Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2019, 12:32:11 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [UPDATE] RX480 (Ref) 31+Mh, Custom Rom - VDDC OFFSET + Custom timing  (Read 229952 times)
Truthchanter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 657
Merit: 253


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 06:41:51 PM
 #1041

any reason to upgrade driver to the newer drivers like 16.12.2+ from the older ones that you don't have to patch for working with modded bioses (like 16.3.2 i think, also 16.9.x)?
PLAY OVER 3000 GAMES
LIGHTNING FAST WITHDRAWALS
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558960331
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558960331

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558960331
Reply with quote  #2

1558960331
Report to moderator
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1043


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
March 10, 2017, 08:29:50 AM
 #1042

I'm running the 480LowEnergyOK rom on my Asus 480 8GB Reference cards and it seems to be running really hot. Anyone having this issue?
Fans are stuck at 33% according to Claymore and staying around 70*C with an outside rig where ambient temp is ~16*C.

All other cards follow fan curve in Afterburner.

Using MSI Afterburner for fan settings.

I've tried -tt 0 in Claymore with no results. Dedicated mining rig so no other fan monitoring software.

Windows 7. AMD 16.11.2.

I use the same rom mod.

No issues.

Have you tried -fanmin 55 - fanmax 99 ?

Ensure that you use latest Claymore miner version.

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery...
BusDeath
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 10, 2017, 05:57:28 PM
 #1043

 using the RX480Mod.rom on 4 gpu's (28 mh/s). It works for the first time very well (24h). But after this time I have system freezes all few hours.

Does exists a mod-version without undervolting?

I'm using a ASRock Z270 with the following bios settings:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bz71Pt83Tc5wUDh6UEJTTHFZYTQ/view?usp=drivesdk
Neo_Cool
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 17, 2017, 06:16:15 PM
 #1044

Does this roms work for an MSI ARMOR 480 4Gb?
bughatti
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 18, 2017, 02:15:34 AM
 #1045

I just purchased a few of these cards, I read that they are reference cards, are they not because I have tried 3 different roms from this thread with no luck

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150770

brian_elizondo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 18, 2017, 12:09:04 PM
 #1046

Hello everyone

Very interesting this article on RX 480, but I have some questions that I would like to help me respond.

I have two Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 4GB (Elpida) card  that I would like to update the ROM so that they can mine faster in ethereum. Which file do you recommend that I should download to update the ROM of my cards?

They are installed on a Win10 system with AMD Crimson 16.9.2, for me this is the best version to mine.

Thank you all for all the help you can give me!  Smiley Smiley Smiley
Munchee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 18, 2017, 03:45:55 PM
 #1047



Haha, i honestly was thinking, no way, that's impossible.
So i checked the rom i uploaded, of course, it's the wrong one  Grin

Will upload the right one as soon as i get at my office.

Quote
Turning Idiotic mode off again...

Mate if you are still around you made my weekend with this!
Running 25 mh/s dual mining with Sapphire 480 rx nitro 4GB!

Stock 21.5

Previous OC at best was getting 23-24 and was very unstable. Sometimes less than 10 min,

You cranked my MH and my fan speed well down too.

Thanks buddy!
greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 19, 2017, 12:32:31 AM
 #1048

You should be able to get 28-32 mhs even on a rx 480 sapphire nitro.

Download your bios with atiflash, open it in polaris bios editor.

Copy the memory timing for the 1500 or 1750mhz to the 2000 mhz and higher blocks.

I believe you can copy 1500mhz memory timing code to 1750 and 2000 blocks.

Make sure you backup original bios first.
Munchee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 19, 2017, 07:20:33 AM
 #1049

You should be able to get 28-32 mhs even on a rx 480 sapphire nitro.

Download your bios with atiflash, open it in polaris bios editor.

Copy the memory timing for the 1500 or 1750mhz to the 2000 mhz and higher blocks.

I believe you can copy 1500mhz memory timing code to 1750 and 2000 blocks.

