Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 06:25:44 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 890 891 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 899 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 [940] 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 978 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3006861 times)
btc_uzr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


let's have some fun


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 02:45:34 PM
 #18781

cgminer runs on your jupiter - you can shut down your PC - just keep in mind to detach screen-session before quit

*ah one was faster with posting link to latest news

!! File Complaints Against KnCMiner NOW !!
..and Thou shalt spread the coin in the name of cryptography for eternity
1510986344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510986344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510986344
Reply with quote  #2

1510986344
Report to moderator
1510986344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510986344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510986344
Reply with quote  #2

1510986344
Report to moderator
1510986344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510986344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510986344
Reply with quote  #2

1510986344
Report to moderator
Transactions can optionally carry transaction fees. Whoever mines the block which ends up containing your transaction will get the fee. The Bitcoin client will sometimes force you to pay a fee when it thinks that no miner will accept your transaction otherwise.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Vedran Yoweri
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 02:51:11 PM
 #18782

when install the cgminer ckcolivas
at jupiter
we can closed the pc
or must still running the pc for use cgminer 3.6.6?Huh Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=170332.msg3426089#msg3426089
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
October 28, 2013, 02:54:55 PM
 #18783

Just spoke with Anna and she told me my miners are ready and to be picked up by DHL today very shortly  Lips sealed

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 03:06:38 PM
 #18784

Odd trick from my rig then, it stopped talking to me. No KNC homescreen, no ssh, no putty. Restarted it and it's ok. Not sure when it started or what caused it ..or what it was up to while I couldn't see. You're a bit lost if you can't communicate or see what it's doing. Can't update anything without being able to login to it either. Hope it's a glitch.
btc_uzr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


let's have some fun


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 03:08:39 PM
 #18785

regarding the latest news I'm really wondering how many customers have put themselves out of mining the last days ?

(...)
The missing files are causing critical issues, and the miner is no longer able to complete its boot sequence.
The files concerned, are;
    Cgminer.conf.factory
    Network.conf.factory
(...)

Further more I'm not pleased to read that a missing default config file, stored on a persistent partition where users might modify or even delete it, causes a complete boot failure of $k hw used for btc-mining.
Seriously ?!

Without having deeper knowledge of the exact technical reasons which lead KnC's devs to this decision:
How about a simple 'check if file exists if not skip it or copy some default-config from system-image' ?
Or as alternative put those files in a place a user can not damage (all dirs except '/config')..

!! File Complaints Against KnCMiner NOW !!
..and Thou shalt spread the coin in the name of cryptography for eternity
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 03:08:59 PM
 #18786

Just spoke with Anna and she told me my miners are ready and to be picked up by DHL today very shortly  Lips sealed

That's tomorrow to you in the UK most likely. Mine took almost exactly a day. Good to hear.
sbfree
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
October 28, 2013, 03:21:22 PM
 #18787


OUCH!
FeedbackLoop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
October 28, 2013, 03:29:09 PM
 #18788

regarding the latest news I'm really wondering how many customers have put themselves out of mining the last days ?

(...)
The missing files are causing critical issues, and the miner is no longer able to complete its boot sequence.
The files concerned, are;
    Cgminer.conf.factory
    Network.conf.factory
(...)

Further more I'm not pleased to read that a missing default config file, stored on a persistent partition where users might modify or even delete it, causes a complete boot failure of $k hw used for btc-mining.
Seriously ?!

Without having deeper knowledge of the exact technical reasons which lead KnC's devs to this decision:
How about a simple 'check if file exists if not skip it or copy some default-config from system-image' ?
Or as alternative put those files in a place a user can not damage (all dirs except '/config')..

That's is a pity.

For those bound on risk I wonder if the removed USB port is possible to be soldered back to copy over these files. Probably the biggest risk would be warranty wise?

dwdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


- - -Caveat Aleo- - -


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 03:36:41 PM
 #18789


Anyone here had that problem? Ckolivas, is there a way to use your code without changing the kncminer boot files?
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
October 28, 2013, 03:40:23 PM
 #18790

regarding the latest news I'm really wondering how many customers have put themselves out of mining the last days ?

(...)
The missing files are causing critical issues, and the miner is no longer able to complete its boot sequence.
The files concerned, are;
    Cgminer.conf.factory
    Network.conf.factory
(...)

