Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 04:46:31 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 [186] 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 432241 times)
fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 04:12:36 AM
 #3701

 Isopropyl is common, used in first aid. I found 91% Isopropyl at Walmart only a $1 or $2 for 32 fl oz.
I think I would go with the 91% they also sale a 70% strength.
1511023591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511023591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511023591
Reply with quote  #2

1511023591
Report to moderator
1511023591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511023591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511023591
Reply with quote  #2

1511023591
Report to moderator
1511023591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511023591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511023591
Reply with quote  #2

1511023591
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511023591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511023591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511023591
Reply with quote  #2

1511023591
Report to moderator
1511023591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511023591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511023591
Reply with quote  #2

1511023591
Report to moderator
1511023591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511023591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511023591
Reply with quote  #2

1511023591
Report to moderator
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 04:34:07 AM
 #3702

Isopropyl is common, used in first aid. I found 91% Isopropyl at Walmart only a $1 or $2 for 32 fl oz.
I think I would go with the 91% they also sale a 70% strength.

They only sell it as a jell at Walmart Canada.
fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 06:11:30 AM
 #3703

It's just rubbing alcohol are they afraid you going to drink it?
HerbJones
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 08:02:01 AM
 #3704

Hi All,

This is a screen grab from my 4 module. Is the miner count correct at 24?
http://i.imgur.com/Ksu3OnQ.png

Thanks!
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
January 04, 2014, 08:48:01 AM
 #3705

Hi All,

This is a screen grab from my 4 module. Is the miner count correct at 24?


Thanks!

No, for 4 modules, it should be 32.  Set it in the configuration tab.

I try to be respectful and informed.
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 11:11:09 AM
 #3706

It's just rubbing alcohol are they afraid you going to drink it?

Maybe! Ha Ha!

I think they do it have, the Canadian website isn't the most up-to-date website compared the the US one. I think its probably because they have been drinking the rubbing alcohol! Smiley

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2014, 12:07:23 PM
 #3707

Hi All,

This is a screen grab from my 4 module. Is the miner count correct at 24?


Thanks!
Should be 32.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2014, 12:14:11 PM
 #3708

Hello all.

One of my units stopped so I restarted it a few times. Fans would spin for a few rpm and then stop. Red power LED and intermittent yellow one. I was able to connect via internet as normal, but showed 0 work being done.

Looked inside, PSU cables looked potentially a bit loose so reseated. Turned the unit back on and a plume of sparks shot out from a corner of one of the modules. Looks like a resistor had melted:



Questions:
1) Is it safe to test the Avalon without this module?
2) Is it safe to test this damaged module without the last 2 chip units in?
3) Does that last 2 chip unit have any value to anyone?

Cheers guys. Avalon is sleeping for now.

smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 01:09:23 PM
 #3709

Hello all.

One of my units stopped so I restarted it a few times. Fans would spin for a few rpm and then stop. Red power LED and intermittent yellow one. I was able to connect via internet as normal, but showed 0 work being done.

Looked inside, PSU cables looked potentially a bit loose so reseated. Turned the unit back on and a plume of sparks shot out from a corner of one of the modules. Looks like a resistor had melted:

Questions:
1) Is it safe to test the Avalon without this module?
2) Is it safe to test this damaged module without the last 2 chip units in?
3) Does that last 2 chip unit have any value to anyone?

Cheers guys. Avalon is sleeping for now.

If you're 100% sure none of the other modules are damaged and the PSU is safe to use then yes you can remove the damaged module and continue mining with the others.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2014, 01:19:41 PM
 #3710

Hello all.

One of my units stopped so I restarted it a few times. Fans would spin for a few rpm and then stop. Red power LED and intermittent yellow one. I was able to connect via internet as normal, but showed 0 work being done.

Looked inside, PSU cables looked potentially a bit loose so reseated. Turned the unit back on and a plume of sparks shot out from a corner of one of the modules. Looks like a resistor had melted:

Questions:
1) Is it safe to test the Avalon without this module?
2) Is it safe to test this damaged module without the last 2 chip units in?
3) Does that last 2 chip unit have any value to anyone?

Cheers guys. Avalon is sleeping for now.

If you're 100% sure none of the other modules are damaged and the PSU is safe to use then yes you can remove the damaged module and continue mining with the others.
I have no reason to believe otherwise, and PSU is a 1500W beast.

fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 03:18:45 PM
 #3711

If you are unable to get that damaged module working again I would be interested to buy it from you.
aneutronic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 03:39:55 PM
 #3712

Hello all.

