Bitcoin Forum
May 24, 2019, 12:30:51 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [UPDATE] RX480 (Ref) 31+Mh, Custom Rom - VDDC OFFSET + Custom timing  (Read 229895 times)
beks1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 01, 2016, 03:03:23 PM
 #761

http://dodaj.rs/photos/20161001147533401350132.png

red is hynix strap
green is elpida.

yellow as memory timings
strap 1500 to 1625, 1750 and 2000, but I can not make checksum in polaris bios editor 1.4
1558657851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558657851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558657851
Reply with quote  #2

1558657851
Report to moderator
1558657851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558657851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558657851
Reply with quote  #2

1558657851
Report to moderator
1558657851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558657851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558657851
Reply with quote  #2

1558657851
Report to moderator
GET 25 FREE SPINS AT REGISTRATION
GET 100% BONUS ON FIRST DEPOSIT
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558657851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558657851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558657851
Reply with quote  #2

1558657851
Report to moderator
1558657851
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558657851

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558657851
Reply with quote  #2

1558657851
Report to moderator
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1016
Merit: 1185

Huh?


View Profile
October 01, 2016, 03:04:15 PM
 #762

You have to manually fix checksum. Yey! Another win!

beks1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 01, 2016, 03:22:45 PM
 #763

You have to manually fix checksum. Yey! Another win!

hehhe how manuel please help  Grin
rednoW
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1003


View Profile
October 01, 2016, 04:21:57 PM
 #764

another reason?
2 sets of timings and Polaris Bios Editor don't like it )) Only going hex now ))

Congrats Wink

Again, Me like it very much!
yup! You gonna gotta rich become very ))
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1016
Merit: 1185

Huh?


View Profile
October 01, 2016, 09:19:48 PM
 #765

another reason?
2 sets of timings and Polaris Bios Editor don't like it )) Only going hex now ))

Congrats Wink

Again, Me like it very much!
yup! You gonna gotta rich become very ))

Me already am! Wink

36524s
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 01, 2016, 09:42:38 PM
 #766

Do you guys know why one of my flashed Sapphire 480x nitros always ends up with a hashrate of 18 while all my others have 29 ?
superresistant
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1095



View Profile
October 01, 2016, 09:52:19 PM
 #767

Do you guys know why one of my flashed Sapphire 480x nitros always ends up with a hashrate of 18 while all my others have 29 ?

It's maybe broken.
Did you restart ?
crazyearner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1001



View Profile
October 01, 2016, 11:58:54 PM
 #768

Anyone have configuration for the msi 480 version or the bios on here listed on OP are good for all or just reference? Seen the sapphire been uploaded by a member nice one for that will no doubt use for the sapphire if I get one debating to go MSI or Sapphire cant decide anyone want to decide for me.

MSI 480?
Sapphire nitro 480?

=
  R E B E L L I O U S 
  ▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▄                           ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▄
▄▀        █▄▄                     ▄▄█        ▀▄
█            █████████████████████            █
█▄          ██       ██ ██       ██          ▄█
█        █            █            █        █
  █    █               █               █    █
   █ ██               █ █               ██ █
    █ █               █ █               █ █
    █ ███▄  █████▄   ██ ██   ▄█████  ▄███ █
    █     ███     █         █     ███     █
     █   █   ▀███ █  █   █  █ ███▀   █   █
     █   █      █ █  █   █  █ █      █   █
     █   █      ██  █     █  ██      █   █
      █  █     ██  █       █  ██     █  █
      █  █    ██  █ ███████ █  ██    █  █
      █ ███   ██  █         █  ██   ███ █
       █   ▀███      █   █      ███▀   █
        █     ██       █       ██     █
         █      █   ▄▄███▄▄   █      █
          ███   ███▀       ▀███   ███
             █████           █████
                  ███████████
  ▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▄                           ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▄
▄▀        █▄▄                     ▄▄█        ▀▄
█            █████████████████████            █
█▄          ██       ██ ██       ██          ▄█
█        █            █            █        █
  █    █               █               █    █
   █ ██               █ █               ██ █
    █ █               █ █               █ █
    █ ███▄  █████▄   ██ ██   ▄█████  ▄███ █
    █     ███     █         █     ███     █
     █   █   ▀███ █  █   █  █ ███▀   █   █
     █   █      █ █  █   █  █ █      █   █
     █   █      ██  █     █  ██      █   █
      █  █     ██  █       █  ██     █  █
      █  █    ██  █ ███████ █  ██    █  █
      █ ███   ██  █         █  ██   ███ █
       █   ▀███      █   █      ███▀   █
        █     ██       █       ██     █
         █      █   ▄▄███▄▄   █      █
          ███   ███▀       ▀███   ███
             █████           █████
                  ███████████
  R E B E L L I O U S
mewhoyou
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 351
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 02, 2016, 12:10:42 AM
 #769

What does

set -ethi 12

command do?

