Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 04:56:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 [191] 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 432451 times)
Entropy-uc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 03:36:34 AM
 #3801

Hi All.

My Avalon 4 Module has been working fine, over-clocked at 350 (on OEM PSU) and suddenly not working anymore.

I can access Luci via Wifi and have re-started, rebooted and power-cycled to no avail.

When I look at the Cgminer API Log I see:
[Firmware Version] => 20131229
cgminer: 698d677
cgminer-openwrt-packages: aadd747+
luci: 346e3e7+
Socket connect failed: Connection refused

I have the API Allow set to W:127.0.0.1
I have been able to Ping and Traceroute.

I cannot figure what the heck I am doing wrong.

Thanks in advance!


cgminer is unable to get a response from a pool, so it shuts down.

check your firewall.
1511110571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110571
Reply with quote  #2

1511110571
Report to moderator
1511110571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110571
Reply with quote  #2

1511110571
Report to moderator
1511110571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110571
Reply with quote  #2

1511110571
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511110571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110571
Reply with quote  #2

1511110571
Report to moderator
1511110571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110571
Reply with quote  #2

1511110571
Report to moderator
1511110571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511110571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511110571
Reply with quote  #2

1511110571
Report to moderator
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 06:31:22 AM
 #3802

cgminer is unable to get a response from a pool, so it shuts down.

check your firewall.

or add more backup pools
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 06:53:50 AM
 #3803

Anyone know the maximum current the onboard fan headers can supply ... on avalon gen1 b2?

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 12:27:37 PM
 #3804

Hi All.

My Avalon 4 Module has been working fine, over-clocked at 350 (on OEM PSU) and suddenly not working anymore.

I can access Luci via Wifi and have re-started, rebooted and power-cycled to no avail.

When I look at the Cgminer API Log I see:
[Firmware Version] => 20131229
cgminer: 698d677
cgminer-openwrt-packages: aadd747+
luci: 346e3e7+
Socket connect failed: Connection refused

I have the API Allow set to W:127.0.0.1
I have been able to Ping and Traceroute.

I cannot figure what the heck I am doing wrong.

Thanks in advance!


I would also confirm your miners IP address is setup correctly. Granted it worked before you should still confirm the gateway it still pointing to the same gateway your other miners or computers use on the network.
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 12:28:56 PM
 #3805

Anyone know the maximum current the onboard fan headers can supply ... on avalon gen1 b2?

12v 1.5A.

You might be able to 3Amp fan in but the more amperage the fan is the more stress you put on the power supply.
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 06:55:50 PM
 #3806

Anyone know the maximum current the onboard fan headers can supply ... on avalon gen1 b2?

12v 1.5A.

You might be able to 3Amp fan in but the more amperage the fan is the more stress you put on the power supply.

You talking about the actual PSU in the avalon or the power circuitry on the control board the fans plug into? Cuz I dont wanna blow up the control board.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
HerbJones
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 05:41:52 AM
 #3807

Thanks for the pointers to the firewall. The crazy thing is that I turned it off for a day and then started it up, connecting without a hitch.

I am running behind a airport extreme and express to extend.

C'est la vie.

Cheers,


Hi All.

My Avalon 4 Module has been working fine, over-clocked at 350 (on OEM PSU) and suddenly not working anymore.

I can access Luci via Wifi and have re-started, rebooted and power-cycled to no avail.

When I look at the Cgminer API Log I see:
[Firmware Version] => 20131229
cgminer: 698d677
cgminer-openwrt-packages: aadd747+
luci: 346e3e7+
Socket connect failed: Connection refused

I have the API Allow set to W:127.0.0.1
I have been able to Ping and Traceroute.

I cannot figure what the heck I am doing wrong.

Thanks in advance!


cgminer is unable to get a response from a pool, so it shuts down.

check your firewall.
brain brain
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
January 17, 2014, 02:20:59 AM
 #3808

Please forgive me, I've searched and can't find this info in the thread, so I apologize if I missed it...

I'm solo-mining on my Avalon chip-based rigs and they seem to be using getwork and not GBT.

In the "More Options(Default: --quiet)" field I've tried the trio of "--quiet --no-getwork --no-stratum" and then it won't start hashing at all.