One of my units stopped so I restarted it a few times. Fans would spin for a few rpm and then stop. Red power LED and intermittent yellow one. I was able to connect via internet as normal, but showed 0 work being done.

Looked inside, PSU cables looked potentially a bit loose so reseated. Turned the unit back on and a plume of sparks shot out from a corner of one of the modules. Looks like a resistor had melted:

Questions:
1) Is it safe to test the Avalon without this module?
2) Is it safe to test this damaged module without the last 2 chip units in?
3) Does that last 2 chip unit have any value to anyone?

Cheers guys. Avalon is sleeping for now.

That's a capacitor, others have had the same failure.

You can mine without that module or you can just disconnect power to the affected miner by cutting or bending the pins on the hash panel board that plugs in from the top.

The psu should be fine, most have over-current protection now.
HerbJones
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 03:45:42 PM
 #3713

That did the trick!

Once again I am ever grateful!



Hi All,

This is a screen grab from my 4 module. Is the miner count correct at 24?
http://i.imgur.com/Ksu3OnQ.png

Thanks!
Should be 32.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
January 04, 2014, 04:24:53 PM
 #3714

If you are unable to get that damaged module working again I would be interested to buy it from you.

I will let you know. Doesn't seem to be any other damage than those 2 chip banks so will likely be functional. Rest of the unit working without the entire module for now.

That's a capacitor, others have had the same failure.

You can mine without that module or you can just disconnect power to the affected miner by cutting or bending the pins on the hash panel board that plugs in from the top.

The psu should be fine, most have over-current protection now.
The square thing is a capacitor?

fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 04:43:46 PM
 #3715

The 2 identical parts near the burn are capacitors.
aneutronic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 05:12:46 PM
 #3716

The 2 identical parts near the burn are capacitors.


Yes the 4 tan colored parts, you can find drawings here https://github.com/BitSyncom/avalon-ref

I've seen shots of those caps and the 680uf black caps fail.

Also be careful not to bump the larger round silver caps like C5. They dislodge from the pcb rather easily due to poor soldering.
h@shKraker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 06:23:47 PM
 #3717

Hey everyone,

I've received that voltage regulator that seems to have burned out on my buddy's Avalon clone when he plugged PCIE power in the EPS plug on the V1.45 Avalon controller board.  I'm gonna go pickup his miner and start the surgery.  Just in case I bork it / this doesn't work he's already ordered another controller module.  I'll take pics of the inside of the unit and it's layout and of my work and post them for your perusal.

H@shKraker

Tips/Payments: 1HaZvsUjJpcAf76QWg7Muu4mnWRWCrRNMs
h@shKraker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 07:46:53 PM
 #3718

All,

I attempted to upgraded my firmware about 25 minutes ago on my shiny silver, Gen1, 4 module Avalon unit.  I retrieved the firmware from https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Avalon#Firmware.  I just tried to login to the web interface to see how the upgrade went and now the web interface will not display.  As well, btcguild says the worker I have assigned to that miner is idle and has not submitted work in .... oh say .... 23 minutes.  From all of this I surmise the miner is not behaving properly.  Do I need to power cycle the unit and/or if I do will I brick the unit?  Many thanks for your reply.

H@shKraker

edit:

I also cannot ssh to the miner now Undecided

Tips/Payments: 1HaZvsUjJpcAf76QWg7Muu4mnWRWCrRNMs
Cheeseater
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 07:53:42 PM
 #3719

Just got a used 60gh Avalon. I hooked it directly to my computer and configured exactly as my 120G model. When I connect to my network its not visible. I cant even ping it.also I tried wireless and it doesn't scan any networks. Everything seems fine when Its directly connected. Any ideas? Is it possibly conflicting with the other?
Thanks
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 08:02:43 PM
 #3720

Just got a used 60gh Avalon. I hooked it directly to my computer and configured exactly as my 120G model. When I connect to my network its not visible. I cant even ping it.also I tried wireless and it doesn't scan any networks. Everything seems fine when Its directly connected. Any ideas? Is it possibly conflicting with the other?
Thanks


Did you check to see if it's on the same IP address either of your 120GH Avy which you just said you configured it the same way as. You can only have 1 IP address in your network, no two devices can share an IP address.

Or is it still using 192.168.0.100 (defualt IP)?

Pages: « 1 ... 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 [186] 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!