Ethereum the Next Big Thing?
buitanthanh1979
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 02, 2016, 04:27:53 AM
 #770

Anyone have configuration for the msi 480 version or the bios on here listed on OP are good for all or just reference? Seen the sapphire been uploaded by a member nice one for that will no doubt use for the sapphire if I get one debating to go MSI or Sapphire cant decide anyone want to decide for me.

MSI 480?
Sapphire nitro 480?


MSI 480 4GB Mod Bios hashrates
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1631483.0
Walrusbonzo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 666
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 02, 2016, 01:48:10 PM
 #771

Do you guys know why one of my flashed Sapphire 480x nitros always ends up with a hashrate of 18 while all my others have 29 ?

I just got 6 Sapphire RX480 Nitro+ too.

So far my findings are that almost none of them will go higher than 2125~2150MHz stable on the memory.

When I push the memory too high, I will either get lots of memory errors according to HWINFO and this causes hash rates to fluctuate. Whereas sometimes it's almost like the memory bus is put in "limp mode" upon starting claymore miner. When this happens I don't tend to get memory errors but I can see that memory bus utilisation will be lower. As in, it might just sit at 50% and never go any higher.

For example, the first two cards I tested I set memory to 2250MHz like my reference card. I fired up claymore miner and while my reference card started mining at 31mh/s, the other two cards were only mining at 14mh/s and the memory bus utilisation was really low.

So I set memory speed back to 2200MHz on the two nitros and restarted the miner. Now I was mining at over 30mh/s on all three cards. But both nitros had fluctuating hashrates.

so I fired up HWINFO and found all three cards producing lots of memory errors, but especially the two nitros.

After much testing I've found that both these two nitros will only do 2125MHz without causing memory errors or entering limp mode. The reference card is quite happy at 2150MHz without producing errors. The other four nitros are all slightly different too, but generally 2125MHz seems to be the magic number on the bus. Incidentally, they'll all do 1150MHz on the core at just 900mv!

In short, if one card is giving you much lower hashrates, it's probably because it can't handle the high clock rate on the memory. I'd highly recommend using HWINFO to track memory errors and memory bus utilisation. In MSI AB, the utilisation is known as GPU FB. If your cards are not going upto 100% and sitting there most of the time then the bus is in "limp mode".

Hope this helps.
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1016
Merit: 1185

Huh?


View Profile
October 02, 2016, 02:04:04 PM
 #772

Do you guys know why one of my flashed Sapphire 480x nitros always ends up with a hashrate of 18 while all my others have 29 ?

I just got 6 Sapphire RX480 Nitro+ too.

So far my findings are that almost none of them will go higher than 2125~2150MHz stable on the memory.

When I push the memory too high, I will either get lots of memory errors according to HWINFO and this causes hash rates to fluctuate. Whereas sometimes it's almost like the memory bus is put in "limp mode" upon starting claymore miner. When this happens I don't tend to get memory errors but I can see that memory bus utilisation will be lower. As in, it might just sit at 50% and never go any higher.

For example, the first two cards I tested I set memory to 2250MHz like my reference card. I fired up claymore miner and while my reference card started mining at 31mh/s, the other two cards were only mining at 14mh/s and the memory bus utilisation was really low.

So I set memory speed back to 2200MHz on the two nitros and restarted the miner. Now I was mining at over 30mh/s on all three cards. But both nitros had fluctuating hashrates.

so I fired up HWINFO and found all three cards producing lots of memory errors, but especially the two nitros.

After much testing I've found that both these two nitros will only do 2125MHz without causing memory errors or entering limp mode. The reference card is quite happy at 2150MHz without producing errors. The other four nitros are all slightly different too, but generally 2125MHz seems to be the magic number on the bus. Incidentally, they'll all do 1150MHz on the core at just 900mv!