So, when solo mining, I'm getting about 1850 Getworks per minute and about 185 Getwork Fails (10% seems like a non-random number)...

Some system stats:
Firmware-20131110, cgminer-3.4.3, 16x55nm chips, about 200gh/s total per unit
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
January 17, 2014, 02:28:15 AM
 #3809

Please forgive me, I've searched and can't find this info in the thread, so I apologize if I missed it...

I'm solo-mining on my Avalon chip-based rigs and they seem to be using getwork and not GBT.

In the "More Options(Default: --quiet)" field I've tried the trio of "--quiet --no-getwork --no-stratum" and then it won't start hashing at all.

So, when solo mining, I'm getting about 1850 Getworks per minute and about 185 Getwork Fails (10% seems like a non-random number)...

Some system stats:
Firmware-20131110, cgminer-3.4.3, 16x55nm chips, about 200gh/s total per unit

My impression is that you must use stratum to get an Avalon to mine.  I pulled a version of eloipool and modified it to work with an alt coin, and my Batch #2 Avalon did mine 1 block with it.  This was just proof of concept and curiosity, not a production mining configuration.


I try to be respectful and informed.
brain brain
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
January 17, 2014, 02:31:45 AM
 #3810

Please forgive me, I've searched and can't find this info in the thread, so I apologize if I missed it...

I'm solo-mining on my Avalon chip-based rigs and they seem to be using getwork and not GBT.

In the "More Options(Default: --quiet)" field I've tried the trio of "--quiet --no-getwork --no-stratum" and then it won't start hashing at all.

So, when solo mining, I'm getting about 1850 Getworks per minute and about 185 Getwork Fails (10% seems like a non-random number)...

Some system stats:
Firmware-20131110, cgminer-3.4.3, 16x55nm chips, about 200gh/s total per unit

My impression is that you must use stratum to get an Avalon to mine.  I pulled a version of eloipool and modified it to work with an alt coin, and my Batch #2 Avalon did mine 1 block with it.  This was just proof of concept and curiosity, not a production mining configuration.



Well, hell.  I'll go look at it and tell it "you make me sad" straight out of Monty Python.
I've been tinkering and messing with settings but don't want to stray too far from what's working well for me.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
January 17, 2014, 12:07:47 PM
 #3811

Please forgive me, I've searched and can't find this info in the thread, so I apologize if I missed it...

I'm solo-mining on my Avalon chip-based rigs and they seem to be using getwork and not GBT.

In the "More Options(Default: --quiet)" field I've tried the trio of "--quiet --no-getwork --no-stratum" and then it won't start hashing at all.

So, when solo mining, I'm getting about 1850 Getworks per minute and about 185 Getwork Fails (10% seems like a non-random number)...

Some system stats:
Firmware-20131110, cgminer-3.4.3, 16x55nm chips, about 200gh/s total per unit

My impression is that you must use stratum to get an Avalon to mine.  I pulled a version of eloipool and modified it to work with an alt coin, and my Batch #2 Avalon did mine 1 block with it.  This was just proof of concept and curiosity, not a production mining configuration.


ProfMac,
Will you share how you did it? Soon i plan to move al my avalons to solo before switching them off. As far as i know we can mine 4 Alt coins + BTC
Posting your configs + modes will be enough or patch Grin

Thank you

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
January 17, 2014, 12:52:01 PM
 #3812

ProfMac,
Will you share how you did it? Soon i plan to move al my avalons to solo before switching them off. As far as i know we can mine 4 Alt coins + BTC
Posting your configs + modes will be enough or patch Grin

Thank you

I'm working on a script that will pull the eloipool git, and apt-get install the support libraries for a Ubuntu VM.  It's not ready to release yet.

I anticipate that all the Avalons will mine alt coins sometime soon.  There is one pool + exchange that is implementing auto switching to the most profitable alt coin.  They are having trouble with the fast ASICs at the moment, but they are actively working on a fix.  This is http://www.coinex.pw for worker registration, and stratum+tcp://stratum.coinex.pw:9944 for the pool address.  I'm mining BTE on it with one of my Avalons.

Even during beta, their switched pool has 5 TH/s.  Even with an Avalon, I think solo mining is a thing of the past.