Further more I'm not pleased to read that a missing default config file, stored on a persistent partition where users might modify or even delete it, causes a complete boot failure of $k hw used for btc-mining.
Seriously ?!

Without having deeper knowledge of the exact technical reasons which lead KnC's devs to this decision:
How about a simple 'check if file exists if not skip it or copy some default-config from system-image' ?
Or as alternative put those files in a place a user can not damage (all dirs except '/config')..

You risk it by SSH'ing to the device, basically don't do it unless you are 100% sure you won't mess up. I don't blame KnC for taking this stance.

After all on the devices web interface it warns "KnCMiner products are carefully engineered and are not designed to be user serviceable in hardware or software other than when specifically directed by a member of the KncMiner team."

Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
October 28, 2013, 03:41:57 PM
 #18791


Anyone here had that problem? Ckolivas, is there a way to use your code without changing the kncminer boot files?

Using bfgminer or cgminer alternatives don't involve directly touching those files, its just people deleting them by accident thats causing the problem.

I'd hazard to guess that its the network.conf.factory thats causing the problem, if deleted the miner won't be able to get a dhcp address probably because it turns on dhcp.

Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile WWW
October 28, 2013, 03:44:15 PM
 #18792

Judging by this https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=249065.0 , the latest hosted order that got deployed was 38xx for yuriygeorge on the 25th of October
The latest shipped order was 586x for DobZombie

My hosted order is 39xx still has "Paid" status.

I am now watching like a hawk if faetos and dunchy (400x and 421x) would report their hosted units as deployed.

If that happens, I'll be demanding refund.


I know of a hosted order 42XX that is up and running . . . if it helps.

I sent them yet another e-mail... It's still unanswered and Monday is over.
Order 39xx is still in the "Paid" domain.

#101Life
Save Donbass

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 03:57:09 PM
 #18793

Is there a way to mine using a PC running mining software to control it? Not using the BBB and it's formware at all as standalone?
DigginDeep
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 04:20:40 PM
 #18794

Fixing typo in the example above,  -c
Code:
screen -dm ./cgminer -c /config/cgminer.conf
Edited original post, thanks.

Thanks again for all the help!  Amazing!
Though on side note is original post still wrong? 
Code:
screen -dm ./cgminer -c cgminer.conf
What worked was
Code:
screen -dm ./cgminer -c /config/cgminer.conf
AS djcoin stated,  Im new to this whole lunix/putty thing so just in case someone else is having issues, 
Thank you so much for your hard work!

_HashFast Technologies_28 nm mining
Producer of High Performance ASICS
BabyJets & Sierras On Sale today!
btc_uzr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


let's have some fun


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 04:31:04 PM
 #18795

Is there a way to mine using a PC running mining software to control it? Not using the BBB and it's formware at all as standalone?


as far as I understood it the BBB is nothing without KnC's controller-board containing a FPGA for controlling the ASICs
beside this, your PC is more efficient than a BBB or what's the intention behind this question ?

In general it should be possible to connect your mainboard to the FPGA-controller through sth. like BBB's expansion headers somehow
http://circuitco.com/support/index.php?title=Cape_Expansion_Headers
With KnC open-source code you might even figure out how the communication is done - have fun


!! File Complaints Against KnCMiner NOW !!
..and Thou shalt spread the coin in the name of cryptography for eternity
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 04:39:41 PM
 #18796

Is there a way to mine using a PC running mining software to control it? Not using the BBB and it's formware at all as standalone?


as far as I understood it the BBB is nothing without KnC's controller-board containing a FPGA for controlling the ASICs
beside this, your PC is more efficient than a BBB or what's the intention behind this question ?

In general it should be possible to connect your mainboard to the FPGA-controller through sth. like BBB's expansion headers somehow
http://circuitco.com/support/index.php?title=Cape_Expansion_Headers
With KnC open-source code you might even figure out how the communication is done - have fun



Just for the future really, I was thinking more along the lines of replacing the BBB and gaining access via the ports that aren't available as it stands, USB for example.

I wouldn't touch it when it's running and under warranty, but it could be useful to be able to later on possibly.

