Bitcoin Forum
May 22, 2019, 04:11:35 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [UPDATE] RX480 (Ref) 31+Mh, Custom Rom - VDDC OFFSET + Custom timing  (Read 229895 times)
Dev_Sempak_coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 02, 2016, 12:34:57 PM
Last edit: September 02, 2016, 01:31:14 PM by Dev_Sempak_coin
 #261

@citronic the flashing is succes with your link but i get this trouble
any wrong with my step ?
1. flashing rom
2. restart to safe mode remove driver with DD driver uninstaler
3. restart to normal instal new driver
4. restart to safemode replace atikmdag.sys
5. restart to normal mode

after it the driver not detected my card
this is my screenshoot : https://s9.postimg.io/hgt2yr0tb/Untsseitled.jpg

update now succes Grin


Get signals when whales enter & exit a market 74% average win rate
full binance integration
TRY NOW!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558541495
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558541495

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558541495
Reply with quote  #2

1558541495
Report to moderator
1558541495
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558541495

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558541495
Reply with quote  #2

1558541495
Report to moderator
1558541495
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558541495

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558541495
Reply with quote  #2

1558541495
Report to moderator
BTCBusinessConsult
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 02, 2016, 01:39:29 PM
 #262

Everyone can make your own ROM for RX480 and RX470 GPUs using Polaris BIOS editor: https://github.com/caa82437/PolarisBiosEditor

RX480: copy memory timings from 1750 to 2000MHz (for reference cards value is 777000000000000022CC1C00106A6D4DD0571016B90D060C006AE70014051420FA8900A00300000 01B11333DC0303A17)
RX470: use timing settings from 1500Mhz (copy to 1750 and 2000), reference cards has value 777000000000000022339D00CE516A3D9055111230CB4409004AE600740114206A8900A00200312 0150F292F94273116

For Linux you also can set gpu and memory clocks, voltage, fan speed.
Some statistics from Ubuntu 16.04 with amdgpu-pro 16.30 drivers:

RX480 @ 1100/2240 0.92V: 28,9Mh
RX470 @ 1100/1960 0.9V core 1,06V memory: 26,5Mh

GPU-Z shows only 85W instead of 110W on stock ROM in Windows 7 x64.

If you do this BIOS edit manually do you have to still go through the whole moving atkdmad.sys file and signing it with the utility and all those steps?Huh?

.
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄      ██████████▄▄     ████▄      ▄████  ███████████▄▄   ████████████████     ▄▄███████▄▄
  ▄███████▀▀   ▀▀███████▄    █████████████▌    ████▄    ▄████   ██████████████  ████████████████   ▄█████████████▄
 ▄█████▀           ▀█████▄   ████    ▀█████     ████▄  ▄████    ████     ▀█████       ████        ████▀▀     ▀▀████
▄█████    ▄▄▄▄▄▄     █████▄  ████     ████▌      ████▄▄████     ████      █████       ████       ████▀         ▀████
▀▀▀▀▀    ████████▄▄▄▄██████▄▄████▄▄▄▄████▀        ████████      ████▄▄▄▄▄█████▀       ████       ████           ████
        ▐██████████████████████████████▄           ██████       █████████████▀        ████       ████           ████
▄▄▄▄▄    ████████▀▀▀▀██████▀▀████▀▀▀▀████           ████        ████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀           ████       ▀████         ████▀
▀█████    ▀▀▀▀▀▀     █████▀  ████     ████▄         ████        ████                  ████        ▀█████▄▄▄▄▄█████▀
 ▀█████▄           ▄█████▀   ████      █████        ████        ████                  ████          ▀███████████▀
  ▀███████▄▄   ▄▄███████▀    ▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀        ▀▀▀▀                  ▀▀▀▀             ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
      ▄██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▄
     ▐████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀▀▀▀█▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀███████
     █████           ███    █████████      ██▄     █████     ▄████████
    ▐█████    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███    █████████▄    ▄███▄     ███     ▄████████▌
    ██████    ██████████    ██████████    █████▄     ▀     ▄█████████
   ▐██████    ██████████    ██████████    ███████         ██████████▌
   ███████           ███    ██████████    ████████       ███████████
  ▐███████           ███    ██████████    ██████▀         ▀████████▌
  ████████    ██████████    ██████████    █████▀     █     ▀███████
 ▐████████    ██████████            █      ███      ███      █████▌
 █████████    ██████████            █      █▀      █████      ▀███
▐████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▌
 ▀██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
▄▄█████████▄▄
▄█████████████████▄
▄█████████████████████▄
▄████████████████▀▀█████▄
▄████████████▀▀▀░░░░██████▄
████████▀▀▀░░░▄▀░░░████████
█████▄░░░░░▄█▀░░░░░████████
████████▄░█▀░░░░░░█████████
▀████████▌▐░░░░░░░████████▀
▀████████░▄██▄░░████████▀
▀█████████████▄███████▀
▀█████████████████▀
▀▀█████████▀▀
▄▄█████████▄▄
▄█████████████████▄
▄████████░██░█████████▄
▄█████▀▀▀▀░▀▀░▀▀████████▄
▄███████▄░░░▄▄▄▄░░▀███████▄
█████████░░░████░░░████████
█████████░░░░░░░░░▀████████
█████████░░░████░░░░███████
▀███████▀░░░▀▀▀▀░░░▄██████▀
▀█████▄▄▄▄░▄▄░▄▄▄███████▀
▀████████░██░█████████▀
▀█████████████████▀
▀▀█████████▀▀
  JOIN ICO
April 15th
eXtremal
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 263



