Bitcoin Forum
May 21, 2019, 02:00:50 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 ... 58 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [UPDATE] RX480 (Ref) 31+Mh, Custom Rom - VDDC OFFSET + Custom timing  (Read 229893 times)
NewbieTreider
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 16, 2016, 08:30:37 PM
 #61

Ok, here.

For the linux guys.

Just flash rom and run it, card won't consume more than 100w and will stay under 85degrees at all times.
No more jumping around between DPM states.

When running stock, speed on Ethereum will be around 30Mh (as you can see in my included image).

Core clock is set to go to 1191Mh and memory will go to 2200.

Rom: Here



Large image: Here

For the Windows guys, for now, same thing, only Windows 10 with signature check disabled and a modified atikmdag.sys file.


Had no chance to do a decent energy test, will do this later.

Greetings

As marvykkio said, thank you so much for share your modded bios.

I don't have a RX480, maybe I will buy one in few days, (moneyyyy Sad ) ... then I will try it and share here my results. No doubt about it.

World needs more people like you. Again, thank you very much for your comments and ideas, for share, and for your support!
1558404050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558404050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558404050
Reply with quote  #2

1558404050
Report to moderator
1558404050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558404050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558404050
Reply with quote  #2

1558404050
Report to moderator
1558404050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558404050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558404050
Reply with quote  #2

1558404050
Report to moderator
START MINING BTC NOW WITH NEW GENERATION S17 ANTMINER! BTC/BCH/LTC/ZCASH/DASH/ETH/DCR MINING PLAN AVAILABLE Highly Reduced Electricity Fee $0.067/T/DAY!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558404050
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558404050

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558404050
Reply with quote  #2

1558404050
Report to moderator
sevenzk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 02:51:50 AM
 #62

Ubuntu 14.04 amdgpupro 16.30

http://i64.tinypic.com/avrjid.png

erm somehow using insert image, pic doesn't show

Speed is ranging from 21MH/s to 29MH/s.
dddrgonzooo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 03:11:20 AM
Last edit: August 17, 2016, 03:41:11 AM by dddrgonzooo
 #63

Thanks for posting your roms. I flashed 3 Powercolor 8gb ref cards (30MH rom). I haven't checked power usage but they are hashing close to before. One of the GPU's (my main) is having issues (display is pixelated and the picture is scattered), I'll relash that one in the morning.

Ubutnu 16.04 amdgpupro 16.30

22 - 24 MH/s

Edit: Crashed within 15 minutes - I flashed stock roms back until I can spend more time on this.

billyCryptoKid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 04:11:42 AM
 #64

I keep seeing @heliox write about windows 10 install, but has anyone actually gotten this installed on win 10? if so how exactly did you accomplish?
hoogenband325
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 04:14:55 AM
 #65

good.
gaalx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 411
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 17, 2016, 05:54:36 AM
 #66

What are you to flash? Sewn under Win 10 or under dos?

ldw-com
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 230
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 06:30:12 AM
 #67

I keep seeing @heliox write about windows 10 install, but has anyone actually gotten this installed on win 10? if so how exactly did you accomplish?

https://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/comment/54483/#Comment_54483

Boysie managed to get it to work as well Smiley
citronick
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1043


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 06:31:05 AM
 #68

Heliox... don't forget W8.1 too. If 120w/32MHs/60c is stable on non-WIN10... this is great news for me. But I dont mind converting some to Ubuntu rigs. Can you share the Linux environment you used for the stable Linux version? Thanks

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery...
ldw-com
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 230
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 06:45:58 AM
 #69

Heliox... don't forget W8.1 too. If 120w/32MHs/60c is stable on non-WIN10... this is great news for me. But I dont mind converting some to Ubuntu rigs. Can you share the Linux environment you used for the stable Linux version? Thanks

Haha, just read your post over at Ethereum Forums which is exactly the same :tongue: Made me laugh Smiley

I didn't test on a unix system, got some friends over at ethereumos who did some testing.

But i'll try to keep eveyrone up to date!
Dum3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 07:05:41 AM
 #70

Quick question,once custom rom flashed will the wattman app still work?

?
ldw-com
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 230
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 07:06:38 AM
 #71

Quick question,once custom rom flashed will the wattman app still work?

?

Sure does, check my included images..
Dum3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 07:38:12 AM
 #72

Thanks,will try your rom when have little time available.

Problem is:

1.To reduce power-draw need to lower VDDC.
2.To reduce VDDC need to reduce VCCIO(the memory voltage in Wattman,but that is not the memory voltage,that is the memory controller voltage)
3.To reduce VCCIO the memory frequency will drop ,for 2170-2200 i found 5 cards need 0.92  .
4.0.92 VCCIO will limit the VDDC shown in Gpu-z to 0.9187-0.9250 resulting in 75-80 power draw reported in Gpu-z. ( at 1020 core )

This is all on stock rom which i run 1020 core / 2200 memory and resulting in 27 mh/s on all of my 5 cards . Would be curious the gains tighter timings make,can you test in this conditions too ?

Very happy with my results for RX480 however if additional 2-3 Mh/s can be gained in similar power consumption that would be absolutely awesome Cheesy
ldw-com
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 230
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 07:45:53 AM
 #73

Thanks,will try your rom when have little time available.

Problem is:

1.To reduce power-draw need to lower VDDC.
2.To reduce VDDC need to reduce VCCIO(the memory voltage in Wattman,but that is not the memory voltage,that is the memory controller voltage)
3.To reduce VCCIO the memory frequency will drop ,for 2170-2200 i found 5 cards need 0.92  .
4.0.92 VCCIO will limit the VDDC shown in Gpu-z to 0.9187-0.9250 resulting in 75-80 power draw reported in Gpu-z. ( at 1020 core )

This is all on stock rom which i run 1020 core / 2200 memory and resulting in 27 mh/s on all of my 5 cards . Would be curious the gains tighter timings make,can you test in this conditions too ?