Make sure you backup original bios first.

I don't think you can reach 28 mh's on this card surely. It's 4GB the one I got, if it were 8GB then yes possible. Right?
c1oud
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994
Merit: 529


View Profile
March 19, 2017, 05:45:31 PM
 #1050

"Asus Radeon RX 480 Strix Gaming AMD"
https://www.asus.com/Graphics-Cards/ROG-STRIX-RX480-O8G-GAMING/

Guys, what do you think about this 1? It seems it's not reference design. Does any of the rom's can be installed?
Any1 tryed to mine with this ones?  core clock at default at 1330 MHz. Considering to make a new 6 card rig with them. Need suggestions. thx



 
 
           ▄████▄
         ▄████████▄
       ▄████████████▄
     ▄████████████████▄
    ████████████████████      ▄█▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄████████████████▀   ▄██████████

  ▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄     ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀                   ██
▄█████▄▀▀▀▄██████▄▀▀▀▄█████▄     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀        ▄█▄          ▀██████████████▄
████████████████████████████       ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀          ▀█▀                        ██
 ▀████████████████████████▀          ▀██▄ ▄██▀             ▀██▄ ▄██▀     ▄█▄     ▀██▄ ▄██▀                                       ██
   ▀████████████████████▀              ▀███▀                 ▀███▀       ▀█▀       ▀███▀      ▄███████████████████████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀
       ▀████████████▀
         ▀████████▀
           ▀████▀
║║


║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
║║


║║
greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 19, 2017, 09:46:39 PM
 #1051

You should be able to get 28-32 mhs even on a rx 480 sapphire nitro.

Download your bios with atiflash, open it in polaris bios editor.

Copy the memory timing for the 1500 or 1750mhz to the 2000 mhz and higher blocks.

I believe you can copy 1500mhz memory timing code to 1750 and 2000 blocks.

Make sure you backup original bios first.

I don't think you can reach 28 mh's on this card surely. It's 4GB the one I got, if it were 8GB then yes possible. Right?


I don't have much time to explain so please forgive me.

I have a few rx 480 4gb cards and they do 29 - 31 mh/s easily.
rx 470 4gb can do 28-30 mh/s as well.

You need to copy the memory timing in polaris bios editor to the 1750mhz and 2000 mhz memory timing slots.  The biggest gain is by modifying the memory timing / bootstrap.  Second biggest gain and efficiency is by using MSI afterburner and tweaking GPU voltage, mhz, etc.

Try to change the default memory clock from 1750 mhz to target 2000 - 2050 mhz memory on 4gb cards.  If it fails scale it down to 1950 mhz, 1900mhz, 1850mhz, 1800mhz until you find a stable memory clock to mine with.

The only cards I've had problems bringing memory clock up is msi rx 480 4gbs.
Truthchanter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 657
Merit: 253


View Profile
March 20, 2017, 02:27:34 PM
 #1052

There is some Elpida mem out there, that even when modded with the 1500 strap, that seems only stable at 26-26.5 mhs or so

I experienced this with a 480 4gb nitro (not nitro+)
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1016
Merit: 1185

Huh?


View Profile
March 20, 2017, 02:36:34 PM
 #1053

There is some Elpida mem out there, that even when modded with the 1500 strap, that seems only stable at 26-26.5 mhs or so

I experienced this with a 480 4gb nitro (not nitro+)

They do 30Mh as well.. (those nitro's)

Got 2 Elpida 4G's, one nitro and one non nitro, the nitro one does 30+ and the non nitro one does 29.5 stable.

But this is with custom timings.

Greetings

Munchee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 21, 2017, 04:40:21 AM
 #1054

There is some Elpida mem out there, that even when modded with the 1500 strap, that seems only stable at 26-26.5 mhs or so

I experienced this with a 480 4gb nitro (not nitro+)

They do 30Mh as well.. (those nitro's)

Got 2 Elpida 4G's, one nitro and one non nitro, the nitro one does 30+ and the non nitro one does 29.5 stable.