View Profile
September 02, 2016, 02:01:51 PM
 #263

If you do this BIOS edit manually do you have to still go through the whole moving atkdmad.sys file and signing it with the utility and all those steps?Huh?
Only for Windows
Patched atikmdag.sys files can be found here: http://www.mediafire.com/download/x2h57df0ajae4dk/AMD_Patched.rar (for sign use dseo13b utility).

SIGMA.
by HYDRA X
▄▄████████▄▄
▄████████████████▄
▄████████████████████▄
███████████▀    ▐███████
███████████    ▄▄█████████
▐██████████▀    ▀▀█████████▌
▐█████████▌       █████████▌
▐███████████    ███████████▌
███████████    ███████████
██████████    ██████████
▀████████▄  ▄████████▀
▀████████████████▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
.No commissions.
.or hidden fees.
Sign Up


sigwo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 657
Merit: 500

Enterprise, Everywhere


View Profile WWW
September 02, 2016, 02:39:09 PM
Last edit: September 02, 2016, 03:37:00 PM by sigwo
 #264

Ok, here.

For the linux guys.

Just flash rom and run it, card won't consume more than 100w and will stay under 85degrees at all times.
No more jumping around between DPM states.

......

What atiflash did you all use to flash the ROM on Linux? OS is Ubuntu 16.04. Mining works, but atiflash doesn't recognize my cards to do the flashing. Thx.

-Steven
sigwo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 657
Merit: 500

Enterprise, Everywhere


View Profile WWW
September 02, 2016, 03:50:25 PM
 #265

Everyone can make your own ROM for RX480 and RX470 GPUs using Polaris BIOS editor: https://github.com/caa82437/PolarisBiosEditor

RX480: copy memory timings from 1750 to 2000MHz (for reference cards value is 777000000000000022CC1C00106A6D4DD0571016B90D060C006AE70014051420FA8900A00300000 01B11333DC0303A17)
RX470: use timing settings from 1500Mhz (copy to 1750 and 2000), reference cards has value 777000000000000022339D00CE516A3D9055111230CB4409004AE600740114206A8900A00200312 0150F292F94273116

For Linux you also can set gpu and memory clocks, voltage, fan speed.
Some statistics from Ubuntu 16.04 with amdgpu-pro 16.30 drivers:

RX480 @ 1100/2240 0.92V: 28,9Mh
RX470 @ 1100/1960 0.9V core 1,06V memory: 26,5Mh

GPU-Z shows only 85W instead of 110W on stock ROM in Windows 7 x64.

Did you use Linux to flash the ROMs? If so, what version of atiflash worked for you? Or a different software to flash the ROMs? Really trying to avoid building a Win10 system for flashing Sad
eXtremal
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 263



View Profile
September 02, 2016, 09:24:05 PM
 #266

Did you use Linux to flash the ROMs? If so, what version of atiflash worked for you?
I use Win7 and atiflash 2.74 (dual boot with Ubuntu).

