Bitcoin Forum
June 24, 2019, 02:35:06 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 ... 58 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [UPDATE] RX480 (Ref) 31+Mh, Custom Rom - VDDC OFFSET + Custom timing  (Read 229986 times)
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1020
Merit: 1245

Huh?


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 12:46:12 PM
Last edit: March 27, 2017, 03:32:48 PM by Eliovp
 #1

VDDC Offset + Basic Custom timing
------------------

Here's a nice update for those who have Reference cards.
In the package included, i've put 4 roms with VDDC offset.

1. -50mV
2. -69mV
3. -81mV
4. -100mV

You can of course adjust these however you want, if you want to have an even tighter undervolt you can search the rom for this --> "8D 00 F8(-50)00" and replace the F8 part with EE(-112) for example.

These roms also have a custom timing included. It's a basic one but it will give you a very high increase for XMR.

Greetings and have fun!

Link: Here



Relive 16.12 fix
------------------

Atikmdag Patcher


So uhm, yeah, i managed to get my custom rom running on Windows 10 by bypassing that aweful signature check :p
(Kudo's to Gupsterg and Lordkag for that)
Decided to create a new thread because my other threads are becoming a serious mess..

Reason why using claymore's,  couldn't directly get Genoil's to detect my card  Roll Eyes My apologies for that..


Results.

First run (no mod): 24Mh+ : Core clock 1275, Mem Clock 2000



Larger image: Here



Second run (modded): 28Mh : Same clocks, so: 1275, 2000



Larger image: Here



Next run (still modded): 30.5 - 31Mh : Lowered core to 1192 and raised memory to the (for now) max of 2250.



Larger image: Here



Then, for my final(for now) run: 31.5-32Mh : Raised core to 1220 and raised memory to 2275  Tongue



Larger image: Here



Will be doing more tests later, i'm sure i'll be able to go over 32Mh.
Great thing about this, when i ran the first testrun with stock clocks, card was at around 60 degrees and no abnormal fan speed.

Overall, awesome card Smiley


Power usage tests will follow later when i'm done tweaking my rom to the sweet spot Smiley


Greetings!



Edit:

Links:

RX480-32MhOTB
RX480-30MhOTB
480LowEnergyOK
RX480Mod.zip

1561386906
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561386906

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561386906
Reply with quote  #2

1561386906
Report to moderator
1561386906
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561386906

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561386906
Reply with quote  #2

1561386906
Report to moderator
1561386906
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561386906

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561386906
Reply with quote  #2

1561386906
Report to moderator
Try The Brand New Ethereum Game
50 Last Players Also Win The Bank
Works On Any iOS/Android Device With Standard Browser
Join Us On Telegram To Get Notified When You Can Win
COLOR PIXELS
AND WIN
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1561386906
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561386906

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561386906
Reply with quote  #2

1561386906
Report to moderator
1561386906
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561386906

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561386906
Reply with quote  #2

1561386906
Report to moderator
eretron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 01:07:25 PM
 #2

Well if this is true, then those are fantastic news, I am eager to find out power draw with this modded BIOS...

Anyway thanks for sharing.

MarkAz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 685
Merit: 511



View Profile
August 13, 2016, 01:40:26 PM
 #3

Well if this is true, then those are fantastic news, I am eager to find out power draw with this modded BIOS...

Assuming GPU-Z is correct, then his last screenshot shows it consumes ~120.6W...

Very cool!
fishbone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 01:42:15 PM
 #4

Is there any possabillity we might see this kind of custom roms for sapphire nitro 480 ?
eretron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 01:52:57 PM
 #5

Well if this is true, then those are fantastic news, I am eager to find out power draw with this modded BIOS...

Assuming GPU-Z is correct, then his last screenshot shows it consumes ~120.6W...

Very cool!


Well, from my experience GPU-Z is far off with Power draw, I Guess it doesn't count draw from the MB...

But if it is in 150W range, it is amazing...


Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1020
Merit: 1245

Huh?


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 03:09:41 PM
 #6

Well if this is true, then those are fantastic news, I am eager to find out power draw with this modded BIOS...

Anyway thanks for sharing.

Why wouldn't it be true?  Smiley


Is there any possabillity we might see this kind of custom roms for sapphire nitro 480 ?

Perhaps.. time will tell  Wink

ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 03:12:24 PM
 #7

To Topic Starter:

Are you going to release it? Price? Will it include step-by-step manual for installation?
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1020
Merit: 1245

Huh?


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 03:16:34 PM
 #8

To Topic Starter:

Are you going to release it? Price? Will it include step-by-step manual for installation?

I'm still figuring out a way to make it easy for everyone to bypass signature check.

