is it possible that you PSU could be failing, Have you been monitoring the temps, it could be also that the unit is shutting the hashing units down due to over heating

the unit is in server room. Temp less than 30C. I checked the cgminer log, when it stop hashing it says socket connect failed: Connection refused. If I on/off again the miner, it will hash. If I'm lucky it can hash about 2-3 days non stop. later on it stop hashing. and the log says socket connect failed: Connection refused

Diagnostic ping/traceroute are all ok. no packet loss

I have upgrade the firmware to the latest one. this is Avalon 2 55nm

That is strange... do you get the socket refused & can still ping at the same time?  I had the same problem and I had to delete a symlink in the /etc directory that was somehow messing things up.  Could it be a problem with the controller?  I heard TP-Links can have crash problems like that and u have to reboot them.
eddyann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
April 28, 2014, 03:26:46 PM
 #4088

I tried flashing various version of Avalon 2 firmware. the working one is

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20131229/

the latest from canaan wont work. it wont start hashing (socket failed). but i can ping/traceroute with no packet loss

what have been done so far.

a) flashing newest firmware, various version firmware - cannot work
b) using stock clock 1300 - cannot work, so I suspect the overclock (1400) issue/ heat is not the problem. after all the temp around 23-26C.
c) connect using wifi disable lan, connect with lan disable the wifi - cannot work

right now using http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20131229/ firmware. it hash, but I cannot guarantee it will last forever. normally 2-3 days it will stop hashing, but recently it hardly hash for 12 hours.

before this

a) hash for 2-3 days. when it stop hashing, on/off required to resume. soft reboot wont work

now

a) hash for around hours but I able to start hash again with only soft reboot. no need on/off after using

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20131229/

I can share using teamviewer if anyone interested to investigate. i read the log but I cannot understand entirely  Huh Huh Huh
shmadz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498


@theshmadz


View Profile
May 01, 2014, 01:07:24 AM
 #4089

I have a feb 18 order batch 2 avalon, haven't touched the firmware since I added a 4th card. I think.

running firmware 20130821

I'm going to be setting this up in a remote location (bye bye to my first ASIC,  Cry ) and I was thinking of upgrading the firmware before I drop it off. so of course I came here, and then there seems to be different firmwares for each model and it's a little confusing.

I was getting about 100 GH/s reported at btcguild I think I was running at about 330 Mhz

Should I even bother upgrading firmware? I don't like to touch a nicely running setup, but it's going to a new home now and I'd like to just run it on auto and have it at least somewhat quiet. (I've been running at 100% fans for almost a year now and I know the new caretakers of my baby will not put up with that.)

any suggestions?

"You have no moral right to rule us, nor do you possess any methods of enforcement that we have reason to fear." - John Perry Barlow, 1996
gjpminingco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Co-Owner Of DCMCo-Op Mining Farm at 3.5 th/s


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2014, 08:47:09 AM
 #4090

Ok all

Please understand something


Not All current Versions of the Firmware will work for all avalons

if you have a Avalon2 Clone ( Also called the chinese Clone ) then you can only use a certain Firmware


I know this because I also work with avalon to build the Firmware for the Avalon Based Hardware

If your Firmware Has the Option in the Miner Config page to choose between the 110nm chipset and the 55nm chipset then you must use the Same Based Firmware

You can not change to a newer Firmware that no longer has that option, as the Avalon Based hardware driver has changed


If anyone needs help with their issues Please PM me and let me know what kind of Miner you have if you can Even Link a Pic of it then that would help

Please also let me know if you have teamviewer installed as this way i can connect ( with you watching to see that i am doing nothing wrong or sinister ) and repair your system.