In short, if one card is giving you much lower hashrates, it's probably because it can't handle the high clock rate on the memory. I'd highly recommend using HWINFO to track memory errors and memory bus utilisation. In MSI AB, the utilisation is known as GPU FB. If your cards are not going upto 100% and sitting there most of the time then the bus is in "limp mode".

Hope this helps.

FB stands for Frame Buffer, And yes, as long as this isn't 100%, you're generating memory errors. You don't even have to check HWinfo to know.

Because the core and memory are in a way connected to eachother, raising or reducing your core clock will also solve this issue Wink

Greetings

Walrusbonzo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 666
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 02, 2016, 03:48:45 PM
 #773

FB stands for Frame Buffer, And yes, as long as this isn't 100%, you're generating memory errors. You don't even have to check HWinfo to know.

Because the core and memory are in a way connected to eachother, raising or reducing your core clock will also solve this issue Wink

Greetings

FB, Frame buffer, yep, that makes sense! I was hurting my head trying to think what FB stood for. lol

I can get 100% utilisation on the FB and still have memory errors, there might not be many. But i'm trying to find highest clock with zero errors as opposed to just highest hashrate. Maybe I should not worry about the memory errors if hashrate still goes up? I'm right in thinking the memory errors are corrected? It's ECC RAM right?Huh

Have you noticed the "limp mode" issue before? It's different to getting memory errors which makes the hashrate fluctuate. Sometimes cards go into this limp mode and cause no errors at all.

It's literally like the card puts an x% limit on your memory bus utilisation. I've had it limit as low as 27% before. Seems the only way to fix it is to restart PC and try again.

Not sure if it might even be a driver issue... Or maybe it's a Sapphire Nitro+ issue as my reference card has never done it to me yet.
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 03, 2016, 08:23:55 AM
Last edit: October 03, 2016, 12:32:49 PM by vg54dett
 #774

Hi guys,
do you have some link to moded BIOS for
4GB Sapphire RX470 , Reference ? (the one with a 6pin PCI and only one fan)
Edit : Memory type Hypnix
Windows7

Thanks a lot !

EDIT 2 :
it looks like that
zorvalth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 03, 2016, 11:35:37 AM
 #775

You have to manually fix checksum. Yey! Another win!

Several days ago when i got some of these, and with my 5 hours experience with hex i managed to change the timings and tried to flash it and it worked, so i guess no need for checksums... Turns out they are great elpida chips, 8 out of 8 work in 2000mhz on 1500 strap. the hynx are less then half, at least with my experience.
beks1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 03, 2016, 11:50:20 AM
 #776

You have to manually fix checksum. Yey! Another win!

Several days ago when i got some of these, and with my 5 hours experience with hex i managed to change the timings and tried to flash it and it worked, so i guess no need for checksums... Turns out they are great elpida chips, 8 out of 8 work in 2000mhz on 1500 strap. the hynx are less then half, at least with my experience.

How flash CMD, or dos?
vg54dett
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 03, 2016, 12:34:10 PM
Last edit: October 03, 2016, 03:45:25 PM by vg54dett
 #777

Hi guys,
do you have some link to moded BIOS for
4GB Sapphire Reference RX470 ? (the one with a 6pin PCI)
Windows7

Thanks a lot !

AMD did not specify a reference for 470; your memory type can vary. Mod your own; it's safest.

Thank you for the answer.
I've never build a mod myself, not sure if it is really safe !
I found my memory type is Hypnix, in case it would be enough to find an already moded one safely?
beks1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 03, 2016, 08:20:01 PM
 #778

You have to manually fix checksum. Yey! Another win!

http://dodaj.rs/photos/20161003147552593191355.png

win  Grin

480 4GB Elpida -29mhs
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1016
Merit: 1185

Huh?


View Profile
October 03, 2016, 09:06:58 PM
 #779

You have to manually fix checksum. Yey! Another win!

win  Grin

480 4GB Elpida -29mhs

Aha! Good job!

It's only Elpida supported i assume Wink

rednoW
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1003


View Profile
October 04, 2016, 05:45:16 AM
 #780

You have to manually fix checksum. Yey! Another win!
win  Grin

480 4GB Elpida -29mhs
Show your hwinfo64 screen (gpu mem error rate) before claiming the win ))
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!