Just a thought though Smiley
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 04:46:29 PM
 #18797

I had the same experience lastnight.... sll 3 sats just shut down for no apparent reason on the cklovas release, a cold restart fixed it luckily....



but he higher temps sure are helping



                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
cognoscente
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 04:55:43 PM
 #18798

For those bound on risk I wonder if the removed USB port is possible to be soldered back to copy over these files. Probably the biggest risk would be warranty wise?

Should be a lot safer just to buy another BBB & copy the image over.
Phoenix1969
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


LIR DEV


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 04:57:38 PM
 #18799

For those bound on risk I wonder if the removed USB port is possible to be soldered back to copy over these files. Probably the biggest risk would be warranty wise?

Should be a lot safer just to buy another BBB & copy the image over.
huh? it's simple enough using putty, why would we need a bbb?... lol

the live part of his code is stored in RAM anyway...   right?
a cold restart works fine.... at least it did for my 3 sats...

the location of the .factory file was mentioned early on... surely folks made a backup of it?


                     ▀▀█████████▀████████████████▄
                        ████▄      ▄████████████████
                     ▄██████▀  ▄  ███████████████████
                  ▄█████████▄████▄███████████████████
                ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
                                               ▀▀███▀
    ▄█▀█       ▄▀  ▄▀▀█  ▄▀   █████████████████▄ ██▀         ▄▀█
   ▄█ ▄▀      ▀█▀ █▀ █▀ ▀█▀  ███████████████████ █▀ ▀▀      ▄▀▄▀
  ▄█    ▄███  █     █   █   ████████████████████  ▄█     ▄▀▀██▀ ▄███
███▄▄▄  █▄▄▄ █▄▄ ▄▄▀   █▄▄ ██████████████████▀▀   █▄▄ ▄▄ █▄▄█▄▄▄█▄▄▄
                           ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
                            ▀▀█████████████▄
                                █████████████▄
                                  █████████████▄
                                    ▀███████▀▀▀▀▀
                                      ▀████▀
                                        ▀█▀
LetItRide
                        ▄███████████▄
                       ██  ██████████▄
                     ▄█████████████  ██▄
            ▄▄▀█▄▄▄▄▄████████████████████▄
        ▄▄█▀   ███████████  █████  ████  █
    ▄██████ ▄▄███████████████████████████▀
 ▄▀▀ ██████████████████████████  ████  █
█  ▄███████████▀▀▀█████████████████████
██████████████    ████████▀▀██████  █▀
██████████████▄▄▄██████████   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███▀ ▀██████████████████████
██    ███████████████████████
██▄▄██████████████████████████
██████████████▀   ██████████
  █████████████   ▄██████▀▀
     ▀▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀▀██████▀▀
[BTC]▄█████████████▀ ▄█
██            ▄█▀
██          ▄██ ▄█
██ ▄█▄    ▄███  ██
██ ▀███▄ ▄███   ██
██  ▀███████    ██
██    █████     ██
██     ███      ██
██      ▀       ██
██              ██
▀████████████████▀
texaslabrat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
October 28, 2013, 05:04:13 PM
 #18800

For those bound on risk I wonder if the removed USB port is possible to be soldered back to copy over these files. Probably the biggest risk would be warranty wise?

Should be a lot safer just to buy another BBB & copy the image over.
huh? it's simple enough using putty, why would we need a bbb?... lol

his code is stored in RAM anyway...   right?
a cold restart works fine.... at least it did for my 3 sats...

the location of the .factory file was mentioned early on... surely folks made a backup of it?


can't use putty if the machine won't come up on the network due to deleted critical files.  And since the USB has been disabled...the number of choices is sort of whittled down.  Best solution is to, of course, not delete the files in the first place Wink  It has nothing to do with the BFG or "improved" cgminer..it's that some people have been deleting these files (apparently) on the advice of other people for some reason.  Advice given (if I were a cynical person) hoping that people would disable their own machines thus eliminate some competition.

And how does one restore said backup if one can't access the machine Wink

I said it before and I'll reiterate it here:  If someone's not comfortable in the linux command line, s/he shouldn't be logging onto these devices except through direction of knc support.  Bad things can happen in a hurry as root if you are not careful..there is no "are you sure?" dialog that pops up when you delete stuff.  
Pages: « 1 ... 890 891 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 899 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 [940] 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 978 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!