For the *nix users this isn't a problem.

I'll let it run for at least 12hrs before i even think about releasing something.

So far 4hrs, stable as a rock. Temps around 70 degrees, fan at 85% :-)

Greetings

ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 03:19:11 PM
 #9


I'm still figuring out a way to make it easy for everyone to bypass signature check.

For the *nix users this isn't a problem.

I'll let it run for at least 12hrs before i even think about releasing something.

So far 4hrs, stable as a rock. Temps around 70 degrees, fan at 85% :-)

Greetings

Thank you for updates. We are waiting for your decision and results of stability tests
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 251


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 03:35:50 PM
 #10

Nice work.  Care to share how you did it?  I've read several posts in various forms, and I still haven't figured out specifically how it is done.  Here's what I've pieced together so far (please correct any mistakes):
1 Information on the bios layout is derived from the structure definitions in the Linux radeon driver source (i.e. https://github.com/torvalds/linux/blob/master/drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/atombios.h).
2 Programs like Hawaii BIOS editor have used the information from #1 to provide a simple interface to modify DPM states including core (and sometimes memory) voltages.
3 None of the BIOS editors allow you to modify memory straps, so it is done with a hex editor.
4 Memory timing tables (straps) sometimes can support more than one RAM type (i.e. flag in the table to indicate Hynix/Elpida)

Other than decoding the little-endian hex values for memory speeds in Mhz, and a reference to the Hynix/Elpida flag, I've found no explanation of the table contents.  I have seen a post saying to search for a specific sequence of bytes which precedes the memory strap table, but it's not clear if this is for just one chip type (i.e. Hawaii) or for all GCN BIOS files.  I saw one post with a dump of a strap table which had at least 30 bytes per row.  Aside from RAS/CAS timing of 10-17 cycles, none of the other values in the table made any sense to me.
miropp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 795
Merit: 101



View Profile
August 13, 2016, 04:13:55 PM
 #11

How to overclock memory to 2275MHz? I tried and maximum was 2250MHz (via Asus GPU Tweak II)

zzzzzzzzzz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 04:38:12 PM
 #12

How to overclock memory to 2275MHz? I tried and maximum was 2250MHz (via Asus GPU Tweak II)
He's modding the GPU ROM directly, which bypasses the limitations of software tweaking.
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1020
Merit: 1245

Huh?


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 05:01:15 PM
 #13

How to overclock memory to 2275MHz? I tried and maximum was 2250MHz (via Asus GPU Tweak II)
He's modding the GPU ROM directly, which bypasses the limitations of software tweaking.


Exactly..

eretron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 05:23:58 PM
 #14

BTW. Are there any downsides of this mod? Danger of frying gpu or something similar?

How does warranty handles this stuff?

Q_R_V
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 424
Merit: 250


Inactivity: 8963


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 05:36:26 PM
 #15


How does warranty handles this stuff?

It does not. Flash card with stock BIOS before sending for warranty and you will be ok.
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1020
Merit: 1245

Huh?


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 06:54:52 PM
 #16


How does warranty handles this stuff?

It does not. Flash card with stock BIOS before sending for warranty and you will be ok.

Have never needed to do that, but yup, if you have onboard vga, or another GPU, you can still easily flash your badly flashed or bricked card. (If it gets detected though :p)

fishbone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 08:02:11 PM
 #17

What to do? i got 6 shapphire nitros 480s orderd . Better get 480 ref cards and some coolers and wait for modded rom for them instead of the nitros?
Q_R_V
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 424
Merit: 250


Inactivity: 8963


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 08:32:38 PM
 #18

What to do? i got 6 shapphire nitros 480s orderd . Better get 480 ref cards and some coolers and wait for modded rom for them instead of the nitros?

Keep your nitros and wait, 8pin and nice double fans are worth the money.


Have never needed to do that, but yup, if you have onboard vga, or another GPU, you can still easily flash your badly flashed or bricked card. (If it gets detected though :p)

Well, i had to do this once or twice, always got replacement or refund.

Two words about the BIOS: wunderbar job
When you are done with power measurements, could you check if risers doesn't catch fire in dual mining?
Or did you inserted card directly into motherboard slot?
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 13, 2016, 08:33:28 PM
 #19

What to do? i got 6 shapphire nitros 480s orderd . Better get 480 ref cards and some coolers and wait for modded rom for them instead of the nitros?

Indeed, keep the cards

It will be much easier to sell 480 nitros afterwards
tutorialevideo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116
Merit: 1001

Don`t invest more than you can afford to lose


View Profile WWW
August 13, 2016, 08:33:53 PM
 #20

Nice work Smiley

Still here Smiley
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 ... 58 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!