I try to be respectful and informed.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
January 17, 2014, 01:47:14 PM
 #3813

ProfMac,
Will you share how you did it? Soon i plan to move al my avalons to solo before switching them off. As far as i know we can mine 4 Alt coins + BTC
Posting your configs + modes will be enough or patch Grin

Thank you

I'm working on a script that will pull the eloipool git, and apt-get install the support libraries for a Ubuntu VM.  It's not ready to release yet.

I anticipate that all the Avalons will mine alt coins sometime soon.  There is one pool + exchange that is implementing auto switching to the most profitable alt coin.  They are having trouble with the fast ASICs at the moment, but they are actively working on a fix.  This is http://www.coinex.pw for worker registration, and stratum+tcp://stratum.coinex.pw:9944 for the pool address.  I'm mining BTE on it with one of my Avalons.

Even during beta, their switched pool has 5 TH/s.  Even with an Avalon, I think solo mining is a thing of the past.



Not quite true. By my calcs merging 4 alt coins + BTC can almost pay the power bill. And you can wait safely for the jackpot  Wink However i am about to do it solo. That is what i was asking. There are a plenty of good tutorials how to setup eloipool. The interesting part is pool config and most interesting is merged mining proxy support for all alt coins Wink

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
Powell
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 428


View Profile
January 17, 2014, 05:04:04 PM
 #3814

Have 4 Avalon 2 BTMiner setups so basically knock off 55nm setups.  The 703N is failing in one of them but at least from the markings I've seen in most threads it is a knock off unit.  No TP-Link logo on the bottom side.  Basically if you try to access it from time to time via web interface it becomes unresponsive and you have to power cycle the unit.

Is there any options beside the 703N?  Something like the WR3020 or something of that nature.  I originally had them all connected via USB to my linux box but went back to the TP-Link solution.

Thanks for any suggestions.
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
January 17, 2014, 06:16:42 PM
 #3815

ProfMac,
Will you share how you did it? Soon i plan to move al my avalons to solo before switching them off. As far as i know we can mine 4 Alt coins + BTC
Posting your configs + modes will be enough or patch Grin

Thank you

I'm working on a script that will pull the eloipool git, and apt-get install the support libraries for a Ubuntu VM.  It's not ready to release yet.

I anticipate that all the Avalons will mine alt coins sometime soon.  There is one pool + exchange that is implementing auto switching to the most profitable alt coin.  They are having trouble with the fast ASICs at the moment, but they are actively working on a fix.  This is http://www.coinex.pw for worker registration, and stratum+tcp://stratum.coinex.pw:9944 for the pool address.  I'm mining BTE on it with one of my Avalons.

Even during beta, their switched pool has 5 TH/s.  Even with an Avalon, I think solo mining is a thing of the past.



Not quite true. By my calcs merging 4 alt coins + BTC can almost pay the power bill. And you can wait safely for the jackpot  Wink However i am about to do it solo. That is what i was asking. There are a plenty of good tutorials how to setup eloipool. The interesting part is pool config and most interesting is merged mining proxy support for all alt coins Wink

I did set up a virtual machine, made the Bytecoin client, and unpacked a zip file that someone on the forums sent me.  I went through the tutorial from a thread here on bitcointalk and also the diff files between bitcoin and bytecoin sources, and made the changes to the init file.

My impression at the moment is that the git that I am working with is a solo mining version that is hard wired to 1 coin.  The block payout address is hardwired into the initialization source.  This is my first Python project, and so far I do not have a good understanding of the source.

I'm willing to forward the zip file to you.  I don't know enough about git to know if is a useful too to just deposits diffs or otherwise help with this effort.


I try to be respectful and informed.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
January 17, 2014, 06:28:19 PM
 #3816

ProfMac,
Will you share how you did it? Soon i plan to move al my avalons to solo before switching them off. As far as i know we can mine 4 Alt coins + BTC
Posting your configs + modes will be enough or patch Grin

Thank you

I'm working on a script that will pull the eloipool git, and apt-get install the support libraries for a Ubuntu VM.  It's not ready to release yet.

I anticipate that all the Avalons will mine alt coins sometime soon.  There is one pool + exchange that is implementing auto switching to the most profitable alt coin.  They are having trouble with the fast ASICs at the moment, but they are actively working on a fix.  This is http://www.coinex.pw for worker registration, and stratum+tcp://stratum.coinex.pw:9944 for the pool address.  I'm mining BTE on it with one of my Avalons.