SIGMA.
by HYDRA X
▄▄████████▄▄
▄████████████████▄
▄████████████████████▄
███████████▀    ▐███████
███████████    ▄▄█████████
▐██████████▀    ▀▀█████████▌
▐█████████▌       █████████▌
▐███████████    ███████████▌
███████████    ███████████
██████████    ██████████
▀████████▄  ▄████████▀
▀████████████████▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
.No commissions.
.or hidden fees.
Sign Up


ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 02, 2016, 09:54:04 PM
 #267


update now succes Grin

Which ROM did you use? Link please
BTCBusinessConsult
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 02, 2016, 11:05:29 PM
 #268

SO question:

If I run the 480LowEnergy ROM for my 480s, and hook up my spare 290x to the same mobo, will both of those cards be able to hash together on the same miner?

If I understand it correctly, the 16.7.3 drivers are still AMD so they will work, and all the ROM and does is change how the 480 operates. Correct?

Thanks,

-AA

.
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄      ██████████▄▄     ████▄      ▄████  ███████████▄▄   ████████████████     ▄▄███████▄▄
  ▄███████▀▀   ▀▀███████▄    █████████████▌    ████▄    ▄████   ██████████████  ████████████████   ▄█████████████▄
 ▄█████▀           ▀█████▄   ████    ▀█████     ████▄  ▄████    ████     ▀█████       ████        ████▀▀     ▀▀████
▄█████    ▄▄▄▄▄▄     █████▄  ████     ████▌      ████▄▄████     ████      █████       ████       ████▀         ▀████
▀▀▀▀▀    ████████▄▄▄▄██████▄▄████▄▄▄▄████▀        ████████      ████▄▄▄▄▄█████▀       ████       ████           ████
        ▐██████████████████████████████▄           ██████       █████████████▀        ████       ████           ████
▄▄▄▄▄    ████████▀▀▀▀██████▀▀████▀▀▀▀████           ████        ████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀           ████       ▀████         ████▀
▀█████    ▀▀▀▀▀▀     █████▀  ████     ████▄         ████        ████                  ████        ▀█████▄▄▄▄▄█████▀
 ▀█████▄           ▄█████▀   ████      █████        ████        ████                  ████          ▀███████████▀
  ▀███████▄▄   ▄▄███████▀    ▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀▀       ▀▀▀▀        ▀▀▀▀                  ▀▀▀▀             ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
      ▄██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▄
     ▐████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀▀▀▀█▀▀▀▀▀▀███████▀▀▀▀▀▀███████
     █████           ███    █████████      ██▄     █████     ▄████████
    ▐█████    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███    █████████▄    ▄███▄     ███     ▄████████▌
    ██████    ██████████    ██████████    █████▄     ▀     ▄█████████
   ▐██████    ██████████    ██████████    ███████         ██████████▌
   ███████           ███    ██████████    ████████       ███████████
  ▐███████           ███    ██████████    ██████▀         ▀████████▌
  ████████    ██████████    ██████████    █████▀     █     ▀███████
 ▐████████    ██████████            █      ███      ███      █████▌
 █████████    ██████████            █      █▀      █████      ▀███
▐████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▌
 ▀██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████▀
▄▄█████████▄▄
▄█████████████████▄
▄█████████████████████▄
▄████████████████▀▀█████▄
▄████████████▀▀▀░░░░██████▄
████████▀▀▀░░░▄▀░░░████████
█████▄░░░░░▄█▀░░░░░████████
████████▄░█▀░░░░░░█████████
▀████████▌▐░░░░░░░████████▀
▀████████░▄██▄░░████████▀
▀█████████████▄███████▀
▀█████████████████▀
▀▀█████████▀▀
▄▄█████████▄▄
▄█████████████████▄
▄████████░██░█████████▄
▄█████▀▀▀▀░▀▀░▀▀████████▄
▄███████▄░░░▄▄▄▄░░▀███████▄
█████████░░░████░░░████████
█████████░░░░░░░░░▀████████
█████████░░░████░░░░███████
▀███████▀░░░▀▀▀▀░░░▄██████▀
▀█████▄▄▄▄░▄▄░▄▄▄███████▀
▀████████░██░█████████▀
▀█████████████████▀
▀▀█████████▀▀
  JOIN ICO
April 15th
Dev_Sempak_coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 03, 2016, 12:14:27 AM
 #269


update now succes Grin

Which ROM did you use? Link please

www.mininghwcomparison.com/RX480Mod.zip
from heliox https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1584617.msg15929119#msg15929119

ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 03, 2016, 01:00:50 AM
 #270

Ok. Attempt on flashing 1 rx 480 with 480lowenergyOK.rom is failed - so I need your help

I did everything according to citronick guide:

Win 7, originally I had 5 cards (3x r9 390 and 2x rx 480) and 16.8.2 drivers

1) I took out all cards except 1x rx 480
2) I run cmd in Admin mode and used 480lowenergyOK.rom ROM to flash
3) Rebooted. At this point my card was not recognized by AMD drivers, tried to install drivers and automatically did it. After restart I've got the standard low resolution window, so actually card was not supported by driver.
4) I've disabled this card in Control Panel, Device Manager.
5) I've restarted to Safe mode in Win 7 you should restart and press F8 after BIOS POST and select Safe mode.
6) I've replaced driver in system32/drivers with modified
7) Launched signing software and pressed switched to signing mode
Cool Launched cmd as Admin and typed in windows/system32 this line: bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions TESTSIGNING. Got confirmation that signing was completed
9) Restarted in normal mode installed 16.8.2 drivers. Restarted and enabled card in control panel

I've got sign that there is a problem with device. I've restarted and despite 16.8.2 drivers were installed correctly my card is still in VGA mode and cannot use the driver

So questions:

1) What was wrong?
2) How to fix it?
3) If I cannot fix it - can I restore my original BIOS (I did not make a backup, because did not know how to do it)? I have second identical card so I probably can copy this BIOS.


IncludeBeer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1129
Merit: 1009



View Profile
September 03, 2016, 01:01:25 AM
 #271

Anyone know of bios mods (specifically power savers) for 390x?  I tried searching a bit online, but that was a lot like wading through shit. With ads.

Grow the Dividend Snek! (pm me if you have questions)
https://powh.io/?masternode=0x1f9b145fdaef2b82aef29c2f3c9b875a8b017512
Lion BItcoin Shop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 568
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 03, 2016, 01:13:19 AM
 #272

Ok. Attempt on flashing 1 rx 480 with 480lowenergyOK.rom is failed - so I need your help

I did everything according to citronick guide:

Win 7, originally I had 5 cards (3x r9 390 and 2x rx 480) and 16.8.2 drivers

1) I took out all cards except 1x rx 480
2) I run cmd in Admin mode and used 480lowenergyOK.rom ROM to flash
3) Rebooted. At this point my card was not recognized by AMD drivers, tried to install drivers and automatically did it. After restart I've got the standard low resolution window, so actually card was not supported by driver.
4) I've disabled this card in Control Panel, Device Manager.
5) I've restarted to Safe mode in Win 7 you should restart and press F8 after BIOS POST and select Safe mode.
6) I've replaced driver in system32/drivers with modified
7) Launched signing software and pressed switched to signing mode
Cool Launched cmd as Admin and typed in windows/system32 this line: bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions TESTSIGNING. Got confirmation that signing was completed
9) Restarted in normal mode installed 16.8.2 drivers. Restarted and enabled card in control panel

I've got sign that there is a problem with device. I've restarted and despite 16.8.2 drivers were installed correctly my card is still in VGA mode and cannot use the driver

So questions:

1) What was wrong?
2) How to fix it?
3) If I cannot fix it - can I restore my original BIOS (I did not make a backup, because did not know how to do it)? I have second identical card so I probably can copy this BIOS.




wrong step
-flashing rom
-remove driver using dd driver uninstaller (safe mode)
-restart as normal instal the new driver
-restart to safe mode, replace the atikmdag.sys then sign in it..

don't instal driver again after it.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 03, 2016, 01:21:25 AM
 #273


wrong step
-flashing rom
-remove driver using dd driver uninstaller (safe mode)
-restart as normal instal the new driver
-restart to safe mode, replace the atikmdag.sys then sign in it..

don't instal driver again after it.