Very happy with my results for RX480 however if additional 2-3 Mh/s can be gained in similar power consumption that would be absolutely awesome Cheesy

1. True
2. First time i hear that :p and it's VDDCI Smiley You're right about the memory controller though.
3. Depends.. not every card is the same Wink
4. Interesting, going to test that out..


At this moment, over 1hr rock solid at 31Mh+



Stats on pool can be seen here: Link
Dum3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 07:50:41 AM
 #74

Thanks,will try your rom when have little time available.

Problem is:

1.To reduce power-draw need to lower VDDC.
2.To reduce VDDC need to reduce VCCIO(the memory voltage in Wattman,but that is not the memory voltage,that is the memory controller voltage)
3.To reduce VCCIO the memory frequency will drop ,for 2170-2200 i found 5 cards need 0.92  .
4.0.92 VCCIO will limit the VDDC shown in Gpu-z to 0.9187-0.9250 resulting in 75-80 power draw reported in Gpu-z. ( at 1020 core )

This is all on stock rom which i run 1020 core / 2200 memory and resulting in 27 mh/s on all of my 5 cards . Would be curious the gains tighter timings make,can you test in this conditions too ?

Very happy with my results for RX480 however if additional 2-3 Mh/s can be gained in similar power consumption that would be absolutely awesome Cheesy

1. True
2. First time i hear that :p and it's VDDCI Smiley You're right about the memory controller though.
3. Depends.. not every card is the same Wink
4. Interesting, going to test that out..


At this moment, over 1hr rock solid at 31Mh+



Stats on pool can be seen here: Link

Surely,try to lower VDDC to 0.90 with memory controller voltage stuck at 1 V ,you will see that the vddc reported in gpu-z is 1 V and not 0.90 that you set Cheesy

4 of my cards will do 1020 core at 0.90 VDDC,one needs 0.925 Cheesy 

Please test 1020 / 2200 with better memory timings , as i said on stock rom this is 27 mh/s
citronick
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1043


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 07:53:20 AM
 #75

Heliox... don't forget W8.1 too. If 120w/32MHs/60c is stable on non-WIN10... this is great news for me. But I dont mind converting some to Ubuntu rigs. Can you share the Linux environment you used for the stable Linux version? Thanks

Haha, just read your post over at Ethereum Forums which is exactly the same :tongue: Made me laugh Smiley

I didn't test on a unix system, got some friends over at ethereumos who did some testing.

But i'll try to keep eveyrone up to date!

LOL.... there are not many gurus out there that has a sense of humour  Grin - ha ha!

Thanks for the great work on the ROMs.

Save the Planet. Save the Future.

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery...
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 678
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 08:05:29 AM
 #76

Haven't had time to read all the replies.. sorry for that.

For the linux guys.

Rom is here: Here


For Windows 10 users, you can do this:

i) Press Windows Key + X to open Power User Menu. Select Command Prompt (Admin) from the menu.
ii) Once the Command Prompt open, enter bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS and press Enter. Then enter bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING ON and press Enter.
iii) Close Command Prompt and restart your PC.

If this fails for some reason, you can reboot with Signature checks disabled by rebooting into advanced options (Hold left shift key while hitting reboot button) and hit F7.

You need to copy the modified atikmdag.sys file into your drivers folder as well (C:/Windows/System32/Drivers)

File can be found here: Here

Rom has modified timings and higher limits. (Memory 2275, higher tdp limit...)

I'll do an energy friendly rom later this week.

For the Windows 7 users, i'll look into that this week.

Greetings
In Windows 10:

"i) Press Windows Key + X to open Power User Menu. Select Command Prompt (Admin) from the menu.
ii) Once the Command Prompt open, enter bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS and press Enter. Then enter bcdedit.exe -set TESTSIGNING ON and press Enter.
iii) Close Command Prompt and restart your PC."

Is this needed every time i reboot my rigs with modified roms ?
Or is it just one time ?

Preparing for modding my 480s later this week.
NewbieTreider
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 12:46:48 PM
 #77

One little question...

I'm thinking about buy a XFX RX480 8GB, someone tested this GPU with this bios? TIA! Smiley
hpcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 12:50:08 PM
 #78

Hello can you give me the link rom 480 ref giga 8Gb? Mod big thanks
Alubert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 01:15:50 PM
 #79

One little question...

I'm thinking about buy a XFX RX480 8GB, someone tested this GPU with this bios? TIA! Smiley

If that is the reference card, then you can use the BIOS as all the reference cards are the same. Otherwise, you cannot.
hotdream1990
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 17, 2016, 05:19:15 PM
 #80

Hi @Eliovp and @ldw-com,

I used rom => http://www.mininghwcomparison.com/RX480-30MhOTB.zip
and atikmdag.sys file. http://www.win-raid.com/file.php?url=http%3A%2F%2Ffiles.homepagemodules.de%2Fb602300%2Ff16t892p30028n2_PQDCGzub.rar&r=1&content=RE%3A_AMD_and_Nvidia_GOP_update_%28No_requests%2C_DIY%29
But my computer doesn't detected graphic cards.

I used window 10 Pro. Ref PowerColor graphic rx480 8GB.
My steps is:
1. disable check and enable testing mode.
2. Restart and copy atikmdag file to system.
3. Restart and mode bios by ATIFlash 2.7.4.
3. Restart and check result.

Result is: bios is modded but graphic cards and radeon settings don't work.

Please help me.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 ... 58 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!