You can Look through this thread and see that i have Helped Many People this way and gotten their systems Fixed and Back up and running



Thanks All
GJPMiningCo
Avalon Firmware Creator
Avalon Hardware Tech.
Avalon Tech Support Rep

capa
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
May 01, 2014, 05:27:14 PM
 #4091

Hi,
I have an Avalon2 Single Module – 105


This is my error;
[Firmware Version] => 20140423
cgminer: 2077365
cgminer-openwrt-packages: 4565c9d
luci: dfa7134
Socket connect failed: Connection refused

Raspi build from here; http://downloads.canaan-creative.com/software/avalon2/latest/

Am i running the wrong software?
gjpminingco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Co-Owner Of DCMCo-Op Mining Farm at 3.5 th/s


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2014, 05:37:34 PM
 #4092

Hi,
I have an Avalon2 Single Module – 105


This is my error;
[Firmware Version] => 20140423
cgminer: 2077365
cgminer-openwrt-packages: 4565c9d
luci: dfa7134
Socket connect failed: Connection refused

Raspi build from here; http://downloads.canaan-creative.com/software/avalon2/latest/

Am i running the wrong software?


Most likely not But if you have teamviewer I can help you get this unit running
That unit is My Specialty

capa
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
May 01, 2014, 06:38:34 PM
 #4093

Hi, I'm having problems installing teamviewer on my linux, 32/64bit issues Sad
can you just point me in the right direction or is it a complicated fix?
gjpminingco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Co-Owner Of DCMCo-Op Mining Farm at 3.5 th/s


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2014, 06:52:29 PM
 #4094

If you are running ubuntu No matter if you are running the 64bit os you have to install the 32bit version


it can be a mix of issues that can keep the unit from hashing

capa
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
May 01, 2014, 07:02:08 PM
 #4095

dpkg: error processing teamviewer_linux.deb (--install):
 package architecture (i386) does not match system (amd64)
Errors were encountered while processing:
 teamviewer_linux.deb
capa
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
May 01, 2014, 07:06:29 PM
 #4096

if it's any help, i've ssh'd on and can see /dev/ttyUSB0 ok

cgminer just crashes with no error message when i try to start it manually
gjpminingco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Co-Owner Of DCMCo-Op Mining Farm at 3.5 th/s


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2014, 07:08:43 PM
 #4097

dpkg: error processing teamviewer_linux.deb (--install):
 package architecture (i386) does not match system (amd64)
Errors were encountered while processing:
 teamviewer_linux.deb



What flavor of Linux you running

capa
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
May 01, 2014, 07:11:33 PM
 #4098

it's a customized debian.

ntp synch is ok, all network diagnostics are ok. I dont get it
gjpminingco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Co-Owner Of DCMCo-Op Mining Farm at 3.5 th/s


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2014, 07:15:18 PM
 #4099

it's a customized debian.

ntp synch is ok, all network diagnostics are ok. I dont get it

do you have your time zone set correctly on the unit?
Do you have your unit set to DHCP or to a static IP?
What are your settings for Chip Freq, Voltage, all the settings below the Pool related options

capa
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile
May 01, 2014, 07:28:35 PM
 #4100

i've got this error inthe kernel log;

Thu May  1 20:15:45 2014 user.emerg syslog: Error: Failed to connect to ubus

then further down;
Thu May  1 20:16:20 2014 user.emerg syslog: ntpd: reply from 109.74.192.97: reach 0xff offset 0.083699 delay 0.020919 status 0x24 strat 3 refid 0x0d7612b2 rootdelay 0.003235
Thu May  1 20:16:20 2014 user.emerg syslog: - init complete -
Thu May  1 20:18:01 2014 cron.info crond[321]: crond: USER root pid 563 cmd /usr/bin/cgminer-monitor

Time zone is good
ip is static

system set to Failover

Chip Frequency(Avalon2: 1500, Avalon3: 450) 1500
Chip Voltage(Avalon2: 10000, Avalon3: 6625)  10000
Fan%(Default: 90%)  90
API Allow(Default: W:127.0.0.1)  W:127.0.0.1
More Options(Default: --quiet)   --real-quiet
Pages: « 1 ... 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 [205] 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!