Am I right that to fix situation  I should do next:

1) Flashing card. Restart normally
2) Uninstall driver. Restart normally
3) Restart to safe mode. Replace atikmdag.sys. Sign it with bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions TESTSIGNING. Restart normally

Should I disable and enable card in Device Manager? If yes - on which of steps?
Lion BItcoin Shop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 568
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 03, 2016, 01:40:31 AM
 #274


wrong step
-flashing rom
-remove driver using dd driver uninstaller (safe mode)
-restart as normal instal the new driver
-restart to safe mode, replace the atikmdag.sys then sign in it..

don't instal driver again after it.

Am I right that to fix situation  I should do next:

1) Flashing card. Restart normally
2) Uninstall driver. Restart normally
3) Restart to safe mode. Replace atikmdag.sys. Sign it with bcdedit.exe -set loadoptions TESTSIGNING. Restart normally

Should I disable and enable card in Device Manager? If yes - on which of steps?
use this software for signing atikmdag.sys "http://www.ngohq.com/?page=dseo”.
the bcdedit.exe -set  loadoptions TESTSIGNING used just for test the sign, not for signing software.
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 03, 2016, 01:42:32 AM
Last edit: September 03, 2016, 03:50:33 AM by ps_jb
 #275

Ok. Let's call it success

I've flashed two my cards and run a heterogeneous rig with 3x R9 390 and 2x RX 480 (flashed)

I called it "success" because after flashing each card individually with fresh driver and signed atikmdag.sys gave me 29.2 MHs

After adding all 5 cards in rig they can do exactly as they did before - 24.5 MHs

All is with CDM and single mining ETC

I'm sure if you will have only RX 480 - they will work fine, but in combination with other cards (in my case R9 390) I've got zero gain
Dev_Sempak_coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 03, 2016, 03:16:12 PM
 #276

Ok. Let's call it success

I've flashed two my cards and run a heterogeneous rig with 3x R9 390 and 2x RX 480 (flashed)

I called it "success" because after flashing each card individually with fresh driver and signed atikmdag.sys gave me 29.2 MHs

After adding all 5 cards in rig they can do exactly as they did before - 24.5 MHs

All is with CDM and single mining ETC

I'm sure if you will have only RX 480 - they will work fine, but in combination with other cards (in my case R9 390) I've got zero gain

better to make 2 rig, currently im running 2x R9 390 in custom rig, and 1 other running 2x Rx 480 (flashed)

shs777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 03, 2016, 03:22:22 PM
 #277

Hi! Im using RX480 NOT-refference cards, Sapphire NITRO+ Radeon RX 480 (11260-01-20G)(GPU: 1342Mhz, MEM: 8GB 8000Mhz 256 bit) and  Radeon RX 480 HIS IceQ X2 Roaring OC (HS-480R8DCBR) [256bit, GDDR5, 8Gb 8000MHz], can i flashed RX480Mod from heliox ?
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 03, 2016, 03:52:02 PM
 #278

better to make 2 rig, currently im running 2x R9 390 in custom rig, and 1 other running 2x Rx 480 (flashed)

I thought about it - will need a second MB and CPU. I have PSU 850 Gold and memory

Coyn
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 1


View Profile WWW
September 03, 2016, 04:37:06 PM
 #279

The mod works (almost) perfectly!
29-30mhash stable. 90watt.

The only problem is, Core and Memory are 0,0MHz in gpu-z. Also the GPU's are not detected by Speedfan.
What can i do?
Cryptozillah
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 678
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 03, 2016, 06:06:41 PM
 #280

Ok. Let's call it success

I've flashed two my cards and run a heterogeneous rig with 3x R9 390 and 2x RX 480 (flashed)

I called it "success" because after flashing each card individually with fresh driver and signed atikmdag.sys gave me 29.2 MHs

After adding all 5 cards in rig they can do exactly as they did before - 24.5 MHs

All is with CDM and single mining ETC

I'm sure if you will have only RX 480 - they will work fine, but in combination with other cards (in my case R9 390) I've got zero gain

better to make 2 rig, currently im running 2x R9 390 in custom rig, and 1 other running 2x Rx 480 (flashed)
Did you sign the sys file before adding the rest of the cards in your rig ?
If you change anything in your setup like adding or removing cards you have to sign it again.
Your 480s should do 29Mhs even if they are mixed with other cards.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!