Even during beta, their switched pool has 5 TH/s.  Even with an Avalon, I think solo mining is a thing of the past.



Not quite true. By my calcs merging 4 alt coins + BTC can almost pay the power bill. And you can wait safely for the jackpot  Wink However i am about to do it solo. That is what i was asking. There are a plenty of good tutorials how to setup eloipool. The interesting part is pool config and most interesting is merged mining proxy support for all alt coins Wink

I did set up a virtual machine, made the Bytecoin client, and unpacked a zip file that someone on the forums sent me.  I went through the tutorial from a thread here on bitcointalk and also the diff files between bitcoin and bytecoin sources, and made the changes to the init file.

My impression at the moment is that the git that I am working with is a solo mining version that is hard wired to 1 coin.  The block payout address is hardwired into the initialization source.  This is my first Python project, and so far I do not have a good understanding of the source.

I'm willing to forward the zip file to you.  I don't know enough about git to know if is a useful too to just deposits diffs or otherwise help with this effort.


Mm proxy is doing the trick it is located in Luke GitHub. I am damn sure that it is a pice of cake for him. So I propose if you want to open a thread with a bounty for him or someone else who can write tutorial. I hate that word though. We need btc + 4 alt coins
I do not have time to moderate  / collect in such a thread that will be best approach in my point of view
What do you think? Besides all we know that a single mistake in the setup can cost a lot

what about you Luke? Are you going to do it?

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
January 17, 2014, 06:36:35 PM
 #3817

Mm proxy is doing the trick it is located in Luke GitHub. I am damn sure that it is a pice of cake for him. So I propose if you want to open a thread with a bounty for him or someone else who can write tutorial. I hate that word though. We need btc + 4 alt coins
I do not have time to moderate  / collect in such a thread that will be best approach in my point of view
What do you think? Besides all we know that a single mistake in the setup can cost a lot

what about you Luke? Are you going to do it?

I actually let Luke-Jr have a SSH login to my TP-503n router before my Avalon arrived, and moved that login to my Avalon once it did arrived.  I decided not to approach him about this project because he is pretty outspoken against alt coins.

However, the bounty idea is not a bad one.  I had forgotten that.

I try to be respectful and informed.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268



View Profile
January 17, 2014, 06:53:33 PM
 #3818

I don't think it's worth your time to bother with the scamcoins: remember you need to maintain a working full node for them, and IIRC the ones with merged mining are all buggy and a pain to keep running (besides namecoin, anyway).
That being said, if you guys want to setup a bounty on something, I will of course consider it.

Unrelated note: I still don't have an Avalon myself to work with, so if anyone is planning to get rid of theirs, please let me know...

loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
January 17, 2014, 07:04:27 PM
 #3819

I don't think it's worth your time to bother with the scamcoins: remember you need to maintain a working full node for them, and IIRC the ones with merged mining are all buggy and a pain to keep running (besides namecoin, anyway).
That being said, if you guys want to setup a bounty on something, I will of course consider it.

Unrelated note: I still don't have an Avalon myself to work with, so if anyone is planning to get rid of theirs, please let me know...

Thanks Luke! Guy's what about to collect some bounty and have how to from an expert?
We can skip scam coins if we like of course

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
January 17, 2014, 08:47:30 PM
 #3820

I don't think it's worth your time to bother with the scamcoins: remember you need to maintain a working full node for them, and IIRC the ones with merged mining are all buggy and a pain to keep running (besides namecoin, anyway).
That being said, if you guys want to setup a bounty on something, I will of course consider it.

Unrelated note: I still don't have an Avalon myself to work with, so if anyone is planning to get rid of theirs, please let me know...


I have copied your SSH public key to an Avalon that I bought recently.  This is a Batch #1 unit.  I also have a Batch #2 unit available.

You should be able to ssh into root@vima.austin.tx.us:1701

I generally try to keep this unit mining.  It is touch & go whether it will pay for itself.  However, if it will help you, please feel free to use it for testing.

I try to be respectful and informed.
Pages: « 1 ... 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 [191] 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!