But this is with custom timings.

Greetings

I can post the ROMs that I am using to get 25 mh if you want to try and edit them and I can test, sadly I'm not too comfortable at editing them myself even though I feel the info posted above is more than enough.
I am about a week away from turning my 3 pc's into 1 unit with risers so am in no rush to re flash the cards for the next few days
joaogti36
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 141
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 21, 2017, 12:27:13 PM
 #1055

asus rx 480 dual 8g
what will work with this card?
tryied the 30mod and 31 and no go...
DrX
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 21, 2017, 01:37:41 PM
 #1056

I got some RX480 8G Sapphire Nitros with micron memory SN: A1704.... Bad luck :\

Is there anything I can do to get more hash from these?

Now mining low power mode...

I'm now mining Ether 25Mh/s each and Afterburner showing 65w.

Settings 1050/1750 and -97 Voltage.


 
Munchee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 06:10:07 AM
Last edit: March 22, 2017, 06:52:39 AM by Munchee
 #1057

Okay well I just went in and did it cause I love getting more MH/s..

Currently at 30mh haha, this is kinda ridiculous

Just gonna run 1 card at that rate overnight, make sure its stable..

Edit* 2100mhz producing a lot of invalid shares, down to 2000mhz and looking constant 29.5 so pretty happy
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1043


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 06:56:35 AM
 #1058

I got some RX480 8G Sapphire Nitros with micron memory SN: A1704.... Bad luck :\

Is there anything I can do to get more hash from these?

Now mining low power mode...

I'm now mining Ether 25Mh/s each and Afterburner showing 65w.

Settings 1050/1750 and -97 Voltage.


there is a 30MHlowenergy rom link in the last page.

All of my Sapphire 480 Refs rigs are with "28MHlowenergyOK" rom, but I have one or two rigs with 30MH one... not bad on ETH mining however ETH mining consumes too much power and too much heat -- it's like a death sentence for the card, stretching it beyond 30mh is not good because for ETH you need stable cards -- having the low power roms and slightly faster than 25/26MH like 28MH or 29Mh is good enough.

If I provided you good and useful info or just bring a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery...
Munchee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 11:26:27 AM
 #1059

I got some RX480 8G Sapphire Nitros with micron memory SN: A1704.... Bad luck :\

Is there anything I can do to get more hash from these?

Now mining low power mode...

I'm now mining Ether 25Mh/s each and Afterburner showing 65w.

Settings 1050/1750 and -97 Voltage.


there is a 30MHlowenergy rom link in the last page.

All of my Sapphire 480 Refs rigs are with "28MHlowenergyOK" rom, but I have one or two rigs with 30MH one... not bad on ETH mining however ETH mining consumes too much power and too much heat -- it's like a death sentence for the card, stretching it beyond 30mh is not good because for ETH you need stable cards -- having the low power roms and slightly faster than 25/26MH like 28MH or 29Mh is good enough.

Does that low energy ROM work on the 4GB card?
panamax
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 12:49:51 PM
 #1060

Good day....

new to mining and started to build myself a mining prototype with a bunch of unused stuff i had around + bought 3 RX480-8Gb XFX Reference design cards
XFX Radeon RX 480 DirectX 12 RX480M8BFA6 8GB 256-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 CrossFireX Support Video Card

i started mining ETH, and hashed around 24mhs per card as it may should be expected.
I tried to flash with the 30mhs version on page 1, but got some kind of error message that i don't recall right now...
i then downloaded my cards bios and modified it by copying  the second last memory string to the last one (i guess the 1750 to the 1900, if i recall right)

This worked and improved the hash rate to about 25-26mhs.

However, im really interested in flashing to the most powerful and efficient bios possible.
Can somebody take me by the hand and guide me to how and what bios I can flash?

Thank you & have a nice day!
Pages: « 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!