Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 12:10:23 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 [190] 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 432422 times)
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 08:30:35 AM
 #3781

My Avalon, enjoying the weather outside  Cheesy


Scary  Smiley
at -12 if i read it correctly some condense may appear when cold air hits aluminum heat sinks Huh

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
1511093423
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511093423

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511093423
Reply with quote  #2

1511093423
Report to moderator
1511093423
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511093423

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511093423
Reply with quote  #2

1511093423
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
driksson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
January 08, 2014, 12:39:58 PM
 #3782

My Avalon, enjoying the weather outside  Cheesy


Scary  Smiley
at -12 if i read it correctly some condense may appear when cold air hits aluminum heat sinks Huh

yes, and seems your averages are 1MH above others. I'd move it inside again..
aneutronic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 01:28:00 PM
 #3783

My Avalon, enjoying the weather outside  Cheesy


Scary  Smiley
at -12 if i read it correctly some condense may appear when cold air hits aluminum heat sinks Huh

Condensation occurs on cold objects placed into warmer more humid air not warm objects in colder air.
Just don't apply power when moving it from cold air to warm air until it acclimates to the change.
A hair dryer works if you're in a hurry and not a bad idea to check for condensation before starting it.   Wink

I keep mine in my attic which hit ~ 0F yesterday morning.


h@shKraker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:41:35 PM
 #3784

smoothrunnings,

Thanks for that thread you referenced on Avalon troubleshooting.  I've successfully replaced my TP-Link with a Raspberry Pi and the machine is hashing away happily.  Thanks for your help.

H@shKraker

Tips/Payments: 1HaZvsUjJpcAf76QWg7Muu4mnWRWCrRNMs
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:54:34 PM
 #3785

My Avalon, enjoying the weather outside  Cheesy


Scary  Smiley
at -12 if i read it correctly some condense may appear when cold air hits aluminum heat sinks Huh

Condensation occurs on cold objects placed into warmer more humid air not warm objects in colder air.
Just don't apply power when moving it from cold air to warm air until it acclimates to the change.
A hair dryer works if you're in a hurry and not a bad idea to check for condensation before starting it.   Wink

I keep mine in my attic which hit ~ 0F yesterday morning.



My bad thanks for clarification  Wink

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
mitak64
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:46:45 PM
 #3786


Condensation occurs on cold objects placed into warmer more humid air not warm objects in colder air.
Just don't apply power when moving it from cold air to warm air until it acclimates to the change.
A hair dryer works if you're in a hurry and not a bad idea to check for condensation before starting it.   Wink

I keep mine in my attic which hit ~ 0F yesterday morning.




That now is a sick overclock for a 3-module Avalon!
You must have volt-modded it.
What voltage are you providing for 465 Mhz ?

Mine too is a 3-module, but 3 of the 24 sub-modules are dead  Sad
aneutronic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 06:28:56 PM
 #3787

My bad thanks for clarification  Wink

No bad at all... just a slight misunderstanding.
I've gained a lot of knowledge from your posts and have the utmost respect for you.   Smiley


That now is a sick overclock for a 3-module Avalon!
You must have volt-modded it.
What voltage are you providing for 465 Mhz ?

Mine too is a 3-module, but 3 of the 24 sub-modules are dead  Sad

~1.29v measured at C1.
It was running between 465 and 468 this morning only due to the extreme temps, lately it's been about 445 - 458.
mitak64
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 06:41:51 PM
 #3788

With what resistor value did you achieve that ?
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 06:56:22 PM
 #3789

My bad thanks for clarification  Wink

No bad at all... just a slight misunderstanding.
I've gained a lot of knowledge from your posts and have the utmost respect for you.   Smiley


That now is a sick overclock for a 3-module Avalon!
You must have volt-modded it.
What voltage are you providing for 465 Mhz ?

Mine too is a 3-module, but 3 of the 24 sub-modules are dead  Sad

~1.29v measured at C1.
It was running between 465 and 468 this morning only due to the extreme temps, lately it's been about 445 - 458.
Thanks dude I am flattered!

Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
aneutronic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 09:00:23 PM
 #3790

With what resistor value did you achieve that ?

I used a 34K soldered on top of the 10.5K R10.

Note that this also increased power consumption to 1240w, probably not worth the hassle now given the escalating difficulty.   Undecided

btw, seasonics rock... I've been abusing this 1250w for 3 months now.

*knocks on wood*
mitak64
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 10:14:31 PM
 #3791

Amazing achievement, nevertheless.  Shocked
aneutronic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 10:53:15 PM
 #3792

Amazing achievement, nevertheless.  Shocked

Thanks for the compliment but I couldn't have done it without all the numerous great contributions from the other forum members.

So a tip of the hat to all of the sharers of information in these forums.   Cool

btw, your avalon was also impressive considering the failed miners.
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
January 10, 2014, 08:47:37 PM
 #3793

I might just replace my defective module with a new one. Avalon ASIC is selling the modules for 0.20BTC new including shipping.

Thanks for lowering the price Yifu! Smiley
fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 12:16:34 AM
 #3794

i sell one defective module to fasmax

@ fasmax do you receive my module ?

I have the module in hand. Thanks! Smiley Positive trust has been added.
I found one section that has the 1.2 volts power shorted to ground. The same sub unit has 12V shorted to ground and PCB damage to the power supply section.
I am going to get rid of the +12v to ground short by removing  the 2 inductors near the 20 pin connector. After that I am going to build a Klondike controller backplane to interface the sub units to cgminer via USB.
I will post pictures if anyone is interested. Smiley
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 03:48:40 PM
 #3795

Has anyone been shipped stuff from Avalon-ASIC through the Chinese EMS courier system? I just wonder if I will have any problems getting my module, the last time I ordered modules last year they came through DHL.
ProfMac
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile
January 11, 2014, 05:54:58 PM
 #3796

Has anyone been shipped stuff from Avalon-ASIC through the Chinese EMS courier system? I just wonder if I will have any problems getting my module, the last time I ordered modules last year they came through DHL.


I used EMS for a module to Minnesota last September.  It went smoothly, although there was some special trick to getting the tracking number to work.

I try to be respectful and informed.
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 06:13:34 PM
 #3797

Has anyone been shipped stuff from Avalon-ASIC through the Chinese EMS courier system? I just wonder if I will have any problems getting my module, the last time I ordered modules last year they came through DHL.


I used EMS for a module to Minnesota last September.  It went smoothly, although there was some special trick to getting the tracking number to work.


The tracking number works, at first I couldn't figure out where the verification code was then I realized they meant the one on the website. LOL

I am guessing that EMS accepts bitcoin as an alternative payment that's why Yifu is using them now.
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 06:14:29 PM
 #3798

New question,

What do you guys think about mixing and matching 55nm sub boards with 110nm ones, is it even possible?

fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
January 12, 2014, 12:37:50 AM
 #3799

Not possible. The controller firmware is for 55nm or 110nm not both at the same time.
HerbJones
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 01:53:20 AM
 #3800

Hi All.

My Avalon 4 Module has been working fine, over-clocked at 350 (on OEM PSU) and suddenly not working anymore.

I can access Luci via Wifi and have re-started, rebooted and power-cycled to no avail.

When I look at the Cgminer API Log I see:
[Firmware Version] => 20131229
cgminer: 698d677
cgminer-openwrt-packages: aadd747+
luci: 346e3e7+
Socket connect failed: Connection refused

I have the API Allow set to W:127.0.0.1
I have been able to Ping and Traceroute.

I cannot figure what the heck I am doing wrong.

Thanks in advance!
Pages: « 1 ... 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 [190] 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!